DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Applicant’s amendments filed on 04/14/2026 have been received and considered. Claims 1-3,5-10,12-15, and 17-21 are pending. Claims 1, 5-9, 13, and 17-20 have been amended. Claims 4, 11, and 16 are cancelled. Claim 21 is new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 7-8, filed 04/14/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1 under 35 U.S.C 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Herman et al (US 20200218910 A1, hereinafter Herman).
The applicant argues that Sajjan does not teach “in case that the detected object satisfies the condition, the display mode is a second mode in which the information related to the detected object displays the support information that assists the driver to visually view the detected object on the display, the support information superimposing, on the detected object, a pictogram indicating a type of the detected object or a silhouette of the detected object.” (Remarks, pg. 7 final paragraph – pg. 8 first paragraph). The examiner agrees, however, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made for claim 1 in view of Herman, as fully explained below.
The amended limitation of “a pictogram indicating a type of the detected object or a silhouette of the detected object” is similar in scope to the original claim 11, which states in part “the support information includes a pictogram indicating a type of detected object or a silhouette of the detected object”. This original claim limitation was taught by Sajjan in par 38 “the bounding shapes may be used to directly to generate the rasterized (or binary) image of visualization 210. For example, the vehicle 204C-instead of being represented using the ellipse in visualization 210-may be represented using the bounding shape 208C.”, however, Sajjan fails to teach the complete amended limitation of “to visually view the detected object on the display, the support information superimposing, on the detected object, a pictogram indicating a type of the detected object or a silhouette of the detected object”. In related field of endeavor, Herman teaches this complete amended limitation (Herman Par 42 “When the pixel area of the object's image data (as projected into the simulated image) is less than the highlight threshold, then a highlight frame can be overlaid on the simulated image in step 60 surrounding the image data so that the object is more noticeable to the driver.” Note: under BRI, the claim is only mapped to “a silhouette of the detected object” instead of “a pictogram indicating a type of the detected object”. Same for rejection below).
Claim 13 has been amended in a similar manner, and is rejected under the same new ground of rejection as claim 1.
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 8-9, filed 04/14/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 7 and 19 under 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that Herman fails to cure the deficiencies of Sajjan regarding the amended claim 1. The examiner disagrees, and submits that the limitations are taught in Herman (see Herman Par 11 and 42)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-8, 10, 12-15, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sajjan et al. (US 20230213945 A1, hereinafter Sajjan) as modified by Herman (US 20200218910 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sajjan teaches an information processing device comprising: a processor; and a memory having instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform operations comprising (par 26 "Various functions described herein as being performed by entities may be carried out by hardware, firmware, and/or software. For instance, various functions may be carried out by a processor executing instructions stored in memory"):
acquire sensing information from an in-vehicle sensor mounted on a vehicle (par 71 "The sensor manager may manage and/or abstract the sensor data 102 from the sensors of the ego-machine 900. For example, and with reference to FIG. 9C, the sensor data 102 may be generated (e.g., perpetually, at intervals, based on certain conditions, etc.) by RADAR sensor(s) 960, ultrasonic sensor(s) 962, LIDAR sensor(s) 964, stereo camera(s) 968, wide-view camera(s) 970, infrared camera(s) 972, surround camera(s) 974, long range and/or mid-range camera(s) 998, and/or other sensor types");
detect an object around the vehicle based on the acquired sensing information (par 167 "The RADAR sensor(s) 960 may help in distinguishing between static and moving objects, and may be used by ADAS systems for emergency brake assist and forward collision warning." par 108 "A variety of cameras may be used in a front-facing configuration, including...long- range camera(s) 998 (e.g., a long-view stereo camera pair) may be used for depth- based object detection.");
determine a display mode related to the detected object based on whether the detected object satisfies a condition accumulated in the memory, the condition being related to visibility of the detected object on a display mounted on the vehicle (par 107 "Front-facing cameras may also be used for ADAS functions and systems including Lane Departure Warnings (LDW), Autonomous Cruise Control (ACC), and/or other functions such as traffic sign recognition", par 101 "information about objects and status of objects as perceived by the controller(s) 936, etc. For example, the HMI display 934 may display information about the presence of one or more objects (e.g., a street sign, caution sign, traffic light changing, etc.), and/or information about driving maneuvers the vehicle has made, is making, or will make (e.g., changing lanes now, taking exit 34B in two miles, etc.)”, Par 187 “RCTW systems may provide visual, audible, and/or tactile notification when an object is detected outside the rear-camera range when the vehicle 900 is backing up … RCTW systems may use one or more rear-facing RADAR sensor(s) 960, coupled to a dedicated processor, DSP, FPGA, and/or ASIC, that is electrically coupled to driver feedback, such as a display”, where being outside the rear-camera range corresponds to visibility on a display, and display mode corresponds to whether a visual notification is provided.);
and display, on the display, information related to the detected object based on the display mode, wherein in case that the detected object does not satisfy the condition, the display mode is a first mode, in which the information related to the detected object does not display support information related to the detected object (par 179 “The ADAS system 938 may include a SoC, in some examples. The ADAS system 938 may include autonomous/adaptive/automatic cruise control (ACC), cooperative adaptive cruise control (CACC), forward crash warning (FCW),automatic emergency braking (AEB), lane departure warnings (LDW), lane keep assist (LKA),blind spot warning (BSW), rear cross-traffic warning (RCTW), collision warning systems (CWS),lane centering (LC), and/or other features and functionality”, par 193 “The infotainment SoC 930 may include a combination of hardware and software that may be used to provide audio (e.g., music, a personal digital assistant, navigational instructions, news, radio, etc.), video (e.g., TV, movies, streaming, etc.), phone (e.g., hands-free calling), network connectivity (e.g., LTE, Wi-Fi, etc.), and/or information services (e.g., navigation systems, rear-parking assistance, a radio data system, vehicle related information such as fuel level, total distance covered, brake fuel level, oil level, door open/close, air filter information, etc.) to the vehicle … The infotainment SoC 930 may further be used to provide information (e.g., visual and/or audible) to a user(s) of the vehicle, such as information from the ADAS system 938, autonomous driving information such as planned vehicle maneuvers, trajectories, surrounding environment information (e.g., intersection information, vehicle information, road information, etc.), and/or other information”, par 186 “BSW systems detects and warn the driver of vehicles in an automobile's blind spot. BSW systems may provide a visual, audible, and/or tactile alert to indicate that merging or changing lanes is unsafe. The system may provide an additional warning when the driver uses a turn signal”, where when an ADAS system is not activated to provide additional information to the infotainment SoC, support information about the detected objects are not included, corresponding to a first display mode);
and in case that the detected object satisfies the condition, the display mode is a second mode, in which the information related to the detected object displays the support information (par 179 “The ADAS system 938 may include a SoC, in some examples. The ADAS system 938 may include autonomous/adaptive/automatic cruise control (ACC), cooperative adaptive cruise control (CACC), forward crash warning (FCW), automatic emergency braking (AEB), lane departure warnings (LDW), lane keep assist (LKA), blind spot warning (BSW), rear cross-traffic warning (RCTW), collision warning systems (CWS), lane centering (LC), and/or other features and functionality”, par 183 “AEB systems detect an impending forward collision with another vehicle or other object … When the AEB system detects a hazard, it typically first alerts the driver”, par 186 “BSW systems detects and warn the driver of vehicles in an automobile's blind spot. BSW systems may provide a visual, audible, and/or tactile alert to indicate that merging or changing lanes is unsafe. The system may provide an additional warning when the driver uses a turn signal” where when an object causes an ADAS system to be activated to provide additional information to the infotainment SoC, support information about the object is included, corresponding to a second display mode),
and a pictogram indicating a type of the detected object or a silhouette of the detected object (Par 38 “the bounding shapes may be used to directly to generate the rasterized (or binary) image of visualization 210. For example, the vehicle 204C-instead of being represented using the ellipse in visualization 210-may be represented using the bounding shape 208C”).
Sajjan fails to explicitly teach the struck through limitations of claim 1. In related field of endeavor, Herman teaches display, on the display, the detected object and support information that assists a driver of the vehicle to visually view the detected object on the display (Par 11 “a highlight frame can be placed around the object in the image to improve recognition … A comparison of the color (hue, saturation, intensity) and intensity gradients can be used to detect a lack of contrast. In response to the lack of contrast, a highlight frame or border can again be placed around the object.”);
and in which the information related to the detected object includes displays the support information that assists the driver to visually view the detected object on the display, the support information superimposing, on the detected object, a pictogram indicating a type of the detected object or a silhouette of the detected object (Par 42 “When the pixel area of the object's image data (as projected into the simulated image) is less than the highlight threshold, then a highlight frame can be overlaid on the simulated image in step 60 surrounding the image data so that the object is more noticeable to the driver.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have modified Sajjan to include the condition being related to visibility of the detected object on a display mounted on the vehicle; and display, on the display, the detected object and support information that assists a driver of the vehicle to visually view the detected object on the display; and in which the information related to the detected object includes displays the support information that assists the driver to visually view the detected object on the display, the support information superimposing, on the detected object, a pictogram indicating a type of the detected object or a silhouette of the detected object as taught by Herman. Doing so would make obscured objects more noticeable to the driver (Par 42 “surrounding the image data so that the object is more noticeable to the driver. The highlight frame may have a high contrast, bright color to enhance its visibility”)
Regarding claim 2, Sajjan and Herman teach the information processing device according to claim 1. Sajjan further teaches the information related to the detected object includes detected information related to the detected object (Par 186 “BSW systems detects and warn the driver of vehicles in an automobile's blind spot”).
Regarding claim 3, Sajjan and Herman teach the information processing device according to claim 1. Sajjan further teaches wherein: the sensing information includes at least one of an image obtained by capturing surroundings of the vehicle and a measurement result obtained by measuring the surroundings of the vehicle (par 109 “An alternative stereo camera(s) 968 may include a compact stereo vision sensor(s) that may include two camera lenses (one each on the left and right) and an image processing chip that may measure the distance from the vehicle to the target object and use the generated information (e.g., metadata) to activate the autonomous emergency braking and lane departure warning functions.”)
Regarding claim 7, Sajjan and Herman teach the information processing device according to claim 1. Herman further teaches wherein the case that the detected object satisfies the condition includes a case where a contrast difference between the detected object and a background of the object deviates from a determined threshold range (Par 11 “A comparison of the color (hue, saturation, intensity) and intensity gradients can be used to detect a lack of contrast. In response to the lack of contrast, a highlight frame or border can again be placed around the object.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to have further modified Sajjan and Herman to include wherein the case that the detected object satisfies the condition includes a case where a contrast difference between the detected object and a background of the object deviates from a determined threshold range. Doing so would allow additional information to be presented in situations when an object is difficult to see (Par 11 “In response to the lack of contrast, a highlight frame or border can again be placed around the object”)
Regarding claim 8, Sajjan and Herman teach the information processing device according to claim 1. Sajjan further teaches wherein the case that the detected object satisfies the condition includes a case where the detected object is out of sight (par 187 “RCTW systems may provide visual, audible, and/or tactile notification when an object is detected outside the rear-camera range when the vehicle 900 is backing up”).
Regarding claim 10, Sajjan and Herman teach The information processing device according to claim 2. Sajjan further teaches wherein the detection information includes a detection frame indicating the detected object (Par 32 “The annotations may include annotations or labels of bounding shapes (e.g., boxes, squares, rectangles, circles, triangles, polygons, etc.) corresponding to object locations of objects or obstacles represented by the sensor data”).
Regarding claim 12, Sajjan and Herman teach The information processing device according to claim 1. Sajjan further teaches wherein the processor, in operation, further outputs, to the display, an image obtained by capturing surroundings of the vehicle, and the display superimposes and displays the image and the information related to the detected object. (par 67 “As an example, and with respect to FIG. 7, visualization 700 may represent an image represented using the sensor data 102 and corresponding object detections from the object detector 602A and path detections from the path detector 604. For example, the object detector 602A may compute the locations and shapes of bounding shapes 704A and 704B corresponding to the two vehicles depicted in the image”)
Regarding claim 13, the method claim 13 is similar in scope to claim 1 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 14, the method claim 14 is similar in scope to claim 2 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 15, the method claim 15 is similar in scope to claim 3 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 19, the method claim 19 is similar in scope to claim 7 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 20, the method claim 20 is similar in scope to claim 8 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 5-6, 9, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sajjan and Herman as applied to claim 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Matajira (US 20210316662 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Sajjan and Herman teach the information processing device according to claim 1, but fail to explicitly teach wherein the case that the detected object satisfies the condition includes a case where a time when the object is detected corresponds to a determined time or a determined time zone. In related field of endeavor, Matajira teaches the case that the detected object satisfies the condition includes a case where a time when the object is detected corresponds to a determined time or a determined time zone. (Par 88 “More specifically, in FIG. 4A, the image represents the visibility or the lack of visibility at night time from the vehicle. In FIG. 4B, the image represents a thermal image obtained by an IR camera which is adapted for detecting thermal activity of the detected object 500. The detected thermal activity of the detected object generates a thermal image which is processed by the device for processing the image such that thermal activity is interpreted and represented in a representation indicative of the object illustrating the detected object in the vehicle such that the driver is warned of e.g. a living creature in proximity of the vehicle”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to have further modified Sajjan and Herman to include the case that the detected object satisfies the condition includes a case where a time when the object is detected corresponds to a determined time or a determined time zone as taught by Matajira. Doing so would allow the image to be interpreted to generate a representation of the object without disturbances (Par 88 “the image is interpreted to remove any surroundings around the detected object or unnecessary information to generate a representation indicative of the object which illustrates the detected object in proximity of the vehicle clearly and without disturbances”)
Regarding claim 6, Sajjan and Herman teach the information processing device according to claim 1, but fail to explicitly teach wherein the case that the detected object satisfies the condition includes a case where an illuminance around the detected object or the vehicle deviates from a determined threshold range. In related field of endeavor, Matajira teaches the case that the detected object satisfies the condition includes a case where an illuminance around the detected object or the vehicle deviates from a determined threshold range (Par 88 “a night vision image obtained by a night vision camera which is adapted for obtaining a night vision image of the detected object 500 at night time or in surroundings with poor illumination.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have modified Sajjan and Herman to include the case that the detected object satisfies the condition includes a case where an illuminance around the detected object or the vehicle deviates from a determined threshold range as taught by Matajira. Doing so would allow the image to be interpreted to generate a representation of the object without disturbances (Par 88 “the image is interpreted to remove any surroundings around the detected object or unnecessary information to generate a representation indicative of the object which illustrates the detected object in proximity of the vehicle clearly and without disturbances”).
Regarding claim 9, Sajjan and Herman teach the information processing device according to claim 1, But fail to explicitly teach wherein the case that the detected object satisfies the condition includes a case corresponding to determined weather. In related field of endeavor, Matajira teaches the case that the detected object satisfies the condition includes a case corresponding to determined weather (Par 5 “Hence, there is a need to improve visibility in a vehicle at non-optimal driving conditions such as at night time, in areas with poor illumination or at foggy conditions which impair the visibility.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to have further modified Sajjan and Herman to include the case that the detected object satisfies the condition includes a case corresponding to determined weather as taught by Matajira. Doing so would allow the warning system to automatically be turned on or off depending on driving conditions (Par 82 “comprising a warning system for warning a driver of a vehicle of an object 500 in a proximity 400 of the vehicle … the warning system may be automatically or manually turned on and off depending on driving conditions e.g. at night time, in areas with poor illumination or foggy conditions.”)
Regarding claim 17, the method claim 17 is similar in scope to claim 5 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 18, the method claim 18 is similar in scope to claim 6 and is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sajjan and Herman as applied to claim1 above, and further in view of Park et al (US 11340700 B2, hereinafter Park).
Regarding claim 21, Sajjan and Herman teach The information processing device according to claim 1, but fail to explicitly teach wherein the case that the detected object satisfies the condition includes a case where distortion of the detected object on the display deviates from a determined threshold range. In related field of endeavor, Park teaches the case that the detected object satisfies the condition includes a case where distortion of the detected object on the display deviates from a determined threshold range (Col 2 Line 33-37 “The situation of the object of interest may include a situation in which any one or any combination of any two or more of occlusion, blur, distortion caused by rain, low illumination, and light reflection occurs with respect to the object of interest in the image sequence.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified Sajjan and Herman to include the case that the detected object satisfies the condition includes a case where distortion of the detected object on the display deviates from a determined threshold range as taught by Park. Doing so would allow distortions to be detected for image correction (Col 18 Line 2-7 “The augmentation apparatus may output the output image 1040 restored from the input image 1030 by mixed rendering of the relevant information, that is, the image in which the silhouettes of the distorted lane and/or distorted objects are corrected to fix the distortions”)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.P.G./ Examiner, Art Unit 2611
/KEE M TUNG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2611