DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claim recites “said RF communication module” which renders the claim indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. While the “wireless communication module” is recited in Claim 1, it is not limited to RF communication in that claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cooksey et al. in US Publication 2024/0041679.
Regarding Claim 1, Cooksey teaches a technology assisted walker system, comprising; a walker (1) comprising a controller (the “control unit” – see Claim 15); a motor (the “motor” – see Claim 14); one or more wheels (11L/11R/13L/13R); and a wireless communication module (through which the “wireless communication” is performed – see Claim 13); one or more grips(7R/7L); a mechanical folding mechanism (29L/29R); and a locator beacon (the “tracking device” – see Claim 15).
Regarding Claim 2, Cooksey teaches (see Paragraph 0044 and Claim 14) that said motor is configured to cause said wheels to turn when receiving a signal from said controller.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cooksey as applied to Claim 1 above in view of Flaherty et al. in US Publication 2006/020617. Cooksey teaches that (see Paragraph 0044) said locator beacon is a wearable device configured to be worn by a user (“worn by an apparatus user”); wherein said controller is in electronic communication with said locator beacon via said communication module; wherein said controller is configured to cause said motor to turn said one or more wheels pursuant to information received regarding a location of said locator beacon , such that said technology assisted walker is brought to within a couple feet of said locator beacon (“drives the … apparatus to the user”). Cooksey is silent on the type of wireless communication used. Flaherty teaches the use of RF wireless communication (see paragraph 0046). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Cooksey by using RF wireless communication as taught by Flaherty in order to provide a low-cost and reliable communication for the device. While Cooksey, as modified, is silent on how closely the device is moved to the user when it is summoned, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the device to move with a couple feet of the user upon summoning in order to allow the user to reach the device, as a normal person cannot usually reach further than a couple feet away from themselves.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cooksey as applied to Claim 1 above in view of Lybbert in US Publication 2021/0370997. Cooksey is silent on the use of an inverse braking mechanism. Lybbert teaches a walker system including a walker (100) comprising one or more wheels (106); and one or more grips (104) wherein said grips comprise a braking mechanism (110), wherein brakes (108) are configured to be applied as an inverse to a pressure detected by said one or more grips (see step 406). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Cooksey by adding a braking system as taught by Lybbert in order to provide a walker that does not slide away when the user grasps the handles.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Norton et al., Guo et al., Ota et al., Burkholder et al., O’Sullivan, Yu, Wu et al., and Shen et al. teach driven, motorized walkers.
NOAH C. HAWK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3636
/Noah Chandler Hawk/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636