DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 05/12/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-15 are still pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6 and 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HARASAWA et al. (JP2017-037128 - IDS) in view of Sasaki et al. (US 20100279685) and kumagai et al. (US 20240205683).
Regarding claim 1, Harasawa teaches an image processing apparatus comprising:
One or more memories storing instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the instructions to:
provide a reception screen that receives an input of identification information of a predetermined type of part attachable to the image processing apparatus (fig. 9 and p0085: the consumables management unit 110 displays information for prompting the input of consumables information on the display 72 prompting the user to input consumables information and p0086: The information screen 140 includes an input display area 142 for inputting the identification number of the consumable item); register the identification information in response to the input of the identification information received by the reception unit (p0085: then in step 334 , the process executes a process of registering the consumables information acquired in step 330 in the consumables management table 218 and p0087: register button 144); and
Harasawa does not teach the input of the identification information is received, display a notification screen including a plurality of selection buttons for individually selecting which of the pieces of identification information previously registered is to be deleted to allow for the registration of the received identification information, wherein the notification screen includes at least the identification information that is different from the identification information received is previously registered.
Sasaki teaches the input of the identification information is received, display a notification screen including a plurality of selection buttons for individually selecting which of the pieces of identification information previously registered is to be deleted to allow for the registration of the received identification information, wherein the notification screen includes at least the identification information that is different from the identification information received is previously registered (fig. 5: delete old terminal(s)).
Harasawa and Sasaki are combinable because they both deal with management servers with a printing apparatus. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Harasawa with the teaching of Sasaki for purpose of registering new device.
Harasawa in view of Sasaki does not explicitly disclose wherein the notification screen includes at least the identification information that is different from the identification information received is previously registered.
kumagai teaches wherein the notification screen includes at least the identification information that is different from the identification information received is previously registered (p0074:notification causes the display unit 25 to display the list of the user information received from the sphygmomanometer 10…the user A performs an operation of selecting user information to be deleted according to the message).
Harasawa in view of Sasaki and Kumagai are combinable because they both deal with management number of users or device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Harasawa in view of Sasaki with the teaching of Kumagai for purpose of providing a measurement device capable of appropriately managing encryption information (p0008).
Regarding claim 14, The structural elements of apparatus claim 1 perform all of the steps of method claim 14. Thus, claim 14 is rejected for the same reasons discussed in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim 15 has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 1 and in accordance with Harasawa’s further teaching on: A computer-readable memory that contains instructions, which when executed by a processor perform steps in a method (p0121).
Regarding claim 2, Harasawa in view of Sasaki teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the display unit displays the notification screen if the identification information received by the reception unit is identification information that is different from the previously registered identification information (Sasaki:p0039: a message by the notification control unit 109 is visual and/or audible. In this case, the updating unit 104 updates the number of registrations).
The rational applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 3, Harasawa teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein if the number of pieces of the previously registered identification information has not reached the upper limit on the registerable number in the registration unit, the registration unit registers the identification information received by the reception unit and does not delete the previously registered identification information, and the display unit exercises control not to display the notification screen (p0085: if the determination in step 332 is affirmative, then in step 334 , the process executes a process of registering the consumables information acquired in step 330 in the consumables management table 218).
Regarding claim 5, Harasawa in view of Sasaki teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the notification screen includes a registration button for permitting deletion of the identification information previously registered by the registration unit and registration of the identification information received by the reception unit (Sasaki: fig. 5: delete), and in response to press of the registration button, the registration unit deletes the identification information previously registered by the registration unit and registers the identification information received by the reception unit (Sasaki: fig. 4: s415-413).
The rational applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 6, Harasawa in view of Sasaki teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 5, wherein, in response to the press of the registration button, the registration unit deletes the oldest identification information among the identification information previously registered by the registration unit, and registers the identification information received by the reception unit (Sasaki:fig. 5 and fig. 4: s415-413).
The rational applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 10, Harasawa teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the predetermined state is a state where a time for replacement of the predetermined type of part has come (p0011: indicating the date and time of removal in the memory unit as information indicating the removal, and the second control unit controls the display device to display a warning as information indicating the consumption status of the target consumable …).
Regarding claim 11, Harasawa teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the predetermined type of part is a fixing unit attachable to the image processing apparatus (p0119:toner cartridge 27).
Regarding claim 12, Harasawa teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein information indicating a consumed state corresponding to the identification information is displayed on the notification screen (p0007:… identification information of the consumable whose consumption state was detected, and the second control unit controls the display device to display information indicating the consumption state of the target consumable based on the information stored in the memory unit..
Regarding claim 13, Harasawa teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein if the identification information received by the reception unit is the previously registered identification information, the registration unit updates information associated with the previously registered identification information based on the identification information received by the reception unit, and does not delete the previously registered identification information, and the display unit exercises control not to display the notification screen (p0094: since the consumables information has already been registered, it updates the consumables management table 218 by updating at least the installation date and time of the consumables information registered in the consumables management table 218 to the date and time of installation).
Claim 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harasawa in view of Sasaki and Kumagai as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Nishiguchi (US 20080184352).
Regarding claim 7, Harasawa in view of Sasaki and Kumagai teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 5, in response to the press of the registration button, the registration unit deletes the selected identification information and registers the identification information received by the reception unit (Sasaki: Sasaki:fig. 5 and fig. 4: s415-413).
Harasawa in view of Sasaki and Kumagai does not teach wherein the notification screen further has a selection button displayed to select the identification information to be deleted among the identification information previously registered by the registration unit.
Nishiguchi teaches wherein the notification screen further has a selection button displayed to select the identification information to be deleted among the identification information previously registered by the registration unit (p0113:may also be possible to delete an arbitrary one of temporary records 79 of the number equal to the upper limit value stored in HDD 116, or the user may select the one to be deleted)
Harasawa in view of Sasaki and Kumagai are combinable because they both deal with management record reaching upper limit. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Harasawa in view of Sasaki and Kumagai with the teaching of Nishiguchi for purpose of registering new record.
Claim 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harasawa in view of Sasaki and Kumagai as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of US Ido (US 20230315215).
Regarding claim 4, Harasawa in view of Sasaki and Kumagai teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, on the notification screen, information indicating deletion of the previously registered identification information (Sasaki: fig. 5).
Harasawa in view of Sasaki and Kumagai does not teach registration of the identification information received by the reception unit is displayed.
Ido teaches registration of the identification information received by the reception unit is displayed (fig. 12).
Harasawa in view of Sasaki and Kumagai and Ido are combinable because they both deal with registering device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Harasawa in view of Sasaki and Kumagai with the teaching of Ido for purpose of when the user desires to use the keyboard in the processing device, allows the user to use the keyboard without reducing the operability (p0006).
Claims 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harasawa in view of Sasaki and Kumagai as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Ohta (US 20200201230).
Regarding claim 8, Harasawa in view of Sasaki and Kumagai does not explicitly disclose the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein if the image processing apparatus is in a predetermined state, the reception unit provides the reception screen.
Ohta teaches wherein if the image processing apparatus is in a predetermined state, the reception unit provides the reception screen (p0107: the image forming apparatus 101 is maintained by being operated in a maintenance mode).
Harasawa in view of Sasaki and Kumagai and Ohta are combinable because they both deal with manager printing device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Harasawa in view of Sasaki and Kumagai with the teaching of Ohta for purpose of deliver a consumable at an appropriate timing, it is required to estimate the number of remaining days as accurately as possible (p0008).
Regarding claim 9, Harasawa in view of Sasaki and Ohta teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the predetermined state is a state where a function of assisting a user in maintenance work is enabled (Ohta: p0107).
The rational applied to the rejection of claim 8 has been incorporated herein.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Regarding to claim rejections for 35 USC § 112
The claim rejections are removed because of the claim amendment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
HELEN ZONG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 268383
/HELEN ZONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683