Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-15, 19-25, 43, 45, 47 and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker et al (US 11,691,929) in view of Shearer et al (US 2015/0128672), for the reasons given in the last Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument, that mounting a conveyor above a torrefier so as to recover waste heat does not teach or suggest that the conveyed material is itself pyrolyzed by that waste heat, and the examiner points to no disclosure in Walker et al that the recovered waste heat is sufficient to pyrolyze-as opposed to merely warm or dry-the conveyed biomass, is not convincing. Walker et al disclose a torrefying temperature as high as about 350 C at col. 11, lines 4-9. The waste heat would be sufficient to cause at least some pyrolysis of the biomass in the screw conveyor, since Shearer et al suggest in Paragraph [0058] that pyrolysis can occur at temperatures as low as 300 C. In any event, Walker et al disclose at col. 11, lines 22-28 that the torrefier includes a pre-heating screw whereby waste heat from the main burner heats the material prior to thew main screw, and a main screw, which has a bank of burners firing underneath it. It would have been obvious to provide a temperature of 300-350 C in the pre-heating screw to achieve a heating temperature of about 350 C in the main screw. Accordingly it would have been obvious to provide a temperature of at least 300 C in the screw conveyor mounted above the torrefier in the process of Walker et al so as to pre-heat the biomass. Applicant’s argument, that the cited passages of walker et al disclose no staged addition of raw biomass between distinct pyrolysis heating temperatures, is not convincing, since Walker et al teach at col. 11, lines 12-15 that wet biosolids can be introduced in a continuous fashion through the inlet port of the torrefier.
Applicant’s argument with respect to claim 43, that the product of Shearer et al would not include any of the recited compounds since the process of Shearer et al is not substantially identical to the process recited in claim 43, is not convincing, since Shearer et al teach in Paragraph [0060] that the amount of heat applied can be low and then high. There is no evidence on record that the addition of raw biomass between the heating stages would result in different properties of the biochar product. Moreover, Shearer et al disclose in Paragraph [0060] that volatile organics recondense in the pyrolysis reactor. Some of these volatile organics would be present in the biochar product.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-4 and 8-10 are allowed.
Mennell et al (US 12,655,061) is made of record for disclosing at col. 68, lines 16-22 that the boundary between a preheating zone and pyrolysis zone can be somewhat arbitrary, with some pyrolysis taking place in the preheating zone and some preheating continuing to take place in the pyrolysis zone.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WAYNE A LANGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736