DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 13 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 12, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balasubramanian et al. (US20210345203 herein after Bala) in view of Ali et al. (US20230114175).
Regarding claim 1, Bala teaches A method for controlling access to fifth generation (5G) cellular baseband resources
by a 5G-capable wireless device [0013] “a 5G capable network may tend to (or be configured to) push NR capable UEs to an LTE anchor band(s) and then configure the UE with the EN-DC on both LTE and NR. An LTE anchor band may be a band that is set aside and/or configured by the network for this purpose”):
while connected to or camped on a legacy fourth generation (4G) long term evolution (LTE) cell ([0028-29] “the UE registers on the best LTE cell in block 104, the UE proceeds to perform the functions of block 106 … the UE checks if an “UpperLayerIndication” IE is set to true. If the UE determines as part of block 106 that an “UpperLayerIndication” IE is set to true, the UE, in block 108, stores its current location, its current Physical Cell Identifier (PCI), the LTE band it is currently on, and the availability of one or more NR cells at its current location”), (Examiner’s Note: the UE is currently on LTE band, the LTE cell ==legacy 4G LTE cell):
receiving, from a network element, a control message indicating a non- standalone (NSA) 4G LTE anchor cell ([0015] “networks may push the UE to obtain NR services by first provisioning a high (in some cases, highest) priority cell reselection corresponding to LTE band 28 and signaling it to UE through a radio resource control (RRC) Connection Release message. Due to this, UE receives a high(est) reselection priority for LTE band 28 and thus moves to a cell in LTE band 28”, [0033] “Thus, the “UpperLayerIndication” indicates to the UE that the network supports non-standalone (NSA) EN-DC operation”, [0037] “the UE may detect the current radio conditions at the previously camped LTE cells in order to make its determination regarding whether a previously camped LTE cell has better radio conditions than the current LTE cell. A previously camped cell may have better radio conditions when, for example, a signal power of a carrier of the previously camped cell is better than a signal power of a carrier of the current cell. Further, the UE may use previously gathered information about CA configurations in order to make a determination regarding whether a previously camped LTE cell has a better CA configuration than the current LTE cell”), (Examiner’s Note: for example cell in LTE band ==LTE anchor cell),
the NSA 4G LTE anchor cell associated with an NSA 5G cell [0013] “a 5G capable network may tend to (or be configured to) push NR capable UEs to an LTE anchor band(s) and then configure the UE with the EN-DC on both LTE and NR”, [0029] “ the UE, in block 108, stores its current location, its current Physical Cell Identifier (PCI), the LTE band it is currently on, and the availability of one or more NR cells at its current location”));
measuring one or more signal characteristics of the NSA 4G LTE anchor cell [0037] “the UE may detect the current radio conditions at the previously camped LTE cells in order to make its determination regarding whether a previously camped LTE cell has better radio conditions than the current LTE cell. A previously camped cell may have better radio conditions when, for example, a signal power of a carrier of the previously camped cell is better than a signal power of a carrier of the current cell. Further, the UE may use previously gathered information about CA configurations in order to make a determination regarding whether a previously camped LTE cell has a better CA configuration than the current LTE cell”);
determining based on the measured one or more signal characteristics whether the NSA 4G LTE anchor cell satisfies one or more reselection or handover criteria [0037] “the UE may detect the current radio conditions at the previously camped LTE cells in order to make its determination regarding whether a previously camped LTE cell has better radio conditions than the current LTE cell. A previously camped cell may have better radio conditions when, for example, a signal power of a carrier of the previously camped cell is better than a signal power of a carrier of the current cell. Further, the UE may use previously gathered information about CA configurations in order to make a determination regarding whether a previously camped LTE cell has a better CA configuration than the current LTE cell”);
measuring one or more additional signal characteristics the NSA 5G cell ([0048] “The UE then performs NR cell measurements based on measurement configurations., (Examiner’s Note: NR==5G”);
determining based on the measured one or more additional signal characteristics whether the NSA 5G cell satisfies one or more additional reselection or handover criteria ([0049-50 ]” he UE then de-prioritizes the current LTE cell on band 28 within the UE's internal priorities. This de-prioritization may be based on a determination that the pre-requisites for de-prioritization are present. For example, it may be that the UE is in a determined mobility state corresponding to no and/or low mobility. It may also be that the UE has received measurement configurations for one or more NR cells. It may also be that none of these NR cells satisfy a B1-NR threshold … The UE then performs cell reselection using the internal priorities, and a different LTE cell (e.g., an LTE cell not on the anchor band, band 28) is selected for use by the UE, despite the network's preference that the UE use a cell in anchor band 28.;
and refraining from sending, to the network element, a measurement report for the NSA 4G LTE anchor cell when i) the NSA 4G LTE anchor cell does not satisfy the one or more reselection or handover criteria, ii) the NSA 5G cell does not satisfy the one or more additional reselection or handover criteria, or iii) the 5G-capable wireless device is engaged in a 4G LTE only service (for example [0016] “However, due to poor NR coverage at the UE's location, it may be that no NR cell can meet a B1-NR threshold (where a B1 even indicates that a neighbor RAT becomes better than a threshold). Since the B1-NR threshold is not met, the UE is unable to trigger a Multi-RAT Dual Connectivity (MR-DC) measurement report to the network. Accordingly, zero NR cells are configured/activated as part of the EN-DC SCG for the UE”, [0020-21] “ In response, the network may provide a measurement configuration for the UE to use to search for and report to the network on one or more NR cells if they satisfy the reporting threshold (e.g., a B1-NR threshold). The UE performs the measurements on one or more NR cells and identifies that none of the NR cell measurements satisfy the B1-NR threshold. Accordingly, the UE does not trigger an MR-DC report to the network. As a result, zero NR cells are configured/activated as part of the EN-DC SCG for the UE” (Examiner’s Note: unable to trigger a measurement report ==refraining from sending, to the network element, a measurement report, Dual connectivity measurement report includes 4G), or any combination thereof.
Bala does not explicitly teach (5G) cellular baseband resources of a first mobile network operator (MNO), 5G-capable wireless device of a second MNO, a legacy fourth generation (4G) long term evolution (LTE) cell of the second MNO, 5G cell of the first MNO.
Ali teaches (5G) cellular baseband resources of a first mobile network operator (MNO) ([0060] “with roaming between LTE and 5G using additional LTE roaming interfaces of S8-C and S8-U in accordance with some aspects of the disclosed technology. As illustrated in FIG. 2 , a mobile network operator (MNO) 202 as a visited public land mobile network (VPLMN) is on the right side of a vertical line 203, while the operator 201 is on the left side of vertical line 203. The MNO 202 may include both LTE network 207 and 5G network 205 in local regions where the UE is. Within the MNO 202, the user or UE 112 can roam between the LTE network and the 5G network”),
5G-capable wireless device of a second MNO, a legacy fourth generation (4G) long term evolution (LTE) cell of the second MNO ([0003] “The combined 5G network that supports a 4G core network too is referred to as a non-standalone architecture (NSA). By leveraging the existing infrastructure of the 4G core network, carriers can provide faster and more reliable Enhanced Mobile Broadband (eMBB) without completely reworking their core network technology and pushing customers to new devices, [0060] “a mobile network operator (MNO) 202 as a visited public land mobile network (VPLMN) is on the right side of a vertical line 203, while the operator 201 is on the left side of vertical line 203. The MNO 202 may include both LTE network 207 and 5G network 205 in local regions where the UE is. Within the MNO 202, the user or UE 112 can roam between the LTE network and the 5G network”),
5G cell of the first MNO ([0060] “with roaming between LTE and 5G using additional LTE roaming interfaces of S8-C and S8-U in accordance with some aspects of the disclosed technology. As illustrated in FIG. 2 , a mobile network operator (MNO) 202 as a visited public land mobile network (VPLMN) is on the right side of a vertical line 203, while the operator 201 is on the left side of vertical line 203”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Bala to incorporate the teaching of Ali. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase the reliability of the system.
Regarding claim 12, 20, Bala teacjes An apparatus configurable for operation in a 5G-capable wireless device
the apparatus comprising one or more processors coupled to a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors ([0107] “The internal or external memory can store software code, programs, and/or instructions for execution by the one or more processor 502 to configure and/or facilitate the UE 500 to perform various operations, including operations described herein”), cause the 5G- capable wireless device [0013] “a 5G capable network may tend to (or be configured to) push NR capable UEs to an LTE anchor band(s) and then configure the UE with the EN-DC on both LTE and NR. An LTE anchor band may be a band that is set aside and/or configured by the network for this purpose”),
the actions including: while connected to or camped on a legacy fourth generation (4G) long term evolution (LTE) cell ([0028-29] “the UE registers on the best LTE cell in block 104, the UE proceeds to perform the functions of block 106 … the UE checks if an “UpperLayerIndication” IE is set to true. If the UE determines as part of block 106 that an “UpperLayerIndication” IE is set to true, the UE, in block 108, stores its current location, its current Physical Cell Identifier (PCI), the LTE band it is currently on, and the availability of one or more NR cells at its current location”), (Examiner’s Note: the UE is currently on LTE band, the LTE cell ==legacy 4G LTE cell):
receiving, from a network element, a control message indicating a non-standalone (NSA) 4G LTE anchor cell ([0015] “networks may push the UE to obtain NR services by first provisioning a high (in some cases, highest) priority cell reselection corresponding to LTE band 28 and signaling it to UE through a radio resource control (RRC) Connection Release message. Due to this, UE receives a high(est) reselection priority for LTE band 28 and thus moves to a cell in LTE band 28”, [0033] “Thus, the “UpperLayerIndication” indicates to the UE that the network supports non-standalone (NSA) EN-DC operation”, [0037] “the UE may detect the current radio conditions at the previously camped LTE cells in order to make its determination regarding whether a previously camped LTE cell has better radio conditions than the current LTE cell. A previously camped cell may have better radio conditions when, for example, a signal power of a carrier of the previously camped cell is better than a signal power of a carrier of the current cell. Further, the UE may use previously gathered information about CA configurations in order to make a determination regarding whether a previously camped LTE cell has a better CA configuration than the current LTE cell”), (Examiner’s Note: for example cell in LTE band ==LTE anchor cell),
the NSA 4G LTE anchor cell associated with an NSA 5G cell [0013] “a 5G capable network may tend to (or be configured to) push NR capable UEs to an LTE anchor band(s) and then configure the UE with the EN-DC on both LTE and NR”, [0029] “ the UE, in block 108, stores its current location, its current Physical Cell Identifier (PCI), the LTE band it is currently on, and the availability of one or more NR cells at its current location”));
measuring one or more signal characteristics of the NSA 4G LTE anchor cell [0037] “the UE may detect the current radio conditions at the previously camped LTE cells in order to make its determination regarding whether a previously camped LTE cell has better radio conditions than the current LTE cell. A previously camped cell may have better radio conditions when, for example, a signal power of a carrier of the previously camped cell is better than a signal power of a carrier of the current cell. Further, the UE may use previously gathered information about CA configurations in order to make a determination regarding whether a previously camped LTE cell has a better CA configuration than the current LTE cell”);
determining based on the measured one or more signal characteristics whether the NSA 4G LTE anchor cell satisfies one or more reselection or handover criteria [0037] “the UE may detect the current radio conditions at the previously camped LTE cells in order to make its determination regarding whether a previously camped LTE cell has better radio conditions than the current LTE cell. A previously camped cell may have better radio conditions when, for example, a signal power of a carrier of the previously camped cell is better than a signal power of a carrier of the current cell. Further, the UE may use previously gathered information about CA configurations in order to make a determination regarding whether a previously camped LTE cell has a better CA configuration than the current LTE cell”);
measuring one or more additional signal characteristics the NSA 5G cell ([0048] “The UE then performs NR cell measurements based on measurement configurations., (Examiner’s Note: NR==5G”);
determining based on the measured one or more additional signal characteristics whether the NSA 5G cell satisfies one or more additional reselection or handover criteria ([0049-50 ]” he UE then de-prioritizes the current LTE cell on band 28 within the UE's internal priorities. This de-prioritization may be based on a determination that the pre-requisites for de-prioritization are present. For example, it may be that the UE is in a determined mobility state corresponding to no and/or low mobility. It may also be that the UE has received measurement configurations for one or more NR cells. It may also be that none of these NR cells satisfy a B1-NR threshold … The UE then performs cell reselection using the internal priorities, and a different LTE cell (e.g., an LTE cell not on the anchor band, band 28) is selected for use by the UE, despite the network's preference that the UE use a cell in anchor band 28”);
and refraining from sending, to the network element, a measurement report for the NSA 4G LTE anchor cell when i) the NSA 4G LTE anchor cell does not satisfy the one or more reselection or handover criteria, ii) the NSA 5G cell does not satisfy the one or more additional reselection or handover criteria, or iii) the 5G-capable wireless device is engaged in a 4G LTE only service (for example [0016] “However, due to poor NR coverage at the UE's location, it may be that no NR cell can meet a B1-NR threshold (where a B1 even indicates that a neighbor RAT becomes better than a threshold). Since the B1-NR threshold is not met, the UE is unable to trigger a Multi-RAT Dual Connectivity (MR-DC) measurement report to the network. Accordingly, zero NR cells are configured/activated as part of the EN-DC SCG for the UE”, [0020-21] “ In response, the network may provide a measurement configuration for the UE to use to search for and report to the network on one or more NR cells if they satisfy the reporting threshold (e.g., a B1-NR threshold). The UE performs the measurements on one or more NR cells and identifies that none of the NR cell measurements satisfy the B1-NR threshold. Accordingly, the UE does not trigger an MR-DC report to the network. As a result, zero NR cells are configured/activated as part of the EN-DC SCG for the UE” (Examiner’s Note: unable to trigger a measurement report ==refraining from sending, to the network element, a measurement report, Dual connectivity measurement report includes 4G), or any combination thereof.
Bala does not explicitly teach 5G-capable wireless device of a second mobile network operator (MNO), fourth generation (4G) long term evolution (LTE) cell of the second MNO, a non-standalone (NSA) 4G LTE anchor cell of the first MNO, 5G cell of the first MNO.
Ali teaches 5G-capable wireless device of a second mobile network operator (MNO), fourth generation (4G) long term evolution (LTE) cell of the second MNO ([0003] “The combined 5G network that supports a 4G core network too is referred to as a non-standalone architecture (NSA). By leveraging the existing infrastructure of the 4G core network, carriers can provide faster and more reliable Enhanced Mobile Broadband (eMBB) without completely reworking their core network technology and pushing customers to new devices, [0060] “a mobile network operator (MNO) 202 as a visited public land mobile network (VPLMN) is on the right side of a vertical line 203, while the operator 201 is on the left side of vertical line 203. The MNO 202 may include both LTE network 207 and 5G network 205 in local regions where the UE is. Within the MNO 202, the user or UE 112 can roam between the LTE network and the 5G network”), a non-standalone (NSA) 4G LTE anchor cell of the first MNO ([0003] “The combined 5G network that supports a 4G core network too is referred to as a non-standalone architecture (NSA). By leveraging the existing infrastructure of the 4G core network, carriers can provide faster and more reliable Enhanced Mobile Broadband (eMBB) without completely reworking their core network technology and pushing customers to new devices), 5G cell of the first MNO ([0060] “with roaming between LTE and 5G using additional LTE roaming interfaces of S8-C and S8-U in accordance with some aspects of the disclosed technology. As illustrated in FIG. 2 , a mobile network operator (MNO) 202 as a visited public land mobile network (VPLMN) is on the right side of a vertical line 203, while the operator 201 is on the left side of vertical line 203”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Bala to incorporate the teaching of Ali. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase the reliability of the system.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bala in view of Ali further in view of Shah et al. (US20220132294).
Regarding claim 3, Bala, Ali does not teach wherein the 5G-capable wireless device of the second MNO is engaged in a 4G LTE only service while connected on an active voice over LTE (VoLTE) call.
Shah teaches wherein the 5G-capable wireless device of the second MNO is engaged in a 4G LTE only service while connected on an active voice over LTE (VoLTE) call ([0003] “In case of NR SA deployment (Network option-2), the MNOs prefer the EPS fallback option for voice calls, in which the network redirects a User Equipment (UE) to the LTE network for completing the voice calls over Voice over LTE (VoLTE)”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the the combination of Bala, Ali to incorporate the teaching of Shah. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to ensure QOS is met.
Claim(s) 4, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Basa in view of Ali further in view of Pazhyannur et al. (US20210160743A1 herein after Paz).
Regarding claim 4,Basa teaches NSA 4G LTE anchor cell [0037] “the UE may detect the current radio conditions at the previously camped LTE cells in order to make its determination regarding whether a previously camped LTE cell has better radio conditions than the current LTE cell. A previously camped cell may have better radio conditions when, for example, a signal power of a carrier of the previously camped cell is better than a signal power of a carrier of the current cell. Further, the UE may use previously gathered information about CA configurations in order to make a determination regarding whether a previously camped LTE cell has a better CA configuration than the current LTE cell”).
Basa and Alli does not teach further comprising: by the 5G-capable wireless device of the second MNO: receiving, from a second network element, a broadcast message indicating the cell is configured to share access with the second MNO.
Paz teaches further comprising: by the 5G-capable wireless device of the second MNO: receiving, from a second network element, a broadcast message indicating the cell is configured to share access with the second MNO ([0017] “he base station may broadcast, to the UE operative in the small cell, a system information message which includes the neighbor list of small cell frequencies. The base station or controller thereof may additionally maintain a plurality of operator-specific neighbor lists of one or more macro-cell frequencies of one or more neighboring macro-cells, where each operator-specific neighbor list is associated with a respective one of a plurality of macro-cellular networks of the MNOs, [0038] “in step 306, the system information message which includes the neighbor list of small cell frequencies may be broadcasted in a system information block (SIB), which may be of SIB type 4 (“SIB4”) and/or SIB type 5 (“SIB5”). In typical implementations, SIB4 includes intra-frequency neighbors (i.e. on the same frequency) and SIB5 includes inter-frequency neighbors (i.e. on a different frequency)”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the the combination of Bala, Ali to incorporate the teaching of Paz. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow more effective sharing.
Regarding claim 14, Basa teaches [0037] “the UE may detect the current radio conditions at the previously camped LTE cells in order to make its determination regarding whether a previously camped LTE cell has better radio conditions than the current LTE cell. A previously camped cell may have better radio conditions when, for example, a signal power of a carrier of the previously camped cell is better than a signal power of a carrier of the current cell. Further, the UE may use previously gathered information about CA configurations in order to make a determination regarding whether a previously camped LTE cell has a better CA configuration than the current LTE cell”)
Basa and Ali does not teach wherein the actions performed by the 5G-capable wireless device of the second MNO further comprise:receiving, from a second network element, a broadcast message indicating cell is configured to share access with the second MNO.
Paz teaches wherein the actions performed by the 5G-capable wireless device of the second MNO further comprise:receiving, from a second network element, a broadcast message indicating cell is configured to share access with the second MNO ([0017] “he base station may broadcast, to the UE operative in the small cell, a system information message which includes the neighbor list of small cell frequencies. The base station or controller thereof may additionally maintain a plurality of operator-specific neighbor lists of one or more macro-cell frequencies of one or more neighboring macro-cells, where each operator-specific neighbor list is associated with a respective one of a plurality of macro-cellular networks of the MNOs, [0038] “in step 306, the system information message which includes the neighbor list of small cell frequencies may be broadcasted in a system information block (SIB), which may be of SIB type 4 (“SIB4”) and/or SIB type 5 (“SIB5”). In typical implementations, SIB4 includes intra-frequency neighbors (i.e. on the same frequency) and SIB5 includes inter-frequency neighbors (i.e. on a different frequency)”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the the combination of Bala, Ali to incorporate the teaching of Paz. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow more effective sharing.
Claim(s) 5, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bala in view of Ali further in view of Tindola et al. (US20230121194).
Regarding claim 5, Bala does not teach further comprising: by the 5G-capable wireless device of the second MNO: receiving, from the network element, a second control message indicating a radio frequency of the NSA 5G cell.
Ali teaches further comprising: by the 5G-capable wireless device of the second MNO [0037] “the UE may detect the current radio conditions at the previously camped LTE cells in order to make its determination regarding whether a previously camped LTE cell has better radio conditions than the current LTE cell. A previously camped cell may have better radio conditions when, for example, a signal power of a carrier of the previously camped cell is better than a signal power of a carrier of the current cell. Further, the UE may use previously gathered information about CA configurations in order to make a determination regarding whether a previously camped LTE cell has a better CA configuration than the current LTE cell”):
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Bala to incorporate the teaching of Ali. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase the reliability of the system.
Ali does not teach receiving, from the network element, a second control message indicating a radio frequency of the NSA 5G cell.
Tindola teaches receiving, from the network element, a second control message indicating a radio frequency of the NSA 5G cell ([0026] “For example, in EN-DC, a base station (e.g., eNB) serving an LTE anchor cell may transmit a measurement configuration including one or more measurement objects to a UE for NR cell addition. Based on the measurement configuration, the UE may perform measurements of one or more neighbor NR cells and transmit a NR measurement report to the anchor cell including the measurements. Based on the NR measurement report, the anchor cell may add one or more secondary cells (e.g., a secondary cell group (SCG)) for EN-DC communication.”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Bala, Ali to incorporate the teaching of Tindora. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide additional frequency resources.
Regarding claim 15, Bala does not teach wherein the actions performed by the 5G-capable wireless device of the second MNO further comprise:receiving, from the network element, a second control message indicating a radio frequency of the NSA 5G cell.
Ali teaches wherein the actions performed by the 5G-capable wireless device of the second MNO
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Bala to incorporate the teaching of Ali. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase the reliability of the system.
Ali does not teach further comprise:receiving, from the network element, a second control message indicating a radio frequency of the NSA 5G cell.
Tindora teaches further comprise:receiving, from the network element, a second control message indicating a radio frequency of the NSA 5G cell ([0026] “For example, in EN-DC, a base station (e.g., eNB) serving an LTE anchor cell may transmit a measurement configuration including one or more measurement objects to a UE for NR cell addition. Based on the measurement configuration, the UE may perform measurements of one or more neighbor NR cells and transmit a NR measurement report to the anchor cell including the measurements. Based on the NR measurement report, the anchor cell may add one or more secondary cells (e.g., a secondary cell group (SCG)) for EN-DC communication.”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Bala, Ali to incorporate the teaching of Tindora. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide additional frequency resources.
Claim(s) 6, 16, 8, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bala in view of Ali further in view of Hara et al. (US20160219520).
Regarding claim 6, Bala teaches further comprising: by the 5G-capable wireless device ([0013] “a 5G capable network may tend to (or be configured to) push NR capable UEs to an LTE anchor band(s) and then configure the UE with the EN-DC on both LTE and NR. An LTE anchor band may be a band that is set aside and/or configured by the network for this purpose”) [0037] “the UE may detect the current radio conditions at the previously camped LTE cells in order to make its determination regarding whether a previously camped LTE cell has better radio conditions than the current LTE cell. A previously camped cell may have better radio conditions when, for example, a signal power of a carrier of the previously camped cell is better than a signal power of a carrier of the current cell. Further, the UE may use previously gathered information about CA configurations in order to make a determination regarding whether a previously camped LTE cell has a better CA configuration than the current LTE cell”);
[0037] “the UE may detect the current radio conditions at the previously camped LTE cells in order to make its determination regarding whether a previously camped LTE cell has better radio conditions than the current LTE cell. A previously camped cell may have better radio conditions when, for example, a signal power of a carrier of the previously camped cell is better than a signal power of a carrier of the current cell. Further, the UE may use previously gathered information about CA configurations in order to make a determination regarding whether a previously camped LTE cell has a better CA configuration than the current LTE cell”)
Bala does not teach of the second MNO: maintaining a database, cells in local storage, and updating a record time for a particular cell included in the database, the record time indicating a most recent time that the wireless device disconnected from or reselected away from the particular cell.
Ali teaches of the second MNO ([0003] “The combined 5G network that supports a 4G core network too is referred to as a non-standalone architecture (NSA). By leveraging the existing infrastructure of the 4G core network, carriers can provide faster and more reliable Enhanced Mobile Broadband (eMBB) without completely reworking their core network technology and pushing customers to new devices, [0060] “a mobile network operator (MNO) 202 as a visited public land mobile network (VPLMN) is on the right side of a vertical line 203, while the operator 201 is on the left side of vertical line 203. The MNO 202 may include both LTE network 207 and 5G network 205 in local regions where the UE is. Within the MNO 202, the user or UE 112 can roam between the LTE network and the 5G network”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Bala to incorporate the teaching of Ali. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase the reliability of the system.
Ali does not teach maintaining a database, cells in local storage, and updating a record time for a particular cell included in the database, the record time indicating a most recent time that the wireless device disconnected from or reselected away from the particular cell.
Hara teaches maintaining a database, cells in local storage, and updating a record time for a particular cell included in the database, the record time indicating a most recent time that the wireless device disconnected from or reselected away from the particular cell. ([0084] “In FIG. 5, the prior connection table 500 has fields for cell-IDs, BSSIDs, last connection times, and a home AP flag. By setting information into each of the fields, prior connection information (e.g., prior connection information 500-1 to 500-4) is stored as records. The access point information described in FIG. 1 corresponds to the prior connection information in the prior connection table 500”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Bala, Ali to incorporate the teaching of Hara. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to minimize power consumption.
Regarding claims 8, 18, Bala and Ali does not teach wherein the database includes for each entry one or more fields storing values including: i) a public land mobile network (PLMN) value, ii) a tracking area code (TAC) value, iii) an evolved universal evolved mobile telecommunications system (UMTS) terrestrial radio access (E-UTRA) absolute radio frequency channel number (EARFCN) value, iv) a physical cell identifier (PCI), v) a cell global identity (CGI), vi) a related NSA 5G cell radio frequency, and vii) the record time for the associated NSA 4G LTE anchor cell.
Hara teaches wherein the database includes for each entry one or more fields storing values including: i) a public land mobile network (PLMN) value, ii) a tracking area code (TAC) value, iii) an evolved universal evolved mobile telecommunications system (UMTS) terrestrial radio access (E-UTRA) absolute radio frequency channel number (EARFCN) value, iv) a physical cell identifier (PCI), v) a cell global identity (CGI), vi) a related NSA 5G cell radio frequency, and vii) the record time for the associated NSA 4G LTE anchor cell (Fig. 5 “Cell ID”, “BSSID”, “Last connection time”, [0084] “ the prior connection table 500 has fields for cell-IDs, BSSIDs, last connection times, and a home AP flag. By setting information into each of the fields, prior connection information (e.g., prior connection information 500-1 to 500-4) is stored as records. The access point information described in FIG. 1 corresponds to the prior connection information in the prior connection table 500”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Bala, Ali to incorporate the teaching of Hara. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to minimize power consumption.
Claim(s) 7, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bala in view of Ali further in view of Hara further in view of Paz.
Regarding claim 7, 17, Bala teaches further comprising:by the 5G-capable wireless device ([0013] “a 5G capable network may tend to (or be configured to) push NR capable UEs to an LTE anchor band(s) and then configure the UE with the EN-DC on both LTE and NR. An LTE anchor band may be a band that is set aside and/or configured by the network for this purpose”) [0013] “a 5G capable network may tend to (or be configured to) push NR capable UEs to an LTE anchor band(s) and then configure the UE with the EN-DC on both LTE and NR”, [0029] “ the UE, in block 108, stores its current location, its current Physical Cell Identifier (PCI), the LTE band it is currently on, and the availability of one or more NR cells at its current location”)
Bala and Ali, Hara does not teach of the second MNO: adding an entry for an additional cell, to the database when not already included in response to receipt of i) a broadcast message indicating the additional NSA 4G LTE anchor cell is configured to share access with the second MNO and of ii) a second control message indicating a radio frequency of an additional NSA 5G cell associated with the additional NSA 4G LTE anchor cell.
Paz teaches of the second MNO: adding an entry for an additional cell, to the database when not already included in response to receipt of i) a broadcast message indicating the additional NSA 4G LTE anchor cell is configured to share access with the second MNO and of ii) a second control message indicating a radio frequency of an additional NSA 5G cell associated with the additional NSA 4G LTE anchor cell ([0052-53] “In some implementations, at least some of the plurality of operator-specific neighbor lists may be generated based on information received in response to instructing the UE to scan a list of frequencies of neighboring macro-cells of the identified one of the mobile network operators associated with the UE (step 314 b of FIG. 3B). In some of these implementations, the information is received in advance, from one or more UEs different from the UE(s) currently being served… In some implementations, at least some of the plurality of operator-specific neighbor lists may be generated based on information received in response to scanning, with a receiver of the base station, one or more frequency bands of one or more of the macro-cellular networks (step 314 c of FIG. 3B)”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the the combination of Bala, Ali, Hara to incorporate the teaching of Paz. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow more effective way of maintaining a list for connections.
Claim(s) 9, 10, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bala in view of Ali, further in view of Hara further in view of Shrestha et al. (US us20220132383).
Regarding claim 9, Bala teaches further comprising:by the 5G-capable wireless device [0013] “a 5G capable network may tend to (or be configured to) push NR capable UEs to an LTE anchor band(s) and then configure the UE with the EN-DC on both LTE and NR”, [0029] “ the UE, in block 108, stores its current location, its current Physical Cell Identifier (PCI), the LTE band it is currently on, and the availability of one or more NR cells at its current location”)).
Bala does not teach of the second MNO: deleting an entry for an associated cell from the database when a current time minus the record time for the associated cell exceeds a lifetime threshold value.
Ali teaches of the second MNO ([0003] “The combined 5G network that supports a 4G core network too is referred to as a non-standalone architecture (NSA). By leveraging the existing infrastructure of the 4G core network, carriers can provide faster and more reliable Enhanced Mobile Broadband (eMBB) without completely reworking their core network technology and pushing customers to new devices, [0060] “a mobile network operator (MNO) 202 as a visited public land mobile network (VPLMN) is on the right side of a vertical line 203, while the operator 201 is on the left side of vertical line 203. The MNO 202 may include both LTE network 207 and 5G network 205 in local regions where the UE is. Within the MNO 202, the user or UE 112 can roam between the LTE network and the 5G network”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Bala to incorporate the teaching of Ali. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase the reliability of the system.
Ali does not teach deleting an entry for an associated cell from the database when a current time minus the record time for the associated cell exceeds a lifetime threshold value.
Hara teaches deleting an entry for an associated cell from the database ([0130] “may delete the prior connection information having a last connection time that is oldest among the prior connection information stored in the prior connection table 500”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Bala, Ali to incorporate the teaching of Hara. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to minimize power consumption.
Hara does not teach when a current time minus the record time for the associated cell exceeds a lifetime threshold value.
Shrestha teaches when a current time minus the record time for the associated cell exceeds a lifetime threshold value ([0088] “valid for an associated validity time. The UE 515 may refrain from acquiring an updated neighbor cell list based at least in part on the future cell coverage list being valid. If the UE 515 determines that the validity time is expired, the UE 515 may acquire an updated future cell coverage list based at least in part on determining that the validity time is expired. In some aspects, the UE 515 may determine that the validity time is expired by detecting expiry of a validity time expiration timer. In some aspects, the network (e.g., the wireless communication device 505) may transmit, and the UE 515 may receive, an indication of expiration of the validity time”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Bala, Ali, Hara to incorporate the teaching of Shrestha. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in increased the reliability of system by having an updated list.
Regarding claim 10, Bala, Ali, Hara does not teach wherein the lifetime threshold value is based at least in part on a mobility state of the 5G-capable wireless device of the second MNO.
Shrestha teaches wherein the lifetime threshold value is based at least in part on a mobility state of the 5G-capable wireless device of the second MNO ([0089] “he UE 515 may determine that a mobility level of the UE 515 satisfies an expiration condition corresponding to the future cell coverage list. The UE 515 may acquire an updated future cell coverage list based at least in part on determining that the mobility level of the UE 515 satisfies the expiration condition. For example, the mobility level may indicate a mobility state (e.g., whether the UE 515 is stationary or mobile), and/or a mobility degree (e.g., whether the UE 515 is moving at a speed that falls within a range of “slow” speeds, “medium” speeds, or “fast” speeds), among other examples”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Bala, Ali, Hara to incorporate the teaching of Shrestha. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in increased the reliability of system by having an updated list.
Regarding claim 11, Bala, Ali, Hara does not teach wherein the 5G-capable wireless device of the second MNO adjusts the lifetime threshold value to a lower value when the 5G-capable wireless device of the second MNO is moving and to a higher value when the 5G-capable wireless device of the second MNO is stationary.
Shrestha teaches wherein the 5G-capable wireless device of the second MNO adjusts the lifetime threshold value to a lower value when the 5G-capable wireless device of the second MNO is moving and to a higher value when the 5G-capable wireless device of the second MNO is stationary ([0089] “he UE 515 may determine that a mobility level of the UE 515 satisfies an expiration condition corresponding to the future cell coverage list. The UE 515 may acquire an updated future cell coverage list based at least in part on determining that the mobility level of the UE 515 satisfies the expiration condition. For example, the mobility level may indicate a mobility state (e.g., whether the UE 515 is stationary or mobile), and/or a mobility degree (e.g., whether the UE 515 is moving at a speed that falls within a range of “slow” speeds, “medium” speeds, or “fast” speeds), among other examples”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Bala, Ali, Hara to incorporate the teaching of Shrestha. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in increased the reliability of system by having an updated list.
Conclusion
/K.T.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411