Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are persuasive with respect to “control unit”.
Applicant's arguments filed 2/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive with respect to “communication unit”. Examiner notes the “communication device” and “communication unit” appear to be two different elements in fig. 2. The communication device is number 39 and the communication unit number 23. Currently the communication unit appears to be a black box. the word ‘unit’ does not provide any indication of structure and sets forth the same black box recitation of structure ... as if the term ‘means’ had been used, [t]he prefix communication does not impart structure into the term ‘unit,’ and the written description fails to impart any structural significance to the term. Under the 3-prong analysis, the bolded limitation should be interpreted under § 112(f) because: the word “unit” acts as a generic placeholder for the term “means,” the generic placeholder “unit” is modified by functional language “communication,” and the generic placeholder “unit” is not modified by sufficient structure.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Examiner notes corrections to the communication unit and arguments against the combination would go a long way to better placing the application in condition for allowance. Border et al (2022/0017012) hereinafter, Border does seem relevant to the state of the art with respect to providing information to glasses in an automobile.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: communication unit in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Examiner was unable to locate the disclosure of the claimed structure for communication unit
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Examiner is unable to determine whether communication unit is hardware, software, or some combination of.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poulos et al (2014/0333666) hereinafter, Poulos in view of Croy et al (2010/0046082) hereinafter, Croy further in view of Ashman (2016/0163063) hereinafter, Ashman further in view of Border et al (2022/0017012) hereinafter, Border.
In regards to claim 1, Poulos teaches a method for operating a display system with an assistance system (abstract)
Embodiments are disclosed that relate to operating a user interface on an augmented reality computing device comprising a display system. For example, one disclosed embodiment includes displaying a virtual object via the display system as free-floating, detecting a trigger to display the object as attached to a surface, and, in response to the trigger, displaying the virtual object as attached to the surface via the display system. The method may further include detecting a trigger to detach the virtual object from the surface and, in response to the trigger to detach the virtual object from the surface, detaching the virtual object from the surface and displaying the virtual object as free-floating.
Poulos fails to teach a presentation surface has been brought from a stowed position into a position of use.
However, Croy teaches a presentation surface has been brought from a stowed position into a position of use (figs. 3a-3d and fig. 4a-d) stowed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Poulos to further include to teach a presentation surface has been brought from a stowed position into a position of use as taught by Croy in order to be hidden when not in use [002-005].
Poulos fail to teach wherein the presentation surface is dark or black.
However, Ashman teaches wherein the presentation surface is dark or black [0019] Ashman
[0019] The technique introduced here enables the use of a conventional image display device (e.g., a liquid crystal display (LCD)), for example in an HMD or AR-enabled mobile device, to create a visual “portal” that appears as a porous interface between the real world and a virtual world, with optional AR content overlaid on the user's real-world view. This technique has advantages for (among other things) HMD devices, for example, since the dark background of the screen can provide an improved contrast ratio, which addresses the technical challenges for HMD devices that display AR content without occluding real world content in the background, e.g., because they have transparent or semi-transparent displays that only add light to a scene.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Poulos and Croy to further include wherein the presentation surface is dark or black as taught by Ashman in order to improve contrast ratios [0019].
Poulos and Croy in view of Ashman fail to expressly teach automatically starting to display media information in the data glasses so as to become visible in the data glasses depending on the start information.
However, Border teaches starting to display media information in the data glasses so as to become visible in the data glasses depending on the start information.[283] (fig. 60 (6014))Border
[0283] In further embodiments, specific to operating vehicles such as for example: automobiles, planes, ships or trains, displayed content may only be provided within the display field of view of the head-mounted display when the gaze direction of the user is away from the transparent portion of the windshield or other windows and toward a portion of the vehicle where the displayed content will not impede the user's view of the surrounding environment, thereby enhancing safety. FIG. 60 shows an illustration of the interior of an automobile including a windshield 6010, a steering wheel 6020, an audio player 6022 and gauges 6624. In a normal course of operation, the user looks through the windshield 6010 or adjacent windows to view the surrounding environment while operating the automobile and during this time the head-mounted display does not distract the user, thereby improving safety. In embodiments, when the user is detected to be looking at a windshield, displayed content is prevented or prohibited from being displayed in a field of view of the head-mounted display. Thus, for the majority of time, displayed content is not provided within the display field of view so that the user has an unimpeded see-through view of the surrounding environment as viewed through the head-mounted display and through the windshield 6010 or adjacent windows. However, if the user looks away from the windshield toward a portion of the interior of the automobile, displayed content associated with the location that the user is looking at is then provided within the display field of view. For example, when the user looks at position 6012 that includes a position of a rear view mirror, an image from a backup camera associated with the automobile may be provided within the display field of view of the head-mounted display. In another example, when the user looks at a position 6014 that includes a center portion of the automobile dashboard, images associated with a GPS map or associated navigational information can be provided in the display field of view. Similarly, if the user looks at position 6013, which includes a position behind and just above the steering wheel, information associated with the automobile systems (e.g. images of gauges) may be provided to the user within the display field of view, or if the user looks at position 6015, information associated with the audio system may be provided to the user within the display field of view.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Poulos in view of Croy and Ashman to starting to display media information in the data glasses so as to become visible in the data glasses depending on the start information as taught by Border in order to no distract the operator of a motorized vehicle [0283].
Therefore, Poulos in view of Croy and Ashman and Border teaches
operating a display system with an assistance system tied to (abstract) Poulos the vehicle (fig. 1 and 2 car) Croy) and data glasses (fig. 2 (glasses) Poulos) in a vehicle, the method comprising:
monitoring (fig. 11 (1104 triggering event) Poulos) whether a presentation surface has been brought from a stowed position into a position of use in which the presentation surface faces (fig. 3c-3d 30) Croy) the data glasses (fig. 2 (glasses) Poulos), wherein the presentation surface is a dark or black [0019] Ashman, in particular unstructured surface (figs 1 and 2 (20 and 30)) Croy;
transmitting start information from the assistance system (fig. 11 (1104) to 1110)) Poulos) to the data glasses in response to recognizing that the presentation surface has been brought into the position of use (fig. 11 (1110) (fig. 1 and 1b) Poulos;
automatically starting to display media information in the data glasses so as to become visible in the data glasses depending on the start information. (fig. 11 (1110, 1112, 1114) Poulos) .[283] (fig. 60 (6014))Border
In regards to claim 7, Poulos teaches an apparatus for operating a display system with data glasses (abstract) Poulos
Poulos fails to teach a presentation surface has been brought from a stowed position into a position of use.
However, Croy teaches a presentation surface has been brought from a stowed position into a position of use. (figs. 3a-3d and fig. 4a-d) stowed). Croy
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Poulos to further include to teach a presentation surface has been brought from a stowed position into a position of use as taught by Croy in order to be hidden when not in use [002-005].
Poulos fail to teach wherein the presentation surface is dark or black.
However, Ashman teaches wherein the presentation surface is dark or black [0019] Ashman
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Poulos and Croy to further include wherein the presentation surface is dark or black as taught by Ashman in order to improve contrast ratios [0019].
Poulos and Croy in view of Ashman fail to expressly teach automatically start to display media information in the data glasses so as to become visible in the data glasses
However, Border teaches automatically start to display media information in the data glasses so as to become visible in the data glasses.[283] (fig. 60 (6014))Border
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Poulos in view of Croy and Ashman to automatically start to display media information in the data glasses so as to become visible in the data glasses as taught by Border in order to not distract the operator of a motorized vehicle [0283].
Therefore, Poulos in view of Croy in view of Ashman and Border teaches an apparatus for operating a display system with data glasses in a vehicle, comprising: a control unit configured to monitor(fig. 11 (1104 triggering event) Poulos) whether a presentation surface has been brought from a stowed position into a position (figs 1 and 2 (20 and 30)[0034-0045]) Croy; of use in which the presentation surface faces the data glasses, wherein the presentation surface is a dark or black [0019] Ashman, in particular unstructured surface; and
a communication unit configured to transmit start (fig. 11 (1110) (fig. 1 and 1b) Poulos; information from the assistance system to the data glasses, in response to the control unit detecting that the presentation surface has been brought into the position of use. (fig. 11 (1110, 1112, 1114) Poulos) wherein the start information triggers the data glasses to automatically start to display media information in the data glasses so as to become visible in the data glasses. [283] (fig. 60 (6014))Border
In regards to claim 6, Poulos in view of Croy in view of Ashman teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the media information is displayed in a contact-analog manner with respect to a coordinate system tied to the vehicle on or in front of the presentation surface (fig. 11 (pinned to surface 1116)) Poulos and (fig. 2 (22) Ashman).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/GRANT SITTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622