DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 03/09/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-5 remain pending in the application. The provisional double patenting rejection is withdrawn.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicants claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) and (f). The certified copy has been filed in parent application JP2023-092271 filed on 06/05/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Sekine (JP2006137235, from IDS) in view of Sun (US20230063354).
Regarding claim 1, Sekine teaches a vehicle control device comprising:
a storage device storing a program ([16] disclosing the storage unit); and
a hardware processor, wherein the hardware processor executes the program stored in the storage device to perform ([14]-[18] disclosing a processing unit and executing the program):
acquiring first information on a curved road present in a traveling direction of a vehicle ([20] disclosing acquiring curve information in a traveling direction of the vehicle);
acquiring second information including an amount of accelerating operation of a driver of the vehicle (abstract and [38] disclosing detecting an operation of an acceleration pedal. See also [39] disclosing the detection of the suspended state of an accelerator pedal wherein the acceleration amount is detected and a reaction force is applied to keep the acceleration pedal at the suspended state while the deceleration control is performed);
performing support control comprising one or both of deceleration control for decelerating the vehicle such that a speed of the vehicle approaches a target speed based on the first information and notification control for notifying that the speed of the vehicle approaches the target speed when the vehicle is traveling in a section from an entrance of the curved road to a position at a predetermined distance before the entrance or in the curved road (at least [22]-[23] disclosing calculating a speed of the vehicle to travel the curve acquired, [34]-[35] disclosing the deceleration of the vehicle to the target speed); and
stopping the support control when the amount of accelerating operation increases while the support control is being performed (abstract and [38] disclosing stopping the automatic deceleration when the driver operates the accelerator pedal indicating driver intention to accelerate. [44] disclosing stopping the braking “deceleration support control” when the acceleration of the driver is detected during the execution of the support control).
Sekine does not teach by a predetermined amount or more from a reference value, which is determined based on a specific amount of accelerating operation acquired during the support control with reference to the second information.
Sun teaches by a predetermined amount or more from a reference value, which is determined based on a specific amount of accelerating operation acquired during the support control with reference to the second information ([0104]-[0110], [0110]-[0141] disclosing when the accelerator pedal is changed from a first position “acquired during autonomous control”, to a second position greater than a threshold range, thus it is indicative of a conflict between a drivers intention and the autonomous system).
Sun teaches determining a conflict between the drivers intention and the autonomous vehicle, thus it is obvious to substitute or combine the teaching of Sun with the teachings of Sekine yielding predictable results for increased verification of drivers intention and increasing drivers confidence in the autonomous vehicle.
Regarding claim 2, Sekine as modified by Sun further teaches the vehicle control device according to claim 1, Specifically, Sun further teaches wherein the specific amount is acquired at a time of a start of the support control ([0104]-[0110], [0110]-[0141] disclosing when the accelerator pedal is changed from a first position “acquired during autonomous control”, to a second position greater than a threshold range, thus it is indicative of a conflict between a drivers intention and the autonomous system. It is interpreted that the amounts are acquired all the time since the start of the control per the teaching of Sun to determine if there is a conflict).
Sun teaches determining a conflict between the drivers intention and the autonomous vehicle, thus it is obvious to substitute or combine the teaching of Sun with the teachings of Sekine yielding predictable results for increased verification of drivers intention and increasing drivers confidence in the autonomous vehicle.
Regarding claim 3, Sekine as modified by Sun further teaches the vehicle control device according to claim 1, Specifically, Sun further teaches wherein the reference value is set to a minimum value of the amount of accelerating operation while the support control is being performed ([0104]-[0141] disclosing the first position of the accelerating pedal is less than the second position of the acceleration pedal by a range, thus the first position is the minimum amount of accelerating operation while the support control is being performed. It is also interpreted that the first position is the minimum value where the intention starts to be determined and any other lower value is not considered).
Sun teaches determining a conflict between the drivers intention and the autonomous vehicle, thus it is obvious to substitute or combine the teaching of Sun with the teachings of Sekine yielding predictable results for increased verification of drivers intention and increasing drivers confidence in the autonomous vehicle.
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected for similar reasons as claim 1, see above rejection. Sekine teaches the non-transitory medium and the method [14]-[38].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 03/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to applicant’s arguments regarding the double patenting rejection, the rejection is withdrawn based on the amendment.
With respect to applicant’s arguments regarding the 103 rejection, the rejection is moot since a new reference is used for the rejection of the amended limitations, see rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure. The prior art cited in PTO-892 and not mentioned above disclose related devices and methods.
US20100082212 disclosing the intention of driver determined based on the amount increasing from a predetermined amount AP1.
US20040195022 disclosing the driver’s intention based on throttle opening greater than a predetermined amount than the controlled throttle opening.
US20090198426 disclosing curve control wherein the acceleration limit is stopped based on an intention of a driver to accelerate.
/MOHAMAD O EL SAYAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658B