DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 06/03/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang et al. (US 2022/0158246 A1) in view of Terada et al. (US 2022/0271340 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Liang discloses a secondary battery ([0006] lithium ion battery) comprising:
A positive electrode ([0006] positive electrode);
A negative electrode ([0006] negative electrode);; and
An electrolytic solution including an electrolyte salt ([0019] lithium ion battery includes an electrolyte that includes a lithium salt and an organic solvent; [0006] lithium slat includes the formula 1 below), wherein
The electrolyte salt includes at least one of a first imide anion according to formula 1
Wherein each R1 and R2 is either a fluorine group or a fluorinated alkyl group, wherein X1, X2 and X3 can be a carbonyl group, a sulfinyl group or a sulfonyl group, and at least one of F1 or R2 is the fluorinated alkyl group ([0006]).
Liang is silent wherein X2 is a carbonyl group instead discloses wherein the X2 is a sulfonyl group.
Terada discloses a nonaqueous electrolyte solution for a lithium ion secondary battery and is analogous with the instant invention as being within the same field of endeavor of batteries. Terada further discloses wherein the electrolyte can have a compound represented by general formula and such as formula 1a ([0016-0021]) wherein R1 and R2 can be a sulfonyl group with a fluorinated chain ([0016-0021]) in order to provide an electrolyte solution with a low initial resistance value for the battery ([0016-0022]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a skilled artisan to substitute the electrolyte salt of Liang for the compound as taught by Terada as a simple substitution of one electrolyte solution for another with reasonable expectation of success as both compounds of Liang and Terada are similar, analogous to each other and can be used lithium ion batteries. The resulting modification would render obvious all the claim limitations of claim 1. See MPEP 2143 B.
Regarding claims 2-3, modified Liang discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Modified Liang further discloses wherein the electrolyte slat includes a light metal ion as a cation such as a lithium ion (Liang [0019-0025] Lithium ion is provided; Terada [0055] one cation such as a lithium ion for the ionic salt for the electrolyte).
Regarding claim 5, modified Liang discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Liang further discloses wherein the electrolytic solution further includes at least one of an unsaturated cyclic carbonic acid ester, a fluorinated cyclic carbonic acid ester, a sulfonic acid ester, a dicarboxylic acid anhydride, a disulfonyl acid anhydride, a sulfuric acid ester, a nitrile compound, or an isocyanate compound ([0038] methyl propionate is an example of a chain carboxylic acid ester; ethylene carbonate is a cyclic carbonic acid ester).
Regarding claim 6, modified Liang discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Liang further discloses wherein the electrolytic solution further includes at least one of lithium hexafluorophosphate ([0031]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Liang discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Liang further discloses wherein the secondary battery comprises a lithium ion secondary battery ([0031] lithium ion secondary battery).
Regarding claim 8, Liang discloses an electrolytic solution including an electrolyte salt ([0019] lithium ion battery includes an electrolyte that includes a lithium salt and an organic solvent; [0006] lithium slat includes the formula 1 below), wherein
The electrolyte salt includes at least one of a first imide anion according to formula 1
Wherein each R1 and R2 is either a fluorine group or a fluorinated alkyl group, wherein X1, X2 and X3 can be a carbonyl group, a sulfinyl group or a sulfonyl group, and at least one of F1 or R2 is the fluorinated alkyl group ([0006]).
Liang is silent wherein X2 is a carbonyl group instead discloses wherein the X2 is a sulfonyl group.
Terada discloses a nonaqueous electrolyte solution for a lithium ion secondary battery and is analogous with the instant invention as being within the same field of endeavor of batteries. Terada further discloses wherein the electrolyte can have a compound represented by general formula and such as formula 1a ([0016-0021]) wherein R1 and R2 can be a sulfonyl group with a fluorinated chain ([0016-0021]) in order to provide an electrolyte solution with a low initial resistance value for the battery ([0016-0022]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a skilled artisan to substitute the electrolyte salt of Liang for the compound as taught by Terada as a simple substitution of one electrolyte solution for another with reasonable expectation of success as both compounds of Liang and Terada are similar, analogous to each other and can be used lithium ion batteries. The resulting modification would render obvious all the claim limitations of claim 8. See MPEP 2143 B.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang et al. (US 2022/0158246 A1) in view of Terada et al. (US 2022/0271340 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yamaguchi et al (US 2004/0234866 A1).
Regarding claim 4, modified Liang discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1, however, is silent with respect to the electrolytic solution comprising a content of salt to solvent being between 0.2-2.00 moles per kilogram.
Yamaguchi discloses a battery and is analogous with the instant invention as being within the same field of endeavor of battery cells. Yamaguchi discloses wherein a content of the electrolyte salt in relation to the solvent in the electrolyte is preferably from 0.36 mol/kg to 1.52 mol/kg, and more preferably from 0.5 mol/kg to 1.4 mol/kg. Within the range, ion conductivity in the electrolyte 24 can be improved ([0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious in view of a skilled artisan to adjust the content of the salt and solvent within the electrolyte such that the content of salt to solvent is between 0.36-1.52 mol/kg as taught by Yamaguchi in order to improve the ion conductivity of the electrolyte. Thus all the claim limitation of claim 4 are rendered obvious through the combination as the prior art discloses an overlapping range for the electrolyte content. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al. (US 2019/0198924 A1)-discloses an electrolyte for a lithium secondary battery wherein a salt of the anion is seen in the chemical formulas 1-6.
Liang et al. (US 2022/0123368 A1)- discloses a secondary battery having a lithium salt for an electrolyte made from a compound according to formula 1.
Zhou (CN 102786443 A-as cited in the IDS)-discloses a sulfamide alkali metal salt for a battery that is analogous with the instant invention.
/ADAM J FRANCIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728