DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-6, in the reply filed on 7/31/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/31/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura (US 2012/0228603) in view of Jung (US 2024/0147778).
Regarding claim 1, Nakamura discloses, in FIG. 2A and in related text, a display device comprising:
a substrate (110);
an organic insulating (resin) layer (131) provided above the substrate (see Nakamura, [0033]);
a lower electrode (141, 142) provided on the organic insulating layer (see Nakamura, [0034]);
a planarization layer (143a) which is provided on the organic insulating layer (131) and is in contact with a side surface of the lower electrode (141, 142);
an inorganic insulating layer (143b) which covers the planarization layer (143a) and covers a peripheral portion of the lower electrode (141, 142) (see Nakamura, [0036]);
a partition (150) having a lower portion which is provided on the inorganic insulating layer (143b) and is formed of a conductive material (see Nakamura, [0037], [0039]);
an organic layer (160) surrounded by the partition (150), provided on the lower electrode (141, 142) and including a light emitting layer (see Nakamura, [0040]); and
an upper electrode (170) which is surrounded by the partition (150), is provided on the organic layer (160) and is in contact with the lower portion of the partition (150) (see Nakamura, [0042]).
Nakamura does not explicitly disclose a partition having a lower portion and an upper portion which is provided on the lower portion and protrudes from a side surface of the lower portion.
Jung teaches a partition (300) having a lower portion (310) and an upper portion (320) which is provided on the lower portion and protrudes from a side surface of the lower portion (see Jung, FIGS. 5F and 6, [0115]-[0116], [0134]).
Nakamura and Jung are analogous art because they both are directed to display devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Nakamura with the features of Jung because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Nakamura to include a partition having a lower portion and an upper portion which is provided on the lower portion and protrudes from a side surface of the lower portion, as taught by Jung, to prevent using a separate mask in forming intermediate layers and electrodes during manufacturing (see Jung, [0151]).
Regarding claim 2, Nakamura in view of Jung teaches the device of claim 1.
Nakamura discloses wherein the planarization layer (143a) is formed into a grating shape in plan view (see Nakamura, FIGS. 1 and 2A, [0037]: planarization layer 143a has similar pattern as partition 150 in top view).
Regarding claim 3, Nakamura in view of Jung teaches the device of claim 1.
Nakamura discloses wherein at least part of an upper surface of the planarization layer (143a) protrudes relative to an upper surface of the lower electrode (141, 142) (see Nakamura, FIG. 2A, planarization layer 143a protrudes and cover edges of lower electrode 141, 142).
Regarding claim 4, Nakamura in view of Jung teaches the device of claim 1.
Nakamura discloses wherein at least part of an upper surface of the planarization layer (143a) is concave (away from lower electrode 141, 142) relative to an upper surface of the lower electrode (141, 142) (see Nakamura, FIG. 2A).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura in view of Jung, and further in view of Wikipedia (Photoresist, Wikipedia, archived 16 January 2022).
Regarding claim 5, Nakamura in view of Jung teaches the device of claim 1.
Nakamura discloses wherein the planarization (143a) is formed of a photosensitive resin, and the photosensitive resin is novolac-based (see Nakamura, [0071]).
Nakamura does not explicitly disclose a positive photosensitive resin.
Wikipedia teaches that novolac-based resin is a positive photosensitive resin (see Wikipedia, section Posotive photoresist). Thus, Wikipedia together with Nakamura teaches a positive photosensitive resin.
Nakamura and Wikipedia are analogous art because they both are directed to manufacturing processes using photoresists and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Nakamura with the features of Wikipedia because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Nakamura to include a positive photosensitive resin, as taught by Wikipedia, since DNQ changes dissolution rate of novolac in photoresist formed of mixture of DNQ and novolac resin (see Wikipedia, section Posotive photoresist).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record, Nakamura, discloses a cap layer provided on the upper electrode. The prior art of records, individually or in combination, do not disclose nor teach “a sealing layer provided on the cap layer and formed of an inorganic insulating material, wherein the sealing layer covers the cap layer immediately above the lower electrode and is in contact with the partition” in combination with other limitations as recited in claim 6.
Conclusion
/SHIH TSUN A CHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811