DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant’s arguments and amendments have been thoroughly reviewed and considered. Claims 53, 56, and 58 remain withdrawn. Claims 41-44, 47, 51-52, 54-55, 57 and 60-66 are pending and are examined on the merits herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/8/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Applicant’s Amendments and Arguments
Claims 41-44, 47, 51-52, 54-55, 57, and 60-66 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis et al. (US 2014/0034497 A1), in view of Goto et al. (WO 2021/124468 A1), and in view of Gershow et al. (US 2009/0136958 A1).
Regarding the prior art rejections made in the Final Rejection mailed 4/9/2026, Applicant argues that Davis, the primary reference, does not teach the whole of steps (b) and (c) of instant claim 41. Additionally, Applicant argues that Goto does not remedy this deficiency as the reference teaches only that DNA strands are passed through an electrical field, and that Gershow teaches that primers are provided in reservoirs on the opposite side of a nanopore to a DNA strands entry for post-translocation analyses (Remarks, pages 7-8).
Relating the cited references to the limitations of instant claim 41, Davis teaches step (a) in the embodiment described in para. 23 of the Final Rejection mailed 4/9/2026 and shown in Figure 13 of the reference. Regarding step (b), Davis specifically teaches the extension of the primer with a polymerase (see para. 201 of the reference) and a plurality of nucleotide bases, and so teaches step (b). Davis also teaches the detection of a signal associated with a movement of the nucleic acid strand, thus arriving at (c)(1). Goto is used to arrive at the third wherein clause of step (c) (see paras. 25-26 of the Final Rejection mailed 4/9/2026), and Gershow is used to arrive at limitation (c)(2) and the first wherein clause of step (c), and as this latter reference teaches the generation of a second signal, Davis, in view of Goto, and in view of Gershow together teach the second wherein clause of step (c). Applicant does not appear to address the rationale behind these rejections (other than what is provided in the Remarks on pages 8-9, which is addressed below), and instead points only to specific teachings of one paragraph in each of the references.
With regard to the newly added wherein clause of instant claim 41, the primer of Davis, in view of Goto, and in view of Gershow enters the nanopore from the additional, non-complementary region, and specifically from a nanopore introduction sequence, as described by Goto. As the complementary region of the primer naturally follows this non-complementary region in sequence, it would also naturally enter the nanopore subsequent to the non-complementary region. Thus, Davis, in view of Goto, and in view of Gershow is already considered to meet this limitation.
Additionally in their Remarks, Applicant alleges that Davis teaches away from the claimed invention, as the reference teaches anchoring in a manner in which the nucleic acid is anchored to the nanopore on the entering side and where the nucleic acid molecule is not completely threaded through the nanopore. Any modification of Davis to arrive at the claimed invention is allegedly improper as it would frustrate the intended design and purpose of Davis (Remarks, pages 8-9).
Regarding teaching away, MPEP 2145 X (D) 1 states, “Furthermore, "the prior art’s mere disclosure of more than one alternative does not constitute a teaching away from any of these alternatives because such disclosure does not criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the solution claimed…." In re Fulton, 391 F.3d 1195, 1201, 73 USPQ2d 1141, 1146 (Fed. Cir. 2004).” Though Davis does teach anchoring a nucleic acid strand on the same side of the nanopore that said strand enters said nanopore in order to prevent said strand from passing completely through said nanopore, Davis does not disparage other anchoring means. Thus, Davis merely provides one means of anchoring, and does not teach away from others.
In combining Davis, in view of Goto, and in view of Gershow, the general teachings of anchoring in Davis are used to provide context for further modifications using the teachings of Gershow. Specifically, as stated in paras. 31-33 of the Final Rejection mailed 4/9/2026, “Gershow teaches attaching chemical groups or molecules to ends of nucleic acid strands that are of an opposite electrical charge to the target DNA strand or greater diameter than said strand in order to slow down or stop movement of the nucleic acid through the nanopore (paras. 76-82). As shown in Figure 4B, these molecules can be another nucleic acid strand. Gershow teaches that such an inclusion would prevent the nucleic acid from completely leaving the nanopore, which would lead to easier recapture and re-translocation (paras. 80-82). Specifically, Gershow teaches that such stopping attachments can be attached to structures adjacent to the nanopore (para. 82).” Then, in combining Davis and Gershow, the result is a DNA strand that does not entirely translocate through the nanopore, thus maintaining the purpose and principle of operation of the anchoring of Davis.
Thus, these arguments are not considered persuasive.
Therefore, overall, the combination of Davis, in view of Goto, and in view of Gershow is considered to read on all the limitations of the newly amended instant claims, and so the 35 USC 103 Rejections presented in the Final Rejection mailed 4/9/2026 are maintained.
Claim Interpretation
It is noted that in newly amended claim 41, while the first signal and second signals must be “usable for analyzing said nucleic acid molecule,” this limitation does not recite or require an actual analyzing step.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 41-44, 47, 51-52, 54-55, 57, and 60-66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis et al. (US 2014/0034497 A1), in view of Goto et al. (WO 2021/124468 A1), and in view of Gershow et al. (US 2009/0136958 A1).
It is noted that any citations to particular portions of the Goto reference refer to those taught in the English Machine Translation.
Davis teaches methods of sequencing nucleic acid molecules using nanopore sensors (Abstract). One such method involves rolling circle nanopore sequencing and is shown in Figure 13. A nucleic acid polymerase (1301) is attached to a nanopore (1302) as a fusion protein (para. 209, and para. 80 also notes that the nanopore can be a protein; instant claims 42, 44, and 55). A circular nucleic acid molecule (1304) is provided, along with a primer (1303) that has a dashed portion that does not anneal to the circular nucleic acid molecule (paras. 209 and 211; instant claim 57). The primer is then extended from end 1305, and the primer can be passed through the nanopore as extension is occurring (para. 210 and 1306). This extension can be done through the use of a polymerase (para. 201) and the addition of nucleotides to the extended strand (para. 208), and the extended primer is sequenced as it passes through the nanopore (para. 210). This can continue until the sequence of the circular nucleic acid is determined (para. 210). As seen in Figure 13, the complementary region of the primer is flanked by the non-complementary region (the dashed line) and the growing (i.e. extended) end. As also shown by Figure 13, the non-complementary region of the primer is the first portion directed through the nanopore and sequenced (paras. 210-211; instant claim 47).
However, Davis does not teach that the non-complementary region of the primer is inserted into the nanopore prior to the generation of the extended primer. Additionally, Davis does teach methods for anchoring nucleic acids in order to either trap a nucleic acid in a nanopore or to prevent a nucleic acid from going completely through a nanopore. In such instances, Davis teaches that the direction of movement of a nucleic acid through a nanopore can be reversed (paras. 166-167). Figure 5 and paras. 168-170 show examples of such anchoring. However, the reference does not teach that the reversal of movement through the nanopore is associated with any additional signal or detection.
Goto teaches methods related to sequencing (Abstract). These methods can involve the use of nanopores. Figure 3 shows the use of a nanopore introduction sequence that is guided into a nanopore before any extension or nanopore sequencing occurs (para. 31). The nanopore introduction sequence is linked to a primer sequence that can be used to create a sequence complementary to a target (para. 26 and Figure 3). Figures 4 and 5 demonstrate that this can be done with circular target nucleic acids. Figure 4 shows the nanopore introduction sequence as reference character 114 (see paras. 44 and 46). Para. 34 of Goto explains that the mechanism of action of Figure 5 is the same as that of Figure 3 (i.e. where the nanopore introduction strand enters the nanopore before extension begins).
Prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to use the teachings of Goto to include a specific nanopore introduction sequence in the method of Davis. This could be added onto the non-complementary portion of the primer of Davis, and would act to guide the primer into the nanopore before primer extension began. By positioning the primer into the nanopore before extension occurs, this ensures proper placement of the growing strand (i.e. making sure the growing strand actually enters the nanopore) and could shorten sequencing time, as there would be no delay between the start of the extension reaction and signals received from the nanopore sequencing. MPEP 2143 I A states, “The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.” Both nanopore introduction sequences and rolling circle nanopore sequencing were known in the art, as evidenced by Goto and Davis, and by adding this introduction sequence to the non-complementary portion of the primer of Davis, no portion of the sequencing itself would be modified or affect – the primer would simply be partially in the nanopore at the start of extension. As Goto teaches that this introduction sequence can be added to a primer sequence, and notes exemplary compositions of such an introduction sequence (e.g. paras. 50 and 53), there would also be a reasonable expectation of success.
However, Goto does not teach the reversal of movement through the nanopore, either generally or in association with any additional signal or detection.
Gershow teaches a molecular analysis system involving nanopores and translocation of molecular species through them. Particularly, the molecular species may be moved through the nanopore multiple times to generate data for analysis (Abstract). By capturing and then recapturing molecular data for a species of interest, this can provide “knowledge of a molecule's position at a nanopore at both ends of a measured time interval, and provides knowledge of the forces applied to the molecule during that time interval, enabling an evaluation of the molecule's path in solution,” (paras. 6-7). This data can also be used for sequencing, and the translocating and re-translocating can be done via changes in control signal produced by the system (paras. 6 and 11). Figure 1 shows how a molecule may move through the nanopore multiple times in a forward and reverse direction (see also paras. 25-30). The molecule can be a DNA strand (para. 35). Gershow also notes that this translocation and re-translocation has advantages such as increased accuracy for signal detection for particular molecules, where the additional signal verification can reduce errors in measurement, correct for measurement signal noise, and lessen required statistical and chemical examinations of a particular molecule (para. 62). This method also allows for a large number of measurements to be obtained in a short period of time (para. 63).
Prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to use the teachings of Gershow to add reverse movement methods of the target nucleic acid into the method of Davis in view of Goto. Gershow teaches many benefits and advantages of utilizing this method that would be of interest to the ordinary artisan when sequencing nucleic acids in nanopores. Davis teaches methods of altering currents (paras. 138-140), and, as noted above, also teaches an embodiment in which a nucleic acid can be reversed through a nanopore. Thus, the teachings of Gershow simply further these teachings and provide reasonings for using such reversible movement in a nanopore analysis method. By employing this method, each section of the growing strand that enters and produces a signal in the nanopore would have signals associated with at least two movements through the nanopore in a forward and reverse direction (instant claims 62-63). There would be a reasonable expectation of success in performing this forward and reverse movement as Gershow is almost entirely focused on such techniques, showing that they are known in the art and can be successfully employed.
However, these teachings of Davis, in view of Goto, and in view of Gershow described above alone do not specifically teach limitation (B) in instant claim 41, where the second movement must occur prior to the translocation of a portion of the growing strand through the nanopore. It is noted that though (B) states this second movement must occur before translocation, no such translocation is actually required by claim 41 or any of the dependent claims.
As noted above, Davis teaches various methods for anchoring a nucleic acid to a nanopore (Figure 5 and paras. 168-170). This anchoring is done by anchoring one end of the nucleic acid to either a protein, membrane, or the nanopore itself. However, this anchoring is not done on the primer end of the extended nucleic acid molecule. Gershow teaches attaching chemical groups or molecules to ends of nucleic acid strands that are of an opposite electrical charge to the target DNA strand or greater diameter than said strand in order to slow down or stop movement of the nucleic acid through the nanopore (paras. 76-82). As shown in Figure 4B, these molecules can be another nucleic acid strand. Gershow teaches that such an inclusion would prevent the nucleic acid from completely leaving the nanopore, which would lead to easier recapture and re-translocation (paras. 80-82). Specifically, Gershow teaches that such stopping attachments can be attached to structures adjacent to the nanopore (para. 82).
Though such anchoring is shown/suggested to be on the end of the nucleic acid that enters the nanopore last (i.e. the end opposite the primer in the instant combination of references), in the method of Davis, in view of Goto, and in view of Gershow, primer extension occurs as the strand is moving through the nanopore. Thus, the end of the nucleic acid opposite the primer end would not be created until after the primer end was already through the nanopore. Because Davis and Gershow teach that anchoring provides the benefit of preventing the nucleic acid from moving all the way through the nanopore, and thus would also provide such a benefit in the method of Davis, in view of Goto, and in view of Gershow, the ordinary artisan would recognize that this would allow for less loss of the nucleic acids generally (as anchoring would ensure the nucleic acids remained near the nanopore and were not lost in solution), and using ordinary knowledge, skill, and creativity, would reach the conclusion that the non-complementary primer end of the growing strand nucleic acid could be bound to a stopper nucleic acid or small chemical group/molecule that is attached to the nanopore on the side opposite the initial entry of the nucleic acid (thus, the stopper would not attach to the non-complementary primer end until said end was already in the nanopore). This would stop the extended nucleic acid from completely leaving the nanopore, which would lead to more efficient forward and reverse movement through said nanopore, with less loss of nucleic acids and more sequencing data, which would lead to more accurate results and would bolster the advantages described by Gershow above (instant claims 64-66). There would be a reasonable expectation of success in combining these teachings as each aspect is taught by Davis and/or Gershow, particularly the attachment of chemical groups to nanopore membranes and the use of stoppers.
In this combination of references, the non-complementary primer end would enter the nanopore, followed by the complementary/growing strand portion. As the growing strand would not completely exit the nanopore due to the presence of the stopper, upon reversal of the direction of strand motion, a significant portion of the growing strand would be examined twice (with measurements in the forward and reverse directions), without said portion ever exiting the nanopore. Thus, this combination meets each limitation of instant claim 41.
Thus, claims 41-42, 44, 47, 55, 57, and 62-66 are rejected as being obvious over Davis, in view of Goto, and in view of Gershow.
Regarding claims 43 and 54, the instant specification states that, “In some cases, contacting of the NA complex by the binding moiety (e.g., the enzyme) may be sufficient to effect the flowing of a portion of the complex (e.g., the additional region of the primer NA molecule) into the pore of the sensor…Without wishing to be bound by theory, the additional, non-complementary region of the primer NA molecule may be attracted towards the pore of the sensor due at least in part to the close proximity between the additional, non-complementary region of the primer NA molecule and the pore of the sensor,” (para. 89). Thus, the directing described by claim 43 can be due to the proximity of the non-complementary primer region and the nanopore. Davis teaches that nanopores can have electrodes that produce electrical stimuli (para. 138). Electrodes are primarily taught as being neutral or positively charged (paras. 175 and 177-178). Davis then teaches that in primers with capture regions, which are also non-complementary to a circular target sequence, “The capture region extending from the primer can be constructed of any molecule including abasic nucleic acids, PEG molecules, or any other of a variety of man-made polymers that are optimized to be captured into a nanopore. The capture region may be highly negatively or positively charged for example depending on the particular nanopore set-up or the type of sample being processed,” (para. 199). This charging of the capture region can be optimized for particular methods (para. 199). Thus, Davis teaches that methods of making negatively charged sequences in primer sequences would be known to the ordinary artisan, and could be utilized based on the specific target molecule and nanopore parameters being used. If positively charged electrodes on nanopores are met with negatively charged primer regions, then the primers will be drawn to said nanopores. This is in-line with Davis’ later teachings that an electrical field can be used to insert a capture region into a nanopore (para. 203). Because this capture region of the primer of Davis is non-complementary to a target and functions similarly to the non-complementary region of the primer shown in Figure 13 of Davis, it would be prima facie obvious to the ordinary artisan that said non-complementary region in Figure 13 could also be made to be negatively charged. Additionally, it would then be prima facie obvious to have the associated nanopore be positively charged in order to ensure that the non-complementary region of the primer is appropriately directed into the nanopore.
Regarding claims 51-52, Goto teaches exemplary nanopore introduction sequences that are over 10 nucleotides long (see para. 51 and Table 1, as well as para. 50 which states that the introduction sequence is the poly(T) sequence of primer A. A similar design is shown and explained in paras. 53 and 55 and Table 2). It would be prima facie obvious for the ordinary artisan to use the nanopore introduction sequence already taught by Goto in the method of Davis, in view of Goto, and in view of Gershow, as this sequence has been shown to be successful. Thus, the non-complementary primer region would be at least the length of the poly(T) sequence shown in Goto (i.e. over 10 bases long).
Regarding claim 61, the instant specification teaches that “an impedance or impedance change may be detected by applying a constant voltage (e.g., a sinusoidal voltage perturbation) while measuring a current (e.g., a change in the current),” (para. 101). Davis teaches that the electrodes of their invention can be part of nanopores and are capable of sensing changes in current (paras. 138 and 177), and that the passage of single-stranded nucleic acid molecules through nanopores can generate detectable current changes (para. 220). Davis also contemplates methods of applying a particular voltage and measuring a response (para. 257), and states that nanopores may apply voltages in order to perform current measurements (para. 129). Finally, the reference teaches that the bases A, G, T, C, and/or U can affect the current flowing through the nanopore (para. 254). Because the entirety of the extended primer (i.e. the complementary and non-complementary portions) is moving through the nanopore in the method of Davis, in view of Goto, and in view of Gershow described above in the rejection of claim 41 (at least far enough to produce a single sequencing measurement), it would be prima facie obvious to use the current detection and measurement methods of Davis during this process to sequence the primers. These methods would involve applying a voltage across a nanopore while measuring current, and as each signal generating nucleotide of the growing strand produces a signal in the nanopore (in the forward and reverse directions), noting the change in current (i.e. measuring impedance signals). Davis teaches that the sequencing methods of their invention are highly accurate (Abstract, paras. 4, 92, and 95), motivating the ordinary artisan.
Regarding claim 60, Davis also teaches in the embodiments illustrated by Figure 13 that “At least part of the sequence of the primer may indicate the sample from which the circular nucleic acid originated,” (para. 211). In para. 199, Davis states that different primers can be given unique signals to designate the origin of a sample, and that multiple samples can have different unique barcodes. Thus, it would be prima facie obvious to the ordinary artisan that in the embodiment of Davis shown in Figure 13 and used in the method of Davis, in view of Goto, and in view of Gershow, the primer could contain a barcode in order to indicate sample origin, as Davis teaches the use of barcodes for this purpose. This would aid in more accurately identifying particular sequences that belong to particular samples, which would be helpful in laboratory and clinical settings.
Conclusion
No claims are currently allowable.
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FRANCESCA FILIPPA GIAMMONA/Examiner, Art Unit 1681
/ANGELA M. BERTAGNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1681