DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 6/4/2024, 5/21/2025 and 9/2/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it fails to summarize the invention in less than 150 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: A SECONDARY BATTERY WITH HEAT RESISTANT LAYERS ON SEPARATOR AND ORGANIC ELECTROLYTE SALT ADDITIVE IN A NON-AQUEOUS ELECTROLYTIC SOLUTION.
Claim Objections
Claims objected to because of the following informalities: polytetrafluoroethylene is mentioned twice in the list of claimed heat-resistant layer. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20100015533 A1, DEGUCHI et al. in view of US 20220131193 A1, JI et al.
Regarding claim 1. DEGUCHI [title] discloses a secondary battery comprising:
[0013] a positive electrode including a positive electrode active material layer;
[0013] a negative electrode including a negative electrode active material layer;
[0077] a separator and a heat-resistant layer called a porous film disposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode; and
[0051] an electrolytic solution including an electrolyte salt, wherein
[0054] the heat-resistant layer is disposed at least in a region in which the positive electrode active material layer and the negative electrode active material layer are opposed to each other,
DEGUCHI does not disclose the heat-resistant layer having a melting point or a decomposition temperature higher than a melting point or a decomposition temperature of the separator,
However, DEGUCHI [0055] discloses “As the separator, it is preferable to use a porous resin sheet. As the resin constituting the separator, it is preferable to use a polyolefin. Example of a polyolefin includes polyethylene and polypropylene.”
DEGUCHI [0058-0059] also discloses “The porous film (i.e. the heat-resistant layer) that contains an inorganic oxide will be described in detail. As for the inorganic oxide, it is preferable that the oxygen atoms included in the inorganic oxide have a high electron density and the inorganic oxide has superior chemical stability when the battery is in use. It is preferable to use, for example, alumina, titania, zirconia, magnesia, silica and the like.”
DEGUCHI [0060] continues to disclose that this porous film can also contain a binder “for example, a resin material, such as a fluorocarbon resin, acrylic resin and rubber particles, can be used.”
This inorganic oxide infused resin would inherently have a melting point or a decomposition temperature higher than a melting point or a decomposition temperature of the separator
When the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim except a property or function, and the examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties which anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention but has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP § § 2112- 2112.02.
DEGUCHI also does not disclose the electrolyte salt includes an imide anion, and the imide anion includes at least one of a first imide anion represented by Formula (1), a second imide anion represented by Formula (2), a third imide anion represented by Formula (3), or a fourth imide anion represented by Formula (4),
where
each of R1 and R2 is either a fluorine group or a fluorinated alkyl group, and
each of W1, W2, and W3 is any one of a carbonyl group (>C=O), a sulfinyl group (>S=O), or a sulfonyl group (>S(=Oh),
where
each of R3 and R4 is a fluorine group, and
each of X1, X2, X3, and X4 is any one of a carbonyl group, a sulfinyl group, or a sulfonyl group,
where
R5 is a fluorinated alkylene group, and each of Y1, Y2, and Y3 is any one of a carbonyl group, a sulfinyl group, or a sulfonyl group,
where
each of R6 and R7 is a fluorine group,
R8 is any one of an alkylene group, a phenylene group, a fluorinated alkylene group, or a fluorinated phenylene group, and
each of Z1, Z2, Z3, and Z4 is any one of a carbonyl group, a sulfinyl group, or a sulfonyl group.
JI [title] discloses Symmetrical Or Asymmetrical Alkylsulfonyl Imide Or Cyclic Alkylene Sulfonylimide Salts As Cathode Additives, Electrolyte Additives, Or Si Anode Additives For Si Anode-Based Li-Ion Cells
JI [0083] discloses the electrolyte salt includes an imide anion,
JI [0098] discloses structure 18 in the form of lithium carbonylbis(fluorosulfonyl)imide (LiSFSI) shown below,
Which reads on the limitation of claim 1 that the imide anion represented by Formula (1),
Where each of R1 and R2 is a fluorine group or a fluorinated alkyl group, and
each of W1, W2, and W3 is any one of a carbonyl group (>C=O), a sulfinyl group (>S=O), or a sulfonyl group (>S(=Oh), when W1 and W3 is a sulfinyl group (>S=O), and W2 is a carbonyl group (>C=O).
JI [0048] discloses “the use of chemical compounds comprising symmetrical or asymmetrical alkylsulfonyl imide or cyclic alkylene sulfonylimide salts as electrode or electrolyte additives for energy storage devices is described. Due to their unique chemical structures and functional groups, using symmetrical or asymmetrical alkylsulfonyl imide or cyclic alkylene sulfonylimide salts as electrolyte additives in electrolyte compositions may bring the following benefits: (i) stabilize solid/electrolyte interface film to reduce electrolyte reactions (oxidation on the NCM, NCA, or LCO cathode and reduction on the Si anode), prevent Si anode volume expansion, and protect transition metal ion dissolution from NCM or NCA cathodes and stabilize the subsequent structure changes; and avoid the exothermic reaction between the released oxygen from cathodes and an organic electrolyte and enhance the thermal stability of cathodes; and (ii) reduce the flammability and enhance the thermal stability of organic electrolytes and increase the safety of electrolyte solutions. Due to their versatility in reaction chemistry and overall stability in electrochemical environments, involving symmetrical or asymmetrical alkylsulfonyl imide or cyclic alkylene sulfonylimide salts as electrolyte additives in electrolyte compositions may help improve both overall electrochemical performance and safety of Si anode-based Li-ion batteries. In some embodiments, the additive is a perfluoroalkylsulfonyl imide or acyclic perfluoroalkylene sulfonylimide salt.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have used an amide metal salt containing the instantly claimed functional groups in an electrolyte in order to improve both overall electrochemical performance and safety of Si anode-based Li-ion batteries in the battery disclosed by DEGUCHI.
Regarding claim 2, DEGUCHI modified by JI discloses the secondary battery according to claim 1, wherein
DEGUCHI [0060] discloses the heat-resistant layer called a porous film includes a polymer compound, and
the polymer compound includes polytetrafluoroethylene.
Regarding claim 3, DEGUCHI modified by JI discloses the secondary battery according to claim 1, wherein
DEGUCHI [0058] discloses the heat-resistant layer called a porous film includes an oxide in the form of an inorganic oxide, and
[0059] the oxide includes at least one of aluminum oxide called alumina.
Regarding claim 4, DEGUCHI modified by JI discloses the secondary battery according to claim 3, wherein
DEGUCHI [0060] discloses the heat-resistant layer called a porous film further includes a polymer compound that holds the oxide, and
the polymer compound includes polytetrafluoroethylene.
Regarding claim 5, DEGUCHI modified by JI discloses the secondary battery according to claim 1, wherein DEGUCHI [0115] discloses in example 2 the heat-resistant layer called a porous film is provided on the separator.
Regarding claims 6, 7 and 12, DEGUCHI modified by JI discloses the secondary battery according to claim 1, wherein DEGUCHI [0025] discloses the electrolyte salt includes a light metal ion as a cation. In this case a lithium salt which also reads on claim 7 and claim 12 making it a lithium-ion battery.
Regarding claim 8, DEGUCHI modified by JI discloses the secondary battery according to claim 1,
DEGUCHI does not explicitly disclose wherein a content of the electrolyte salt in the electrolytic solution is greater than or equal to 0.2 moles per kilogram and less than or equal to 2 moles per kilogram.
DEGUCHI [0051] discloses “The concentration of the lithium salt in the non-aqueous electrolyte is, for example, 0.7 to 3 mol/L.”
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have used 0.2 moles per kilogram and less than or equal to 2 moles per kilogram as the claimed range.
Regarding claims 9 and 11, DEGUCHI modified by JI discloses the secondary battery according to claim 1, wherein
[0003] the electrolytic solution further includes lithium hexafluorophosphate, which also reads on the limitation of claim 11,
DEGUCHI does not specifically disclose an example of lithium hexafluorophosphate in the electrolyte salt that includes a cation and the imide anion,
JI [0112] discloses the lithium hexafluorophosphate includes a lithium ion and a hexafluorophosphate ion,
JI does not explicitly discloses a sum of a content of the cation in the electrolytic solution and a content of the lithium ion in the electrolytic solution is greater than or equal to 0.7 moles per kilogram and less than or equal to 2.2 moles per kilogram, and
a ratio of a number of moles of the hexafluorophosphate ion in the electrolytic solution to a number of moles of the imide anion in the electrolytic solution is greater than or equal to 13 mole percent and less than or equal to 6000 mole percent.
JI [0112] discloses the electrolyte can have a salt concentration of about 1 moles/L (M). In other embodiments, the salt concentration can be higher than 1 M; in further embodiments, the salt concentration can be higher than 1.2M.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have used 0.7 moles per kilogram and less than or equal to 2.2 moles per kilogram as the claimed range and a ratio of a number of moles of the hexafluorophosphate ion in the electrolytic solution to a number of moles of the imide anion in the electrolytic solution is greater than or equal to 13 mole percent and less than or equal to 6000 mole percent.
Regarding claim 10, DEGUCHI modified by JI discloses the secondary battery according to claim 1, wherein DEGUCHI [0046] the electrolytic solution further includes an unsaturated cyclic carbonic acid ester in the form of propylene carbonate (PC).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20220123368 A1, LIANG et al.
LAWRENCE LA RAIA III
Examiner
Art Unit 1727
/L.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727