DETAILED ACTION
Final
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-20 are rejected below.
Double Patenting
Claims 10 and 17 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 9 of U.S. Patent No. 9,889,257. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant applicant is a broader version of the patented claims.
Current claims
Patent 9,889,257
Claim 10 - A system comprising: one or more processors; and one or more processor-readable storage media storing instructions which, when executed by one or more processors, cause performance of: receiving, at an intermediate device from a remote device, a request to initiate a first communication session; responsive to receiving the request, establishing a second communication session between the intermediate device and a medical device; responsive to establishing the second communication session, automatically transmitting, by the intermediate device to the remote device, an acknowledgement that establishes the first communication session between the intermediate device and the remote device;
and streaming updated control parameters to the medical device via the second communication session.
Claim 17 - wherein the intermediate device and the medical device communicate via a peer-to-peer communication session.
Claim 1 …autonomously initiate establishment of a first peer-to-peer communication session with the intermediate device over the second communications network by transmitting a connection request to the intermediate device via the second communications network, and automatically transmit the updated control information to the intermediate device via the first peer-to-peer communication session in response to receiving an acknowledgment from the intermediate device in response to establishing a second peer-to-peer communication session with the medical device over the first communications network.
Claim 9 - wherein the intermediate device streams the updated control information from the remote device via the first peer-to-peer communication session to the medical device via the second peer-to-peer communication session.
Claims 1, 8-9, 10, and 17-18 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 12-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,033,737. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant applicant is a broader version of the patented claims.
Current claims
U.S. Pat. 12,033,737
Claim 1. A method comprising: receiving, at an intermediate device from a remote device, a request to initiate a first communication session; responsive to receiving the request, establishing a second communication session between the intermediate device and a medical device; responsive to establishing the second communication session, automatically transmitting, by the intermediate device to the remote device, an acknowledgement that establishes the first communication session between the intermediate device and the remote device; and streaming updated control parameters to the medical device via the second communication session.
Claim 12. A processor-implemented method, the method comprising: receiving an acknowledgement from the intermediate device that a communication session has been established between the intermediate device and a monitoring device, wherein the intermediate device automatically provides the acknowledgement responsive to a second communication session being established between the intermediate device and the medical device; and in response to receiving the acknowledgement from the intermediate device. Naturally, when creating a session an initiating must occur.
8. The method of claim 1, wherein the intermediate device and the medical device communicate via a peer-to-peer communication session.
13. The method of claim 12, wherein the intermediate device and the medical device communicate via a peer-to-peer communication session.
9. The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from the remote device, a request to terminate the first communication session; transmitting, to the remote device, a confirmation indicating that the first communication session will be terminated; and terminating the first communication session.
14. The method of claim 12, wherein streaming the updated control information to the medical device based on communicating the updated control information to the intermediate device comprises: establishing a first communication session with the intermediate device; transmitting, via the first communication session, the updated control information to the intermediate device for the automatic retransmission to the medical device; and after transmitting the updated control information, terminating the first communication session with the intermediate device.
10. - A system comprising: one or more processors; and one or more processor-readable storage media storing instructions which, when executed by one or more processors, cause performance of: receiving, at an intermediate device from a remote device, a request to initiate a first communication session; responsive to receiving the request, establishing a second communication session between the intermediate device and a medical device; responsive to establishing the second communication session, automatically transmitting, by the intermediate device to the remote device, an acknowledgement that establishes the first communication session between the intermediate device and the remote device;
and streaming updated control parameters to the medical device via the second communication session.
1. A system comprising: one or more processors; and one or more processor-readable storage media storing instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause performance of: receiving an acknowledgement from the intermediate device that a communication session has been established between the intermediate device and a monitoring device, wherein the intermediate device automatically provides the acknowledgement responsive to a second communication session being established between the intermediate device and the medical device; and in response to receiving the acknowledgement from the intermediate device,
streaming the updated control information to the medical device based on communicating the updated control information to the intermediate device
17. - wherein the intermediate device and the medical device communicate via a peer-to-peer communication session.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the intermediate device and the medical device communicate via a peer-to-peer communication session.
18. The system of claim 10, wherein the instructions further cause performance of: receiving, from the remote device, a request to terminate the first communication session; transmitting, to the remote device, a confirmation indicating that the first communication session will be terminated; and terminating the first communication session.
3. The system of claim 1, wherein streaming the updated control information to the medical device based on communicating the updated control information to the intermediate device comprises: establishing a first communication session with the intermediate device; transmitting, via the first communication session, the updated control information to the intermediate device for the automatic retransmission to the medical device; and after transmitting the updated control information, terminating the first communication session with the intermediate device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-14, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lalonde U.S. PG Pub 2009/0058635 in view of Soliman (U.S. PG Pub. 2009/0146822).
As to claims 1, 10 and 19 Lalonde teaches a method comprising: receiving, at an intermediate device (element 14) from a remote device (element 18), a request to initiate a first communication session; responsive to receiving the request[0129 Operationally, the APM server 16A may direct a command to the PPC 14 via an SMS-based command 300. If the APM server 16A was in fact the source of the SMS message, it enters a wait state 302 or otherwise notes that it has initiated the message], establishing a second communication session between the intermediate device and a medical device[ 0127, 0128 As described above, commands may be sent from the APM server 16A to the PPC 14 using messaging services supported by the mobile network 20 infrastructure. One embodiment of the invention involves using Short Message Service (SMS) or "text messages" to direct commands to the PPC 14 for ultimate delivery to the PIMD 13. Such a handshaking embodiment enables the PPC 14 to verify that the command originated at an APM server 16A or other authorized source before forwarding the command to the PIMD 13.]; responsive to establishing the second communication session, automatically transmitting, by the intermediate device to the remote device, an acknowledgement that establishes the first communication session between the intermediate device and the remote device [0130 When the ACK 308 arrives at the APM server 16A, it verifies 310 that it was in a wait state, waiting to receive an ACK message from the PPC 14. If it was not, it can be assumed that the SMS message received at the PPC 14 was not issued by the APM server 16A, and the APM server 16A can notify the PPC 14 as such.]; and updated control parameters to the medical device via the second communication session [0087 Generation of these command signals may result from programmed instructions residing in a memory of the PPC 14 or the medical device, execution of which may be triggered by the PPC 14, medical device or remote server. The programmed instructions may be modified by the physician, typically via the remote server or by an interface to the PPC 14 or medical device,].
Lalonde teaches most of the claimed invention, but fail to teach all of the invention. It is noted that Lalonde does teach that steaming is possible [0174, 0185, 0277], however, this stream s not commands, however, this is an obvious variation as taught by Soliman.
As to claim 1, Soliman teaches streaming parameters to a medical device [0285].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to include the teachings of Soliman unto the system and methods of Lalonde. The motivation to combine is that Soliman teaches that stream data can allow a life saving event to occur when necessary [0285].
As to claims 2, and 11, Lalonde teaches further comprising, receiving, from the medical device and via the second communication session, measurement data [0277].
As to claims 3, and 12, Lalonde teaches wherein the measurement data comprises data obtained from a sensing arrangement configured to obtain glucose measurement values[0151].
As to claims 4, and 13, Lalonde teaches further comprising transmitting, from the intermediate device to the remote device via the first communication session, the measurement data [0174].
As to claims 5, and 14, Lalonde teaches wherein transmitting the measurement data to the remote device occurs automatically responsive to receiving the measurement data from the medical device [0174 – streaming].
As to claims 7, and 16, Lalonde teaches wherein the medical device and the remote device communicate using different types of communication networks, and wherein the intermediate device is configured to serve as an interface between the medical device and the remote device[0074, 0213, 0080].
As to claims 8, and 17, Lalonde teaches wherein establishing the second communication session comprises initiating by the intermediate device a peer-to-peer communication session between the intermediate device and the medical device[0097, 0217, 0126-128].
As to claims 9, and 18, Lalonde teaches further comprising: receiving, from the remote device, a request to terminate the first communication session[0410]; transmitting, to the remote device, a confirmation indicating that the first communication session will be terminated; and terminating the first communication session[0410].
As to claim 20 Lalonde teaches wherein the measurement data is indicative of a physiological condition of a patient using the medical device and/or the delivery data is indicative of medical treatment delivered by the medical device and is obtained at the intermediate device from the medical device via the second communication session. [0073, 0114].
Claim(s) 6 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lalonde U.S. PG Pub 2009/0058635 in view of Soliman (U.S. PG Pub. 2009/0146822) in view of Lee (U.S. PG Pub. 2012/0323170).
Lalonde teaches most of the claimed invention, but fail to teach all of the invention, but does not teach the limitations of claims 6 and 15, however, this is an obvious variation as taught by Lee.
As to claims 6, and 15, Lee teaches further comprising transmitting, from the intermediate device to the remote device via the first communication session, delivery data indicating amounts and/or timing of fluid delivered by the medical device[0040, 0041, 0055].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to include the teachings of Lee unto the system and methods of Lalonde modified by Soliman. The motivation to combine is that Lee teaches that measurement such as flow rate include, for example, problems detected in the delivery of the drug, for example, by sensors 42 described above with respect to FIG. 1, the activation of alarm conditions or the like [0055].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4-10-26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 6, Applicant argues that claim 10 is not properly rejected because the intermediate device is receiving a request, while in the patent case the remote device is sending the request. This seems to be the same thing. In the current claims the intermediate device is receiving a request and in the patented claims the remote device is establishing a session by sending a request to an intermediate device. As to the arguments on page 6-7 this seems to be similar in nature. Both claims state that the intermediate device is sending out the acknowledgement and that the remote device is the one receiving it. The remaining double patenting arguments do not seem to be directed to the patent that was cited for claims 1, 8-9, 10, and 17-18.
With regards to the arguments with respect to LaLonde, it is taught in [0126-0129] that handshaking can be used on the devices, therefore there would be an acknowledgement that the second session was established even if it is not shown in fig. 3. This handshaking would obviously have to occur based on the session request as shown in the paragraphs cited above. Claim 19 seems to have similar arguments. It is noted that “delivery data” has no meaning and therefore can be any data that is sent between elements 13, 14 and 18. As to the arguments with regards to 3 and 12, the medical device can be seen to provide measurements in paragraph [0071-0073] that is sent to element 18 for storage. Therefore, the combination teaches all the limitations as written.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATHAN L LAUGHLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2119