Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on 12/12/2025 is acknowledged.
As noted by applicant, the restriction requirement contained an error in not recognizing claims 21-25 to be included with Invention II. Accordingly claims 15-25 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-7, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Colman (US 2,367929). In considering the embodiment shown in Figs. 1 and 3, Colman discloses a locknut for engaging an externally threaded member comprising: a nut body (a) defining a thread with a second end defining a pocket (at c) and an elastic spring member (b) received in the pocket. As seen in Fig. 3, the spring member comprises: a generally rectangular shaped cross-section; first and second leg members with respective first and second end members; joined by an apex member; and the first and second leg members including arcuate sections (e) for engaging the thread crests of the externally threaded member and where the bulged shape of arcuate section also forms a beveled radius in the lead in direction of the externally threaded member.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clayson (US 2,381,206) in view of Campau (US 8,425,168). In considering the embodiment shown in Figs. 1-4, Clayson discloses a locknut for engaging an externally threaded member comprising: a nut body (1) defining a thread (2) with a second end defining a pocket (at 3) and an elastic spring member (b) received in the pocket. The spring member comprises: first and second leg members (9 and 10) with respective first and second end members (12 and 13) joined by an apex member (11). The pocket includes first and second projections (between the slots 16-17 formed in the ring 19; Fig. 6) which hold the spring member oriented within the pocket (Figs. 4 and 5). Clayson does not disclose the spring member with a rectangular shaped cross-section but instead discloses a circular cross-section. Campau also discloses a locknut with an elastic spring member but having a rectangular shaped cross-section (44; Figs 1-3) where Campau teaches the rectangular shaped cross-section as an alternative to a spring member with a circular cross-section (344; Figs. 7-9). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the circular cross-section of the elastic spring member of Clayson with a rectangular cross-section because Campau teaches them as alternatives in the same field of endeavor for yielding the same results.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colman or Clayson in view of Campau as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sundh (US 1,830,919). Neither Colman nor modified Clayson discloses a shield. Sundh discloses a locknut with a shield (b or f) between a pocket and an end of the locknut as an alternative to no shield (Fig. 8). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the locknut of both Colman and modified Clayson with a shield as disclosed in Sundh because Sundh teaches it as alternative for providing a water tight enclosure.
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clayson in view of Campau as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sundh (US 1,830,919). Modified Clayson does not disclose the elastic spring member having a beveled lead in portion with a radiused edge. Sundh discloses a locknut with an elastic spring member similar to modified Clayson but where the spring member includes a beveled lead in formed as a radiused edge (C4) for providing a lead in for the externally threaded member (the paragraph bridging the columns on page 2). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the locknut of modified Clayson with a radiused edge as disclosed in Sundh for the same purpose of providing a lead in for the externally threaded member facilitating its installation onto the locknut.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,025,172 in view of Campau. The prior patent’s claims are broader than the instant application’s where every element included in the prior patent has been included in the claims of the instant application except for the spring member having a generally rectangular shaped cross-section. Campau also discloses a locknut with an elastic spring member but having a rectangular shaped cross-section (44; Figs 1-3). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to make the spring member of the prior claimed patent with a rectangular shaped cross-section as disclosed in Campau because Campau teaches the rectangular shape as one of many alternatives in the same field of endeavor for yielding the same results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims along with a Terminal Disclaimer to obviate the double patenting.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ortlieb (US 3,572,197), Gallusser (US 4,478,474) and Reyburn (US 2,445,125) teach other examples of spring members with a generally rectangular shaped cross-sections. The other references cited are of general interest.
/FLEMMING SAETHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675