Drawings
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application because the drawings filed 6/3/2024 are not proper black and white line drawings. This is frequently the result of drawings which are filed in a very dark grey (so dark that it appears black such as RGB value 37, 37, 37) instead of pure black (RGB value 0, 0, 0). While very dark grey may appear black, it causes artifacts and inconsistent line thickness. Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
All drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction. This requirement applies to all lines however fine, to shading, and to lines representing cut surfaces in sectional views. Lines and strokes of different thicknesses may be used in the same drawing where different thicknesses have a different meaning (see MPEP 608, 37 CFR 1.84(l))
Applicant is encouraged to view the drawings on file in the immediate application in Patent Center to more clearly see these line quality issues, as they may not be apparent on the Applicant’s copy of the drawings, as very dark grey may appear black to the eye.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
spring device (claims 1-16)
support element (claims 1-16)
The term “and/or” appears throughout the claims. For purposes of examination, Examiner has interpreted “and/or” to have the broadest reasonable interpretation of “or”. Therefore limitations separated by “and/or” are alternatives, and only one is required to anticipate or render obvious the claim limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-16 are replete with unclear language such as “preferably” and “in particular”. It is unclear whether the limitations which follow “preferably” and “in particular” are positively recited. For purposes of examination, the limitations which follow “preferably” and “in particular”, have been interpreted to be optional. Correction is required.
Claim 2 recites “an inner hinge lever” and “an outer hinge lever”. This is unclear because claim 1 previously recites “at least one hinge lever”. It is unclear if these are additional levers or include the previously defined “at least one lever”. For purposes of examination, claim 2 has been interpreted to mean that the at least one hinge lever comprises an inner hinge lever and an outer hinge lever.
Claim 4 recites “a further portion” and further recites “two portions”. It is believed the “two portions” include a portion (from claim 1) and “a further portion” from earlier in claim 4. Claim 4 is therefore unclear if these are the same portions or different portions. Further, as claim 4 recites “a further portion” and “two portions” separated by “and/or”, and which has the broadest reasonable interpretation of “or”, claim 4 is unclear.
Claim 5 recites “the further portion”, however claim 4 from which claim 5 depends recites “a further portion” in the alternative. It is therefore unclear whether claim 5 is further limiting or if proper antecedent basis is provided for claim 5.
Claim 5 recites “the spring device”. This is unclear because claim 1 previously recites “at least spring device”. The limitation “the spring device” therefore lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 6 recites “two hinge levers”, however claim 1 previously recites “at least one hinge lever”. It is unclear if the two hinge levers of claim 6 are two additional hinge levers or include the previously defined “at least one hinge lever”. For purposes of examination, claim 6 has been interpreted to mean that the at least one hinge lever comprises two hinge levers.
Claim 6 recites “two hinge axes” and “two further hinge axes”. This is unclear because claim 1 recites “at least one hinge axis”. Claim 6 has been interpreted to mean that the at least one hinge axis comprises the two hinge axes and two further hinge axes.
Claim 7 recites “the hinge lever”. This is unclear because claim 1 previously recites “at least one hinge lever”. The limitation “the hinge lever” therefore lacks antecedent basis.
The term “substantially” in claim 3 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The limitations “entirely” and “parallel” are rendered indefinite by the use of the term “substantially”.
Dependent claims 2-16 are unclear at least for the same reasons as the claims from which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 11, and 14-16, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koshikawa et al. (US 7,059,018), herein referred to as ‘018.
For Claim 1, as best understood, ‘018 discloses a fitting (Figures 1-3) for movably supporting a pivoting element (D), the fitting comprising:
a first fitting portion (2) to be fixed to a carrier (B),
a second fitting portion (3) to be fixed to the pivoting element (D),
at least one hinge lever (4) pivotally supported about at least one hinge axis (6A), the at least one hinge lever (4) hingedly connecting the first fitting portion (2) and the second fitting portion (3) to each other,
at least one spring device (71) for moving the two fitting portions (2, 3) into a closed position (Figure 1) or into an open position (Figure 2) relative to each other, and
at least one support element (72) on which a portion (71c) of the spring device (71) is supported,
wherein the at least one support element (72) for supporting the spring device (71) is rotationally mounted (Column 6, Lines 16-20).
For Claim 2, as best understood, ‘018 discloses the fitting according to claim 1, wherein the at least one hinge lever includes an inner hinge lever (4) and an outer hinge lever (5), wherein the at least one support element (72) is rotationally mounted on the inner hinge lever (4).
For Claim 3, as best understood, ‘018 discloses the fitting according to claim 1, wherein the at least one support element (72) is arranged adjacent to the hinge axis (6A) of the at least one hinge lever (4).
For Claim 4, as best understood, ‘018 discloses the fitting according to claim 1, wherein the at least one spring device (71) includes a further portion (71b) supported on the first fitting portion (2).
For Claim 5, as best understood, ‘018 discloses the fitting according to claim 4, wherein the first fitting portion (2) includes a U-shaped portion (21, 21, 22) having a base limb (22) and two transverse limbs (21, 21) projecting from the base limb (22), wherein the further portion (71b) of the spring device (71) is supported on the base limb (22) of the first fitting portion (2).
For Claim 6, as best understood, ‘018 discloses the fitting according to claim 1, wherein the fitting is configured as a four-pivot-point hinge (6A, 6B, 6C, 6D), wherein two hinge levers (4, 5) are pivotally connected to the first fitting portion (2) via two hinge axes (6A, 6C), and are pivotally connected to the second fitting portion (3) via two further hinge axes (6B, 6D).
For Claim 7, as best understood, ‘018 discloses the fitting according to claim 1, wherein the at least one hinge axis (6A) of the at least one hinge lever (4) is arranged on the first fitting portion (2).
For Claim 8, as best understood, ‘018 discloses the fitting according to claim 1, wherein the first fitting portion (2) includes a hinge arm (2).
For Claim 11, as best understood, ‘018 discloses the fitting according to claim 1, wherein the at least one hinge lever (4): includes at least one recess (42b) for supporting the at least one support element (72).
For Claim 14, as best understood, ‘018 discloses the fitting according to claim 1, wherein the fitting is configured as a hinge (as seen in Figures 1-3) for moving a movably-supported furniture part (D).
For Claim 15, as best understood, ‘018 discloses an item of furniture (B, D) comprising a stationary carrier (B), a pivoting element (D) movable relative to the stationary carrier, and at least one fitting (as seen in Figures 1-3) according to claim 1 for moving the movable pivoting element (D), wherein the first fitting portion (2) of the fitting is fixed to the stationary carrier (B), and the second fitting portion (3) of the fitting is fixed to the pivoting element (D).
For Claim 16, as best understood, ‘018 discloses the fitting according to claim 1, wherein the fitting is a hinge (as seen in Figures 1-3) for movably supporting a door (D) relative to a stationary carrier (B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-10, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koshikawa et al. (US 7,059,018), herein referred to as ‘018, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of EP 0909864, herein referred to as ‘864.
For Claim 9, as best understood, ‘018 discloses the fitting according to claim 1, except wherein the at least one support element is at least partially coated with a lubricant.
‘864 teaches a fitting having a support element (10), wherein the support element is at least partially coated with a lubricant (paragraph [0021]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to coat the support element of ‘018 with a lubricant. One would be motivated to make such a modification to reduce friction between the spring and the support element.
For Claim 10, as best understood, ‘018 discloses the fitting according to claim 1, except wherein the at least one support element includes at least partially a coating.
‘864 teaches a fitting having a support element (10), wherein the support element is at least partially a coating (paragraph [0021]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to coat the support element of ‘018 with a lubricant. One would be motivated to make such a modification to reduce friction between the spring and the support element.
English machine translation of ‘864 paragraph [0021]:
In order to reduce the friction between the leg spring 11 and the metal pin 10, the surface of the metal pin 10 can be coated, for example with a titanium nitride coating, a titanium carbon coating, a chromium nitride coating or a tungsten carbide coating.
Furthermore, the surface of the metal pin 10 can be provided with a solid lubrication, for example made of molybdenum disulfide.
Claims 12-13, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koshikawa et al. (US 7,059,018), herein referred to as ‘018, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Holzapfel (US 2014/0331451), herein referred to as ‘451.
For Claim 12, as best understood, ‘018 discloses the fitting according to claim 1, except wherein the fitting includes at least one damper configured to dampen a relative movement of the two fitting portions to each other.
‘451 teaches a fitting (Figure 3a) including at least one damper (7) configured to dampen a relative movement of two fitting portions to each other. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the damper of ‘451 to the fitting of ‘018. One would be motivated to make such a modification in order to provide a smooth damping of a hinge movement and prevent slamming noises and damage from slamming during a movement of the hinge.
For Claim 13, as best understood, ‘451 further teaches wherein the at least one damper is arranged on or within one of the two fitting portions (as seen in Figure 3a). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the damper of ‘451 on or within the fitting of ‘018. One would be motivated to make such a modification in order to provide a smooth damping of a hinge movement and prevent slamming noises and damage from slamming during a movement of the hinge, in a compact and inconspicuous fashion.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 10030427, US 9416575, and US 6601267 teach pertinent features of fittings/hinges that are pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure, but have not been relied upon in the current rejection.
/Jeffrey O'Brien/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3677