Claim(s) 1, 4, 11, 14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dane et al (US 7789723) in view of Petrovich (US 4610212). With respect to claims 1, 11, 14, 20, Dane et al disclose the basic claimed structure including a submersible sailing vessel (note the Abstract) with a hull assembly (including 301), a keel (including 312) coupled to and extending from the hull assembly and a wind catching assembly (including 308). Also disclosed by Dane et al is propelling means 117 and buoyance compensation means 313. Not disclosed by Dane et al is the wind catching assembly coupled to and extending from the keel. Petrovich teaches a hull assembly 2, 3 sized and shaped to accommodate at least one person with a ballast keel assembly 6 and a wind catching assembly 4, 5, 8 coupled to and extending from the keel (Figure 1). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the device of Dane et al with the wind catching assembly coupled to and extending from a ballast keel and to have the hull accommodate at least one person as taught by Petrovich with a high likelihood of success for improved vessel balance and stability. The combination combines known features to achieve predictable results. With respect to claim 4, note Dane et al, Figures 4-6. Further, it is noted that a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in the art of designing complex and expensive sailboat stability systems would have many years of experience and advanced degrees. Such a person would clearly be knowledgeable is boat stability systems and would be familiar with various boat stability systems and would have found the combination to have been obvious.
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dane et al (US 7789723) in view of Petrovich (US 4610212), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Stiewe (EP 3225545 A1). With respect to claims 8-9, Dane et al do not disclose an inflatable sail via compressed gas. Stiewe teaches an inflatable sail 1 with hose 7 and compressed gas (Abstract). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the device of Dane et al with an sail inflated via compressed gas as taught by Stiewe with a high likelihood of success for improved safety via improved buoyancy. The combination combines known features to achieve predictable results. Further, it is noted that a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in the art of designing complex and expensive sailboat stability systems would have many years of experience and advanced degrees. Such a person would clearly be knowledgeable is boat safety systems and would be familiar with various boat safety systems and would have found the combination to have been obvious.
Claims 2-3, 5-7, 10, 12-13 and 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 18-19 are allowed.
Applicant's arguments filed 1/14/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant alleges that Petrovich does not disclose a keel. However, the assembly including element 6 of Petrovich is a keel by being the bottommost longitudinal structural element of the watercraft. Note, for example, the cited Wikipedia definition of a watercraft keel as the bottommost longitudinal structural element of a watercraft.
Applicant further alleges that Petrovich does not disclose a wind catching assembly coupled to and extending from the keel. However, note that the wind catching assembly 4, 5, 8 is coupled to the keel 6 (note Figure 4).
Applicant further alleges that there is no reason to combine the Dane et al and Petrovich teachings because Dane et al is already drawn toward watercraft stability. However, to the contrary, since Dane et al are already concerned about watercraft stability that would make the combination more desirable. Further, it is noted that a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in the art of designing complex and expensive sailboat stability systems would have many years of experience and advanced degrees. Such a person would clearly be knowledgeable is boat stability systems and would be familiar with various boat stability systems and would have found the combination to have been obvious.
It is noted that the terminal disclaimer overcomes the double patenting rejection.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wikipedia definition of a keel.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
STEPHEN AVILA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3617
/STEPHEN P AVILA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615