DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Instant claim 1 recites “an angle between an ejection axis of the cavitation jet ejected from the nozzle and the support surface is between 0 to 20 degrees,” and instant claims 5 and 9-11 recite the limitation “the angle between the ejection axis and the support surface is between 10 and 20 degrees.” This limitation is indefinite because in cavitation processes, the cavitation jet is formed by a liquid comprising bubbles, and said jet therefore extends in a wide area. As such, the “ejection axis” of the cavitation jet (or cloud) does not follow a linear direction and is considered to follow directions over a wide range of angles at the nozzle outlet. This renders the precise angle relationship between said axis and the support surface indefinite which renders the scope of the claims indefinite.
Instant claims 2-11 depend on instant claim 1 and are indefinite for at least the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1 and 2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US 2023/0173641 A1 to Sanders et al in view of the evidentiary reference US 2019/0322898 A1 to Hutchinson et al.
Regarding claim 1, Sanders discloses a method for removing support structure, comprising: suspending abrasive into a process liquid (218); providing an additively manufactured workpiece (224), which would have necessarily been produced by cutting a support structure along a cutting surface from an additively manufactured workpiece having a support surface, the support surface including the support structure for fixing the workpiece to a build platform, installing the workpiece (224) with the support structure remaining on the support surface in the process liquid (218) with suspended abrasive; immersing a nozzle (212) for ejecting a cavitation jet (232) of the process liquid (218) into the process liquid (218); and ejecting the cavitation jet (232) onto the workpiece (224) from the nozzle (212) immersed in the process liquid (218) to perform “efficient finishing” of the workpiece (224) (Sanders, para [0055-0064], figures 3 and 4). The evidentiary reference Hutchinson et al discloses that “finishing” of an additive manufactured workpiece entails removal of undesirable material including remaining support structure adhered to the workpiece (Hutchinson, para [0073]).
Regarding the limitation “such that an angle between an ejection axis of the cavitation jet ejected from the nozzle and the support surface is between 0 to 20 degrees” the workpiece of Hutchinson is rotated within a ring of cavitation jet which are ejecting process fluid such that process fluid flows around “all sides of each part” (Sanders, para [0056]). Given that the jets are emitting a cone of process fluids in all directions and that the workpieces are being rotated within the ring of jets, the workpiece of Sanders would appear to be necessarily oriented “such that an angle between an ejection axis of the cavitation jet ejected from the nozzle and the support surface is between 0 to 20 degrees” at least at some point during the rotation of the workpiece within the ring of jets, thus meeting the instantly claimed limitation. Alternatively, Sanders discloses that both the position and orientation of the nozzles and workpiece may be adjusted to any pattern or arrangement based on part geometry and desired cavitation peening process and/or surface finishing process (Sanders, para [0015-0017]). “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.05 [R-5]. In the instant case, Sanders recognizes nozzle and workpiece positioning and orientation as a result effective variable for controlling the surface finishing process. It would require little more than routine experimentation by one of ordinary skill in the art to determine the optimal or workable ranges of angle of the nozzle relative to the workpiece to achieve workable or optimal finishing in the process of Sanders.
Regarding claim 2, the nozzle of Sanders ejects the process liquid in a horizontal direction (Sanders, figures 3 and 4).
Regarding claims 3 and 6, Sanders discloses that a compressive residual stress is applied to a surface of the workpiece (Sanders, para [0064]).
Regarding claims 4, 7 and 8, Examiner takes official notice that a mesh structure is inherent to additively manufactured workpieces.
Regarding claims 5 and 9-11, the workpiece of Hutchinson is rotated within a ring of cavitation jet which are ejecting process fluid such that process fluid flows around “all sides of each part” (Sanders, para [0056]). Given that the jets are emitting a cone of process fluids in all directions and that the workpieces are being rotated within the ring of jets, the workpiece of Sanders would appear to be necessarily oriented “such that an angle between an ejection axis of the cavitation jet ejected from the nozzle and the support surface is between 10 to 20 degrees” at least at some point during the rotation of the workpiece within the ring of jets, thus meeting the instantly claimed limitation. Alternatively, Sanders discloses that both the position and orientation of the nozzles and workpiece may be adjusted to any pattern or arrangement based on part geometry and desired cavitation peening process and/or surface finishing process (Sanders, para [0015-0017]). “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.05 [R-5]. In the instant case, Sanders recognizes nozzle and workpiece positioning and orientation as a result effective variable for controlling the surface finishing process. It would require little more than routine experimentation by one of ordinary skill in the art to determine the optimal or workable ranges of angle of the nozzle relative to the workpiece to achieve workable or optimal finishing in the process of Sanders.
Conclusion
/BRIAN D WALCK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738