DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-9, 14-16 and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US 20160234604 to Saxena.
Regarding Claim 1, Saxena discloses a package (Figs. 13-15, combo MEMS device package assembly 4000; ¶¶ [0041]-[0044]) comprising: a plane substrate (Figs. 13-15, substrate 105; ¶¶ [0041]-[0044]); a first lid attached to a first substrate surface of the plane substrate, wherein a first cavity is defined between the first lid and the first substrate surface (Figs. 13-15, lid 4107 with spacer 4103 of first MEMS device package 4100 on substrate 105; ¶¶ [0041]-[0044]); a second lid attached to a second substrate surface of the plane substrate opposite the first substrate surface, wherein a second cavity is defined between the second lid and the second substrate surface (Figs. 13-15, lid 4207 of second MEMS device package 4200 on substrate 105; ¶¶ [0041]-[0044]), the second lid comprises a fluid opening configured to allow a fluid to enter the second cavity (Figs. 13-15, second port 109b formed on lid 4207 of second MEMS device package 4200; ¶¶ [0041]-[0044]), and the plane substrate comprises a through hole configured to provide fluid communication between the first and second cavities (Figs. 13-15, first port 109a formed on substrate 105; ¶¶ [0041]-[0044]); a MEMS sound transducer arranged inside one of the first cavity or the second cavity, wherein the MEMS sound transducer covers the through hole (Figs. 13-15, component C1/microphone M covering first port 109a; ¶¶ [0041]-[0044]); a MEMS pressure sensor arranged inside the other one of the first cavity or the second cavity, wherein the MEMS pressure sensor is spaced apart from the through hole (Figs. 13-15, component C2/pressure sensor spaced apart from first port 109a; ¶¶ [0041]-[0044]); one or more package pads electrically contacting the MEMS sound transducer and the MEMS pressure sensor from outside the package, wherein the one or more package pads and the fluid opening in the second lid are positioned at two opposite sides of the package (Figs. 6-9 and 13-15, spacer 103/4103 with conductive traces 223/4223 connected to interior components; ¶¶ [0027]-[0035], [0041]-[0044]); and a transfer block arranged at the first substrate surface and configured to provide an electrical path between the one or more package pads and the MEMS sound transducer and the MEMS pressure sensor (Figs. 6-9 and 13-15, spacer 103/4103 with conductive traces 223/4223 connected to interior components; ¶¶ [0027]-[0035], [0041]-[0044]), wherein the transfer block is a discrete component separate from the plane substrate (Figs. 6-9 and 13-15, spacer 4103 separate from substrate 105; ¶¶ [0027]-[0035], [0041]-[0044]).
Regarding Claim 2, Saxena discloses the MEMS sound transducer is arranged inside the first cavity; and the MEMS pressure sensor is arranged inside the second cavity, such that a fluid entering the second cavity through the fluid opening in the second lid arrives at the MEMS pressure sensor before arriving at the MEMS sound transducer (Figs. 13-15, component C1/microphone M in first MEMS device package 4100 covering first port 109a and component C2/pressure sensor spaced apart from first port 109a in second MEMS device package 4200; ¶¶ [0041]-[0044]).
Regarding Claim 4, Saxena discloses the transfer block is arranged inside the first cavity (Figs. 6-9 and 13-15, spacer 103/4103 with conductive traces 223/4223 connected to interior components; ¶¶ [0027]-[0035], [0041]-[0044]).
Regarding Claim 5, Saxena discloses the transfer block is arranged outside the first cavity adjacent to the first lid (Figs. 6-9 and 13-15, outer side of spacer 103/4103 adjacent lid 4107; ¶¶ [0027]-[0035], [0041]-[0044]).
Regarding Claim 6, Saxena discloses a further transfer block, wherein the transfer block and the further transfer block are both arranged adjacent to the first lid, and on opposite lateral sides of the first lid (Figs. 10-11, bonding shelves 1221a/b adjacent lid 107; ¶¶ [0036]-[0044]) and outside the first cavity (Figs. 10-15, outer side of spacer 103/4103 adjacent lid 4107; ¶¶ [0027]-[0035], [0041]-[0044]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the application to modify the invention of Saxena by providing a further transfer block arranged outside the first cavity as in Saxena in order to provide for a well-known alternate block arrangement as a combination of Figs 10-11 and 15. See, e.g., "substitution of art-recognized equivalents" as discussed in MPEP 2144.06II "An express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982)."
Regarding Claim 7, Saxena discloses the one or more package pads are provided at the transfer block opposite the first substrate surface (Figs. 6-9 and 13-15, spacer 103/4103 with conductive traces 223/4223 on bonding shelf 1221 opposite substrate 105; ¶¶ [0027]-[0036], [0041]-[0044]);.
Regarding Claim 8, Saxena discloses the transfer block comprises a height that substantially corresponds to a height of the first lid (Figs. 13-15, lid 4107 with spacer 4103 of first MEMS device package 4100 on substrate 105; ¶¶ [0041]-[0044]); and the one or more package pads are configured to couple the transfer block to a separate component board arranged at an outer surface of the first lid (Figs. 6-9 and 13-15, spacer 103/4103 with conductive traces 223/4223 connecting interior to with any devices or components outside the package 3100 to provide one or more ground lines, power lines, and signal lines that allow power and ground voltages to be supplied from the substrate 105 and allow signals to be carried to the substrate 105; ¶¶ [0027]-[0035], [0041]-[0044]).
Regarding Claim 9, Saxena discloses the one or more package pads are arranged between the transfer block and the component board for providing a conductive path between a wiring of the component board and the transfer block (Figs. 6-9 and 13-15, spacer 103/4103 with conductive traces 223/4223 connecting interior to with any devices or components outside the package 3100 to provide one or more ground lines, power lines, and signal lines that allow power and ground voltages to be supplied from the substrate 105 and allow signals to be carried to the substrate 105; ¶¶ [0027]-[0035], [0041]-[0044]).
Regarding Claim 14, Saxena discloses the plane substrate comprises routed wiring electrically connecting the transfer block, the MEMS sound transducer and the MEMS pressure sensor with each other (Figs. 6-9 and 13-15, spacer 103/4103 with conductive traces 223/4223 connected to interior components via wires 611/605 and/or links L; ¶¶ [0027]-[0035], [0041]-[0044]).
Regarding Claim 15, Saxena discloses a control circuit integrated in the plane substrate, the control circuit configured to control the MEMS sound transducer or the MEMS pressure sensor (Figs. 6-9 and 13-15, application specific integrated circuit (ASIC) 603 for MEMS microphone die 601 and other components; ¶¶ [0027]-[0035], [0041]-[0044]).
Regarding Claim 16, Saxena discloses the transfer block comprises at least one electrical conductor passing through an inside of the transfer block (Figs. 6-9 and 13-15, spacer 103/4103 with conductive traces 223/4223; ¶¶ [0027]-[0035], [0041]-[0044]).
Regarding Claim 20, Saxena discloses a package (Figs. 13-15, combo MEMS device package assembly 4000; ¶¶ [0041]-[0044]), comprising: a substrate having a first surface and an opposing second surface (Figs. 13-15, substrate 105; ¶¶ [0041]-[0044]), a first cavity adjacent to the first surface of the substrate within the package (Figs. 13-15, lid 4107 with spacer 4103 of first MEMS device package 4100 on substrate 105; ¶¶ [0041]-[0044]), and a second cavity adjacent to the second surface of the substrate within the package (Figs. 13-15, lid 4207 of second MEMS device package 4200 on substrate 105; ¶¶ [0041]-[0044]), wherein the second cavity includes a fluid opening for allowing a fluid to enter the second cavity (Figs. 13-15, second port 109b formed on lid 4207 of second MEMS device package 4200; ¶¶ [0041]-[0044]); a through hole in the substrate providing fluid communication between the first and second cavities (Figs. 13-15, first port 109a formed on substrate 105; ¶¶ [0041]-[0044]); a MEMS sound transducer disposed in one of the first cavity or the second cavity and covering the through hole (Figs. 13-15, component C1/microphone M covering first port 109a; ¶¶ [0041]-[0044]); a MEMS pressure sensor disposed in the other one of the first cavity or the second cavity and spaced apart from the through hole (Figs. 13-15, component C2/pressure sensor spaced apart from first port 109a; ¶¶ [0041]-[0044]); a package pad configured to electrically contact the MEMS sound transducer and the MEMS pressure sensor from outside the package, wherein the package pad and the fluid opening are positioned on opposite sides of the package(Figs. 6-9 and 13-15, spacer 103/4103 with conductive traces 223/4223 connected to interior components; ¶¶ [0027]-[0035], [0041]-[0044]); and a discrete transfer block arranged on the substrate and configured to provide an electric path between the package pad and the MEMS sound transducer and the MEMS pressure sensor (Figs. 6-9 and 13-15, spacer 103/4103 with conductive traces 223/4223 connected to interior components; ¶¶ [0027]-[0035], [0041]-[0044]), wherein the transfer block is a discrete component separate from the substrate (Figs. 6-9 and 13-15, spacer 4103 separate from substrate 105; ¶¶ [0027]-[0035], [0041]-[0044]).
Regarding Claim 21, the method of the claim appears to be met by the operation of the devices of Claims 1 or 20.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saxena as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20210321184 to Ye.
Regarding Claim 3, Saxena discloses the package according to claim 1, and further discloses a MEMS sound transducer disposed in one of the first cavity or the second cavity and covering the through hole (Figs. 13-15, component C1/microphone M covering first port 109a; ¶¶ [0041]-[0044]). However, Saxena does not explicitly disclose the MEMS pressure sensor is arranged inside the first cavity; and the MEMS sound transducer is arranged inside the second cavity, such that a fluid entering the second cavity through the fluid opening in the second lid firstly arrives at the MEMS sound transducer before arriving at the MEMS pressure sensor. Ye discloses the MEMS pressure sensor is arranged inside the first cavity; and the MEMS sound transducer is arranged inside the second cavity, such that a fluid entering the second cavity through the fluid opening in the second lid firstly arrives at the MEMS sound transducer before arriving at the MEMS pressure sensor (Fig. 5, acoustic sensor 4 disposed in accommodating space 60 and pressure sensor 2 is installed on the second circuit board 3 in cavity 70; ¶¶ [0038]-[0043], [0051]-[0053]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the application to modify the invention of Saxena by providing the MEMS pressure sensor is arranged inside the first cavity; and the MEMS sound transducer is arranged inside the second cavity, such that a fluid entering the second cavity through the fluid opening in the second lid firstly arrives at the MEMS sound transducer before arriving at the MEMS pressure sensor as in Ye in order to provide for higher sound transmission efficiency.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saxena as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20170283246 to Elian.
Regarding Claim 10, Saxena discloses the package according to claim 1, but does not disclose a shell laterally surrounding the MEMS pressure sensor, wherein the shell is arranged at the second substrate surface; a flexible pressure transmitting material filling an interior of the shell, the flexible pressure transmitting material encapsulating the MEMS pressure sensor; and an opening in the shell in fluid communication with the fluid opening provided in the second lid, wherein the opening in the shell is configured such that a fluid entering the second cavity through the fluid opening contacts the flexible pressure transmitting material to transmit fluid pressure towards the MEMS pressure sensor. Elian discloses a shell laterally surrounding the MEMS pressure sensor, wherein the shell is arranged at the second substrate surface (Fig. 1, package-integrated annular elastic sealing 158 around transducer 154 arranged between casing 102 and carrier 152 on mounting base 106; ¶¶ [0063]-[0069]); a flexible pressure transmitting material filling an interior of the shell, the flexible pressure transmitting material encapsulating the MEMS pressure sensor (Fig. 1, elastic sealing 158 with gel-type pressure-transmitting encapsulant 164 around transducer 154; ¶¶ [0063]-[0069]); and an opening in the shell in fluid communication with the fluid opening provided in the second lid, wherein the opening in the shell is configured such that a fluid entering the second cavity through the fluid opening contacts the flexible pressure transmitting material to transmit fluid pressure towards the MEMS pressure sensor (Fig. 1, external pressure transferred via port 104 and via pressure-transmitting encapsulant 164 to transducer 154; ¶¶ [0063]-[0069]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the application to modify the invention of Saxena by providing a shell laterally surrounding the MEMS pressure sensor, wherein the shell is arranged at the second substrate surface; a flexible pressure transmitting material filling an interior of the shell, the flexible pressure transmitting material encapsulating the MEMS pressure sensor; and an opening in the shell in fluid communication with the fluid opening provided in the second lid, wherein the opening in the shell is configured such that a fluid entering the second cavity through the fluid opening contacts the flexible pressure transmitting material to transmit fluid pressure towards the MEMS pressure sensor as in Elian in order to prevent unwanted substances to contact the pressure sensor.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saxena in view of Elian as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of US 20220369042 Westmarland.
Regarding Claim 11, Saxena in view of Elian discloses the package according to claim 10, but does not disclose an environmental barrier structure covering the through hole in the plane substrate. Westmarland discloses an environmental barrier structure covering the through hole in the plane substrate (Fig. 1, mesh structure 150/151/152 covering sound port 120 extending between first and second sides 101, 102 of multilayer component board 110; ¶¶ 0037]-[0053], [00112]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the application to modify the invention of Saxena by providing an environmental barrier structure covering the through hole in the plane substrate as in Westmarland in order to prevent damage to the transducer.
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saxena as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20190135614 to Kierse.
Regarding Claim 12, Saxena discloses the package according to claim 1, but does not disclose an environmental barrier structure arranged in or at the fluid opening in the second lid. Kierse discloses an environmental barrier structure arranged in or at the fluid opening in the second lid (Fig. 1, filter(s) 52 in gas inlet 50 of second lid 22; ¶¶ [0042]-[0043]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the application to modify the invention of Saxena by providing an environmental barrier structure arranged in or at the fluid opening in the second lid as in Kierse in order to prevent damage to the sensor.
Regarding Claim 13, Kierse discloses a mechanical stop provided downstream of the environmental barrier structure with regards to a fluid path in which a fluid enters the second cavity, wherein the mechanical stop is configured to limit a deflection of the environmental barrier structure (Fig. 1, filter(s) 52 on horizontal surfaces of second lid 22 gas inlet 50; ¶¶ [0042]-[0043]).
Claim(s) 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saxena as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20220034740 to Hsieh.
Regarding Claim 17, Saxena discloses the package according to claim 1, and further discloses the transfer block is fixedly secured to one of the first substrate surface or the first lid (Figs. 6-9 and 13-15, spacer 103/4103 fixedly attached to lid 4107 and common substrate 105; ¶¶ [0027]-[0035], [0041]-[0044]). However, Saxena is silent regarding the transfer block being flexibly secured to the other one of the first substrate surface or the first lid. Hsieh discloses the transfer block being flexibly secured to the other one of the first substrate surface or the first lid (Figs. 13, 15 and 17, one end of conductive pillar 80 connected to opening in inner wall of accommodating room 11 with a gap 131, and the other end of conductive pillar 80 extending to and connected to flexible plate 20; ¶¶ [0088]-[0101]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the application to modify the invention of Saxena by providing the transfer block being flexibly secured to the other one of the first substrate surface or the first lid as in Hsieh in order to provide for a well-known alternative method of assembly. See, e.g., "substitution of art-recognized equivalents" as discussed in MPEP 2144.06II "An express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982)."
Regarding Claim 18, Saxena discloses the package according to claim 1, but does not disclose the first lid comprises a hole configured to accommodate an accommodating portion of the transfer block; and the hole in the first lid is wider than a width of the accommodating portion of the transfer block, wherein that the transfer block is accommodated in the hole by a clearance-fit. Hsieh discloses the first lid comprises a hole configured to accommodate an accommodating portion of the transfer block; and the hole in the first lid is wider than a width of the accommodating portion of the transfer block, wherein that the transfer block is accommodated in the hole by a clearance-fit (Figs. 13, 15 and 17, one end of conductive pillar 80 connected to opening in inner wall of accommodating room 11 with a gap 131; ¶¶ [0088]-[0101]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the application to modify the invention of Saxena by providing the first lid comprises a hole configured to accommodate an accommodating portion of the transfer block; and the hole in the first lid is wider than a width of the accommodating portion of the transfer block, wherein that the transfer block is accommodated in the hole by a clearance-fit as in Hsieh in order to provide for a well-known alternative method of assembly. See, e.g., "substitution of art-recognized equivalents" as discussed in MPEP 2144.06II "An express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982)."
Regarding Claim 19, Hsieh discloses the transfer block is attached to the hole in the first lid by solder or glue (Figs. 13, 15 and 17, one end of conductive pillar 80 connected to opening in inner wall of accommodating room 11 with a gap 131 and sealing material 90 such as polymer material, PDMS (polydimethylsiloxane), PI (Polyimide), etc.; ¶¶ [0088]-[0101]).
Conclusion
/DAVID J BOLDUC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852