DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for an adhesive film formed of an adhesive composition comprising a monomer mixture of 4-hydroxybutyl acrylate (and those recited in [0029] of present specification) in an amount of 10-40% by weight and a comonomer of 2-ethylhexyl acrylate (and those recited in [0033] of present specification) in an amount of 60-90% by weight and nanoparticles having a core-shell structure composed of a core of polybutyl acrylate and shell of poly(methyl methacrylate) and having a weight ratio of the core to the shell of 7:3, and an index of refraction of 1.47 (and those recited in [0053], [0058], [0063]-[0064] of present specification), does not reasonably provide enablement for any adhesive film formed of an adhesive composition comprising monomer mixture comprising any type of hydroxyl group-containing (meth)acrylate in any amount, any type of a comonomer in any amount, and any type of nanoparticle. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
Case law holds that applicant’s specification must be “commensurately enabling [regarding the scope of the claims]” Ex Parte Kung, 17 USPQ2d 1545, 1547 (Bd. Pat. App. Inter. 1990). Otherwise undue experimentation would be involved in determining how to practice and use applicant’s invention. The test for undue experimentation as to whether or not all compounds within the scope of claims 12-22 can be used as claimed and whether claims 12-22 meet the test is stated in Ex parte Forman, 230 USPQ 546, 547 (Bd. Pat. App. Inter. 1986) and In re Wands, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed.Cir. 1988). Upon applying this test to claims 12-22, it is believed that undue experimentation would be required because:
(a) The quantity of experimentation necessary is great since claims 12-22 read on any adhesive film formed of an adhesive composition comprising monomer mixture comprising any type of hydroxyl group-containing (meth)acrylate in any amount, any type of a comonomer in any amount, and any type of nanoparticle while the specification discloses an adhesive film formed of an adhesive composition comprising a monomer mixture of 4-hydroxybutyl acrylate (and those recited in [0029] of present specification) in an amount of 10-40% by weight and a comonomer of 2-ethylhexyl acrylate (and those recited in [0033] of present specification) in an amount of 60-90% by weight and nanoparticles having a core-shell structure composed of a core of polybutyl acrylate and shell of poly(methyl methacrylate) and having a weight ratio of the core to the shell of 7:3, and an index of refraction of 1.47 (and those recited in [0053], [0058], [0063]-[0064] of present specification).
(b) There is no direction or guidance presented for any adhesive film formed of an adhesive composition comprising monomer mixture comprising any type of hydroxyl group-containing (meth)acrylate in any amount, any type of a comonomer in any amount, and any type of nanoparticle.
(c) There is an absence of working examples concerning any adhesive film formed of an adhesive composition comprising monomer mixture comprising any type of hydroxyl group-containing (meth)acrylate in any amount, any type of a comonomer in any amount, and any type of nanoparticle.
In light of the above factors, it is seen that undue experimentation would be necessary to make and use the invention of claims 12-22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Lee et al (US 2014/0162044).
Regarding claims 12, 13, and 14, Lee et al. teaches an adhesive film formed of an adhesive composition (See Abstract) comprising a copolymer of a monomer mixture comprising a hydroxyl group-containing (meth)acrylate and a comonomer (paragraphs [0068] and [0070]), wherein an amount of the hydroxyl group-containing (meth)acrylate could be 28.5-49.5% (See Table 1) which overlaps the claimed range of about 10 to about 40 wt %, wherein the adhesive composition further includes nanoparticles having an average particle diameter of about 100 nm to about 500 nm (about 0.1 µm to about 0.5 µm, paragraph [0047]) which overlaps the claimed range of about 10 nm to about 400 nm. Lee et al. further teaches wherein the nanoparticles are present in an amount of about 0.15 wt% to about 14.5 wt% based on the total weight of the adhesive film (paragraph [0082]) which based on the amount of 1 to 90 parts of the monomer mixture (paragraph [0077]) and, therefore, includes an amount of 0.16 to 16 parts by weight relative to 100 parts by weight of the monomer mixture (0.15*100/90 = 0.16 to 14.5*100/90=16) which overlaps the claimed range of about 0.1 parts by weight to about 10 parts by weight relative to 100 parts by weight of the monomer mixture. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); see MPEP 2144.05.
Given that Lee et al. teach adhesive film comprising materials and structure identical to those presently claimed, as well as amounts that are identical to those used in the present invention, the adhesive film of Lee et al. would necessarily exhibit creep and storage modulus values as presently claimed, absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 15, given that Lee et al. teach adhesive film comprising materials and structure identical to those presently claimed, as well as amounts that are identical to those used in the present invention, the adhesive film of Lee et al. would necessarily exhibit creep value as presently claimed, absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 16, given that Lee et al. teach adhesive film comprising materials and structure identical to those presently claimed, as well as amounts that are identical to those used in the present invention, the adhesive film of Lee et al. would necessarily exhibit T-peel strength values as presently claimed, absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claims 17, 18, and 19, given that Lee et al. teach adhesive film comprising materials and structure identical to those presently claimed, as well as amounts that are identical to those used in the present invention, the adhesive film of Lee et al. would necessarily exhibit storage modulus values, including ratio of storage modulus and difference of storage modulus, as presently claimed, absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 20, given that Lee et al. teach adhesive film comprising materials and structure identical to those presently claimed, as well as amounts that are identical to those used in the present invention, the adhesive film of Lee et al. would necessarily exhibit glass transition temperature as presently claimed, absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 21, given that Lee et al. teach adhesive film comprising materials and structure identical to those presently claimed, as well as amounts that are identical to those used in the present invention, the adhesive film of Lee et al. would necessarily exhibit haze value as presently claimed, absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 22, Lee et al. teaches a display member comprising: an optical film; and the adhesive film according to claim 1 attached to one or both surfaces of the optical film (paragraph [0112]).
Double Patenting
Claims 12-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,999,879. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both disclose an adhesive film.
Regarding the present claims, the conflicting claims are identical aside from the specific types of monomers. However, regarding limitations recited in the patented claims not found in the present claims, these limitations are encompassed by the present claims given that the present claims use the open language of "comprising".
Conclusion
/CHENG YUAN HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787