DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgement is made of the Response to Election/Restriction filed on August 26, 2026, in which:
The applicant elected the invention of Group I, claims 1-5, without traverse.
Group II, claims 6-13, and Group III, claims 14-20, are withdrawn herein.
Claims 1-5 are currently pending and an Office action on the merits follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pub No.: US-20160360354-A1 (herein “Rhee”).
Consider claim 1, Rhee teaches A premium user equipment (UE) (see Rhee Fig. 1, Fig. 6, note companion device 106), comprising:
one or more memories (see Rhee Fig. 6, [0066] note memory 650);
one or more transceivers (see Rhee Fig. 6, [0059] note wireless communication subsystem 624); and
one or more processors (see Rhee Fig. 6, [0056] note processor(s) 604) communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured to:
establish a sidelink connection with a reduced-capability UE based on the reduced-capability UE being within communication range of the premium UE (see Rhee Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0019] note companion device 106 located in vicinity of the mobile device 102 and paired with the mobile device 102 via short-range communication technology); and
transmit, via the one or more transceivers, to the reduced-capability UE, one or more parameters indicating a quality of a location estimate of the premium UE (see Rhee Fig. 2, [0030]-[0033] note mobile device 102 requesting location of the companion device 106 to meet the accuracy specification required and the companion device providing assisted location as response to the location request).
Consider claim 2, Rhee teaches wherein the one or more parameters are transmitted over the sidelink connection (see Rhee Fig. 1, [0022] note the mobile device 102 can submit the location request to companion device 106 through communication channel 108).
Consider claim 3, Rhee teaches wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to: receive, via the one or more transceivers, from the reduced-capability UE, a request to transmit the location estimate of the premium UE to a location server (see Rhee [0021], [0048] note the companion device may request location data from location server 112).
Consider claim 4, Rhee teaches wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to: transmit, via the one or more transceivers, the location estimate of the premium UE to the reduced-capability UE (see Rhee Fig. 2, [0030]-[0033] not providing assisted location as response to the location request).
Consider claim 5, Rhee teaches wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to: transmit, via the one or more transceivers, the location estimate of the premium UE to a location server (see Rhee [0021], [0047], [0048] note the companion device may request location data from location server 112 and the location server receiving crowd-sourced data from mobile devices including the identifiers of signal sources associated with their location).
Contact Information
/MARCUS HAMMONDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647