Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 6/3/2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Specification
Examiner suggests applicant to update the parent application status as follows:
Under “CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS” in page 1:
-Line 2: After “2023, ” insert “now U.S. Patent No. 12,029,841, ”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US
Patent No. 3,927,981 to Viannay et al. (hereinafter referred to as “Viannay”).
Regarding claim 1, Viannay teaches a system for cardiopulmonary bypass (CPB) (col. 2, lines 15-22), the system comprising:
an oxygenator (1) comprising a sealed housing configured to allow subatmospheric pressure to be provided in the oxygenator wherein the oxygenator is a microporous membrane oxygenator with a sealed housing (see col 2, lines 15-22; figures 1-2; oxygenator 1 with membrane 2; see also the oxygenator in a sealed housing (US Patent No. 5,11,548: col. 2, line 66 – col. 3, line 17); and
a positive-pressure relief fluidly connected to the oxygenator and configured to ensure against creation of positive pressures (see col 3, lines 31-37; fig 2: safety valve 17 i.e. positive pressure relief valve fluidly connected to the oxygenator 1).
Regarding claims 2-3, Viannay teaches that the positive-pressure relief comprises a positive-pressure relief valve (17) and the positive-pressure relief is configured to relieve pressure if a pressure is a positive pressure (see col 3, lines 31-37; figure 2: safety valve 17 i.e. positive pressure relief valve fluidly connected to the oxygenator 1).
Regarding claim 5, Viannay teaches a vacuum source (7) e.g., vacuum pump configured to provide the subatmospheric pressure in the oxygenator (see figure 1; col. 2, lines 54-58).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Viannay.
Viannay teaches the system for cardiopulmonary bypass of claim 1 as disclosed above.
Claim 4 differs from Viannay in reciting that the positive pressure is 0-15 mmHg.
Viannay teaches that the automatic safety valve (17) i.e. positive-pressure relief valve opens when the pressure of the gas stream rises to atmospheric pressure (see col. 3, lines 32-37).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to optimize the positive pressure of 0-15 mmHg, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 10,335,531. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The claim comparison table discusses claims and relevant differences below.
The corresponding claims of U.S. Patent No. 10,335,531 obviate the instant application claims are set forth below and any necessary comparison. In general, claims of U.S. Patent No. 10,335,531 differ from the instant application claims in the requirement that independent claim 1 of instant application require an oxygenator comprising a sealed housing configured to allow subatmospheric pressure to be provided in the oxygenator whereas claim 2/1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,335,531 does not. However, dependent claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 10,335,531 sets forth such disclosure. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of claim 2/1 for cardiopulmonary bypass (CPB) to further include the sealed housing from claim 3 for the purpose of allowing subatmospheric pressure to be provided in the oxygenator.
Claims of
Application No. 18/731901
Claims of
U.S. Patent No. 10,335,531
Comparison
1
2/1 and 3
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to further include sealed housing from claim 3 into the system of 2/1 for the purpose of allowing subatmospheric pressure to be provided in the oxygenator.
2
2/1 and 3
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to further include sealed housing from claim 3 into the system of 2/1 for the purpose of allowing subatmospheric pressure to be provided in the oxygenator.
3
2/1 and 3
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to further include sealed housing from claim 3 into the system of 2/1 for the purpose of allowing subatmospheric pressure to be provided in the oxygenator.
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 10,668,203. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The claim comparison table discusses claims and relevant differences below.
The corresponding claims of U.S. Patent No. 10,668,203 obviate the instant application claims are set forth below and any necessary comparison. In general, claims of U.S. Patent No. 10,668,203 differ from the instant application claims in the requirement that independent claim 1 of instant application require an oxygenator comprising a sealed housing configured to allow subatmospheric pressure to be provided in the oxygenator whereas claim 2/1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,668,203 does not. However, dependent claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 10,668,203 sets forth such disclosure. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of claim 2/1 for cardiopulmonary bypass (CPB) to further include the sealed housing from claim 3 for the purpose of allowing subatmospheric pressure to be provided in the oxygenator.
Claims of
Application No. 18/731901
Claims of
U.S. Patent No. 10,668,203
Comparison
1
2/1 and 3
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to further include sealed housing from claim 3 into the system of 2/1 for the purpose of allowing subatmospheric pressure to be provided in the oxygenator.
2
2/1 and 3
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to further include sealed housing from claim 3 into the system of 2/1 for the purpose of allowing subatmospheric pressure to be provided in the oxygenator.
3
2/1 and 3
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to further include sealed housing from claim 3 into the system of 2/1 for the purpose of allowing subatmospheric pressure to be provided in the oxygenator.
Claims 1-3 and 5-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,029,841 in view of claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 10,335,531 or US Patent No. 10,668,203.
The claim comparison table discusses claims and relevant differences below.
The corresponding claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,029,841 in view of dependent claim 3 of US Patent No. 10,335,531 or US Patent No. 10,668,203 obviate the instant application claims are set forth below and any necessary comparison. In general, claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,029,841 differ from the instant application claims in the requirement that independent claim 1 of instant application require an oxygenator comprising a sealed housing configured to allow subatmospheric pressure to be provided in the oxygenator whereas claim 5/1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,029,841 does not. However, dependent claim 3 of U.S. Patent Numbers 10,335,531 or 10,668,203 sets forth such disclosure: “The system of claim 1, wherein the oxygenator is a membrane oxygenator having a sealed housing.” It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of claim 5/1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,029,841 for cardiopulmonary bypass (CPB) to further include the sealed housing from claim 3 of U.S. Patent Numbers 10,335,531 or 10,668,203 for the purpose of allowing subatmospheric pressure to be provided in the oxygenator.
Claims of
Application No. 18/731901
Claims of
U.S. Patent No. 12,029,841
Comparison
1
5/1
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to further include sealed housing from claim 3 of U.S. Patent Numbers 10,335,531 or 10,668,203 into the system of 5/1 for the purpose of allowing subatmospheric pressure to be provided in the oxygenator.
2
5/1
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to further include sealed housing from claim 3 of U.S. Patent Numbers 10,335,531 or 10,668,203 into the system of 5/1 for the purpose of allowing subatmospheric pressure to be provided in the oxygenator.
3
5/1
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to further include sealed housing from claim 3 of U.S. Patent Numbers 10,335,531 or 10,668,203 into the system of 5/1 for the purpose of allowing subatmospheric pressure to be provided in the oxygenator.
5
5/1
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to further include sealed housing from claim 3 of U.S. Patent Numbers 10,335,531 or 10,668,203 into the system of 5/1 for the purpose of allowing subatmospheric pressure to be provided in the oxygenator.
6
5/1 and 2
Additionally, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to further include a manual open valve located downstream of the oxygenator and upstream of vacuum source from claim 2 into the system of 5/1 for the purpose of opening the valve in case of vacuum failure.
7
5/1
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to further include sealed housing from claim 3 of U.S. Patent Numbers 10,335,531 or 10,668,203 into the system of 5/1 for the purpose of allowing subatmospheric pressure to be provided in the oxygenator.
8
5/1 and 3
Additionally, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to further include a manual open valve located downstream of vacuum meter from claim 3 into the system of 5/1 for the purpose of opening the valve in case of vacuum failure.
9
5/1
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to further include sealed housing from claim 3 of U.S. Patent Numbers 10,335,531 or 10,668,203 into the system of 5/1 for the purpose of allowing subatmospheric pressure to be provided in the oxygenator.
10
5/1 and 4
Additionally, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to further include the vacuum meter located upstream of the vacuum regulator from claim 4 into the system of 5/1 for the purpose of measuring vacuum pressure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WO 99/08734 teaches a CPB system (see figures 1-3, 9) comprising an oxygenator (254), a venous reservoir (234), vacuum source (262), vacuum regulators (264, 270, 280) and a pressure relief and vacuum stabilizer unit (300) including the pressure relief valve (306) (see figure 10)(see page 30, line 8 – page 11, line 26).
/John Kim/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772
JK
8/10/26