DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takayama et al. (US 20220216742) in view of Reimnitz et al. (US 20230307988).
Regarding claim 1, Takayama et al. discloses:
A linear (pre-amble, patentable weight not given) electric machine (abstract, para 8), comprising:
at least one shaft (3);
a stator assembly (10-12) supporting the at least one shaft (3),
a bearing assembly (17,18) supporting an end of the at least one shaft (3),
the bearing assembly (17,18) comprising a bearing housing (17) and a bearing (18) within the bearing housing.
Takayama et al. do not disclose the stator assembly comprising a magnet carrier supporting one or more magnets, the magnet carrier defining an inner cavity therein; a movement limiting assembly at an interface between the magnet carrier and the stator assembly for limiting linear movement of the magnet carrier within the stator assembly.
Reimnitz et al. disclose a device with the stator assembly (3) comprising a magnet carrier supporting one or more magnets (para 39), the magnet carrier defining an inner cavity therein (not labeled, but shown as internal part of stator 3 in Figs 1-4); a movement limiting assembly (H, Fig 2) at an interface between the magnet carrier and the stator assembly (3) for limiting linear movement of the magnet carrier within the stator assembly.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Takayama et al. to have the stator assembly comprising a magnet carrier supporting one or more magnets, the magnet carrier defining an inner cavity therein; a movement limiting assembly at an interface between the magnet carrier and the stator assembly for limiting linear movement of the magnet carrier within the stator assembly, as Reimnitz et al. disclose.
The motivation to do so would be based on cost (para 6) and available space to minimization (para 5 of Reimnitz et al.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: In claim 9, Takayama et al. (US 20220216742) in view of Reimnitz et al. (US 20230307988). nor any additionally cited art of record teaches or fairly suggests, alone or in combination, inter alia, “wherein during operation, the magnet carrier moves in an oscillating linear direction within the stator assembly; and during operation of the linear electric machine, limiting linear movement of the magnet carrier within the stator assembly via a movement limiting assembly at an interface between the magnet carrier and the stator assembly”.
Claims 10-16 are allowable based on their virtue of depending on claim 9.
In claim 17, Takayama et al. (US 20220216742) in view of Reimnitz et al. (US 20230307988). nor any additionally cited art of record teaches or fairly suggests, alone or in combination, inter alia, “a closed-cycle engine; a load device in magnetic communication with the closed-cycle engine via a shaft; a piston assembly comprising pair of pistons each coupled to the shaft; a stator assembly comprising a magnet carrier supporting one or more magnets and a plurality of windings wrapped circumferentially relative to the piston assembly, a movement limiting assembly at an interface between the magnet carrier and the stator assembly for limiting linear movement of the magnet carrier within the stator assembly.”.
Claims 18-20 are allowable based on their virtue of depending on claim 17.
Claims 2-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: In claim 2/1 inter alia, the specific limitations of “…wherein the movement limiting assembly comprises one or more solenoid valves configured to allow high pressure fluid into the stator assembly at the interface between the magnet carrier and the stator assembly.”, in the combination as claimed are neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record.
Claims 3-8 are also allowable for depending on claim 2.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO-892 for details.
NAISHADH N. DESAI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2834
/NAISHADH N DESAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834