DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-7 and 9-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasegawa (US 2009/0026109) in view of Bonora (US 2002/0106266).
Claim 1
Hasegawa discloses a substrate container comprising a shell (1) defining an interior space, the shell having an opening defined by a door frame (2), the door frame including one or more first/top and bottom right latch sockets (3) and one or more second/top and bottom left latch sockets (3) disposed on opposite sides of the door frame (see figure 5); and a door (10) including a first locking mechanism (20), the door configured to be inserted in the opening of the shell and attached to the door frame by the first locking mechanism (see [0053]), the first locking mechanism including a first/top-right latch (defined by combination of 26 and 34 at right side of the door) with a first latch tip/engaging projection (34) rotatable to extend through a first side of the door. Hasegawa discloses latch tip/engaging projection pivots and/or rotates when inserted into the socket (see [0018] and figures 3, 5 and 8). Hasegawa further discloses the first latch tip having a width insertable into both the one or more first latch sockets and the one or more second latch sockets, and a second/top-left latch (defined by combination of 26 and 34 at left side of the door) with a second latch tip/engaging projection (34) rotatable to extend through a second side of the door, the second latch tip having a width insertable into the one or more second latch sockets (see figures 1-4 and 8). Hasegawa does not disclose the one or more first latch sockets having a first width that blocks the second latch tip from being inserted into the one or more first latch sockets. However, Bonora discloses a wafer container/FOUP comprising a shell (25) comprising sockets at top and bottom of the shell, and a door (22) comprising locking mechanism (defined by combination of 28 and 30) including latches (132 and 136) engaging inserted within sockets (134 and 138) of the shell, and wherein bottom sockets (138) are a size/shape shorter than top sockets (134) (see [0052] and figure 17-19). In the horizontal direction, the sockets from the top are considered wider as the sockets from the bottom, therefore because the orientation of the sockets, the latches from the top of the door will be block from the sockets on the bottom, and viceversa. Bonora discloses having that arrangement of the sockets with the latches prevent the user to improperly attach the door to the shell (see [0052]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hasegawa having the arrangement of latches and sockets as taught by Bonora to prevent the user from improperly attaching the door to the shell.
Claim 2
After Hasegawa is modified by Bonora, a first one of the one or more first latch sockets will have the first width shorter than a width of a first one of the one or more second latch sockets.
Claim 4
After Hasegawa is modified by Bonora, the blocking of the insertion of the second latch tip into the one or more first latch sockets restricts the first latch tip from being inserted into the one or more second latch sockets.
Claim 5
Hasegawa further discloses the width of the first latch tip is a width of an end surface of the first latch tip, and the width of the second latch tip is a width of an end surface of the second latch tip (see figures 2 and 6). The size of the first and second latch tips appears to have same width.
Claim 6
Hasegawa further discloses the door is capable to be insertable into the door frame in a first orientation and in a second orientation, the door in the second orientation being rotated by 180 degrees relative to the first orientation, and the door configured to be attached to the door frame by the first locking mechanism in the first orientation. The latch tips in the top and bottom of the locking mechanism appears to have the same size, therefore the door is capable to be rotated 180 degrees and be attached into the door frame.
Claim 7
After Hasegawa is modified by Bonora, in the second orientation, insertion of the second latch tip into a first one of the one or more first latch sockets will be blocked by the second latch tip contacting an endwall of the first one of the one or more first latch sockets.
Claim 9
Hasegawa further discloses the first latch tip includes an engagement member (defined by protrusion at bottom of the latch tip that engages with socket of the container, as shown in figure 11) and a pivot member (defined by pin 29) that extend in different directions (see figure 9), the engagement member having the width of the first latch tip, and rotation of the first latch tip moves the engagement member to extend through an opening in the first side of the door (see figure 8).
Claim 10
Hasegawa further discloses the pivot member being capable to be pushed against an inner surface of the door causing the rotation of the first latch tip (see figure 8).
Claim 11
Hasegawa further discloses the locking mechanism includes a rotatable cam (21), the first latch includes a first arm (26) coupling the rotatable cam to the first latch tip, and the second latch includes a second arm (26) coupling the rotatable cam to the second latch tip, such that rotation of the rotatable cam causes rotation of each of the first latch tip and the second latch tip (see [0076]).
Claim 12
Hasegawa further discloses the substrate container is a front opening unified pod (see figure 1).
Claim 13
Hasegawa discloses a door (10) for a substrate container, the door comprising a door housing including a first side and a second side; and a locking mechanism (20) disposed in the door housing and configured to attach the door in an opening of a shell of the substrate container via one or more first/top latch sockets (3) and one or more second/bottom latch sockets (3) disposed on opposite sides of a door frame of the shell, the locking mechanism including a first/top-right latch (defined by combination of 26 and 34 at right side of the door) with a first latch tip (34) configured to rotate to extend through the first side of the door housing, the first latch tip having a width configured to be inserted into the one or more first latch openings (15), and a first/top-left latch (defined by combination of 26 and 34 at left side of the door) with a second latch tip (34) configured to rotate to extend through the second side of the door housing, the second latch tip having a width insertable into the one or more second latch sockets (see figures 1, 3 and 4). Hasegawa does not disclose a first one of the one or more first latch sockets having a width that blocks the second latch tip from being inserted into the one or more first latch sockets. However, Bonora discloses a wafer container/FOUP comprising a shell (25) comprising sockets at top and bottom of the shell, and a door (22) comprising locking mechanism (defined by combination of 28 and 30) including latches (132 and 136) engaging inserted within sockets (134 and 138) of the shell, and wherein bottom sockets (138) are a size/shape shorter than top sockets (134) (see [0052] and figure 17-19). In the horizontal direction, the sockets from the top are considered wider as the sockets from the bottom, because of the orientation of the sockets, therefore the latches from the top of the door will be block from the sockets on the bottom, and viceversa. Bonora discloses having that arrangement of the sockets with the latches prevent the user to improperly attach the door to the shell (see [0052]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hasegawa having the arrangement of latches and sockets as taught by Bonora to prevent the user from improperly attaching the door to the shell.
Claim 14
Hasegawa further discloses the door is configured to be insertable into the door frame in a first orientation and in a second orientation, the door in the first orientation being rotated by 180 degrees relative to the second orientation, and the locking mechanism configured to attach the door in the first orientation to the door frame. The latch tips in the top and bottom of the locking mechanism appears to have the same size, therefore the door is capable to be rotated 180 degrees and be attached into the door frame.
Claim 15
After Hasegawa is modified by Bonora, in the second orientation, the locking mechanism is configured to have insertion of the second latch tip into the first one of the one or more first latch sockets blocked by the second latch tip contacting an endwall of the first one of the first latch socket.
Claim 16
Hasegawa further discloses the width of the first latch tip is a width of an end surface of the first latch tip, and the width of the second latch tip is a width of an end surface of the second latch tip (see figures 2 and 6). The size of the first and second latch tips appears to have same width.
Claim 17
Hasegawa further discloses the first latch tip includes an engagement member (defined by protrusion at bottom of the latch tip that engages with socket of the container, as shown in figure 11) and a pivot member (defined by pin 29) that extend in different directions (see figure 9), the engagement member having the width of the first latch tip, and rotation of the first latch tip moves the engagement member to extend through an opening in the first side of the door, and the pivot member being capable to be pushed against an inner surface of the door causing the rotation of the first latch tip (see figure 8).
Claim 18
Hasegawa further discloses the locking mechanism includes a rotatable cam (21), the first latch includes a first arm (26) coupling the rotatable cam to the first latch tip, and the second latch includes a second arm (26) coupling the rotatable cam to the second latch tip, such that rotation of the rotatable cam causes rotation of each of the first latch tip and the second latch tip (see [0076]).
Claim 19
Hasegawa discloses a method of closing a substrate container (1), the method comprising inserting a door (10) into an opening of the substrate container, the substrate container including a shell (defined by structure of the substrate container) defining an interior space, the shell having the opening defined by a door frame (2) that includes one or more first/top and bottom right latch sockets (3) and one or more second/top and bottom left latch sockets (3), the door including a first locking mechanism (20) including a first latch first/top-right latch (defined by combination of 26 and 34 at right side of the door) and a second latch first/top-right latch (defined by combination of 26 and 34 at left side of the door); and adjusting the first locking mechanism from an unlocked position to a locked position, which includes rotating a first latch tip/engaging projection (34) of the first latch to extend through a first side of the door and rotating a second latch tip/engaging projection (34) of the second latch to extend through a second side of the door. Hasegawa discloses latch tip/engaging projection pivots and/or rotates when inserted into the socket (see [0018] and figures 3, 5 and 8). Hasegawa further discloses the adjusting of the first locking mechanism is configured to in a first orientation of the door in the opening, insert the first latch tip into the one or more first latch sockets and insert the second latch tip into the one or more second latch sockets (see figures 2-4 and 8). Hasegawa does not disclose in a second orientation of the door in the opening, have a first width of the one or more first latch sockets block the second latch tip from being inserted into the one or more first latch sockets, which blocks the first locking mechanism from achieving the locked position. However, Bonora discloses a wafer container/FOUP comprising a shell (25) comprising sockets at top and bottom of the shell, and a door (22) comprising locking mechanism (defined by combination of 28 and 30) including latches (132 and 136) engaging inserted within sockets (134 and 138) of the shell, and wherein bottom sockets (138) are a size/shape shorter than top sockets (134) (see [0052] and figure 17-19). In the horizontal direction, the sockets from the top are considered wider as the sockets from the bottom, therefore because the orientation of the sockets, the latches from the top of the door will be block from the sockets on the bottom, and viceversa. Bonora discloses having that arrangement of the sockets with the latches prevent the user to improperly attach the door to the shell (see [0052]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hasegawa having the arrangement of latches and sockets as taught by Bonora to prevent the user from improperly attaching the door to the shell.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 8 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 01/02/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 102 and 103, based on the teachings of Chiu and/or Chiu and Jung have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hasegawa (US 2009/0026109) and Bonora (US 2002/0106266).
Conclusion
RAFAEL A. ORTIZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3736
/RAFAEL A ORTIZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736