DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the frame of claims 2 and 7; the metal shell wrapped around the frame of claim 2; and the plastic shell filled in the openings in the metal shell of Claim 2 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamasaki (US 2014/0111950).
Regarding Claim 1, Yamasaki discloses a vehicle body (Fig. 1), comprising an outer shell (rear panel in Fig. 2); a plurality of vehicle components 12; and a plurality of sensors 110, integrated into the plurality of the vehicle components one-by-one (Fig. 2), and the plurality of sensors and plurality of vehicle components are enveloped by the outer shell (sensor and component sit in recess in rear panel; Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 2, the vehicle body further comprises a frame (not shown), the outer shell comprises a metal shell (body) and a plastic shell 120, the metal shell wraps around the frame, the metal shell provides with a plurality of open areas, the plastic shell 120 is filled in a part of the open areas (in cavity with component 12), the sensors 110 and plurality of vehicle components are wrapped by the plastic shell (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 3, the vehicle components further include vehicle lights, vehicle lights comprise two tail lights (Fig. 1) symmetrically arranged at a bottom of the frame (bottom of the top frame in Fig. 1), the two tail lights are located on a plane, and each tail light is integrated with one or more lights.
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yamaji (US 11,796,356).
Regarding Claim 1, Yamaji discloses a vehicle body (Fig. 1), comprising an outer shell 14; a plurality of vehicle components 18; and a plurality of sensors 40, integrated into the plurality of the vehicle components one-by-one (Fig. 2), and the plurality of sensors and plurality of vehicle components are enveloped by the outer shell (Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamasaki as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Yamaji.
Regarding Claim 4, Yamasaki disclose that the sensor 110 may be a radar type sensor to sense the presence of another vehicle, but it does not appear to discloses a specific millimeter wave radar of the location over the front wheels. Yamaji discloses the use of a plurality of millimeter wave radars 40, the vehicle further comprises two front wheels (Fig. 1), the vehicle body 14 includes first open areas (at 16), the first open areas are located above each front wheel (Fig. 1), and the tail end of each first open area facing the rear of the vehicle is flush with a longitudinal centerline of the wheel in a vertical direction (Fig. 1; sensor pocket is in line with the wheel and flush to the body), and a length is smaller than the radius of the wheel (Fig. 1), the millimeter wave radars are mounted in the first open areas and wrapped in the plastic shell corresponding to the first open area, as taught by Yamasaki. Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use the millimeter wave radars of Yamaji, in the location as taught by Yamaji, on the body of Yamasaki in order to further enhance the operator’s ability to avoid other vehicles by providing both front and rear sensing locations for detecting the presence of a vehicle which may encroach on the operating area of the driver.
Regarding Claim 7, Yamaji includes a front frame area (posts) with the metal shell over the posts at the same angle, and a windshield there between (Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamasaki and Yamaji as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Dry (US 10,150,432).
Regarding Claim 8, neither Yamasaki nor Yamaji appears to disclose the use of LIDAR. Dry discloses a vehicle covered in sensor technology, wherein the sensors further comprise Lidars 34, the Lidars are disposed on the top of the metal shell (on top of the entire vehicle; Fig. 1), the outer shell further includes a hood, and a curvature of the windshield is consistent with a curvature of the hood (see Fig. 1). Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use the LIDAR dome of Dry with the combination of Yamasaki and Yamaji to further complete and compliment the sensor package to achieve a safer, and possibly future autonomous vehicle.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6, 9, 10 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 5, applicant’s use of the plastic shell open in a first area with the shape of a bullet and facing the front, is novel.
Regarding Claims 6 and 10, the applicant’s use of plurality of cameras at the rear end of the vehicle, two ends of each second open area along a lateral direction of the vehicle are substantially C-shaped, each second open area is filled with the plastic shell, and at least one camera or sensor, is novel.
Regarding Claims 9 and 11, applicant’s use of two additional components being mirrors, wherein each mirror is a blind spot monitoring unit, and each mirror further includes a plastic installation shell for wrapping around the blind spot Lidar and/or camera, the installation shell is installed into the mounting part, and the upper and lower ends of the mounting part are exposed to the installation shell; the blind spot Lidars and/or cameras are exposed to the mounting part from a fourth open area, is novel.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited art relates to vehicle bodies and the use of sensors within and around it.
/JASON S DANIELS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612