The amendment filed June 17, 2026 has been entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “as large as large” is redundant. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 14 requires a flow rate of the medium that enters the container under the fifth pressure level to be at least twice as large as a flow rate that reaches the bottom area under the fourth pressure level. Applicant points to page 6, lines 9-12 for support. However, that portion of the specification, which includes the first portion of paragraph 26, describes a different relationship. Flow entering the container at P2 is at least twice the flow reaching the bottom at P3. This associates the container entry flow with the fourth pressure and the bottom-reaching flow with the fifth pressure. Claim 14 exchanges those pressure assignments. There is no support in the application as filed for a flow rate of the medium that enters the container under the fifth pressure level to be at least twice as large as a flow rate that reaches the bottom area under the fourth pressure level.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirdina (US 2008/0164642) in view of Brunner (US 2011/0057343).
Claim 8: Hirdina discloses an apparatus for forming plastic preforms into plastic containers with a transport device which transports the plastic preforms along a predetermined transport path (¶¶ 2, 27, 31; fig. 1), wherein the transport device has a rotatable transport carrier on which a plurality of forming stations for forming the plastic preforms into the plastic containers is arranged (fig. 1; ¶¶ 20-21, 27, 31), wherein the forming stations each have a stretching rod 6 with which the plastic preforms are stretched in their longitudinal direction (¶¶ 19, 36) and have application devices which apply the plastic preforms with the flowable medium (¶¶ 34, 36; nozzle 60, valve block 50), and a bottom application device configured for applying the bottoms of the plastic preforms and/or plastic containers with the flowable medium during the expansion process (¶¶ 11-12, 24, 34, 36; hollow rod 6 directs cooling air toward the bottom while completing contour expansion); and a further pressure reservoir which is configured for applying the bottom areas of the plastic preforms or containers with a further pressure level, wherein this further pressure level is higher than the previous pressure level (¶¶ 32, 34, 36; cooling reservoir 33 at approximately 40 bar, above final blowing reservoir 31 at approximately 30 bar). Hirdina supplies preblowing, final blowing, and cooling air from reservoirs 32, 31 and 33 (¶¶ 32-33, 36), but is silent as to two additional intermediate reservoirs.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Brunner discloses an apparatus for forming plastic preforms into plastic containers with a transport device which transports the plastic preforms along a predetermined transport path (abstract; figs. 1-2; ¶ 28), wherein the transport device has a rotatable transport carrier (24’) on which a plurality of forming stations for forming the plastic preforms into the plastic containers is arranged (figs. 1-2), wherein the forming stations each have a stretching rod with which the plastic preforms are stretched in their longitudinal direction and have application devices which apply the plastic preforms with the flowable medium (¶ 34), and wherein the apparatus has at least four pressure reservoirs which store the flowable medium and the plastic preforms can be applied with at least a first pressure level stored in the first pressure reservoir (¶¶ 33-34; figs. 1-2), a second pressure level stored in the second pressure reservoir(¶¶ 33-34; figs. 1-2), a third pressure level stored in the third pressure reservoir and a fourth pressure level stored in the fourth pressure reservoir (¶¶ 33-34; figs. 1-2), wherein the second pressure level is higher than the first pressure level and the third pressure level is higher than the second pressure level and the fourth pressure level is higher than the third pressure level (¶¶ 33-34; figs. 1-2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to have added two separately regulated intermediate reservoirs and switching valve connections to Hirdina to perform more expansion at lower pressures before final shaping, as Brunner teaches to reduce blowing energy (¶ 15), while retaining Hirdina’s higher pressure bottom cooling and contour completion (¶¶ 11-12, 36).
Claim 10: Hirdina discloses compressed air can be fed from the containers into at least one reservoir (¶¶ 36, 42; valve 52 returns air from container 7 to reservoir 31); and Brunner discloses during recovery phase 32 air from the blow mold B or the container 40 is fed via the opening check valve 12’ into the volume 8 (¶ 36).
Claim 11: Brunner discloses rotary machine with 36+ blow molds sharing common ring channel volumes, and since each blow mold operates in a time-staggered manner on the rotating carousel, one staqion drawing from a reservoir while another station simultaneously returns air to the same reservoir at a different phase of the blow cycle, the supply and return periods are capable of not being synchronized with one another (¶¶ 28-38).
Claim 12: Brunner discloses for any given ring channel volume (volume 8 for preblow) one station is capable of drawing preblow air while another station is in the recovery phase feeding air back into the same volume, these operations are determined by the position of each station on the carousel and would not be synchronized (¶¶ 30-38).
Claim 13: Brunner discloses the intermediate blow stage 9 (second reservoir) and the higher blow stage volume 10 (third reservoir) both participate in the cascade recovery (¶ 29).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirdina (US 2008/0164642) in view of Brunner (US 2011/0057343), as applied to claim 8 above, further in view of Rymann (EP 3530431).
Hirdina is silent as to the claimed time interval. However, in the same field of endeavor, Rymann teaches successive main blowing phases with a 40-200 ms first phase (¶30, 32; fig. 1b). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to have selected a foruth-pressure duration within the 40 to less than 100 ms portion of that range and inititiate Hirdina’s fifth-pressure bottom application at its conclusion. Hirdina expressly teaches shortening final blowing by completing the contours during the subsequent higher pressure cooling phase (¶¶ 12, 36). This applies known staged blowing timing to that shortened phase while retaining the subsequent operations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LARRY W THROWER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754