DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shoham WO 2020/208636.
Regarding claim 1, Shoham discloses a method for increasing the shelf life of a life-saving flotation device, comprising the steps of:
providing a life-saving flotation device comprising:
a pressurized gas container 10;
at least one flotation chamber 14; and
an actuating valve 13, 15 connecting the pressurized gas container to the at least one flotation chamber; and
selecting a gas fill for the pressurized gas container, the gas having a molecular size such that the diffusion rate of the gas fill out of the pressurized gas container is sufficiently low that the pressurized gas container maintains a predetermined charge of gas for a predetermined minimal time requirement (as the container does contain the gas for some time, and no minimal time is recited).
Figure 1- Shoham Figure 1
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Shoham discloses the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Shoham also discloses that the gas fill selected has a molecular weight of more than 100gm/mole. Please note that Shoham teaches “the gaseous material may comprise a Tetrafluoropropene-based hydrofluoroolefin. If so, it may comprise R1234ze(E) or R1234yf or R1224yd(Z)” (page 9, paragraph 2). Each of these materials have a molecular weight of more than 100gm/mole.
Regarding claim 4, Shoham discloses the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Shoham also discloses that the pressurized gas container 10 comprises a single polymer layer (page 11).
Regarding claim 5, Shoham discloses the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Shoham also discloses that the gas fill selected further results in the at least one flotation chamber maintaining a volume of the gas sufficient to support the user of the device for a predetermined minimum time requirement (as the gas inflates the chamber, and no user weight or minimum time is recited).
Regarding claim 6, Shoham discloses the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Shoham also discloses that the gas fill selected comprises at least one of R1234ze(E), R1234yf, R1224yd(Z) or R515B mixture (“the gaseous material may comprise a Tetrafluoropropene-based hydrofluoroolefin. If so, it may comprise R1234ze(E) or R1234yf or R1224yd(Z)” page 9, paragraph 2).
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kennedy US 3,925,838.
Regarding claim 1, Kennedy discloses a method for increasing the shelf life of a life-saving flotation device, comprising the steps of:
providing a life-saving flotation device comprising:
a pressurized gas container 60;
at least one flotation chamber 14; and
an actuating valve 30 connecting the pressurized gas container to the at least one flotation chamber; and
selecting a gas fill for the pressurized gas container, the gas having a molecular size such that the diffusion rate of the gas fill out of the pressurized gas container is sufficiently low that the pressurized gas container maintains a predetermined charge of gas for a predetermined minimal time requirement (as the container does contain the gas for some time, and no minimal time is recited).
Figure 2- Kennedy Figure 1
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Kennedy discloses the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Kennedy also discloses that the gas fill selected has a molecular weight of more than 100gm/mole. In this case, Kennedy teaches that the fill gas is freon (dichloradifluoromethane), which has a molecular weight of 120.91gm/mole (column 2, lines 16-19).
Regarding claim 5, Kennedy discloses the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Kennedy also discloses that the gas fill selected further results in the at least one flotation chamber maintaining a volume of the gas sufficient to support the user of the device for a predetermined minimum time requirement (as the gas inflates the chamber, and no user weight or minimum time is recited).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kennedy US 3,925,838.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Kennedy discloses the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. If applicant does not agree that Kennedy teaches that the gas fill selected has a molecular weight of more than 100gm/mole, then it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a gas with a molecular weight of more than 60 or 100gm/mole in order to obtain the desired inflation, stability, availability and/or environmental impact, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
Regarding claim 4, Kennedy discloses the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Kennedy does not explicitly teach that the pressurized gas container comprises a single polymer layer, however it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the container from a single polymer layer in order to obtain the desired weight, stability, and/or manufacturability, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
Regarding claim 6, Kennedy discloses the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Kennedy does not explicitly teach that the gas fill selected comprises at least one of R1234ze(E), R1234yf, R1224yd(Z) or R515B mixture, however it would have been an obvious substitution of functional equivalents to substitute R1234ze(E), R1234yf, R1224yd(Z) or R515B mixture for the freon in order to reduce the environmental impact, since a simple substitution of one known element for another would obtain predictable results. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1739, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395, 1396 (2007).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kennedy US 3,925,838 in view of Fuehrer US 5,573,043.
Regarding claim 4, Kennedy discloses the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Kennedy does not explicitly teach that the pressurized gas container comprises a single polymer layer. Fuehrer teaches a dispenser 1 in which the pressurized gas container 2 comprises a polymer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the pressurized gas container of Kennedy with polymer as taught by Fuehrer in order to make the device easier to recycle (column 1, lines 12-24).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Maslenikow US 3,947,908 teaches a life-saving that uses a pressurized tank of refrigerant to inflate a flotation chamber.
/MARC BURGESS/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615