DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: “extending the width direction” should be “extending in the width direction”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4, 6-8, 9-10, 12-13 & 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “a side ends” and requires grammatical revision. It is unclear if applicant is intending to refer to “side ends” or “a side end”. For examination purposes, the limitation will be understood as “side ends”.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “a cut slit”. The limitation is unclear because it is ambiguous as to what limitation “cut” imparts on the slit. Is a “cut slit” merely a product by process limitation and the slit is formed by a cut or does a cut slit define some form of structure? Based on the disclosure (see Figs.4-5 ref 332 and [0097-0098, 0109-0110, & 0136-0137]), it appears that the phrase “cut slit” is not meant to refer to a product by process limitation but rather a structure of the slit. For examination purposes, the phrase “cut slit” will be understood to refer substantially to a slit structure as seen by Figs.4-5 of the published application.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the side panel" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if applicant is referring to the side panels recited in claim 1, a single one of the side panels, or different side panels. For examination purposes, the limitation will be understood as “the side panels”. Similar issue is taken with the further recitations of “the side panel” in claim 6 and will be interpreted in the same manner.
Claim 6 recites “the top panel extends through the rear end of the top bent portion”. However, based on the disclosure (see Fig.8), it appears that the top panel does not extend through the rear end of the top bent portion but rather over the top bent portion. Thus, it is unclear if applicant truly intends to claim the top panel extending through the rear end of the top bent portion. For examination purposes, the limitation will be understood “the top panel extends over the rear end of the top bent portion”.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "a front end" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if applicant is referring to the same front end recited in line 1 of claim 5 or a different front end. For examination purposes the front end will be understood to be the same as that recited in claim 5.
Claim 9 recites “rear than”, such a phrase appears to require grammatical revision. It is unclear what the meaning of “rear than” means. For examination purposes the limitation will be understood as though applicant is attempting to indicate that the decoration panel is located more rearwardly then the front face of the front panel.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the front" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if applicant is referring to a front direction, the front face, the front panel, or if the front refers to a different direction. For examination purposes, the limitation will be understood as a front direction that is towards the front panel.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the cabinet" in line 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes the limitation will be understood as the upper cabinet
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the cabinet" in line 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes the limitation will be understood as the upper cabinet
The remaining claims are rejected for their dependence upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9-10, & 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US20090153004A1) in view of Yoon (US20200024784A1).
As to claim 1, Han discloses a laundry apparatus (abstract) comprising: a cabinet (e.g., Figs.3, 6 & 10 ref 90) including: a front panel (e.g., see Fig.3 & 6 front face having inlet and including ref 70 or Fig.10 ref 600) defining a front face of the cabinet and having an inlet; side panels defining opposite side faces of the cabinet (see Figs.3, 6, & 10); and a top panel defining an upper face of the cabinet (see Figs.3, 6 & 10 ref 80); a decoration panel (e.g., Figs.3-4 & 6 ref 100, Fig.7 ref 200, Figs.8-9 ref 300, or Fig.10 ref 400), wherein the front panel comprises a top bent portion that extends rearward from a top of the front face of the cabinet (see Figs.4 or 7 ref 75; or Fig.9 portion on which ref 301 cooperates with; or Fig.10 ref 620), wherein the decoration panel is disposed on the top bent portion and coupled to the top bent portion (see Figs.4, 7, & 9-10), wherein the top panel is disposed in the rear of the decoration panel (see Figs.4, 7, & 9-10);
It is reasonably believed that Han is provided with a rotatable drum within the cabinet, a door for closing/opening the inlet, and a driver for rotating the drum. However, Han does not explicitly disclose a door disposed at the front panel and configured to open and close the inlet; a drum disposed in the cabinet and configurated to rotate, the drum communicated with the inlet; or a driver configured to rotate the drum. Yet, such components are conventional components of a laundry apparatus provided in a known manner, as seen by Yoon.
Yoon discloses an art related laundry appliance (abstract), wherein it is disclosed that a door is disposed at a front panel (ref 104) and configured to open and close an inlet (ref 105) into the laundry appliance [0021]. Yoon also discloses that the laundry appliance can comprise a drum (ref 120) disposed within the cabinet (ref 102), communicating with the inlet [0021], and the drum is configured to rotate via a driver [0020].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Han to provide a drum within the tub, a door to close/open the tub, and a motor to rotate the drum, as such are known and conventional components of a laundry apparatus provided in order to perform treatment of the laundry (Yoon Fig.2 & [0020-0021]).
As to claim 9, Modified Han teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein a front end of the decoration panel is disposed rearwardly from a front face of the cabinet (see Han Figs.4,7-8 & 10, the front of the decoration panel is provided at least some portion behind the front face via the bend of ref 70)
As to claim 10, Modified Han teaches the apparatus of claim 9, wherein a front part of the decoration panel is inclined downward toward the front (see Han Fig.4 ref 120, Fig.7 ref 220, Fig.9 ref 301, or Fig.10 ref 411/412 and [0138]).
As to claim 14, Modified Han teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the decoration panel has a recessed face defined in a bottom face of the decoration panel (Han Fig.4 recess defined by space between refs 110/120/130, Fig.7 recess defined by space between refs 210/220/230, Fig.9 recess defined by space between refs 301 and 300, Fig.10 recess defined by refs 411/412 see [0138]) and a support protrusion protruding downward (see Han Fig.4 ref 120, ref 130, or downward portion of ref 140, Fig.7 ref 220, or ref 230, Fig.9 ref 301 or ref 302, or Fig.10 ref 420).
Claim(s) 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US20090153004A1) in view of Yoon (US20200024784A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Xu (US20220136165A1) and Kim (US20180010281A1)
As to claims 11-12, Modified Han teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but does not disclose the presence of a reinforcement groove recessed downward. However, the use of downwardly recessed reinforcements are known in the art, as seen by Xu and Kim.
Xu discloses an art related clothes treating apparatus (abstract), wherein a plate (ref 33) may be coupled to a cabinet [0136-0137]. Xu also indicates that it is known to provide reinforcement recesses (Fig.20 ref 3313 & [0138]) to the plate in order to increase rigidity. The reinforcement parts may have different lengths (see Fig.20 & 23).
Kim discloses an art related laundry apparatus (abstract), wherein a plate (ref 21) may be coupled to a cabinet [0055]. Kim also indicates that it is known to provide recessed reinforcement parts (Fig.5 ref 217 & [0059]) to the plate in order to increase rigidity. The reinforcement parts may have different lengths (see Fig.5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Han to provide multiple reinforcing grooves, one behind the other, in order to increase rigidity (Xu [0138] & Kim [0059]). As the width direction is the longest dimension of the bent portion, a skilled artisan would find it obvious to provide said reinforcing grooves in the width direction. Further, as both Xu and Kim showcases that the reinforcement grooves can have different lengths, a skilled artisan would find it obvious to provide the reinforcement grooves with different lengths, including the claimed configuration of providing a rear reinforcement groove longer than the front.
As to claim 13, Modified Han teaches the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the top bent portion has mounting holes (Han Fig.10 ref 621) and the decoration panel has mounting protrusions (Han Fig.10 refs 410/420) along a width of the bent portion and the decoration panel. Modified Han does not explicitly disclose the holes and protrusions being provided between the first and second reinforcing grooves in a front-rear direction. However, a skilled artisan would recognize that such a feature is merely a rearrangement of the protrusions and the holes between said reinforcing grooves, and such a rearrangement would not affect the ability of the protrusions to couple with the mounting holes. Thus, a skilled artisan would find it obvious to provide the protrusions and mounting holes at any location, including the claimed configuration, so long as the mounting hole and protrusions can couple to one another for securing of the decoration panel to the bent portion (see MPEP 2144.04).
Claim(s) 15 & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (US20200024784A1) in view of Han (US20090153004A1).
As to claims 15 & 20, Yoon discloses a stack-type laundry system (abstract & Fig.2), wherein the top laundry appliance is a drier and the lower laundry appliance is a washing machine [0018]. The washing machine is provided with a lower cabinet (ref 102); a tub [0020] disposed in the cabinet and configured to receive washing water; a drum (ref 120) disposed inside the tub [0020] and configured to rotate [0020]; and a lower driver (see [0020], also [0033] & Fig.3 ref 310) configured to rotate the drum. The drying is provided with an upper cabinet (ref 202); a drying drum (ref 220) disposed in the upper cabinet and configured to rotate [0028]; an upper driver configured to rotate the upper drum (see [0028, 0035, 0038] & Fig.3 ref 320)’ an air flow passage (refs 228, 230, 232, & 236) configured to supply air t and discharge air from the drying drum [0030]. Both the washing machine and dryer have a front panel (refs 104 & 204, thereby defining a lower and upper front panel) with doors (refs 130 & 206) provided at said front panel to open/close an inlet into the respective drums [0021 & 0029]. It can also be seen that top and side panels are present for each cabinet (see Fig.2). Yoon does not disclose the constructional detail of the front panels or the presence of a decoration panel. However, such a construction of a front panel and decoration panel and is seen by Han.
Han discloses an art related laundry apparatus (abstract) and showcases a construction for multiple panels and decorative panel. The construction includes: a front panel (Fig.10 ref 600 including portion with inlet) comprises a top bent portion that extends rearward from a top of the front face of the cabinet (see Fig.10 ref 620); side panels that define opposite side faces of the cabinet (see Fig.10); a top panel defining an upper face of the cabinet (see Fig.10 ref 80); and a decoration panel (Fig.10 ref 400) disposed on top of the bent portion and the top panel is disposed in rear of the decoration panel (see Fig.10). Han also showcases different embodiments also having such top, side, and front, and decoration panels where the front panel has a bent portion (see Figs.4 & 7-8). It is also noted that Han also indicates that a cover panel (ref 60) can be utilized in place of a control panel for attachment to the laundry appliance when multiple stacked appliances are present (see [0070] stating that panel and control panel can be located at each other’s position). A skilled artisan understands that decoration panels are well-known and desired aesthetics.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the upper panel of Yoon to utilize the panel construction of Han in order to attach a decorative panel to a top portion of the upper front panel to improve the aesthetic appeal of the appliance. Further, it is in the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a known panel construction for the placement of a decorative panel when one is not explicitly disclosed.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (US20200024784A1) in view of Han (US20090153004A1) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Banicevic (US20090217545A1).
As to claim 16, Modified Yoon teaches the system of claim 15, comprising a control panel (Yoon refs 110, 112, & 114) configured to control the upper treating apparatus and the lower treating apparatus (Yoon [0022-0023 & 0031]), the lower cabinet comprises a lower front panel (Yoon ref 104) and lower side panels defining opposite side faces of the lower cabinet (see Yoon Fig.2). The control panel is located below the front panel of the dryer (see Yoon Fig.2). Further, Han showcases that a control panel (Fig.10 ref 70) can be provided above a portion of the front panel (see Fig.10). Furthermore, the configuration of providing the control panel above the front panel is a well-known configuration in the art, as seen by Banicevic.
Banicevic discloses an art related laundry appliance (abstract), wherein a control panel (ref 18) is known to be provided above a front panel (ref 80) of a laundry appliance.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Yoon to provide the control panel above the front panel of the washing machine, as such is a well-known configuration in the art (Yoon Fig.10 & Banicevic Fig.2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8 & 17-19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 2, the closest prior art of record is Han as utilized above. Han showcases a side bent portion extending rearward from side ends of the front face of the cabinet (e.g. see Figs.3 & 8 portion where ref 88 installs into ref 70). However, Han does not disclose a side end of the top bent portion and a top end of the side bent portion being spaced apart from each other via a cut slit that is disposed between the two which extends in a front-rear direction. Nor do any of the references of record (including those recited as pertinent prior art below) indicate such a feature. Thus, claim 2 and its dependents are considered to contain allowable subject matter. Claims 17-19 are considered to contain allowable subject matter for similar reasoning.
With respect to claim 5, the closest prior art of record is as follows:
Kim (KR20060032326A) showcases that a control panel (ref 10) of a front panel (ref 20) can have a bent portion (ref 2) such that a top panel (ref 30) can overlap said bent portion (Figs.3-5B).
Kim (KR20060031296A) showcases that a control panel (ref 10) of a front panel (ref 20) can have a bent portion (ref 2) such that a top panel (ref 30) can overlap said bent portion (Figs.3-5B).
The prior art references showcase that it is known to provide the bent portion with an overlapping region to secure to the bent portion and the top panel.
Further, such a feature reads on a front part of the top panel being disposed on a rear part of the top bent portion and is overlapped with the rear part of the top bent portion in a vertical direction.
However, a skilled artisan would both find no reason to incorporate such a feature into the construction of Modified Han nor a reasonable manner in which such a feature could be added to Han. Han allows for the control panel to be coupled with the decoration cover and/or a panel frame and attempting to incorporate such a feature would require the providing a through hole into the decoration panel and passing of the control panel through said decoration panel and/or the panel frame for mounting to the top panel. A skilled artisan would find no tangible benefit in performing such a modification, and such a modification would likely hinder the assembly of such a panel construction. Thus, although the feature is known in the art, a skilled artisan would not find it obvious, without the use of impermissible hindsight, to modify Han to read on the invention of claim 5.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jo (US20180179692A1) showcases a front panel having with a top panel for placement of a control panel (Figs.1-4).
Yang (US20180197364A1) showcases a front panel having a top panel and decorative cover having the control panel (Fig.2).
Jones (US20130185914A1) showcases a front panel, a decorative panel above the front panel, and a top panel (Fig.1).
Kang (US20170022653A1) showcases a front panel having a top connecting portion above (Figs.1-3) and flaps for connection of front panel are components that are cut and bent [0080].
Buso (US20150145388A1) showcases a connecting member between a front and top panel (Fig.5).
Jung (US20200240065A1) showcases a top of a washing machine having a decorative insert (Figs.6-12, 15, 26, 30, 40-41).
Underly (US20200347536A1) discloses a decorative panel can be placed on a top surface of a cabinet [0027].
Gregory (US20200205569A1) discloses a decorative panel for a top of the washing machine (abstract).
Ayers (US11193229B2) showcases a decorative panel, top panel, and front panel (see all figures).
McConnell (US20210180239A1) a cabinet can have decorative panels mounted thereto [0032].
Ben (US20150315739A1) showcases a front, top, and side panels (Figs.1-2).
Bison (US20140026433A1) discloses a top panel used for aesthetic purposes to cover panels underneath [0095].
Hur (US20070180867A1) showcases a deco control panel connection to front cover (see all figures).
Park (US20060289533A1) showcases a deco cover in front of a top panel (Fig.16-22) and Fig.8 shows that a deco cover that can surround control panel.
Park (US20060255700A1) showcases a front panel, side panels, deco control panel, top panel (Fig.2) and a drain hole in connection between deco control panel and cover panel (Fig.12).
Park (US20090033185A1) showcases a front panel with control panel, side panels and top panel .(Fig.2), and deco panel on bent portion of front panel (Fig.4-5 & 8). Fig.8 showcases that the top panel reaches to the panel frame.
Kim (US20050179347A1) showcases a top panel connection with a control panel (Fig.5-6).
Lee (US20040020073A1) showcases a top panel and side panel connection overlapping (Figs.3-5).
LV (US20180347095A1) discloses grooves can reinforce rigidity [0026].
Hwang (US20050134157A1) indicates that reinforcing can be provided via projecting beads [0027].
Yoon (CN101341286A) showcases control panel attachment above front panel and ahead of top panel (see all figures)
Byun (US20070209403A1) showcases deco panel (Fig.4 or Fig.7 or Fig.9) the decoration covers around sides of the panel (Fig.4) and a bent portion extends further inwards than the deco cover (Fig.9).
Hwang (KR20080021948A) showcases different deco cover configurations and connections (Figs.4 9-10, 12-13, 15-17)
Liu (WO2019100861A1) showcases a washing machine with a top, front and side panels (see claim 1). The top panel (ref 3) is provided on a bent portion of the front panel (Fig. 2 ref 1). Also showcases attachment manner of top plate to front and side plates (Figs.2 & 6-8).
Piao (US20090212673A1) showcases a front panel, deco control panel, side panels, and top panel (Fig.2 & 7) as well as connecting portions (Figs.3-6)
Hwang (KR20090023949A) showcases a front panel, deco control panel cover, side panel, and top panel (Fig.1)
Jang (KR20140084945A) showcases a front panel, deco panel, top panel (Fig.2). Fig.4 showcases the front panel having a top bent portion and side bent portion
KR20090013194U showcases the mounting of a of a top panel utilizing connecting side and front portions (Fig.3)
Kim (US20070006485A1) showcases a front panel, side panels, top panel, angled deco control panel (Fig.2) fitment of deco panel to top panel (Figs.3-4 and front panel (Fig.5)
Humpert (EP1621659A1) front panel, deco control panel, and top panel (Fig.2) and connection between pieces (Fig.3)
Kim (KR20060089083A) showcases control panel fitment to top/front panel (Figs.2-4)
Park (KR20060053422A) showcases front panel, top panel, side panels, deco control panel (Fig.3) and connection of deco control panel (Fig.4-5) as well as top panel to side panels (Fig.3).
/OMAIR CHAUDHRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711