DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the insulator material between the droplet operations gap and the low-voltage sensing device must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hadwen, US 2017/0076676 A1. Alternatively, claims 1, 2, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hadwen in view of Zhang, US 2021/0270770 A1. Claims 3, 4, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hadwen in view of Zhang.
Claim 1: Hadwen discloses a method for operating a low-voltage transistor-based sensor in a high-voltage digital microfluidics system, the method comprising:
a) a high-voltage digital microfluidics system ([0023]), wherein the high-voltage digital microfluidics system comprises a digital microfluidics cartridge (AM-EWOD device, [0094]), and wherein the digital microfluidics cartridge comprises:
i) a bottom substrate (72), wherein the bottom substrate comprises a plurality of droplet operation electrodes (38);
ii) a top substrate (36), wherein the top substrate is spaced apart from the bottom substrate forming a droplet operations gap therebetween (FIG. 5);
and iii) a low-voltage transistor-based sensor (62), wherein the low-voltage transistor-based sensor comprises:
I) a metal oxide semiconductor field-effect transistor sensor, an ion-sensing field-effect transistor sensor, a fin field-effect transistor sensor or a photo-sensing device;
All the transistors, including the sensing transistor, are “for example based on amorphous silicon TFTs or oxide TFTs (e.g. zinc oxide or indium-gallium-zinc-oxide TFTs)” [0154], which are types of field effect transistors.
Alternatively Zhang discloses the use of FET based biosensors ([0010]) in a microfluidics system, and it would have been known in the art to do so.
and II) a protection mechanism (transistors 55 and 58 are configured to isolate signals or voltages);
b) performing a droplet operation cycle, wherein the droplet operation cycle comprises applying a high-voltage to one or more of the droplet operation electrodes of the plurality of droplet operation electrodes for droplet manipulation ([0025]);
c) activating, during the droplet operation cycle, the protection mechanism of the low-voltage transistor-based sensor, thereby isolating the low-voltage transistor-based sensor from the high-voltage applied to the one or more droplet operation electrodes (the actuator circuit includes isolating elements such as transistor 55 configured to isolate the element electrode from the actuation voltage during operation of the impedance sensor circuit [0129]);
and d) deactivating the protection mechanism and performing a sensing cycle operation (As the Sensing Period commences, the reset signal RST continues to be held high for a period of time which may be denoted the Reset Period. During the Reset Period transistor 58 is turned on and the potential at the gate of sensing transistor 62, VSENSE, is charged; [0129]), wherein the sensing cycle operation occurs at a low-voltage (at the end of the Actuation Period V2 is taken to the low state; [0129]).
Claim 2: the high-voltage applied to the one or more droplet operation electrodes during the droplet operation cycle is turned off during the sensing cycle operation (FIG. 10).
Claim 3: Zhang discloses a microfluidics low voltage extended gate FET ([0009]-[0010]) wherein the extended gate field-effect transistor comprises: a) a sensor and a gate; and b) a source, a drain and a well, wherein each of the source, the drain and the well are capacitively coupled to the gate ([0050], FIG. 2A). It would have been obvious to have had such a sensor in Hadwen as a known microfluidics sensors, and to be able to measure ion concentration.
Claim 4: Zhang discloses that the extended gate field-effect transistor further comprises a stacked metal layer (ST) comprising a bottom metal layer, a middle metal layer and a top metal layer (FIG. 2A), wherein the bottom metal layer is electrically connected to each of the source (2A), the drain (2B) and the well (CH), and wherein the bottom metal layer, the middle metal layer and the top metal layer are electrically connected to one another ([0057]).
Claim 7: the protection mechanism (including transistor 55) is configured to isolate the high-voltage applied to the one or more of the droplet operation electrodes of the plurality of droplet operation electrodes during the droplet operation cycle from the low-voltage transistor-based sensor, wherein the protection mechanism is further configured to isolate the low-voltage transistor-based sensor using a cutoff transistor operable to isolate the voltage applied to the low-voltage transistor-based sensor during the digital microfluidics electrode operation cycle during the droplet operation cycle (when transistor 58 is off, the components are isolated from the voltage - [0112]).
Claim 8: the protection mechanism comprises applying an intermediate voltage to the low-voltage transistor-based sensor, and wherein the intermediate voltage comprises a voltage between a ground voltage and the high-voltage applied to the one or more droplet operation electrodes of the plurality of operation electrodes during the droplet operation cycle (the gate of transistor 62 is charged to the reset potential, VRST; [0129]).
Claim 9: the bottom substrate further comprises one or more microwells (Zhang 26). Wells were a known way to implement microfluidics sensors.
Claim 10: the intermediate voltage is between the ground voltage and the high-voltage applied during the droplet operation cycle and is calculated to be a safe voltage based on the high-voltage applied during the droplet operation cycle and based on a breakdown voltage of the sensor oxide. As seen in FIG. 9, the intermediate voltage of 58 will be transmitted to the sensor and the droplet electrode 38, and thus will need to be safe for each.
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hadwen in view of Jagtiani, US 20210229102 A1, or alternative over Hadwen in view of Zhang and Jagntiani.
Claim 5: Jagtiani discloses the digital microfluidics cartridge comprises an insulator material: “In some embodiments of the cartridge, the electrowetting electrodes are coated with an insulating layer. In some embodiments, the insulating layer has a dielectric constant of about 3.9 or higher. In some embodiments, the insulating layer comprises hafnium oxide”. [0013]. It would have been obvious to have used this layer as known in the art for microfluidics cartridges. The arrangement of parts is obvious, and it would have been obvious to have arranged the sensor such that the insulator material is between the droplet operations gap and the low-voltage transistor-based sensor and wherein the insulator material is pH sensitive.
Claim 6: the insulator material is tantalum oxide, hafnium oxide or hafnium-doped tantalum oxide ([0013]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Denomme, US 20230003683 A1, showing a transistor based microfluidics sensor.
/PETER BRADFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897