Detailed Action
The following action is in response to the communication(s) received on 06/04/2024.
As of the claims filed 06/04/2024:
Claims 1-7 are pending.
Claim 1 is an independent claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/04/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1: “a pre-trained feature extractor configured to…”;
“a debiasing network configured to…”;
Claim 2: “an updating unit configured to…”
Claim 4: “a weighting unit configured to…”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1 recites A system, thus a machine, one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter (Step 1). However, Claim 1 further recites:
extract a basic feature from the received data, wherein the extracted basic feature allows classification of the received input data, which is an evaluation or judgement that can be performed in the human mind;
extract a debiased feature therefrom, which is an evaluation or judgement that can be performed in the human mind;
classify the debiased feature, which is an evaluation or judgement that can be performed in the human mind;
wherein the debiasing network has an input dimensionality corresponding to the basic feature and an output dimensionality that is equal to the input dimensionality, which is an evaluation or judgement that can be performed in the human mind.
Thus, the claim recites an abstract idea under Step 2A Prong 1.Under Step 2A Prong 2, the claim recites:
a pre-trained feature extractor configured to, as the performance of an abstract idea on a computer is not more than instructions to 'apply it' on a computer, which by MPEP 2106.05(f) cannot integrate an abstract idea into a practical application;
a debiasing network configured to, as the performance of an abstract idea on a computer is not more than instructions to 'apply it' on a computer, which by MPEP 2106.05(f) cannot integrate an abstract idea into a practical application;
receive the basic feature as an input, which is merely an insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering, which by MPEP 2106.05(g) cannot integrate an abstract idea into a practical application;
and a classifier configured to, as the performance of an abstract idea on a computer is not more than instructions to 'apply it' on a computer, which by MPEP 2106.05(f) cannot integrate an abstract idea into a practical application;
and to output a classification result, which is merely an insignificant extra-solution activity of data output, which by MPEP 2106.05(g) cannot integrate an abstract idea into a practical application.
Thus, the claim is directed towards an abstract idea.
Further, the additional element(s), alone or in combination, do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself, because the activity of data gathering (MPEP 2106.05(g)) cannot provide significantly more, as storing and retrieving information in memory is well understood, routine, and conventional (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)); the activity of data output (MPEP 2106.05(g)) cannot provide significantly more, as receiving or transmitting data over a network is well understood, routine, and conventional (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i), buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc); implementation on a computer (MPEP 2106.05(f)) cannot provide significantly more. The combination of these additional elements does not provide an inventive concept; thus, the claim remains ineligible.
Claim 2, dependent on 1, further recite. no additional abstract ideas. However: Under Step 2A Prong 2, the claim recites:
an updating unit configured to train the debiasing network based on the basic feature of the pre-trained feature extractor, the debiased feature of the debiasing network, and an expected result of the classifier, as the performance of an abstract idea on a computer is not more than instructions to 'apply it' on a computer, which by MPEP 2106.05(f) cannot integrate an abstract idea into a practical application.
Thus, the claim is directed towards an abstract idea.
Further, the additional element(s), alone or in combination, do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself, because implementation on a computer (MPEP 2106.05(f)) cannot provide significantly more. The combination of these additional elements does not provide an inventive concept; thus, the claim remains ineligible.
Claim 3, dependent on 1, further recites
remove a bias between the basic feature and the debiased feature by subtraction, which is a mathematical concept.
Thus, the claim recites an abstract idea under Step 2A Prong 1.Under Step 2A Prong 2, the claim recites:
the debiasing network is trained to, as the performance of an abstract idea on a computer is not more than instructions to 'apply it' on a computer, which by MPEP 2106.05(f) cannot integrate an abstract idea into a practical application.
Thus, the claim is directed towards an abstract idea.
Further, the additional element(s), alone or in combination, do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself, because implementation on a computer (MPEP 2106.05(f)) cannot provide significantly more. The combination of these additional elements does not provide an inventive concept; thus, the claim remains ineligible.
Claim 4, dependent on 1, further recites
a weighting unit configured to weight the output of the debiasing network, which is an evaluation or judgement that can be performed in the human mind.
Thus, the claim recites an abstract idea under Step 2A Prong 1.Under Step 2A Prong 2, the claim recites no additional elements which could integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself; thus, the claim remains ineligible.
Claim 5, dependent on 1, further recite. no additional abstract ideas. However: Under Step 2A Prong 2, the claim recites:
the debiasing network comprises one or more batch normalisation layers, and/or one or more rectified linear unit function layers, and/or one or more fully connected layers, or wherein the debiasing network comprises an autoencoder, as the performance of an abstract idea on a computer is not more than instructions to 'apply it' on a computer, which by MPEP 2106.05(f) cannot integrate an abstract idea into a practical application.
Thus, the claim is directed towards an abstract idea.
Further, the additional element(s), alone or in combination, do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself, because implementation on a computer (MPEP 2106.05(f)) cannot provide significantly more. The combination of these additional elements does not provide an inventive concept; thus, the claim remains ineligible.
Claim 6, dependent on 1, further recites
extracts the basic feature therefrom, which is an evaluation or judgement that can be performed in the human mind.
Thus, the claim recites an abstract idea under Step 2A Prong 1.Under Step 2A Prong 2, the claim recites:
A vehicle, comprising..., which merely specifies the particular field of use or particular technological environment in which the abstract idea is to be performed, which by MPEP 2106.05(h) cannot integrate the abstract idea into a practical application;
at least one sensor configured to output sensor data, which is merely an insignificant extra-solution activity of data transfer, which by MPEP 2106.05(g) cannot integrate an abstract idea into a practical application;
the pre-trained feature extractor of the system, as the performance of an abstract idea on a computer is not more than instructions to 'apply it' on a computer, which by MPEP 2106.05(f) cannot integrate an abstract idea into a practical application;
receives the output sensor data, which is merely an insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering, which by MPEP 2106.05(g) cannot integrate an abstract idea into a practical application.
Thus, the claim is directed towards an abstract idea.
Further, the additional element(s), alone or in combination, do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself, because the activity of data gathering (MPEP 2106.05(g)) cannot provide significantly more, as storing and retrieving information in memory is well understood, routine, and conventional (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)); the activity of data transfer (MPEP 2106.05(g)) cannot provide significantly more, as receiving or transmitting data over a network is well understood, routine, and conventional (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i), buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc); the particular field of use or particular technological environment (MPEP 2106.05(h)) cannot provide significantly more; implementation on a computer (MPEP 2106.05(f)) cannot provide significantly more. The combination of these additional elements does not provide an inventive concept; thus, the claim remains ineligible.
Claim 7, dependent on 6, further recite. no additional abstract ideas. However: Under Step 2A Prong 2, the claim recites:
the system is implemented on an engine control unit or an infotainment system of the vehicle, which merely specifies the particular field of use or particular technological environment in which the abstract idea is to be performed, which by MPEP 2106.05(h) cannot integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Thus, the claim is directed towards an abstract idea.
Further, the additional element(s), alone or in combination, do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself, because the particular field of use or particular technological environment (MPEP 2106.05(h)) cannot provide significantly more. The combination of these additional elements does not provide an inventive concept; thus, the claim remains ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gong et al., "Jointly De-biasing Face Recognition and Demographic Attribute Estimation" (hereinafter Gong).
Regarding Claim 1, Gong teaches:
A system for refining feature extraction, the system comprising: a pre-trained feature extractor configured to receive input data and extract a basic feature from the received data, wherein the extracted basic feature allows classification of the received input data; (Gong [p.6 fig.2]
[p.6 ¶2] Figure 2 gives an overview of the proposed DebFace network. It consists of four components: the shared image-to-feature encoder EImg, the four attribute classifiers (including gender CG, age CA, race CR, and identity CID), the distribution classifier CDistr, and the feature aggregation network EFeat. We assume access to N labeled training samples {(x(i),y(i) g ,y(i) a ,y(i) id )}N i=1. Our approach takes an image x(i) as the input of EImg. The encoder projects r ,y(i) x(i) to its feature representation EImg(x(i)). The feature representation is then decoupled into four D-dimensional feature vectors, gender f(i) g , age f(i) race f(i) r , and identity f(i) a , ID, respectively.) (Note: each D-dimensional feature vectors corresponds to each extracted basic feature)
a debiasing network configured to receive the basic feature as an input and to extract a debiased feature therefrom; (Gong [p.6 ¶2] Next, each attribute classifier op erates the corresponding feature vector to correctly classify the target at tribute by optimizing parameters of both EImg and the respective classifier C∗. For a demographic attribute with K categories, the learning objec tive LCDemo (x,yDemo;EImg,CDemo) is the standard cross entropy loss function. For the n−identity classification, we adopt AM-Softmax [54] as the ob jective function LCID (x,yid;EImg,CID). To de-bias all of the feature representations, adversarial loss LAdv(x,yDemo,yid;EImg,CDemo,CID) is applied to the above four classifiers such that each of them will not be able to predict correct labels when operating irrelevant feature vectors. Specifically, given a classifier, the remaining three attribute feature vectors are imposed on it and attempt to mislead the classifier by only optimizing the parameters of EImg.
[p.7 last ¶] We introduce the adversarial loss as a means to learn a representation that is invariant in terms of certain attributes, where a classifier trained on it cannot correctly classify those attributes using that representation. We take one of the attributes, e.g., gender, as an example to illustrate the adversarial objective…
[p.8 ¶1] Hence, we train the classifier to predict the probability distribution as close as possible to a uniform distribution over the category space by minimizing the cross entropy:
where KG is the number of categories in gender 2, and the ground-truth label is no longer an one-hot vector, but a KG-dimensional vector with all elements being 1 KG . The above loss function corresponds to the dash lines in Fig. 2. It strives for gender-invariance by finding a representation that makes the gender classifier CG perform poorly. We minimize the adversarial loss by only updating parameters in EImg.) (Note: the learning a representation that makes the decoupled feature vector perform poorly to achieve invariance corresponds to extracting a debiased feature therefrom)
and a classifier configured to classify the debiased feature and to output a classification result, (Gong [p.9 ¶3] We compare DebFace-ID with a regular face representation model which has the same architecture as the shared feature encoder of DebFace. Referred to as BaseFace, this baseline model is also trained on MS-Celeb-1M, with the representation dimension of 512.
[p.12 last ¶] Given demographic labels, the face features are fed into a two-layer fully-connected network, learning to classify one of the demographic attributes.
[p.13 table 2]
) (Note: the BaseFace having the same architecture as DebFace corresponds to the input dimensionality corresponding to the basic feature)
wherein the debiasing network has an input dimensionality corresponding to the basic feature and an output dimensionality that is equal to the input dimensionality. (Gong [p.9 ¶2] The disentangled features of gender, race, and identity are concatenated into a 3 ×512-dim vector, which inputs to EFeat. The network is then trained to output a 512-dim representation for face recognition on biased datasets
[p.9 ¶3] We compare DebFace-ID with a regular face representation model which has the same architecture as the shared feature encoder of DebFace. Referred to as BaseFace, this baseline model is also trained on MS-Celeb-1M, with the representation dimension of 512.
[p.12 fig.1]
) (Note: BaseFace sharing the same architecture as the feature encoder of DebFace corresponds to the debiasing network (DebFace) having an input dimensionality (for the face and demographic representations) corresponding to the basic feature (regular encoding used by BaseFace))
Regarding Claim 2, Gong respectively teaches and incorporates the claimed limitations and rejections of Claim 1. Gong further teaches:
The system of claim 1, further comprising: an updating unit configured to train the debiasing network based on the basic feature of the pre-trained feature extractor, the debiased feature of the debiasing network, and an expected result of the classifier. (Gong [p.8 ¶1] Hence, we train the classifier to predict the probability distribution as close as possible to a uniform distribution over the category space by minimizing the cross entropy:
where KG is the number of categories in gender 2, and the ground-truth label is no longer an one-hot vector, but a KG-dimensional vector with all elements being 1 KG . The above loss function corresponds to the dash lines in Fig. 2. It strives for gender-invariance by finding a representation that makes the gender classifier CG perform poorly. We minimize the adversarial loss by only updating parameters in EImg.) (Note: the learning a representation that makes the decoupled feature vector perform poorly to achieve invariance corresponds to the expected result of the classifier)
Regarding Claim 3, Gong respectively teaches and incorporates the claimed limitations and rejections of Claim 1. Gong further teaches:
The system of claim 1, wherein the debiasing network is trained to remove a bias between the basic feature and the debiased feature by subtraction. (Gong [p.8 ¶1] Hence, we train the classifier to predict the probability distribution as close as possible to a uniform distribution over the category space by minimizing the cross entropy:
where KG is the number of categories in gender 2, and the ground-truth label is no longer an one-hot vector, but a KG-dimensional vector with all elements being 1 KG . The above loss function corresponds to the dash lines in Fig. 2. It strives for gender-invariance by finding a representation that makes the gender classifier CG perform poorly. We minimize the adversarial loss by only updating parameters in EImg.) (Note: the negative summation applied to the representation corresponds to the subtraction to remove bias between the basic feature and the debiased feature)
Regarding Claim 4, Gong respectively teaches and incorporates the claimed limitations and rejections of Claim 1. Gong further teaches:
The system of claim 1, further comprising: a weighting unit configured to weight the output of the debiasing network. (Gong [p.9 ¶2] We predict the demographic labels of MS-Celeb-1M with the well-trained demographic models. Our DebFace is then trained on the re-labeled MS-Celeb 1M using SGD with a momentum of 0.9, a weight decay of 0.01, and a batch size of 256.) (Note: weight decay applied to the DebFace corresponds to the weighting unit applied to the whole network (thus including the output) of the debiasing network)
Regarding Claim 5, Gong respectively teaches and incorporates the claimed limitations and rejections of Claim 1. Gong further teaches:
The system of claim 1, wherein the debiasing network comprises one or more batch normalisation layers, and/or one or more rectified linear unit function layers, and/or one or more fully connected layers, or wherein the debiasing network comprises an autoencoder. (Gong [p.9 ¶2] Our DebFace is then trained on the re-labeled MS-Celeb 1M using SGD with a momentum of 0.9, a weight decay of 0.01, and a batch size of 256. The learning rate starts from 0.1 and drops to 0.0001 following the schedule at 8, 13, and 15 epochs. The dimensionality of the embedding layer of EImg is 4 ×512, i.e., each attribute representation (gender, age, race, ID) is a 512-dim vector. We keep the hyper-parameter setting of AM-Softmax as [14]: s = 64 and m = 0.5. The feature aggregation network EFeat comprises of two linear residual units with P-ReLU and BatchNorm in between.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gong, in view of Derman et al., "Continuous Real-Time Vehicle Driver Authentication Using Convolutional Neural Network Based Face Recognition" (hereinafter Derman).
Regarding Claim 6, Gong respectively teaches and incorporates the claimed limitations and rejections of Claim 1. Gong does not teach, but Derman further teaches:
A vehicle, comprising: at least one sensor configured to output sensor data; and a system for refining feature extraction according to claim 1, wherein the pre-trained feature extractor of the system receives the output sensor data and extracts the basic feature therefrom. (Derman [p.2 fig. 1]
[p.2 §III. ¶1] The main flowchart of our proposed framework is described in Figure 1. We first acquire the driver’s image using an in-vehicle camera, and send it to further processing, including face detection, feature extraction and classification.)
Derman and Gong are analogous to the present invention because both are from the same field of endeavor of debiasing methods using neural networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the vehicle and camera system from Derman into Gong’s debiasing network. The motivation would be to “Continuous driver authentication is useful in the prevention of car thefts, fraudulent switching of designated drivers, and driving beyond a designated amount of time for a single driver.” (Derman, abstract).
Regarding Claim 7, Gong/Derman respectively teaches and incorporates the claimed limitations and rejections of Claim 6. Derman, via Gong/Derman, further teaches:
The vehicle of claim 6, wherein the system is implemented on an engine control unit or an infotainment system of the vehicle. (Derman [p.2 fig. 1]
[p.2 §III. ¶1] The main flowchart of our proposed framework is described in Figure 1. We first acquire the driver’s image using an in-vehicle camera, and send it to further processing, including face detection, feature extraction and classification.) (Note: the vehicle corresponds to the engine control unit)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Amini et al., "Variational Autoencoder for End-to-End Control of Autonomous Driving with Novelty Detection and Training De-biasing", which teaches an autoencoder for de-biasing training data in an autonomous vehicle.
/J.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2122
/MICHAEL H HOANG/PRIMARY EXAMINER, Art Unit 2122