DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 3 are objected to because of the following informalities. Applicant is advised that should claim 2 be found allowable, claim 3 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Liu (CN 203986096) in view of Loebs (US 1,949,803). The examiner is using Liu (US 2017/0035109) as an English language equivalent for Liu (CN 203986096).
With respect to the limitations of claim 1, Liu teaches an assembly, comprising: a capillary medium (Figs 2, 3, guide cloth 204, second liquid storage cotton 2011, 0083, 0090) defining a duct (smoke passage 2012, 0092); and an air impingement structure (Figs 2-4, electric heating elements 203, 0079) including electrically conductive filaments (0123, multiple sheet-like electric heating wires interconnected with each other or coiled), a surface of the capillary medium being connected to a first surface of the air impingement structure (Figs 2, 3, liquid storage cotton 201, guide cloth 204 in contact with heating element 203). Liu discloses the claimed invention except for a first end of the duct abutting the first surface of the air impingement surface; at least one first portion of the air impingement structure extending into the surface of the capillary medium.
However, Loebs discloses a first end of the duct (Fig 1, left end of inlet pipe 6, Col 1) abutting the first surface of the air impingement surface (Figs 1, 2, outer surface of vaporizing member 10, Col 1); at least one first portion of the air impingement structure extending into the surface of the medium (Fig 1, vaporizing member 10 extending into left end of inlet pipe 60) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the invention to adapt the assembly of Liu having a capillary medium and duct silent to recited abutting and extending air impingement structure with a first end of the duct abutting the first surface of the air impingement surface; at least one first portion of the air impingement structure extending into the surface of the capillary medium of Loebs for the purpose of adapting the shape of the air impingement structure into a known funnel shape that provides for rapid and complete vaporization (Col 2, Lines 91-96), thereby improving the overall efficiency of the device.
With respect to the limitations of claims 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 16, 17, 19 and 20, Liu teaches the first surface of the air impingement structure and a second surface of the air impingement structure oppose each other (Figs 2, 3, heating element 203 having first contact surface and second opposite surface), the first end of the duct not being in direct communication with the second surface of the air impingement structure (see figures 2, 3);
the duct traverses (2012) through a longitudinal length of the capillary medium (Fig 2, guide cloth 204, second liquid storage cotton 2011);
the duct traverses (2012) through a longitudinal length of the capillary medium (204, 2011), the first end of the duct abutting a first epicenter of the first surface of the air impingement structure (smoke passage 2012 aligned with center of heating element 203);
the duct traverses (2012) through a second epicenter of the surface of the capillary medium (Fig 2, top surface of 2011), the capillary medium having a cylindrical shape (204, 2011), and the first epicenter is aligned with the second epicenter (aligned top and bottom surfaces of 204, 2011);
the duct traverses (2012) through a longitudinal centerline of the capillary medium (204, 2011), the capillary medium having a cylindrical shape (see figure 3);
the first end of the duct (2012) abuts a first epicenter of the first surface of the air impingement structure (203), the air impingement structure having a circular horizontal cross-section (see figures 2, 3);
the capillary medium includes a first part (second liquid storage cotton 2011) and a second part (guide cloth 204);
the first surface is connected to the second part, the second part having a first thermal decomposition temperature that is higher than (guide cloth 204, 0083, heat of the electric heating element 203 may be dissipated uniformly through the first liquid guide cloth 204, to prevent the electric heating element 203 with an overly high temperature from burning components inside the liquid storage area 202) a second thermal decomposition temperature of the first part (2011);
further comprising: a first contact and a second contact that are connected to the air impingement structure, the first contact and the second contact being electrically conductive (Figs 3, 4, contact legs of heating element 203);
the first contact and the second contact are located at an interior portion (inner contact leg) and an exterior portion (outer contact leg) of the air impingement structure;
further comprising: a housing (Fig 5, cartridge housing 201, 0078), the housing having an opening (air inlet 501, 0104) that is in communication with a second surface of the air impingement structure (bottom surface of electric heating element 203), the second surface of the air impingement structure opposing the first surface on the air impingement structure (see figures 2, 3, 5);
further comprising: a liquid aerosol-forming substrate infused within at least a portion of the capillary medium (0091, the cigarette liquid stored inside the second liquid storage cotton 2011 is transferred to the electric heating element 203 via the first liquid guide cloth 204).
With respect to the limitations of claims 6, 12, 13, 14 and 15, Liu in view of Loebs discloses the at least one first portion includes the first epicenter (Loebs, Fig 1, epicenter of vaporizing member 10);
at least one first portion of the air impingement structure (Loebs, conical vaporizing member 10) extends into both the first part and the second part (Liu, 204, 2011);
a first epicenter of the first surface of the air impingement structure (Loebs, Fig 1, epicenter of vaporizing member 10) extends into both the first part and the second part (Liu, 204, 2011), the second surface having a circular horizontal cross-section (Liu, Figs 2, 3, circular cross-section of heating elements 203);
the air impingement structure is in a shape of a cone or a concave surface (Loebs, conical shaped vaporizing member 10);
the air impingement structure is made from a mesh of the electrically conductive filaments, the mesh being fluid permeable (Loebs, mesh walls 11, 12, steel wool filling, Pg 1, Col 2, Lines 65-76).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Liu (CN 203986096) in view Loebs (US 1,949,803) as applied to claims 1, 16 and 17, further in view of Liu '478 (US 2014/0190478).
With respect to the limitations of claim 18, Liu in view of Loebs discloses the claimed invention except for the first contact extends through the duct.
However, Liu '478 discloses the first contact (Figs 1, 2, heating coil 13 contacts, 0036) extends through the duct (Figs 1, 2, hole 121, 0039) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the invention to adapt the assembly of Liu having a first contact silent to the first contact extends through the duct with the first contact to extend through the duct of Liu '478 for the purpose of forming a known configuration that allows for the electric heating coil to be sufficiently in contact with the cigar liquid (0039), thereby significantly simplifying total construction of the atomization device (0024).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 of the instant application are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/641,812 (US 2024/0268465). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they recite similar limitations.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
US Application 18/641,812
Instant Application Claims 1-15
1. An assembly, comprising: a capillary medium defining a duct; and an air impingement structure defining a first opening, the air impingement structure including electrically conductive filaments, the air impingement structure being connected to a surface of the capillary medium, at least one first portion of the air impingement structure extending into the surface of the capillary medium.
2. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the duct is aligned with the first opening.
3. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the duct traverses through a longitudinal length of the capillary medium.
4. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the duct traverses through a longitudinal length of the capillary medium, the duct traversing through a first epicenter of the surface of the capillary medium.
5. The assembly of claim 4, wherein a second epicenter of the air impingement structure extends into the surface of the capillary medium, the at least one first portion including the second epicenter.
6. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the duct traverses through a longitudinal length of the capillary medium, the duct traversing through an epicenter of the surface of the capillary medium, the capillary medium having a cylindrical shape.
7. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the first opening traverses through a first surface and a second surfaces of the air impingement structure, the first surface and the second surface opposing each other on the air impingement structure.
8. The assembly of claim 7, wherein the first opening traverses through an epicenter of the air impingement structure, the air impingement structure having a circular horizontal cross-section.
9. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the capillary medium includes a first part and a second part.
10. The assembly of claim 9, wherein the air impingement structure is connected to the second part, the second part having a first thermal decomposition temperature that is higher than a second thermal decomposition temperature of the first part.
11. The assembly of claim 9, wherein the first opening extends into both the first part and the second part.
12. The assembly of claim 10, wherein the first opening extends into both the first part and the second part.
13. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the air impingement structure is in a shape of a cone or a concave surface.
14. The assembly of claim 13, wherein the first opening traverses through an epicenter of the air impingement structure, the air impingement structure having a circular horizontal cross-section.
15. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the air impingement structure is made from a mesh of the electrically conductive filaments, the mesh being fluid permeable.
16. The assembly of claim 1, further comprising: a first contact and a second contact that are connected to the air impingement structure, the first contact and the second contact being electrically conductive.
17. The assembly of claim 16, wherein the first contact and the second contact are located at an interior portion and an exterior portion of the air impingement structure.
18. The assembly of claim 17, wherein the first contact extends through the duct.
19. The assembly of claim 1, further comprising: a housing, the housing having a second opening that is in communication with the first opening.
20. The assembly of claim 19, further comprising: a liquid aerosol-forming substrate infused within at least a portion of the capillary medium.
1. An assembly, comprising: a capillary medium defining a duct; and an air impingement structure including electrically conductive filaments, a surface of the capillary medium being connected to a first surface of the air impingement structure, a first end of the duct abutting the first surface of the air impingement structure, at least one first portion of the air impingement structure extending into the surface of the capillary medium.
2. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the first surface of the air impingement structure and a second surface of the air impingement structure oppose each other, the first end of the duct not being in direct communication with the second surface of the air impingement structure.
3. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the first surface of the air impingement and a second surface of the air impingement structure oppose each other, an internal cavity of the duct not being in direct communication with the second surface of the air impingement structure.
4. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the duct traverses through a longitudinal length of the capillary medium.
5. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the duct traverses through a longitudinal length of the capillary medium, the first end of the duct abutting a first epicenter of the first surface of the air impingement structure.
6. The assembly of claim 5, wherein the at least one first portion includes the first epicenter.
7. The assembly of claim 5, wherein the duct traverses through a second epicenter of the surface of the capillary medium, the capillary medium having a cylindrical shape, and the first epicenter is aligned with the second epicenter.
8. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the duct traverses through a longitudinal centerline of the capillary medium, the capillary medium having a cylindrical shape.
9. The assembly of claim 8, wherein the first end of the duct abuts a first epicenter of the first surface of the air impingement structure, the air impingement structure having a circular horizontal cross-section.
10. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the capillary medium includes a first part and a second part.
11. The assembly of claim 10, wherein the first surface is connected to the second part, the second part having a first thermal decomposition temperature that is higher than a second thermal decomposition temperature of the first part.
12. The assembly of claim 10, wherein the at least one first portion of the air impingement structure extends into both the first part and the second part.
13. The assembly of claim 11, wherein a first epicenter of the first surface of the air impingement structure extends into both the first part and the second part, the second surface having a circular horizontal cross-section.
14. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the air impingement structure is in a shape of a cone or a concave surface.
15. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the air impingement structure is made from a mesh of the electrically conductive filaments, the mesh being fluid permeable.
16. The assembly of claim 1, further comprising: a first contact and a second contact that are connected to the air impingement structure, the first contact and the second contact being electrically conductive.
17. The assembly of claim 16, wherein the first contact and the second contact are located at an interior portion and an exterior portion of the air impingement structure.
18. The assembly of claim 17, wherein the first contact extends through the duct.
19. The assembly of claim 1, further comprising: a housing, the housing having an opening that is in communication with a second surface of the air impingement structure, the second surface of the air impingement structure opposing the first surface on the air impingement structure.
20. The assembly of claim 19, further comprising: a liquid aerosol-forming substrate infused within at least a portion of the capillary medium.
Conclusion
/THIEN S TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761 4/23/2026