DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Such claim limitation(s) and the corresponding structure in the specification is/are: information providing apparatus including acquisition unit (claims 1, 9, 10), calculation unit (claims 1-10), and providing unit (claim 1) - control unit 14 which is a processing unit that controls information providing apparatus 10 and includes acquisition unit 141, calculation unit 142, and providing unit 143 (Published application, ¶ [0029])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 11, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nishiyama (JP 2004-277899 A).
Regarding claim 1, Nishiyama discloses an information providing apparatus (65; fig. 6) comprising: an acquisition unit (65) that acquires a thickness measurement value (thickness profile) of each of portions of paper (51) and a moisture percentage measurement value (moisture content profile) of each of the portions of the paper before or after a pressing process of pressing each of the portions of the paper with a different pressing force by using a roll (54) based on an index that is provided (computer 65 acquires a thickness profile and moisture content profile from a thickness sensor and moisture content sensor in profile measuring device 62; Espacenet machine translation, ¶ [0084]); a calculation unit (65) that calculates an estimated value of a thickness of the paper (51) after a moisture percentage of the paper has changed, based on the thickness measurement value (thickness profile) and the moisture percentage measurement value (profile measuring device 62, connected to computer 65, calculates the value of the change in thickness of web 51 relative to the change in moisture content profile and sets the value as a coefficient in computer 65 which then uses this coefficient, which corresponds to an estimated thickness value, to adjust of pressure of the press roll; ¶¶ [0094-0095]); and a providing unit (65) that provides the estimated value as the index to an apparatus that performs the pressing process (computer 65 provides the estimated thickness value to pressure adjustment device 58; ¶ [0095]).
Regarding claim 2, Nishiyama discloses wherein the calculation unit (65) calculates the index by using the thickness measurement value of each of the portions of the paper (51) and a difference between the moisture percentage measurement value and one of a moisture percentage fixed value that is set in advance and an average value of the moisture percentage measurement values (profile measuring device 62 and computer 65 calculate a thickness index by using the measured thickness profile and a difference between the measured moisture profile and a coefficient that is set in advance; ¶ [0095]).
Regarding claim 11, Nishiyama discloses an information providing method implemented by a computer (65), the information providing method comprising: acquiring a thickness measurement value (thickness profile) of each of portions of paper (61) and a moisture percentage measurement value (moisture content profile) of each of the portions of the paper before or after a pressing process of pressing each of the portions of the paper with a different pressing force by using a roll (54) based on an index that is provided (computer 65 acquires a thickness profile and moisture content profile from a thickness sensor and moisture content sensor in profile measuring device 62; Espacenet machine translation, ¶ [0084]); calculating an estimated value of a thickness of the paper (51) after a moisture percentage of the paper has changed, based on the thickness measurement value (thickness profile) and the moisture percentage measurement value (profile measuring device 62, connected to computer 65, calculates the value of the change in thickness of web 51 relative to the change in moisture content profile and sets the value as a coefficient in computer 65 which then uses this coefficient, which corresponds to an estimated thickness value, to adjust of pressure of the press roll; ¶¶ [0094-0095]); and providing the estimated value as the index to an apparatus that performs the pressing process (computer 65 provides the estimated thickness value to pressure adjustment device 58; ¶ [0095]).
Regarding claim 11, Nishiyama discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium having stored therein an information providing program that causes a computer (65) to execute a process, the process comprising: acquiring a thickness measurement value (thickness profile) of each of portions of paper (51) and a moisture percentage measurement value (moisture content profile) of each of the portions of the paper before or after a pressing process of pressing each of the portions of the paper with a different pressing force by using a roll (54) based on an index that is provided (computer 65 acquires a thickness profile and moisture content profile from a thickness sensor and moisture content sensor in profile measuring device 62; Espacenet machine translation, ¶ [0084]); calculating an estimated value of a thickness of the paper (51) after a moisture percentage of the paper has changed, based on the thickness measurement value (thickness profile) and the moisture percentage measurement value (profile measuring device 62, connected to computer 65, calculates the value of the change in thickness of web 51 relative to the change in moisture content profile and sets the value as a coefficient in computer 65 which then uses this coefficient, which corresponds to an estimated thickness value, to adjust of pressure of the press roll; ¶¶ [0094-0095]); and providing the estimated value as the index to an apparatus that performs the pressing process (computer 65 provides the estimated thickness value to pressure adjustment device 58; ¶ [0095]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art does not disclose or suggest “the calculation unit calculates the index by subtracting, from the thickness measurement value, a value that is obtained by multiplying a coefficient, the moisture percentage measurement value, and the thickness measurement value” in combination with the remaining claim elements as recited in claim 3.
The prior art does not disclose or suggest “the calculation unit calculates the index by subtracting, from the thickness measurement value, a value that is obtained by multiplying a coefficient, the moisture percentage measurement value, and an average value of the thickness measurement values” in combination with the remaining claim elements as recited in claim 4.
The prior art does not disclose or suggest “the calculation unit calculates the index by subtracting, from the thickness measurement value, a value that is obtained by multiplying a coefficient and a difference between the moisture percentage measurement value and one of a moisture percentage fixed value that is set in advance and an average value of the moisture percentage measurement values” in combination with the remaining claim elements as recited in claim 5.
The prior art does not disclose or suggest “the calculation unit calculates the index by subtracting, from the thickness measurement value, a value that is obtained by multiplying a coefficient, the thickness measurement value, and a difference between the moisture percentage measurement value and one of a moisture percentage fixed value that is set in advance and an average value of the moisture percentage measurement values” in combination with the remaining claim elements as recited in claim 6.
The prior art does not disclose or suggest “wherein the calculation unit calculates the index by subtracting, from the thickness measurement value, a value that is obtained by multiplying a coefficient, an average value of the thickness measurement values, and a difference between the moisture percentage measurement value and one of a moisture percentage fixed value that is set in advance and an average value of the moisture percentage measurement value” in combination with the remaining claim elements as recited in claim 7.
The prior art does not disclose or suggest “wherein the calculation unit calculates the index by subtracting, from the thickness measurement value, a difference between a film thickness change with respect to the moisture percentage measurement value and a film thickness change with respect to an air-dried moisture percentage” in combination with the remaining claim elements as recited in claim 8.
The prior art does not disclose or suggest “wherein the acquisition unit further acquires a basis weight measurement value of each of the portions of the paper, and the calculation unit calculates the index by subtracting, from the thickness measurement value, a value that is obtained by multiplying a coefficient, the moisture percentage measurement value, and the basis weight measurement value” in combination with the remaining claim elements as recited in claim 9.
The prior art does not disclose or suggest “wherein the acquisition unit further acquires a basis weight measurement value of each of the portions of the paper, and the calculation unit calculates the index by subtracting, from the thickness measurement value, a value that is obtained by multiplying a coefficient, the basis weight measurement value, and a difference between the moisture percentage measurement value and one of a moisture percentage fixed value that is set in advance and an average value of the moisture percentage measurement values” in combination with the remaining claim elements as recited in claim 10.
Contact Information
/ERIKA J. VILLALUNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852