DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Avdel Textron (GB 2 314 794).
As to claim 1, Avdel Textron discloses a riveted assembly comprising:
a first component 10 having opposing first and second sidewalls;
a second component 11 having opposing third and fourth sidewalls; and
a rivet 15 extending between a head along a shank to an end, the rivet piercing the first sidewall with the end of the rivet being between the first and fourth sidewalls, wherein the end of the rivet is deformed and interlocks the first and second components (Figures 1-5).
As to claim 2, Avdel Textron discloses a riveted assembly wherein the second surface of the first component 10 abuts the third sidewall of the second component 11 (Figures 1-5).
As to claim 3, Avdel Textron discloses a riveted assembly wherein the rivet 15 comprises Al or Al alloy (Figures 1-5; P8 L3-6).
As to claim 4, Avdel Textron discloses a riveted assembly wherein the shank of the rivet 15 is tubular and solid (Figures 1-5; P8 L3-6).
As to claim 5, Avdel Textron discloses a riveted assembly wherein the rivet 15 comprises Al or Mg and pierces the fourth sidewall of the second component 11 (Figures 1-5; P8 L3-6).
As to claim 6, Avdel Textron discloses a method for affixing at least two components using a rivet, the method comprising:
providing a first component 10 having opposing first and second sidewalls;
providing a second component 11 having opposing third and fourth sidewalls;
providing a rivet 15 extending between a head along a shank to an end; and
projecting the rivet through at least the third sidewall of the second component to deform and form an affixing interface to interlock the first and second components (Figures 1-5).
As to claim 7, Avdel Textron discloses a method comprising abutting the second sidewall of the first component 10 to the third sidewall of the second component 11 (Figures 1-5).
As to claim 9, Avdel Textron discloses a method wherein the rivet 15 includes a blunt head (Figures 1-5).
As to claim 10, Avdel Textron discloses a method wherein the rivet 15 includes a blunt end (Figures 1-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Avdel Textron in view of Bollhoff Berbindungstechnik (GB 2 428 077).
As to claim 8, Avdel Textron fails to disclose a method wherein the rivet includes a flanged head.
Bollhoff Berbindungstechnik teaches a method wherein a rivet 16c includes a flanged head; the flanged head being counter sunk within a first component 8, providing for more secure seating of the rivet within the first component (Figures 1-6). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rivet disclosed by Avdel Textron to comprise a flanged head, as taught by Bollhoff Berbindungstechnik, in order to provide for more secure seating of the rivet within the first component.
As to claim 11, Avdel Textron fails to disclose a method wherein the rivet includes a conical end.
Bollhoff Berbindungstechnik teaches a method wherein a rivet 16c includes a conical end 22c; the conical end providing for easier penetration of the rivet into first component 8 (Figures 1-6). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rivet disclosed by Avdel Textron to comprise a conical end, as taught by Bollhoff Berbindungstechnik, in order to provide for easier penetration of the rivet into the first component.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Avdel Textron in view of Draht et al. (US 10,589,374).
As to claim 12, Avdel Textron fails to disclose a method wherein the rivet includes a hemispherical end.
Draht et al. teach teaches a method wherein a rivet 10 includes a hemispherical end 11; the hemispherical end providing for easier penetration of the rivet into first component (Figures 1-4). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rivet disclosed by Avdel Textron to comprise a hemispherical end, as taught by Draht et al., in order to provide for easier penetration of the rivet into the first component.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, 9, 10, 13 and 17-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,460,059). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the “first component”, “second component” and “rivet” of patent claims 1 and 13 encompass the “first component”, “second component” and “rivet” of instant claims 1 and 6.
Conclusion
05/01/26
/MICHAEL P FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619