DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application claims priority from provisional application 63/323234, filed 03/24/2022.
Status of Claims
Claims 10-19 are pending.
Claims 14, 15, 18, and 19 have been withdrawn from consideration.
Claims 1-9 have been cancelled.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention II (Apparatus) and Species 1 (Figures 1-4) in the reply filed on 07/15/2026 is acknowledged.
Upon further review claims 14, 15, 18, and 19 have been withdrawn as being directed at non-elected species. The elected embodiment is not shown (Figures 1-4) or described in the specification as having a set screw within a bore in the body. The specification [0053]-[0054] specifically describes non-elected figure 12 as comprising the set screw components, which are not part of the elected embodiment. Therefore these claims have been withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 06/23/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke § 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke § 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because it is inconsistent with claim 10. Claim 10 introduces a single proximal aperture and claim 12 defines at least one aperture. Claim 12 does not positively refer back to the same apertures and defines a different amount. The applicant is advised to amend claim 12 to recite wherein the proximal aperture in line 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter because it is directed at or encompassing a human organism.
In line 8 claim 16 requires fixture being disposed in a bore extending through a calcaneus bone
This recitation is considered to be positively reciting part of the human body. The applicant is advised to amend this limitation to recite that the … is “capable of” or “configured to” mate with …
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 is rendered indefinite for antecedent basis issues. Claim 16 recites “the terminal end” line 10 but this component has not been identified. The applicant is advised to amend the claim to say a terminal end.
Claim 16 is rendered indefinite because it is unclear how the fixture can engage the proximal end of the nail when it is fully engaged with the distal end as shown in Figure 2. The applicant is advised to amend claim 16 to change proximal end to distal end.
Claim 17 is rendered indefinite because a person of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to determine the scope of the affecting limitation. What is meant by the bore not affecting more than 5% of a surface area? Is this referring to the original surface area of the joint? What would and would not constitute an affect? Does it have to change the surface area to affect it? Does the boring itself affect it? Or does it affect it after by things like weakening or allowing flow to? Does this mean the area of the bore is less than 5% of the surface area? The applicant is advised to amend the claim to define the surface area of the bore in comparison to the remaining surface area of a surface. The applicant is reminded to keep all recitations within that which is supported by the original disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10-13 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Janna et al (Janna) US 2006/0200141 A1.
It is noted that the specific implant location and non-positively claimed components are considered intended use and components related to the intended use. The claims are directed at the nail itself and a system including it. Therefore the placement steps and specific location are considered intended use limitations and given limited weight.
10. Janna discloses an intramedullary nail 112 for tibiotalar arthrodesis (Figures 2 and 3A), comprising:
a proximal end portion (tapered tip at top of Figure 3) of the intramedullary nail adapted for insertion into an intramedullary space of a tibia bone of a patient (Figure 2);
a distal end portion (flat tubular tip at bottom of Figure 3) of the intramedullary nail adapted to extend across a tibiotalar joint such that a terminal end of the distal end portion is disposed in a talus bone proximal to a subtalar joint for isolated positioning of the intramedullary nail across the tibiotalar joint (Figure 2 shows it within the Calcaneus but it is fully capable of being inserted higher within the claimed implant site);
a body extending between the proximal end portion and the distal end portion (shaft between the ends in Figure 3);
a proximal aperture (elongated opening 137 at top of Figure 3) extending through the body for receipt of a tibia locking fastener (it is capable of receiving any appropriately sized fastener or locking fastener); and
a distal aperture (any of the three openings 122/130/132 at bottom of Figure 3) extending through the body for receipt of a talus locking fastener (it is capable of receiving any appropriately sized fastener or locking fastener).
11. Janna discloses the distal end portion comprises a fixture interface (open and slotted end at the bottom of Figure 3) adapted to engage a fixture that extends through a bore defined through a calcaneus bone and the subtalar joint for placement of the intramedullary nail through the talus bone, and the tibiotalar joint (it is capable of engaging any appropriately sized fixture or device).
12. Janna discloses the at least one proximal aperture is adapted to receive the tibia locking fastener laterally with respect to the tibia bone to extend through the proximal aperture of the intramedullary nail for bicortical fixation at the proximal end portion of the intramedullary nail (the nail of Janna can be rotated or angled to any orientation allowing the opening 137 to receive a fastener in any orientation including laterally).
13. Janna discloses the distal aperture is adapted to receive one talus locking fastener anteriorly with respect to the talus bone to extend through the distal aperture of the intramedullary nail for unicortical fixation at a distal portion of the intramedullary nail (the nail of Janna can be rotated or angled to any orientation allowing the openings 122/130/132 to receive a fastener in any orientation including anteriorly).
16. Janna discloses a system for tibiotalar arthrodesis (Figure 3A), comprising:
an intramedullary nail 112 comprising a body (middle section of 112 Figure 3) extending between a proximal end portion (top section of 112 Figure 3) adapted for insertion in an intramedullary space of a tibia bone of a patient (Figure 3A) and a distal end portion (bottom section of 112 Figure 3) adapted to extend across a tibiotalar joint such that a terminal end of the distal end portion is disposed in a talus bone proximal to a subtalar joint for isolated positioning of the intramedullary nail across the tibiotalar joint (Figure 2 shows it within the Calcaneus but it is fully capable of being inserted higher within the claimed implant site);
a fixture (119 and complementary instruments [0029]) adapted for engagement with the proximal end portion of the intramedullary nail (as explained above in the 112 rejection the applicant’s own fixture is a tool that engages the distal end not the proximal end, therefore Janna’s instruments reads upon the limitation as much as the applicant’s own invention), the fixture being disposed in a bore extending through a calcaneus bone through which the intramedullary nail is inserted to dispose the fixture across the subtalar joint when the intramedullary nail is positioned across the tibiotalar joint to dispose the terminal end in the talus bone proximal to the subtalar joint;
a tibia locking fastener [0054] advanceable laterally with respect to the tibia bone to dispose the tibia locking fastener through a proximal aperture 137 extending through the body (since the nail is capable of twisting and being angled the fastener can be advanced in any direction including laterally); and
a talus locking fastener (any of the three fasteners 150) advanceable anteriorly with respect to the talus bone to dispose the talus locking fastener through a distal aperture 122/130/132 extending through the body (since the nail is capable of twisting and being angled the fastener can be advanced in any direction including anteriorly).
17. Janna discloses the bore affects not more than about 5% of a surface area of the articular surface of the subtalar joint (as explained in the 112 rejection above, the scope of this recitation is indefinite, furthermore the bore is theoretical and not part of the kit. The theoretical bore would have to account for how much of the actual articular surface remains. Was it deteriorated prior to being bored? Did the patient have an undersized or diseased subtalar joint? Where does the area of the articular surface start and stop? Does it include the entire articular surface? How does a bore affect a surrounding surface? If the bore is properly drilled and no surrounding cracks or chips were applied to the surrounding surface, isn’t it not having any affect on the surface regardless of the shapes and sizes? With all this in mind a person of ordinary skill in the art could inherently find a bore that affects less than 5% of a surface area of the subtalar joints articular surface).
Conclusion
CHRISTOPHER D. PRONE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3774
/Christopher D. Prone/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774