DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I in the reply filed on March 10, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 3-12, 14 and 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on March 10, 2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “painting system” in claim 1, where “system” is the placeholder and “painting” is the functional language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “substantially” in claim 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The magnitude, length or vector needed to meet the claim limitation is not known. Clarification is respectfully requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 13, 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rasa (US20170028467).
With respect to claim 1, Rasa discloses a nozzle (10 and 16. Figs. 1-3) for a painting system, the nozzle comprising: a first electrode (30 of A); a second electrode (34 of C); a first magnet (18 of B) disposed (radially) between the first and second electrodes when viewed in a direction parallel to a longitudinal (vertical) axis of the nozzle (same configuration as the Applicant’s invention); and a second magnet (18 of D) disposed between the first and second electrodes when viewed in the direction parallel to the longitudinal axis of the nozzle, the first and second electrodes and the first and second magnets defining a passage (10 and 14. Fig. 2) through which paint is configured to (capable of) flow.
With respect to claim 2, Rasa discloses the nozzle for the painting system according to claim 1, wherein each of the first and second magnets (both sides of 18 in B and D) extends substantially longitudinally from a nozzle inlet (cylindrical area upstream of 14) to a nozzle outlet (14).
With respect to claim 13, Rasa discloses a voltage-assisted painting system (Figs. 1-3. Molten metal jetting system of copper, silver, gold can be considered metallic paint) comprising: a housing (10 and 16) having a conduit (defined by 10. Fig. 2) configured to (capable of) receive paint from an external source; a power source (28. Fig. 1); and a nozzle (14) disposed in the housing, the nozzle having an inlet (cylindrical area upstream of 14) that is fluidly connected to the conduit and configured to (capable of) receive paint from the conduit, the nozzle having an outlet (of 14) configured to (capable of) dispense the paint, the nozzle including a first electrode (30 of A) connected to the power source; a second electrode (34 of C) connected to the power source; a first magnet (18 of B) disposed (radially) between the first and second electrodes when viewed in a direction parallel to a longitudinal (vertical) axis of the nozzle (same configuration as the Applicant’s invention); and a second magnet (18 of D) disposed between the first and second electrodes when viewed in the direction parallel to the longitudinal axis of the nozzle, the first and second electrodes and the first and second magnets defining a passage (10 and 14. Fig. 2) through which the paint is configured to (capable of) flow.
With respect to claim 15, Rasa discloses the voltage-assisted painting system according to claim 13, wherein a transducer (in the detection unit described in detail in EP 2547527, which is herein incorporated by reference) is disposed adjacent the nozzle, the transducer being configured to (capable of) emit an acoustic wave to the passage ([0012]).
With respect to claim 16, Rasa discloses the voltage-assisted painting system according to claim 13,wherein each of the first and second magnets (both sides of 18 in B and D) extends substantially longitudinally from a nozzle inlet (cylindrical area upstream of 14) to a nozzle outlet (14).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following patents are cited to show the art with respect to a spraying nozzle: Genovese, Rasa ‘028, Indorsky et al., Byun, Rasa ‘134 and Rasa ‘888.
/CHEE-CHONG LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 May 27, 2026