DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. DE10 2023 205 362.4, filed on 06/09/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reich et al., U.S. Pub. No. 6910960 B2, June 28, 2005 (hereinafter “Reich”) in view of Griffin et al., U.S. Pub. No. 5290441 A, March 01, 1994 (hereinafter “Griffin”).
Regarding claim 1, Reich discloses a material collection device for a machine tool, particularly a hand-held sanding/power tool (10) having a dust box (24), a cover (28) and a filter element (filter sheet, 30) arranged on the inside of the cover. Cover (28) includes through-holes 925) through which filtered air exits the dust box (figs. 1-2; col. 2, lines 5-40; claim 1). Reich discloses that filter element (30) is retained in a clamped in captive, dust-tight manner between cover (28) and sidewalls (27) (fig. 3; col. 2, lines 49-58). However, Reich fails to disclose that the support element used to support the at least one filter element is arranged within the filter element in the mounted state.
Griffin discloses a filter assembly (400) comprising a filter bag (420) and tubular supporting cage (450), wherein cage (450) is positioned inside filter bag (420) to hold the filter bag in an open configuration and prevent collapse during filtering (Fig. 4; col. 5, lines 55 – col 6, line 2). Griffin further discloses that cage (450) may be dressed within filter bag (420) and that filter bag (420), collar (430), and cage (450) are secured together in the mounted state by locking ring (460) (Fig. 4; col. 6, lines 21-40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the filter arrangement of Reich to include the internal supporting cage of Griffin in order to maintain the filter element in an open structurally supported configuration and prevent collapse during filtering, as taught by Griffin.
Regarding claim 2, Reich discloses that filter sheet (30) is positioned on cover (28), after which the cover is clipped onto sidewalls (27) by a snap-in connection, thereby holding the filter sheet tightly between cover (28) and the sidewalls and clamping the filter in a captive, dust-tight manner (fig. 3; col. 2, lines 49-58). Griffin further discloses securing the filter/support assembly in the mounted state using locking ring (460), which locks filter bag (420), collar (430), and supporting cage (450) together in place by a force fit (Fig. 4; col. 6, lines 21-40). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the filter arrangement of Reich with secure fastening arrangement taught by Griffin in order to reliably retain the filter and support structure in the mounted condition.
Regarding claim 3, Reich fails to disclose that the support element is rigid at least in a longitudinal direction. However, Griffin discloses a tubular supporting cage or frame (450) positioned inside the filter bag (420), wherein the cage is of open-work construction, is typically formed of heavy wire, and includes a longitudinal extended portion (452) (Fig. 4; col. 5, lines 55-65). The cage structurally supports the filter bag and prevents collapse during filtering (col. 5, line 66- col. 6, line 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the internal support element to the Reich-Griffin combination with longitudinal rigidity, as taught by Griffin, in order to maintain the filter element in an open and structurally stable configuration and prevent collapse during filtering.
Regarding claim 9, Reich discloses a filter protective cover (28) in which filter element (30) is securely retained as part of the dust collection device as disclosed in claim 1. Reich therefore provides the surrounding protective-cover structure to which the supported filter assembly is mounted. Griffin discloses a tubular supporting cage (450) arranged within filter bag (420) to support the filter bag and prevent collapse. Griffin further teaches that cage (450) includes a collar portion (455), and that the filter assembly includes molded collar (430) and locking ring (460). The locking ring cooperates with collar flange (434) and cage collar portion (455) to secure the filter bag, collar, and supporting cage together in the assembled condition. Thus, Griffin teaches a support-element arrangement having structure at the end of the support cage for fastening and retaining the filter element relative to the support element (Fig. 4; col. 5, line 55 - col. 6, line 40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the support cage of Griffin with a mounting interface adapted to engage the protective cover of Reich so that the internally supported filter assembly could be securely retained in the cover while remaining installable and removable as a unit. It further would have been obvious to use Griffin's collar/locking arrangement as the fastening unit for retaining the filter element on the support element, because Griffin teaches that this arrangement secures the filter bag, collar, and support cage together and maintains the filter in its supported configuration.
Regarding claim 10, Griffin teaches a filter assembly including filter bag (420), supporting cage (450), molded collar (430), and locking ring (460). Cage (450) includes collar portion (455), and locking ring (460) has a channel-shaped collar configured to fit over and engage both the collar flange (434) and cage collar portion (455), thereby locking the filter bag, collar, and supporting cage together. Thus, locking ring (460) provides a fastening structure for securing the support cage in the assembled filter arrangement (fig. 4; col. 6, lines 20–40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the Reich filter-cover arrangement with the locking-ring/collar fastening structure of Griffin so that the internal support element could be securely fastened to a cover member and the resulting cover/support assembly securely mounted to the filter protective cover, thereby providing secure assembly while facilitating installation and removal of the supported filter element.
Regarding claim 11, Reich expressly teaches a hand-held machine tool, particularly a sanding machine, provided with a dust extraction/material collection device including dust box (24), filter element (30), and cover (28) (figs. 1-2; col. 2, lines 5-40). Thus, Reich supplies the claimed machine tool environment, while Griffin is relied upon, as discussed with claim 1, for the internal support element arranged within the filter.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the supported filter arrangement taught by Griffin into the dust collection device of Reich's hand-held machine tool to maintain the filter in a supported/open condition and prevent collapse during operation.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reich and Griffin, as applied to claim 1, in further view of Berfield U.S. Pub. No. 4906265 A, March 06, 1990 (hereinafter “Berfield”).
Regarding claim 4, Griffin discloses a tubular support (450) having longitudinal extending supporting members (452) positioned within filter bag (420) to structurally support the filter and prevent collapse (Fig. 4; col. 5, line 66- col. 6, line 2).
Berfield discloses a rigid filter cage (20) having a plurality of vertical support struts (26), wherein the struts taper inwardly because the bottom panel (24) has a smaller diameter than the upper band (22), thereby forming a lightly conical support cage (Figs. 1-4; col. 3, lines 32-40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to configure the supporting struts of Griffin with the inwardly tapered arrangement taught by Berfield to provide a narrowing filter support structure that facilitates placement and securement of the filter over the support cage, as taught by Berfield.
Claims 5, 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reich and Griffin, as applied to claim 1, in further view of Baumann et al., EP 1872899 B1, January 02, 2008 (hereinafter “Baumann”).
Regarding claim 5, Reich and Griffin fail to disclose that the filter protective cover comprises at least one air guide element configured as a recess. Baumann discloses a dust collection device for a handheld power tool having a dust container (7) provided with a recess (21) into the outlet end region (22) of dust feed passage (5) projects (fig. 2; paragraph 0025). Baumann further discloses that the outlet end region (22) opens into second free space (34) of dust-collecting pre-chamber (35) and is directed toward the bottom (17) of the dust container so that incoming dust laden airflow is directed into the collection region (paragraph 0027).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the filter protective cover of the Reich-Griffin arrangement with the recessed airflow-entry configuration taught by Baumann, in order to guide the incoming dust-laden airflow into the collection region and promote controlled distribution of the airflow within the dust collection device.
Regarding claim 6, Reich in view of Griffin fails to disclose that the filter element be spaced apart from the filter protective cover at least to a large extent in the mounted state. However, Baumann discloses a dust filter (11) arranged within dust container (7), wherein the filter is spaced from the bottom (17) by a first distance (29), thereby forming free space (33), and spaced laterally from sidewall (32) by a second distance (31), thereby forming free space (34) (paragraph 0008 and 0027). Baumann further discloses that the filter is fastened at its head region and otherwise freely suspended within the dust container (Paragraph 0011; claims 2–4 and 7; Figs. 2–3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrange the filter element of the Reich-Griffin combination spaced from the surrounding protective cover as taught by Baumann to provide free space around the filter for airflow and dust collection and to permit effective use of the filter surface.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reich and Griffin, as applied to claim 1, in further view of Johnson et al., U.S. Pub. No. 10773202 B2, September 15, 2020, (hereinafter “Johnson”).
Regarding claim 7, Griffin discloses an internal supporting cage (450) positioned within filter bag (420) to structurally support the filter element and prevent collapse as disclosed in claim 1 above.
Johnson discloses an internal support structure (80) for a filter element. In the embodiment of Figs. 6–8, support structure 80 is secured to second end cap (74) but is unsecured and free of first end cap (72), with a space or gap (78) between free end (81) of the support structure and first end cap (72) (Figs. 6–8; col. 7, lines 4–19). Johnson further discloses that having at least one end of support structure (80) freely floating and unattached allows filter element (20) to expand and contract during pulse cleaning. The filter media bows outwardly and returns to its original shape in a dynamic, fast slapping motion (70) that shakes dust from the filter (Fig. 9; col. 8, lines 31–42). Johnson additionally explains that the support structure has a free end that is disconnected, unattached, and freely floating within the filter element (Col. 8, lines 48–53).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the internal support element of the Reich-Griffin combination to include the free-ended, movable arrangement taught by Johnson to permit dynamic movement of the supported filter during cleaning and thereby produce a slapping or impact action that dislodges accumulated dust.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reich and Griffin, as applied to claim 1, in further view of Wilson U.S. Pub. No. 20120024312 A1, February 02, 2012 (hereinafter “Wilson”).
Regarding claim 8, Reich in view of Griffin fails to disclose that the at least one filter element comprises a dust-repellent coating. However, Wilson is directed specifically to dust-repellent surface coatings and teaches that the coating may be applied to a fibrous or porous material, such as a filter (paragraph 0012). Wilson further discloses that the coating can be applied to stationary fibrous surfaces such as air filters so that accumulated dust is more easily removed by vibration or reverse airflow, thereby enabling filter reuse or extending filter life (paragraph 0022).
Wilson additionally teaches applying the coating directly to the filter surface that faces the dust exposure, for example by brushing or spraying, and teaches removal of dust from the coated filter material by vibration or reverse airflow (paragraph 0048-0049). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the filter element of the Reich-Griffin material collection device with the dust-repellent coating taught by Wilson to reduce adhesion of collected dust to the filter surface and facilitate removal of accumulated dust, thereby improving cleanability and extending filter life.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER P JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776
/M.N.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1776