DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
The term “extinction diameter” is being interpret as described in applicants’ specification on paragraph 10, the examiner notes that this is also known as the quenching diameter.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“combustion unit” in claim 1-3.
“member” in claim 1-3.
“refrigeration apparatus” in claim 1-3
“flow path forming member” in claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson (US 20180231260), hereinafter referred to as Wilson, in view of Holowczak et al. (US Pat No. 5,470,222), hereinafter referred to as Holowczak.
Re claim 1, Wilson teaches a combustion heater (e.g. 70) disposed adjacent to a refrigerant circuit (e.g. 62) filled with a combustible refrigerant (e.g. ¶ 35, “combustion of the refrigerant in the event the refrigerant leaks” … “The desired refrigerant being classified as numerically equal to or greater than the refrigerants A2L”) and configured to generate heat by means of flame (e.g. ¶ 28, “The furnace system 70 may include a burner assembly and heat exchanger, among other components, inside the indoor unit 56. Fuel is provided to the burner assembly of the furnace 70 where it is mixed with air and combusted to form combustion products. The combustion products may pass through tubes or piping in a heat exchanger, separate from heat exchanger 62, such that air directed by the blower 66 passes over the tubes or pipes and extracts heat from the combustion products”), the combustion heater comprising:
a combustion unit (e.g. 176) causing generation of flame; and
a implicit; ¶ 52, “burner 176 that burns gas, such as natural gas. The heated byproducts of the combustion process flow through tubes or piping in a heat exchanger 178, such that air directed by the blower 66 passes over the tubes or pipes and extracts heat from the combustion products”; the tubes and piping or the casing of the burner can both be considered as part of the body) covering the combustion unit or a periphery of the combustion unit, wherein
the implied by ¶ 44, “By shutting off the flow of electricity or gas, the furnace system 70 reduces the temperature of the components in the furnace system 70, and thus the possibility of combusting leaking refrigerant”; the examiner notes that leak refrigerant may reach the furnace system 70 and thus the body does cover the burner and or combustion unit etc),
Wilson does not teach the limitation of the body being a porous body provided with a plurality of holes, and the holes have a diameter equal to or less than an extinction diameter of the combustible refrigerant.
However, Holowczak teaches a combustion heater comprising a combustion unit (e.g. 4) and a porous body covering the combustion unit provided with a plurality of holes (implicit by porous), and the holes have a diameter (e.g. claim 5, “wherein the flame holder has a porosity of about 30% to about 50% and an average pore size of at least about 30 μm”).
Therefore, at the time the invention was filed it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Wilson and integrated the body being a porous body provided with a plurality of holes, and the holes have a diameter of 30 μm, as taught by Holowczak, in order to a more durable, low pressure drop flame holder that produces low pollutant emissions (see Holowczak C1-lns 45-50).
In light of the modification made by Holowczak to the system of Wilson, the limitation of “the diameter (Holowczak - 30 μm) equal to or less than an extinction diameter of the combustible refrigerant (Wilson - refrigerants A2L)” is an implicit disclosure because all A2L refrigerants have a higher quenching (extinction) diameter than 30 μm. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that A2L refrigerants have a higher quenching (extinction) diameter than 30 μm. Therefore, the limitation of “the diameter equal to or less than an extinction diameter of the combustible refrigerant” is an implicit disclosure in light of the modification.
Re claim 2, Wilson, as modified, teaches the combustion heater according to claim 1. Wilson further teaches the limitation of further comprising
a flow path forming member (e.g. ¶ 28, “The combustion products may pass through tubes or piping in a heat exchanger, separate from heat exchanger 62, such that air directed by the blower 66 passes over the tubes or pipes and extracts heat from the combustion products”) forming a flow path for gas having passed through the combustion unit, wherein
gas flow speed in the periphery of the combustion unit is higher than combustion speed of the combustible refrigerant (e.g. ¶ 39, “If the airflow through the furnace system 70 drops below a threshold level or set point, the temperature of components in the furnace system 70, or portions thereof, may increase above a threshold temperature or set point. In other words, insufficient airflow through the furnace system 70 reduces heat transfer from components of the furnace system 70, which may enable them to increase in temperature above a threshold temperature or set point. Accordingly, monitoring the airflow through the furnace system 70 enables the HVAC control system 124 to shut down the furnace system 70”).
Re claim 3, Wilson, as modified, teaches an air conditioning system comprising: a refrigeration apparatus (e.g. 62) including the refrigerant circuit filled with the combustible refrigerant; and the combustion heater according to claim 1, the combustion heater being disposed adjacent to the refrigeration apparatus (Fig 3).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. (see PTO-892).
/NELSON J NIEVES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763 01/07/2026
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763