DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 35 USC 119(a)-(d) or (f).
Information Disclosure Statement
Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) submitted 6/04/2024 and 8/27/2025 have been received and considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
All “wherein” clauses are given patentable weight unless otherwise noted. Please see MPEP 2111.04 regarding optional claim language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nagahama et al. US-20220077446-A1 (hereinafter “Nagahama”).
Regarding Claim 1, Nagahama discloses a rolling device for electrode sheet that is arranged on a conveyance path on which an electrode sheet of an electricity storage device is conveyed in Figs. 1-3 (see abstract and paragraphs [0016] and [0021]-[0022]), the rolling device comprising:
a pair of rolling rolls (first press roller and second press roller) 31 and 32 in Fig. 3 (see paragraph [0022]),
wherein each of the rolling rolls includes
a base material 300 in Figs. 3-4 (see paragraphs [0006]-[0009] and [0023]-[0024]),
a ground layer (cured layer) 311 formed at least on a rolling area of an outer peripheral surface of the base material 300 that rolls the electrode sheet in Figs. 3-4 (see annotated Fig. 4 below) (see paragraphs [0006]-[0009] and [0023]-[0024]),
and
a diamond-like carbon (DLC) coating film (coating layer that may be formed of diamond-like carbon (DLC)) 312 formed on an outer peripheral surface of the ground layer 311 in Figs. 3-4 (see annotated Fig. 4 below) (see paragraphs [0006]-[0009] and [0023]-[0025]), and
the ground layer 311 is harder than the base material 300 (the cured layer 311 has a hardness higher than that of the base material 300) (see paragraph [0024]).
Figure 1. Annotated Fig. 4 of Nagahama
Regarding Claim 2, Nagahama discloses the rolling device for electrode sheet according to claim 1 (see rejection of Claim 1 above). Nagahama further discloses wherein the ground layer 311 is formed of cemented carbide (see paragraphs [0006]-[0008] and [0023]-[0024]).
Regarding Claim 4, Nagahama discloses the rolling device for electrode sheet according to claim 1 (see rejection of Claim 1 above). Nagahama further discloses wherein the average thickness of the ground layer 311 is 50 μm or more (a thickness of the cured layer 311 is, for example, approximately 0.1 mm or more and several mm or less) (see paragraph [0024]). A skilled artisan would recognize that 0.1 mm is equivalent to 100 μm, thereby making the range of Nagahama 100 μm or more, which falls within and therefore anticipates the claimed range of the average thickness of the ground layer 311 being 50 μm or more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagahama et al. US-20220077446-A1 (hereinafter “Nagahama”).
Regarding Claim 3, Nagahama discloses the rolling device for electrode sheet according to claim 1 (see rejection of Claim 1 above). Nagahama further discloses wherein an average thickness of the ground layer 311 is larger than an average thickness of the DLC coating film 312 in Fig. 4 (a thickness of the cured layer 311 is, for example, approximately 0.1 mm or more and several mm or less and a thickness of the coating layer 312 is, for example, approximately 0.1 μm or more and several μm or less) (see paragraphs [0024]-[0025]). A skilled artisan would recognize that 0.1 mm is equivalent to 100 μm. A skilled artisan would also recognize the teaching of several μm or less (for the thickness of the DLC coating film) would be less than 100 μm, thereby making the thickness of the ground layer larger than the thickness of the DLC coating film.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to make an average thickness of the ground layer larger than an average thickness of the DLC coating film as the maximum thickness of several μm or less of the DLC coating film would be less than the minimum thickness of the ground layer of 100 μm.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagahama in view of Sato et al. US-20130040065-A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Sato”).
Regarding Claim 5, Nagahama discloses the rolling device for electrode sheet according to claim 1 (see rejection of Claim 1 above). Nagahama further discloses the ground layer (cured layer) covering the base material may be a cemented carbide or other appropriate material (see paragraph [0024]).
Nagahama is silent on wherein the ground layer is formed of a thermal-sprayed film.
However, in the same field of endeavor of coatings on machine parts (see abstract and paragraph [0002]), Sato discloses a thermal spray coating (thermal-sprayed film) is conventionally provided on the surface of parts of industrial machines or general-purpose machines to impart abrasion resistance, heat resistance, and corrosion resistance and may contain a cemented carbide, tungsten carbide, or chromium carbide (see paragraphs [0002], [0006], and [0046]-[0047] and Table 2). As such, a skilled artisan would recognize a thermal spray coating as an appropriate coating to use on the roller of Nagahama.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the rolling device of Nagahama wherein the ground layer is formed of a thermal-sprayed film, as disclosed by Sato, in order to impart abrasion resistance, heat resistance, and corrosion resistance.
Conclusion
/S.L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729