Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Double Patenting
Claims 21, 26, 27, 32-34 and 37-42 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5-7, 11, 15, 16 and 19-24 of U.S. Patent No. 12,003,222. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all claimed limitations are present/inherent in the patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21, 28 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CHAWLA (20210092540).
Regarding claim 21, CHAWLA (Figs. 1, 2, and 5) discloses a circuit comprising: a modulation circuit (102) having a first input (Audio_P), a second input (Audio_N), see Figure 5, a first modulated signal output (B), and a second modulated signal output (A); a first multiplexer (507) having inputs coupled to the first and second modulated signal outputs (B and A); a second multiplexer (508) having inputs coupled to the first and second modulated signal outputs (B and A); see Figure 2, a first power stage (202, 206) having a first power stage input (P) and a first power stage output (222), the first power stage input (P) coupled to an output of the first multiplexer (P); and a second power stage (204, 208) having a second power stage input (N) and a second power stage output (224), the second power stage input (N) coupled to an output of the second multiplexer (N).
Regarding claim 28, wherein the first power stage includes a first transistor (202) coupled between a power terminal (210) and the first power stage output (222), and a second transistor (206) coupled between the first power stage output (222) and a reference terminal (212), the first and second transistors having control terminals coupled to the first power stage input (P); and wherein the second power stage includes a third transistor (204) coupled between the power terminal (210) and the second power stage output (224), and a fourth transistor (208) coupled between the second power stage output (224) and the reference terminal (212), the third and fourth transistors having control terminals coupled to the second power stage input (N).
Regarding claim 29, see Fig. 5), wherein the modulator circuit includes a first comparator (501) coupled between the first input (Audio_P_DC) and the first modulated signal output (B) and a second comparator (502) coupled between the second input (Audio_N_DC) and the second modulated signal output (A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 30 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHAWLA in view of Coyne (10,862,471).
Regarding claim 30, CHAWLA discloses claimed invention except having loop filter as claimed, see above. Coyne (Fig. 1) discloses a circuit comprising loop filter (105) having inputs (in_n and in_p) and outputs (m_in_n and m_in_p) respectively connected to inputs of modulator (110). Accordingly, it would have been obvious in view of the reference, taken as a whole, to have modified the circuit CHAWLA to have included a loop filter to respective inputs of the modulator, as taught by Coyne. Such a modification would have imparted the advantageous benefit of improved noise, see column 4, lines 19-23 as taught by Coyne, to CHAWLA reference, thereby suggesting the obviousness of such a modification.
Regarding claim 31, Coyne discloses the loop filter and no details shown comprises “a first resistor coupled between a first audio input and a first filter input; a second resistor coupled between a second audio input and a second filter input; a third resistor coupled between the first filter input and the first power stage output; and a fourth resistor coupled between the second filter input and the second power stage output”. However, this specific structure of the loop filter is well-known in the art, see Lesso (20130127531), (Fig. 4) and thus would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art to utilize such a well-known loop filter.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 22-25, 35 and 36 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 22-25, prior art(s) does not disclose the first multiplexer has a first selection input, the second multiplexer has a second selection input, and the apparatus further comprises a selection circuit having inputs coupled to the first and second power stage outputs, and an output of the selection circuit coupled to the first and second selection inputs.
Regarding claim 35, prior art(s) does not disclose the mode detector has a detector input coupled to one of the first or second power stages, and the mode detector configured to detect the idle mode based on a pulse width of a signal at the one of the first or second power stage outputs exceeding a threshold.
Regarding claim 36, prior art(s) does not disclose the first input is coupled to a first audio input, the second input is coupled to a second audio input, and the apparatus further comprises an inductor coupled between the first power stage output and a first speaker terminal, and a capacitor coupled between the first speaker terminal and a second speaker terminal, the second speaker terminal coupled to the second power stage output.
Conclusion
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cho et al. (20170149403), which is considered to be the closest prior art to the subject matter claimed, Cho et al. (Fig. 1B) discloses modulation circuit (200a) comprises first and second multiplexers (270a, 280a) and an output stage (400) having inputs (SCS) coupled to the outputs of the modulation circuit and outputs (VO+ and VO-). However, Cho et al. does not disclose first and second multiplexers (507 and 508) having respected inputs coupled to first and second outputs of the modulator.
Mahmoudidaryan et al. (20200266708) discloses first and second multiplexers. However, Mahmoudidaryan et al. does not disclose first and second multiplexers having respected inputs coupled to first and second outputs of the modulator.
/KHANH V NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843
.