DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by FR3091887 to Eymard (“Eymard”).
Regarding claim 1, Eymard discloses a device 1 capable of use as a door trim installation system comprising: a right-angle bracket 1 comprising a first leg 7 and a second leg 11, wherein each of said first and second legs comprises an outer surface (surface of 7 and 11 abutting 3, 2) abuttable against an interior surface of a corner portion of a door frame, and wherein said first leg comprises a support shoulder 9 configured to project out beyond a door frame and upwardly over a reveal to provide an alignment and support surface (free end edge surface of 9) for a top piece of door trim or molding to be installed; an angled reinforcement structure 12 attached to and reinforcing said first leg and said second leg; and a securing assembly 6 to temporarily secure said bracket to a door frame.
Regarding claim 2, Eymard discloses that said alignment and support surface (free end edge surface of 9) is disposed parallel to said outer surface (surface of 7abutting 3)of said first leg.
Regarding claim 3, Eymard discloses that said angled reinforcement structure comprises a triangular panel 12.
Regarding claim 4, Eymard discloses that said securing assembly 6 comprises a pair of nails (page 5, line 7 of the English translation) and each of said first and second legs comprises an orifice (through which nails 6 extend) through which a corresponding one of said pair of nails is to be inserted.
Regarding claim 6, Eymard discloses a system capable of use as a door trim installation system comprising:
a right-angle bracket 1 comprising a first leg 7 and a second leg 11, wherein each of said first and second legs comprises an outer surface (surface of 7 and 11 abutting 3, 2) abuttable against an interior surface of a corner portion of a door frame, and wherein said first leg comprises a support shoulder 9 configured to project out beyond a door frame and upwardly over a reveal to provide an alignment and support surface (free end edge surface of 9) for a top piece of door trim or molding to be installed; an angled reinforcement structure 12 attached to and reinforcing said first leg and said second leg, wherein said angled reinforcement structure comprises a triangular panel; and a securing assembly 6 to temporarily secure said bracket to a door frame wherein said securing assembly comprises a pair of nails (page 5, line 7 of the English translation) and each of said first and second legs comprises an orifice (through which nails 6 extend) through which a corresponding one of said pair of nails is to be inserted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2003/0131486 to Wallace (“Wallace”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2009/0313838 to Gross (“Gross”) and U.S. Publication No. 2007/0261256 to Christensen et al. (“Christensen”). See annotated Fig. 2 of Wallace below. All references are made with respect to Wallace unless otherwise noted.
Regarding claim 5, Wallace discloses a method of using a door trim installation system comprising a device 1 capable of use as a door trim installation system comprising: a right-angle bracket (trim setting gauge) comprising a first leg 100 and a second leg 200, wherein each of said first and second legs comprises an outer surface (surface of 100 and 200 abutting frame, see Fig. 4) abuttable against an interior surface of a corner portion of a door frame, and wherein said first leg comprises a support shoulder 300 configured to project out beyond a door frame and upwardly over a reveal to provide an alignment and support surface 500 for a top piece of door trim or moulding to be installed; an angled reinforcement structure 400 attached to and reinforcing said first leg and said second leg; comprising the steps of: abutting said outer surfaces of said first and second legs of said bracket against an interior surface of a corner portion of a door frame (see Fig. 4); abutting said support shoulder against said door frame and over a reveal of said door frame; placing a top piece of door trim (top piece labeled as door casing in Fig. 4) or moulding on said alignment and support surface of said support shoulder and thereby aligning said top piece with a top portion of said door frame; and removing said bracket from said door frame.
Wallace does not disclose temporarily securing said bracket to said door frame with a securing assembly; nailing said top piece in place; and removing said securing assembly from said door frame.
Gross discloses a reveal tool and method of using the tool including temporarily securing a bracket (Gross 10) to a door frame (Gross par 0026) with a securing assembly (Gross 41); and removing said securing assembly from said door frame (Gross par 0026).
Christensen et al. discloses a reveal tool and method of using the tool including nailing a trim pieces in place (Christensen, par 0005).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the door trim installation system of Wallace to have temporarily securing said bracket to said door frame with a securing assembly; nailing said top piece in place; and removing said securing assembly from said door frame as taught in Gross and Christensen with a reasonable expectation of success because the securing assembly could temprorarily hold the bracket in place during use and enable the user to nail the trim in place.
Conclusion
/CHRISTINE T CAJILIG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3633