DETAILED ACTION
In the reply filed 8/28,2026, claims 1-15 are cancelled and new claims 20-35 are added. Claims 16-35 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention II, encompassed by clams 16-35, in the reply filed on 8/28/2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the one or more panniers (claim 24) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21, 22, 24-25, and 33-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 21 and 22 each depend from each other, respectively. Additionally, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the twist throttle in claim 21. As such, the metes and bounds of these claims are circular and unclear.
Claim 21 recites: “a maximum speed of the weight is below 4 miles per hour.” It is the Examiner’s understanding that the speed of the weight is not limited. The weight corresponds to the cargo carried by a weight bearing device. Rather, Applicant’s paragraph [0036] expresses these speeds correspond to a weight bearing device, and not the weight. Clarification is needed.
Claim 24 recites: “securing the weight to the frame comprises placing the weight into one or more panniers and securing the one or more panniers to the frame.” The limitations of claim 24 are not understood because they contradict claim 16. Specifically, claim 16 requires: “securing a weight to a frame attached to a wheel; balancing the weight over the wheel”. The confusion is compounded because the panniers are not shown in the drawings. Those having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that panniers are slung over and hanging to a side of a frame/cycle. As such, a weight in a pannier would not facilitate balancing the weight over the wheel.
Claim 33 recites: “resisting rotation of the wheel in a direction opposite the single rotational direction of the electric motor while the electric motor is at least partially engaged.” The limitation is not understood. What is meant by the electric motor is at least partially engaged? Does engaged mean powered-on? If “engaged” could be interpreted to be a state of applying torque under power, then the motor is either engaged or not (i.e., there is no partial engagement). Partial-engagement of the motor is not found in the original disclosure.
Claim 34 recites: “actively resisting rotation of the wheel in the direction opposite the single rotational direction of the electric motor while the electric motor is not engaged.” The limitation is not understood, and appears self-contradictory. What is meant by actively resisting […] while the electric motor is not engaged? Those having ordinary skill in the art that “actively” implies the motor is engaged and/or under power.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16, 17, and 30-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giovannoni (US 2,656,894) in view of Walter (US 2007/0079998).
Regarding claim 16, Giovannoni teaches: a method for moving a weight comprising:
securing a weight (55) to a frame (10) attached to a wheel (38);
balancing the weight over the wheel (the weight is shown in a balanced position in Fig. 1; see also column 1, lines 12-25);
engaging a motor (27) to rotate a first gear (59);
rotating a second gear (40) connected to the first gear with a transmission element (60), the second gear connected to the wheel; and
rotating the wheel (described in column 4, lines 20-25).
Relevant elements are best shown by Giovannoni in Fig. 1.
Giovannoni fails to teach the motor being an electric motor powered by an electric battery. Walter teaches: a method for moving a weight utilizing an electric motor (7) powered by an electric battery (10). See at least Fig. 6. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art to provide Giovannoni with an electric drivetrain, including an electric motor powered by an electric battery, as suggested by Walter; the motivation being: so that combustion gases will not be emitted, and to reduce noise during transport.
Giovannoni teaches the transmission element 60 is a belt. Additionally, in Fig. 4, Giovannoni indicates a reduction gearing where the second gear has a larger diameter than the first gear. Giovannoni fails to teach the transmission element being a chain, and the second gear and the first gear having a gear ratio of greater than 6 to 1. Walter teaches: rotating a second gear (27) connected to the first gear with a chain (28), the second gear connected to the wheel, the second gear and the first gear (26) having a gear ratio of greater than 6 to 1. See Figs. 3, 6, and paragraphs [0026, 0029, 0030]. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art to provide Giovannoni with the chain and the numbers of teeth (and their associated gear ratios), as suggested by Walter; the motivation being: such a gear ratio facilitates a mechanical advantage which would allow for a smaller/less powerful motor to drive large loads. Additionally, it would be obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art to use a chain and sprockets, taught by Walter, in place of the belt and pulleys from Giovannoni; the motivation being: chain and sprocket drives are a desirable alternative to belts and pulleys for high performance and zero slippage.
Regarding claim 17, the combination is silent regarding a rotational rate of the wheel, and as such fails to teach wherein the wheel is rotated with a rotational rate of 16 rotations per minute. However, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, those having ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to provide rotational abilities to the combination at any speed which facilitates a reasonable and comfortable walking pace, including 16 rotations per minute. Such a rotational speed is determined at least by gear size and/or motor specifications, yielding a design choice having the same predictable results. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 30, the combination further teaches: wherein the gear ratio between the second gear and the first gear is greater than 8 to 1. Walter teaches the first gear having as low as ten teeth, and ninety teeth on the second gear, yielding the claimed gear ratio. See paragraphs [0026, 0029, 0030] from Walter.
Regarding claim 31, the combination further teaches: a solar-chargeable battery pack. Because the battery (10) from Walter is rechargeable (see [0020]), those having ordinary skill in the art would understand that the battery (10) is “solar-chargeable”, as it is capable of being charged through electricity from via solar sources. The claims have been interpreted under broadest reasonable interpretation. A “solar-chargeable battery pack” does not require a solar panel, and any mechanism for converting solar power to electricity is not found in Applicant’s disclosure.
Regarding claim 32, the combination further teaches: wherein engaging the electric motor comprises rotating the first gear in a single rotational direction corresponding to forward movement of the wheel. See [0002, 0019, 0020] from Walter.
Regarding claim 33, the combination further teaches: resisting rotation of the wheel in a direction opposite the single rotational direction of the electric motor while the electric motor is at least partially engaged. When the electric motor engages to rotate the wheel in one direction, rotation of the wheel in the opposite direction is resisted. See [0002, 0019, 0020] from Walter.
Regarding claim 34, the combination further teaches: actively resisting rotation of the wheel in the direction opposite the single rotational direction of the electric motor while the electric motor is not engaged. Rotation in any direction when the motor is not engaged would result at least some resistance, caused by internal resistance and inertia of the rotor of the motor. See [0002, 0019, 0020] from Walter.
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giovannoni and Walter, as relied upon above, in further view of Wancket (US 2006/0053936).
Regarding claim 18, the combination further teaches wherein engaging the electric motor includes activating a throttle; see element 69 in Fig. 2 from Giovannoni, and/or element 9 in Fig. 6 from Walter.
The combination fails to teach twisting a throttle on a handle connected to the frame. Wancket teaches: twisting a throttle on a handle connected to the frame. See twist handle 13 on handle 11, best shown in Fig. 1. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art to provide the combination such that engaging the motor includes twisting a throttle on a handle connected to the frame, as suggested by Wancket; the motivation being: twist throttles are known in the art for providing ergonomic and convenient speed control without losing grip on a handle.
Regarding claim 19, the combination further teaches: wherein twisting the throttle includes controlling an output of the electric motor based on a twist amount. See at least [0020] from Walter and [0007] from Wancket.
Regarding claim 20, the combination further teaches: wherein engaging the electric motor comprises actuating the throttle having a quarter-turn range of actuation. See [0018] from Wancket.
Claim(s) 21and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giovannoni, Walter, and Wancket as relied upon above, in further view of Overstreet (US 2,856,017).
Regarding claim 21, the combination further teaches: wherein the twist throttle is actuated to limit a maximum rotational velocity of the wheel. Wancket facilitates limiting at least by limiting an actuation range, as described in [0018].
The combination fails to teach: a maximum speed of the weight is below 4 miles per hour. Overstreet teaches a maximum speed of the weight is below 4 miles per hour. See column 1, lines 18-25. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, those having ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to set a maximum speed of the weight below 4 miles per hour, as suggested by Overstreet. The motivation being: “to provide a carrier which will readily travel over rough and steep trails or paths at a normal walking speed.” Additonally/alternatively, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, those having ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to provide rotational abilities to the combination at any speed which facilitates a reasonable and comfortable walking pace, including setting a maximum speed of the weight is below 4 miles per hour; such a speed yields a design choice having the same predictable results.
Regarding claim 22, the combination further teaches: wherein the twist throttle is actuated to limit a maximum rotational velocity of the wheel. Wancket facilitates limiting at least by limting an actuation range, as described in [0018].
The combination fails to teach: the maximum speed is between 2 miles per hour and 5 miles per hour. Overstreet teaches a maximum speed of the weight is between 2 miles per hour and 5 miles per hour. See column 1, lines 18-25. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, those having ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to set a maximum speed of the weight between 2 miles per hour and 5 miles per hour, as suggested by Overstreet. The motivation being: “to provide a carrier which will readily travel over rough and steep trails or paths at a normal walking speed.” Additonally/alternatively, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, those having ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to provide rotational abilities to the combination at any speed which facilitates a reasonable and comfortable walking pace, including setting between 2 miles per hour and 5 miles per hour; such a speed yields a design choice having the same predictable results.
Claim(s) 23 and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giovannoni and Walter, as relied upon above, in further view of Berrett (US 8,613,455).
Regarding claim 23, the combination fails to teach resisting rotating of the second gear using a disc brake. Berrett teaches a method for moving a weight comprising resisting rotating of the second gear (34) using a disc brake (including at least element 62). See Figs. 1- 2. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art to provide the combination with resisting rotating of the second gear using a disc brake, as taught by Berrett. The motivation being: for improved safety. The use of a brake prevents the weight carrier from uncontrollable high speeds, such as when used on a downhill slope.
Regarding claim 35, the combination fails to teach actuating a disc brake to resist rotation of the wheel while the weight is traveling down a decline. Berrett teaches a method for moving a weight comprising actuating a disc brake (including at least element 62) to resist rotation of the wheel while the weight is traveling down a decline. See Figs. 1- 2. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art to provide the combination with actuating a disc brake to resist rotation of the wheel while the weight is traveling down a decline, as taught by Berrett. The motivation being: for improved safety. The use of a brake prevents the weight carrier from uncontrollable high speeds, such as when used on a downhill slope.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giovannoni and Walter, as relied upon above, in further view of Smith (US 4,869,517).
Regarding claim 24, the combination fails to teach securing the weight to the frame comprises placing the weight into one or more panniers and securing the one or more panniers to the frame. Smith teaches securing a weight to the frame comprises placing the weight into one or more panniers and securing the one or more panniers to the frame. See pannier (37) in Fig. 5. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art to provide the combination with securing the weight to the frame comprises placing the weight into one or more panniers and securing the one or more panniers to the frame, as suggested by Smith. The motivation being: for increasing carrying capacity of the weight bearing device, and for carrying additional items in an easily accessible storage bag at a lowered center of gravity to prevent tipping.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giovannoni, Walter, and Smith as relied upon above, or alternatively in further view of Casey (US 2004/0084864).
Regarding claim 25, Giovannoni describes the weight including “heavy loads of game” (column 1, lines 1-11). The combination fails to specify the type of game being carrier. As such, the combination fails to teach: the weight comprises game meat selected from the group consisting of deer, elk, bear, and moose. However, those having ordinary skill in the art would understand that game carts, such as described by Giovannoni, are used for transport of heavy game, including deer, elk, bear, and/or moose. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art to provide the weight comprising game meat selected from the group consisting of deer, elk, bear, and moose. The motivation being: these species are conventionally hunted, and they are too heavy to be carried or hauled away only by hand. Due to their respective weights, they require some kind of transport.
Alternatively, Casey teaches: weight comprises game meat selected from the group consisting of deer, elk, bear, and moose. See [0002]. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art to provide the weight comprising game meat selected from the group consisting of deer, elk, bear, and moose, as suggested by Casey. The motivation being: these species are conventionally hunted, and they are too heavy to be carried or hauled away only by hand. Due to their respective weights, they require some kind of transport.
Claim(s) 26-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giovannoni and Walter, as relied upon above, in further view of Odle (US 2010/0270764).
Regarding claim 26, Giovannoni reveals placement of the weight at least generally centered over the wheel, as best shown in Fig. 1. The combination fails to teach wherein balancing the weight over the wheel comprises laterally balancing the weight by evening out the weight on different sides of the wheel. Odle teaches: balancing the weight over the wheel comprises laterally balancing the weight by evening out the weight on different sides of the wheel. See [0002], [0008] and [0033]. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art to provide the combination such that balancing the weight over the wheel comprises laterally balancing the weight by evening out the weight on different sides of the wheel, as suggested by Odle. The motivation being: for high maneuverability and stability under load. Balancing the center of mass of the weight minimizes the effort required to lift and maneuver the weight. Additionally, it would be obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art to load the weight carrying device in any way that facilitates an even weight distribution which minimizes exertion needed by an attendant/operator.
Regarding claim 27, Giovannoni reveals placement of the weight at least generally centered over the wheel, as best shown in Fig. 1. The combination fails to teach balancing the weight over the wheel comprises balancing the weight with respect to a center of gravity of the weight and the frame. Odle teaches: balancing the weight over the wheel comprises balancing the weight with respect to a center of gravity of the weight and the frame. See [0002], [0008] and [0033]. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art to provide the combination such that balancing the weight over the wheel comprises balancing the weight with respect to a center of gravity of the weight and the frame, as suggested by Odle. The motivation being: for high maneuverability and stability under load. Balancing the center of mass of the weight minimizes the effort required to lift and maneuver the weight. Additionally, it would be obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art to load the weight carrying device in any way that facilitates an even weight distribution which minimizes exertion needed by an attendant/operator.
Regarding claim 28, the combination further teaches: wherein balancing the weight comprises positioning the weight such that a gravitational axis extending through a hub of the wheel is perpendicular or approximately perpendicular to a weight-bearing surface of the frame. See [0002], [0008] and [0033] from Odle, and Fig. 1 from Giovannoni. Additionally, it would be obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art to load the weight carrying device in any way that facilitates an even weight distribution which minimizes exertion needed by an attendant/operator.
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giovannoni and Walter, as relied upon above, in further view of Hillbohm (US 5,489,000).
Regarding claim 29, the combination fails to teach wherein the second gear is connected to the wheel with a unidirectional torque-transfer device configured to transfer torque from the second gear to the wheel in a first direction and permit the wheel to freely rotate in a second direction. Hillbohm teaches: wherein the second gear (29) is connected to the wheel (3) with a unidirectional torque-transfer device (a “free wheel hub”) configured to transfer torque from the second gear to the wheel in a first direction and permit the wheel to freely rotate in a second direction. See Fig. 1 and column 4, lines 24-29. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art to provide the combination such that the second gear is connected to the wheel with a unidirectional torque-transfer device configured to transfer torque from the second gear to the wheel in a first direction and permit the wheel to freely rotate in a second direction, as suggested by Hillbohm; the motivation being: to facilitate moving “by man power without influencing the chain transmission described and by that making such a movement heavier.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/EMMA K FRICK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613