DETAILED ACTION This action is in response to the application filed on 06/25/2026.
Claims 10-20 have been withdrawn.
Claims 1-9 are pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –(a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-5, 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by MANEPALLI et al. (US 2022/0334980).
As of claim 1, MANEPALLI discloses a gateway comprising: a host main processing unit (MPU) ([Fig. 1A] [Fig.1B] para [0038] device 104 or device 101 is a sleepy end device (=host main processing unit) the host MPU comprising at least one core and at least one first transceiver to communicate with one or more first wireless devices in a wireless local area network (WLAN) according to a Wi-Fi protocol (para [0038] device 104, a sleepy end device (=host main processing unit ) has its radio or transceiver (=first transceiver) normally disabled, and only wakes up occasionally. Para [0040] [0041] [FIG.1B], device 101 be a router, a sleepy end device, (=host MPU) comprising a network processor unit 111 (=one core) communicatively coupled to transceiver 115 (=first transceiver), para[0033] [FIGS. 1A-1B] shows and discloses Thread network 100 be communicatively coupled to a base station 107 for wireless communication, base station be an a Wi-Fi access point, or a router for another wireless network 110 that includes a device 106. In addition, base station 107 be coupled to a cloud computing system 109 that is connected to the Internet. Wireless network and base station be configured to operate according to various IEEE 802.11 standards or protocols (=Wi-Fi protocol); and
an Internet of Things (loT) end device coupled to the host MPU ([Fig. 1A] para [0035], 104 end device or 101 device is a MPU which is coupled with the IoT end device which is 102) via a wired interface (para [0078] [0079] discloses one or more transceivers allow device (=device 101) to communicate with other devices that be wired which corresponds to MPU is coupled with the IoT end device via wired interface),
the loT end device comprising at least one second transceiver to communicate with one or more second wireless devices in a mesh network according to at least one mesh protocol (para [0006] discloses the thread network apparatus includes a transceiver configured to transmit and receive communication signals over a thread network (=communicate with one or more second wireless devices). The thread network apparatus includes a network processor communicatively coupled to the transceiver (=second transceiver), [0037] discloses a router device 102, keeps its transceiver enabled at all times which corresponds to the loT end device comprising at least one second transceiver, [0029] A thread network has many advantages, e.g., secure, based on wireless mesh networking protocol),
wherein the loT end device is configured to cause the host MPU to exit a sleep mode in response to a trigger event from at least one of the one or more second wireless devices (para [0038] discloses a sleepy end device (=host MPU) has its radio or transceiver normally disabled, the sleepy end device poll the parent device (=loT end device) for messages on waking up which corresponds to the loT end device is configured to cause the host MPU to exit a sleep mode), para [0053] [0054] discloses network processor 121 and host processor 132 of device 101 (=host MPU), processor 121 start, which be triggered by host processor).
As of claim 2, rejection of claim 1 cited above incorporated herein, in addition MANEPALLI discloses the at least one second transceiver comprises a radio coprocessor coupled to the host MPU via the wired interface (para [0030] discloses a thread device include a network processor, and a host processor communicatively coupled to the network processor which be referred to as a network co-processor, para [0078] [0079] discloses one or more transceivers allow device (=device 101) to communicate with other devices that be wired which corresponds to MPU is coupled with the IoT end device via wired interface).
As of claim 3, rejection of claim 2 cited above incorporated herein, in addition MANEPALLI discloses wherein the radio coprocessor is further coupled to an IEEE 802.15.4 media access control (MAC) and physical unit (PHY), the radio coprocessor to communicate in the mesh network via the IEEE 802.15.4 MAC and PHY (para [0028] disclose a thread network be built on some wireless personal area network (WPAN) technologies, operating according to a corresponding wireless standard, e.g., IEEE 802.15.4 standard (=MAC and PHY) based wireless mesh network. A thread network includes various application-layer network functions above a Medium Access Control (MAC) layer function and an application layer function in a communication protocol stack for the thread network. Para [0043] discloses IEEE 802.15.4 MAC layer function).
As of claim 4, rejection of claim 3 cited above incorporated herein, in addition MANEPALLI discloses the loT end device comprises an always on domain including at least the radio coprocessor and the IEEE 802.15.4 MAC and PHY(para [0028] disclose a thread network be built on some wireless personal area network (WPAN) technologies, operating according to a corresponding wireless standard, e.g., IEEE 802.15.4 standard (=MAC and PHY), the always on domain to remain in an active state when the host MPU is in the sleep mode (para [0037] discloses a router device 102, keeps its transceiver enabled at all times which corresponds to the loT end device comprises an always on domain to remain in an active state and [0038] discloses a sleepy end device (host MPU) has its radio or transceiver normally disabled).
As of claim 5, rejection of claim 1 cited above incorporated herein, in addition MANEPALLI discloses the host MPU comprises a first non-volatile memory to store a first border router for the mesh network (para [0041] [FIG.1B], device 101 includes
a nonvolatile storage memory 129. [0039] device 103 is a border router), the first border router to communicate with at least one of the one or more second wireless devices via the at least one second transceiver (para [0039] device 103 is a border router forward information between a thread network and a non-thread network, e.g., forwarding information between network 100 and network 110); and
the loT end device comprises a second non-volatile memory to store a second device for the mesh network, the second device to communicate with at least one of the one or more second wireless devices via the at least one second transceiver when the host MPU is in the sleep mode. (para [0006] discloses the thread network apparatus includes a transceiver configured to transmit and receive communication signals over a thread network (=communicate with one or more second wireless devices). The thread network apparatus includes a network processor communicatively coupled to the transceiver (=second transceiver),
As of claim 7, rejection of claim 1 cited above incorporated herein, in addition MANEPALLI discloses the loT end device is to send a wake-up message to the host MPU in response to the trigger event to cause the host MPU to exit the sleep mode (para [0038] discloses a sleepy end device (host MPU) has its radio or transceiver normally disabled, the sleepy end device poll the parent device (=loT end device) for messages on waking up which corresponds to the loT end device is configured to cause the host MPU to exit a sleep mode), para [0053] [0054] discloses network processor 121 and host processor 132 of device 101 (=host MPU), processor 121 start, which be triggered by host processor).
As of claim 9, rejection of claim 1 cited above incorporated herein, in addition MANEPALLI discloses the host MPU is to configure the at least one of the one or more second wireless devices as a wake-up trigger device, wherein in response to detection of an event and based at least in part on the configuration, the wake-up trigger device is to send a notification of the trigger event to the gateway (para [0054] network processor start, which be triggered by host processor).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, since the combined teachings of the prior art references do not teach or reasonably suggest the claimed invention as a whole.
Conclusion
/FAHMIDA S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471