DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species III (Claims 13 - 20) in the reply filed on 09/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1 – 12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/20/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (CN103456865).
As to claim 13, Huang et al. (hereinafter Huang) discloses contact resistance test structure formed on a silicon substrate comprising: a semiconductor layer (101, Fig. 1) having a frontside and a backside opposite to the frontside; and a metal layer (105, 106, 107, Fig. 21 and 3) disposed on the backside of the semiconductor layer (101) and having a plurality of metal islands (105) and a peripheral portion (104), and the metal islands (105) have a plurality of center points arranged equally spaced along an axis, and the peripheral portion (104) surrounds the metal islands (105) and is separated (102) from the metal islands (105). Huang fails to explicitly disclose the metal islands have different dimensions, respectively. However, it would have been a matter of choice that the metal islands have different dimensions which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed metal islands have different dimensions was significant. (Please Note MPEP 2144 IV. A).
As to claim 14, Huang fails to explicitly disclose that a distance between every adjacent two of the center points along the axis is about 300 microns. However, it would have been a matter of choice that a distance between every adjacent two of the center points along the axis is about 300 microns which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration a distance between every adjacent two of the center points along the axis is about 300 microns was significant. (Please Note MPEP 2144 IV. A).
As to claim 15, Huang discloses that wherein the peripheral portion (104) extends between every adjacent two of the metal islands (105), and the peripheral portion (104) is separated from each of the metal islands (105) by a gap (102) (Fig. 1 and 3).
As to claim 16, Huang fails to explicitly disclose that wherein the gap has a width of about 5 microns. However, it would have been a matter of choice that the gap has a width of about 5 microns which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration wherein the gap has a width of about 5 microns was significant. (Please Note MPEP 2144 IV. A).
As to claim 17, Huang discloses that the semiconductor layer (101) has a plurality of trenches (102) recessed from the backside, and a plurality of surfaces and a plurality of sidewalls of the semiconductor layer (101) are exposed through the metal layer (105) and the trenches (102).
As to claim 18, Huang fails to explicitly disclose that, wherein each of the trenches has a depth of about 1 micron. However, it would have been a matter of choice that wherein each of the trenches has a depth of about 1 micron which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration was significant. (Please Note MPEP 2144 IV. A).
As to claim 19, Huang fails to explicitly disclose that wherein each of the trenches has a width of about 5 microns. However, it would have been a matter of choice that wherein each of the trenches has a width of about 5 microns which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration was significant. (Please Note MPEP 2144 IV. A).
As to claim 20, Huang fails to explicitly disclose that the peripheral portion and the metal islands have a thickness of about 3 microns. However, it would have been a matter of choice that the peripheral portion and the metal islands have a thickness of about 3 microns which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration claimed was significant. (Please Note MPEP 2144 IV. A).
Prior Art of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant s disclosure.
Lee et al. (12,334,415) is cited for its disclosure of a semiconductor substrate; a first metal layer located on a surface of the semiconductor substrate; a second metal layer located above a surface of the first metal layer; an insulating layer located between the first metal layer and the second metal layer and configured to isolate the first metal layer from the second metal layer; and at least four vias located in the insulating layer and a conductive material for connecting the first metal layer.
Takagi (11,688,653) is cited for its disclosure of a semiconductor apparatus includes a polisher configured to polish a film provided on a substrate. The apparatus further includes a thickness measurement module configured to measure a thickness of the film while the substrate is being conveyed before the polishing.
Or-Bach (9,721,927) is cited for its disclosure of a 3D semiconductor device, including: a first die including first transistors and first interconnect, overlaid by a second die including second transistors and second interconnect, where the first die has a first die area and the second die has a second die area, where the first die area is at least 10% larger than the second die area, and where the second die has a thickness of less than four microns.
Tone et al. (6,992,327) is cited for its disclosure of a monitor pattern of semiconductor device and method of manufacturing semiconductor device.
/REENA AURORA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858