DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the third middle tube portion outer diameter that is less than the second middle tube portion outer diameter, as set forth in claim 8, lines 11-15, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84(h) and 37 CFR 1.84(u) because each of Figures 4-8 includes multiple views under a single label, and therefore the views are not “clearly separated from one another”. Further, “[t]he different views must be numbered in consecutive Arabic numerals”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2,613,060 (Trahan).
Regarding claim 1, Trahan discloses a telescopic tube assembly (see Figures 7 and 8), comprising:
an outer tube (17a; see annotated Figure 1 below) including:
opposing first and second outer tube ends (see annotated Figure 1 below);
a first outer tube portion disposed proximal to the first outer tube end and having a first outer tube portion inner diameter (see annotated Figure 1 below); and
a second outer tube portion having a second outer tube portion inner diameter (see annotated Figure 1 below) that is greater than the first outer tube portion inner diameter, wherein a transition between the first and second outer tube portion inner diameters forms an outer tube stop (32); and
an inner tube (17a; see annotated Figure 2 below) telescopically disposed in the outer tube (see and including:
Figure 1. Annotated Figure 7 of Trahan
Figure 2. Annotated Figure 7 of Trahan
opposing first and second inner tube ends (see annotated Figure 2 above), wherein the first inner tube end is telescopically extendable out of the first outer tube end (see Figure 7);
a first inner tube portion extending to the first inner tube end and having a first inner tube portion outer diameter (see annotated Figure 2 above); and
a second inner tube portion disposed proximal to the second inner tube end and having a second inner tube portion outer diameter (see annotated Figure 2 above) that is greater than the first inner tube portion outer diameter, wherein a transition between the first and second inner tube portion outer diameters forms an inner tube stop (32) that is adapted to abut the outer tube stop (see column 4, line 54, through column 5, line 11).
Regarding claim 2, Trahan discloses the outer tube (17; see annotated Figure 1 above) further includes an inwardly extending protrusion (31) extending longitudinally along at least a portion of an interior surface of the second outer tube portion (see Figures 7 and 8, and column 4, lines 60-72).
Regarding claim 3, Trahan discloses the inner tube (17a; see annotated Figure 2 above) further includes a groove (30) adapted to correspondingly receive the protrusion and restrict relative rotation of the inner and outer tubes (see Figures 7 and 8, and column 4, lines 60-72).
Regarding claim 4, Trahan discloses the groove (30) extends longitudinally along at least a portion of an exterior surface of the second inner tube portion (see Figures 7 and 8, and column 4, lines 60-72).
Regarding claim 5, Trahan discloses the protrusion (31) includes a number of protrusions (see Figures 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 6, Trahan discloses the groove (30) includes a number of grooves corresponding to the number of protrusions (31; see Figures 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 7, Trahan discloses the inner tube (17a; see annotated Figure 2 above) further includes an aperture (formed through the inner tube; see also annotated Figure 2 above) proximal to the first inner tube end, wherein the aperture is adapted to receive a pin (10) of an accessory to couple the accessory to the inner tube (see Figures 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 8, Trahan discloses a telescopic tube assembly (see Figures 7 and 8), comprising:
an outer tube (17a, third tube from the top of Figure 7; see annotated Figure 1 above, wherein although the second tube from the top of Figure 7 is annotated, the same structure is present on the third tube);
a middle tube (17a, second tube from the top of Figure 7; see annotated Figure 3 below, wherein a full segment 17a has been annotated for the structure of the middle tube for the sake of clarity, given the cutoff in Figure 7) telescopically disposed in the outer tube (see Figures 7 and 8); and
an inner tube (17a, top of Figure 7; see annotated Figure 2 above) telescopically disposed in the middle tube (see Figures 7 and 8),
wherein the middle tube includes:
opposing first and second tube ends (see annotated Figure 3 below);
a first middle tube portion disposed proximal to the first middle tube end and including a first middle tube portion inner diameter (see annotated Figure 3 below);
a second middle tube portion disposed proximal to the second middle tube end and include a second middle tube portion outer diameter (see annotated Figure 3 below); and
a third middle tube portion disposed between the first and second middle tube portions and including a third middle tube portion inner diameter that is greater than the first middle tube portion inner diameter, and a third middle tube portion outer diameter that is less than the second middle tube portion outer diameter (see annotated Figure 3 below).
Figure 3. Annotated Partial Figure 7 of Trahan
Regarding claim 9, Trahan discloses the outer tube (17a; see annotated Figure 1 above) includes opposing first and second outer tube ends, a first outer tube portion disposed proximal to the first outer tube end and having a first outer tube portion inner diameter, and a second outer tube portion having a second outer tube portion inner diameter that is greater than the first outer tube portion inner diameter (see annotated Figure 1 above).
Regarding claim 10, Trahan discloses the inner tube (17a; see annotated Figure 2 above) includes opposing first and second inner tube ends, a first inner tube portion extending to the first inner tube end and having a first inner tube portion outer diameter, and a second inner tube portion disposed proximal to the second inner tube end and having a second inner tube portion outer diameter that is greater than the first inner tube portion outer diameter (see annotated Figure 2 above).
Regarding claim 11, Trahan discloses the middle tube (17a; see annotated Figure 3 above) further includes an inwardly extending protrusion (31) extending longitudinally along at least a portion of an interior surface of the second and third middle tube portions (see Figures 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 12, Trahan discloses the inner tube (17a; see annotated Figure 2 above) further includes a groove (30) adapted to receive the protrusion (31) and restrict rotation of the inner and middle tubes (17a; see annotated Figure 3 above) with respect to each other (see Figures 7 and 8, and column 4, lines 60-72).
Regarding claim 13, Trahan discloses the protrusion (31) includes a number of protrusions (see Figures 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 14, Trahan discloses the groove (30) includes a number of grooves corresponding to the number of protrusions (31; see Figures 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 15, Trahan discloses the outer tube (17; see annotated Figure 1 above) includes an inwardly extending protrusion (31; see Figures 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 16, Trahan discloses the middle tube (17; see annotated Figure 3 above) further includes a groove (30) adapted to receive the protrusion (31) and restrict relative rotation of the outer and middle tubes (see Figures 7 and 8, and column 4, lines 60-72).
Regarding claim 17, Trahan discloses the protrusion (31) includes a number of protrusions (see Figures 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 18, Trahan discloses the groove (30) includes a number of grooves corresponding to the number of protrusions (31; see Figures 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 19, Trahan discloses the inner tube (17a; see annotated Figure 2 above) further includes an aperture (formed through the inner tube; see also annotated Figure 2 above) proximal to the first inner tube end, wherein the aperture is adapted to receive a pin (10) of an accessory to couple the accessory to the inner tube (see Figures 7 and 8).
Conclusion
The prior art set forth in the attached Notice of References Cited (PTO-892) made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Josh Skroupa/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
February 26, 2026