DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it includes more than 150 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is respectfully required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-9, 14-15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (WO 2023/128462, published July 6, 2023, with citations to US 2024/0250377).
Regarding independent claim 1, Kim teaches a battery pack for use in energy storage systems, such as smart grid systems of electric charging systems, said battery pack capable of preventing thermal runaway within battery modules (e.g. items 100) by including a thermal suppression unit (e.g. item 300) mounted to one side of said battery module to provide a positive pressure inside said battery module when an abnormal situation occurs in any one battery cell (e.g. item 110) within said module,
said battery pack comprising
(i) a pack case (e.g. item 200) provided on at least one side of said plurality of battery modules and includes an opening at a top side, said pack case defining an inner space accommodating said plurality of battery modules;
(ii) a plurality of said battery modules (e.g. items 100), illustrated as e.g. 8 battery modules, said plurality of said battery modules stacked in at least one direction in said battery pack,
each of said battery modules comprising
(ii.a) at least one battery cell (e.g. item 110) and
(ii.b) a nozzle mounting portion (e.g. items 125) centrally located at an upper surface of each of said battery modules that provides an opening into which an injection nozzle (e.g. items 336) of said fire extinguishing agent supply line (e.g. item 330) may penetratingly enter into each of said battery modules;
(iii) said thermal runaway suppression unit (e.g. item 300) comprising
(iii.a) a fire extinguishing tank (e.g. item 310) storing a fire extinguishing agent (e.g. item R); and,
(iii.b) a fire extinguishing agent supply line (e.g. item 330) connecting said fire extinguishing tank and each of said plurality of battery modules through an upper side of each said battery modules, more specifically an upper center side of each of each said battery modules, said fire extinguishing agent supply line may include
a cylindrical connection line (e.g. item 332) positioned above said pack case to carry said fire extinguishing agent from said fire extinguishing tank to each of said battery modules,
said injection nozzle (e.g. item 336),
a line cover (e.g. item 338) provided to cover a top and sides of said cylindrical connection line (e.g. item 332), with a cross-section of an upside-down “U,” at one side of said battery modules, said cylindrical connection line (e.g. item 332) housed within said upside-down “U” cross-section, said line cover contacting at least a front portion of said pack case (e.g. item 200)
(e.g. ¶¶ 0001, 12-16, 44-47, 56-59, 68-70, 79-83, 91-97, and 108-110; plus e g. Figures 1-9), reading on “battery module,” said battery pack comprising:
(1) said pack case (e.g. item 200) provided on at least one side of said plurality of battery modules and includes said opening at said top side, said pack case defining said inner space accommodating said plurality of battery modules (e.g. supra),
said taught battery case (e.g. item 200) corresponding with the claimed “module case;” and,
said taught inner space corresponding with the claimed “accommodation space,”
reading on “a module case comprising an accommodation space;”
(2) said plurality of battery modules (e.g. items 100) accommodated in said inner space of said pack case, wherein said battery module comprising
(2.a) at least one battery cell (e.g. item 110) and
(2.b) said nozzle mounting portion (e.g. items 125) centrally located at said upper surface of each of said battery modules that provides said opening into which said injection nozzle (e.g. items 336) of said fire extinguishing agent supply line (e.g. item 330) may penetratingly enter into each of said battery modules
(e.g. supra),
said taught battery modules (e.g. items 100), which comprises at least one battery cell (e.g. item 110), corresponding with the claimed “battery cells;” and
said taught nozzle mounting portion (e.g. items 125) corresponding with the claimed “vent,”
reading on “a plurality of battery cells accommodated in the accommodation space” and “the plurality of battery cells comprises a plurality of vents;”
(3) said cylindrical connection line (e.g. item 332) positioned above said pack case to carry said fire extinguishing agent from said fire extinguishing tank to each of said battery modules (e.g. supra),
said taught cylindrical connection line (e.g. item 332) corresponding with the claimed “module pipe,”
reading on “a module pipe positioned above the module case and configured to carry a fire extinguishing agent;” and,
(4) said line cover (e.g. item 338) provided to cover said top and sides of said cylindrical connection line (e.g. item 332), with said cross-section of said upside-down “U,” at one side of said battery modules, said cylindrical connection line (e.g. item 332) housed within said upside-down “U” cross-section, said line cover contacting at least said front portion of said pack case (e.g. item 200) (e.g. supra),
said taught line cover (e.g. item 338) corresponding with the claimed “pipe guide rail;” and,
an inside of said upside-down “U” of said cross-section of said line cover corresponding with the claimed “accommodation portion,”
reading on “a pipe guide rail comprising an accommodation portion accommodating the module pipe, the pipe guide rail being on the module case,”
wherein said plurality of said battery modules stacked in said at least one direction and said nozzle mounting portion (e.g. items 125) centrally located at said upper surface of each of said battery module that provides said opening into which said injection nozzle (e.g. items 336) of said fire extinguishing agent supply line (e.g. item 330) may penetratingly enter into each of said battery modules (e.g. supra), reading on “the plurality of vents is collinearly arranged in a longitudinal direction;” alternatively, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to arrange said plurality of vents collinearly arranged in said longitudinal direction in order to simplify the design and manufacture of said battery pack; and/or, rearrangement of parts does not patentably distinguish the instant invention from the art since there does not appear to be evidence that the claimed arrangement modifies operation of the device, see e.g. MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C), see further instant specification, at e.g. ¶¶ 0008, 21, and 54.
Kim teaches said fire extinguishing agent supply line (e.g. item 330) connecting said fire extinguishing tank and each of said plurality of battery modules through said upper side of each said battery modules, more specifically said upper center side of each of each said battery modules,
wherein said fire extinguishing agent supply line may include
said cylindrical connection line (e.g. item 332) positioned above said pack case to carry said fire extinguishing agent from said fire extinguishing tank to each of said battery modules,
said injection nozzle (e.g. item 336),
said line cover (e.g. item 338) provided to cover said top and sides of said cylindrical connection line (e.g. item 332), with said cross-section of an upside-down “U,” at one side of said battery modules, said cylindrical connection line (e.g. item 332) housed within said upside-down “U” cross-section; and,
wherein each of said battery modules comprising
said nozzle mounting portion (e.g. items 125) centrally located at said upper surface of each of said battery modules that provides said opening into which said injection nozzle (e.g. items 336) of said fire extinguishing agent supply line (e.g. item 330) may penetratingly enter into each of said battery modules
(e.g. supra),
said taught cylindrical connection line (e.g. item 332) corresponding with the claimed “module pipe;” and,
an inside of said upside-down “U” of said cross-section of said line cover corresponding with the claimed “accommodation portion,”
but does not expressly teach the limitation “the module pipe and the accommodation portion do not overlap central areas of the plurality of vents in a horizontal direction.”
However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to adjust a relative relationship between said cylindrical connection line (e.g. item 332) and said taught nozzle mounting portion (e.g. items 125) in order to optimize extinguishing potential fires; and/or, rearrangement of parts does not patentably distinguish the instant invention from the art since it is merely a matter of design choice, and there does not appear to be evidence that the claimed arrangement modifies operation of the device, see e.g. MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C), see further instant specification, at e.g. ¶¶ 0008, 13, 20-21, 65, 71, and 73.
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches the battery pack of claim 1, said battery pack comprising said plurality of battery modules, wherein each of said battery modules comprising said nozzle mounting portion (e.g. items 125) centrally located at said upper surface of each of said battery modules that provides said opening into which said injection nozzle (e.g. items 336) of said fire extinguishing agent supply line (e.g. item 330) may penetratingly enter into each of said battery modules (e.g. supra),
said taught cylindrical connection line (e.g. item 332) corresponding with the claimed “module pipe;”
said taught injection nozzle (e.g. item 336) corresponding with the claimed “conduit nozzle;” and,
said taught nozzle mounting portion (e.g. items 125) corresponding with the claimed “vent,”
reading on “the module pipe comprises a plurality of conduit nozzles, each conduit nozzle of the plurality of conduit nozzles being in an area corresponding to a vent of each of the plurality of vents.”
Regarding claims 5-6, Kim teaches the battery pack of claims 2 and 1, wherein said fire extinguishing agent supply line may include
said cylindrical connection line (e.g. item 332) positioned above said pack case to carry said fire extinguishing agent from said fire extinguishing tank to each of said battery modules,
said injection nozzle (e.g. item 336),
wherein each of said battery modules comprising
said nozzle mounting portion (e.g. items 125) centrally located at said upper surface of each of said battery modules that provides said opening into which said injection nozzle (e.g. items 336) of said fire extinguishing agent supply line (e.g. item 330) may penetratingly enter into each of said battery modules
(e.g. supra),
said taught cylindrical connection line (e.g. item 332) corresponding with the claimed “module pipe;” and,
said taught nozzle mounting portion (e.g. items 125) corresponding with the claimed “vent,”
but does not expressly teach the limitations “the each conduit nozzle is between a line connecting a center of the module pipe and a horizontal center of one of the plurality of vents and a line extending downward from the center of the module pipe” (claim 5) or “the module pipe is a cylindrical pipe spaced apart from a horizontal center of each of the plurality of vents by approximately 0.5 to approximately 0.7 times a circumference of the module pipe” (claim 6).
However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to adjust a relative relationship between said cylindrical connection line (e.g. item 332) and said taught nozzle mounting portion (e.g. items 125) in order to optimize extinguishing potential fires; and/or, rearrangement of parts does not patentably distinguish the instant invention from the art since it is merely a matter of design choice, and there does not appear to be evidence that the claimed arrangement modifies operation of the device, see e.g. MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C), see further instant specification, at e.g. ¶¶ 0008, 13, 20-21, 65, 71, and 73.
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches the battery pack of claim 1, wherein each of said battery modules comprising said nozzle mounting portion (e.g. items 125) centrally located at said upper surface of each of said battery modules that provides said opening into which said injection nozzle (e.g. items 336) of said fire extinguishing agent supply line (e.g. item 330) may penetratingly enter into each of said battery modules (e.g. supra), but does not expressly teach the limitation “a central area of each vent of the plurality of vents has an area extending approximately 2 mm to approximately 6 mm in opposite directions from a center of the each vent.”
However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to design said opening of said nozzle mounting portion large enough so that said nozzle may be fitted and adjusted to favorably extinguish a potential fire and permit venting gases to escape under reasonable pressure; and/or, differences in dimensions do not patentably distinguish the instant invention where a device would not perform differently than the art, see e.g. MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(A), see further instant specification, at e.g. ¶¶ 0008, 14, 20-21, 65, 71, and 73.
Regarding claims 8-9, Kim teaches the battery pack of claim 1, wherein said line cover (e.g. item 338) is provided to cover said top and sides of said cylindrical connection line (e.g. item 332), with said cross-section of an upside-down “U,” at one side of said battery modules, said cylindrical connection line (e.g. item 332) housed within said upside-down “U” cross-section, wherein said plurality of said battery modules stacked in said at least one direction and said nozzle mounting portion (e.g. items 125) centrally located at said upper surface of each of said battery module that provides said opening into which said injection nozzle (e.g. items 336) of said fire extinguishing agent supply line (e.g. item 330) may penetratingly enter into each of said battery modules (e.g. supra), wherein a bottom of said cylindrical connection line (e.g. item 332) is open with an opening so that said nozzles may penetratingly enter into each of said battery modules (e.g. supra and e.g. Figures 1-3 and 6-9), but does not expressly teach it “further comprising a plurality of through-holes at a lower side of the accommodation portion along intervals in the longitudinal direction” (claim 8) and “each through-hole of the plurality of through-holes is positioned above a portion corresponding to a vent of each of the plurality of vents” (claim 9).
However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to add lateral structural supports to said opening of said cylindrical connection line (e.g. item 332) to form a plurality of openings such that a nozzle fits into each of said plurality of openings in order to increase structural strength to said cylindrical connection line (e.g. item 332); and/or, differences in shape do not patentably distinguish the instant invention from the art absent persuasive evidence that the configuration is significant, see e.g. MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(B), see further instant specification, at e.g. ¶¶ 0015-16 and 60-62.
Regarding claims 14-15 and 20, Kim is applied as provided supra, with the following modifications.
Still regarding independent claims 14-15, Kim teaches said energy storage systems, such as smart grid systems of electric charging systems, said energy storage systems comprising said battery pack (e.g. supra), reading on “energy storage device comprising the battery module of claim 1” (claim 14) and “energy storage device comprising the battery module of claim 2” (claim 15).
Still regarding independent claim 20, Kim teaches said battery pack for use in said vehicle, said battery pack capable of preventing thermal runaway within battery modules (e.g. items 100) by including said thermal suppression unit (e.g. item 300) mounted to one side of said battery module to provide said positive pressure inside said battery module when said abnormal situation occurs in any one battery cell (e.g. item 110) within said module (e.g. supra), reading on “battery module, said battery pack comprising:
(1) said pack case (e.g. item 200) provided on at least one side of said plurality of battery modules and includes said opening at said top side, said pack case defining said inner space accommodating said plurality of battery modules (e.g. supra),
said taught battery case (e.g. item 200) corresponding with the claimed “body of a module case;”
said taught inner space corresponding with the claimed “accommodation space;” and,
said taught opening at said battery case top side corresponding with the claimed “open upper portion,”
reading on “a body of a module case comprising an accommodation space;”
(4) said line cover (e.g. item 338) provided to cover a top and sides of said cylindrical connection line (e.g. item 332), with said cross-section of said upside-down “U,” at one side of said battery modules, said cylindrical connection line (e.g. item 332) housed within said upside-down “U” cross-section (e.g. supra),
said taught line cover (e.g. item 338) corresponding with the claimed “cover;” and,
an inside of said upside-down “U” of said cross-section of said line cover corresponding with the claimed “accommodation portion,”
reading on “a cover comprising an accommodation portion accommodating the module pipe, the cover being coupled to the open upper portion of the body of the module case,”
wherein said plurality of said battery modules stacked in said at least one direction and said nozzle mounting portion (e.g. items 125) centrally located at said upper surface of each of said battery module that provides said opening into which said injection nozzle (e.g. items 336) of said fire extinguishing agent supply line (e.g. item 330) may penetratingly enter into each of said battery modules (e.g. supra), reading on “the plurality of vents of the plurality of battery cells is collinearly arranged in a longitudinal direction;” alternatively, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to arrange said plurality of vents collinearly arranged in said longitudinal direction in order to simplify the design and manufacture of said battery pack; and/or, rearrangement of parts does not patentably distinguish the instant invention from the art since there does not appear to be evidence that the claimed arrangement modifies operation of the device, see e.g. MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C), see further instant specification, at e.g. ¶¶ 0008, 21, and 54.
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (WO 2023/128462, published July 6, 2023, with citations to US 2024/0250377), as provided supra, in view of Wickersham et al (US 2023/0155218, published May 18, 2023).
Regarding claims 18-19, Kim teaches the energy storage systems of claim of claim 14, wherein said battery pack comprises said fire extinguishing agent supply line may include said cylindrical connection line (e.g. item 332) positioned above said pack case to carry said fire extinguishing agent from said fire extinguishing tank to each of said battery modules, as provided supra, but does not expressly teach the claimed limitations.
However, Wickersham teaches a fire suppression system for use in mitigating fires caused by runaway thermal events in lithium-ion battery cells located within battery storage containers, said system comprising
(1) a plurality of battery rack assemblies (e.g. items 18), each comprising a plurality of battery modules (e.g. items 16) installed therein, each of said battery modules including a plurality of battery cells therein,
wherein said battery rack assembly illustrated with a frame (not numbered) on which at least three battery modules are installed within,
wherein each of said plurality if battery rack assemblies including a water delivery pipe (e.g. items 46) and at least one nozzle (e.g. item 50) feeding each battery module;
(2) a conduit network (e.g. item 40) comprising:
(2a) a distribution header (e.g. items 44) located within a battery container (e.g. item 12) feeding each of said water delivery pipes (e.g. items 46), wherein said distribution header (e.g. item 44) illustrated as being on a rear of said battery container; and,
(2b) one or more supply pipes (e.g. items 42) feeding said distribution header (e.g. item 44) from a water storage tank (e.g. item 24), said water storage tank holding water that is used as a fire suppression agent,
said fire suppression system supporting large number of battery modules and mitigating fires caused by thermal runaway thermal events until first responders can take further action
(e.g. ¶¶ 0002, 07-11, 17-23, 26-27, 32-33, 35-36 plus e.g. Figures 1-4).
As a result, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the fire suppression system of Wickersham, which includes said plurality of battery rack assemblies and said conduit network, with the battery pack of Kim—noting said battery pack of Kim is used as the battery module of Wickersham—since Wickersham teaches its fire suppression system supports large number of battery modules and mitigates fires caused by thermal runaway thermal events until first responders can take further action,
Further, while Wickersham does not expressly teach said distribution header (e.g. item 44) “fixed on the rear surface of the rack frame” (claim 18), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to fix said distribution header to said rear surface of said battery container, since doing so would provide mechanical support to said distribution header.
Furthermore, Wickersham teaches one distribution header (e.g. items 44) container (e.g. item 12) feeding each of said water delivery pipes (e.g. items 46), but does not expressly teach it being plural “pipes.”
However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to used separate pipes between connections to each of said water delivery pipe and a t-connector between said distribution pipes and each water delivery pipe, to simplify the manufacture and installation of pipes,
said taught battery pack of Kim used as each of the plurality of battery modules of Wickersham corresponding with the claimed “plurality of battery modules identical to the battery module;”
said taught frame (see e.g. Figure 4, not numbered) of said battery rack assemblies (e.g. items 18) corresponding with the claimed “rack frame;”
said taught distribution header (e.g. item 44) corresponding with the claimed “branch pipes;”
said taught one or more supply pipes (e.g. items 42) corresponding with the claimed “main pipe,”
reading on “further comprising: a rack frame in which a plurality of battery modules identical to the battery module are accommodated; branch pipes configured to connect the module pipe of each of the plurality of battery modules on a rear surface of the rack frame and fixed on the rear surface of the rack frame; and a main pipe configured to connect the branch pipes and transfer the fire extinguishing agent stored in a fire extinguishing agent unit to the branch pipes” (claim 18); and, said battery pack of Kim is used as the battery module of Wickersham, and said battery module is installed within said frame (see e.g. Figure 4, not numbered) of said rack assemblies (e.g. items 18), said line cover (e.g. item 338) of said battery pack of Kim is mounted within said frame,
said taught line cover (e.g. item 338) of Kim corresponding with the claimed “pipe guide rail,”
reading on “a portion of the pipe guide rail opposite to the accommodation portion is mounted inside the rack frame.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 10-13, and 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 3, from which claim 4 depends and claims 16-17 incorporates by reference, none of the timely art teaches or suggests the claimed battery module of claim 1 that further comprises the claimed cover portion in relation to the specifically claimed each conduit nozzle.
Regarding claim 10, none of the timely art teaches or suggests the claimed battery module of claim 1 that further comprises the specifically claimed plurality of fixing portions comprising hooks as specifically arranged at an upper side of the accommodation portion.
Regarding claim 11, from which claims 12-13 depend, none of the timely art teaches or suggests the claimed battery module of claim 1, wherein the module pipe is as specifically claimed.
Conclusion
The art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Reinprecht et al (US 2026/0253992);
Kudithipati et al (US 2026/0135241);
Han (US 2026/0121269);
Yoon (US 2026/0054114);
Hwang et al (US 2025/0293389);
Li et al (US 2025/0273809);
Kim et al (US 2025/0239726);
Kim et al (US 2025/0235726);
Kim (US 2025/0032833);
Kim et al (US 2024/0405325);
Kim et al (US 2024/0128557);
Kwak et al (US 2023/0395934);
Hwang (US 2023/0369717);
Lee et al (US 2022/0355139);
Kim et al (US 2022/0123426);
Kim et al (US 2021/0075075);
Kim et al (US 2021/0074980);
Kwak et al (US 2021/0074979);
Kim et al (US 2021/0074982);
Kim et al (US 2021/0074967);
Kim et al (US 2021/0074976);
Kwak et al (US 2021/0074975);
Kim et al (US 2021/0074974);
Kim et al (US 2021/0074973);
Kim et al (US 2021/0074972);
Kim et al (US 2021/0074971);
Kim et al (US 2021/0074970);
Kim et al (US 2021/0069537);
Kim et al (US 2021/0069536); and,
Itoi et al (US 2012/0164490).
/YOSHITOSHI TAKEUCHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723