CTNF 18/732,926 CTNF 87151 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION This action is responsive to the following communication: CIP filed Jun. 4, 2023. Claims 1-20 are pending in the case. Claims 1, 9 and 15 are independent claims. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claims 1-13, 15-20 are reje cted under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frum kin et al. (hereinafter Frumkin) U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0089199 in view of MEHRA et al. (hereinafter MEHRA) U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0296602. With respect to independent claim 1 , Frumkin teaches a computing system, the system comprising: one or more processors; and one or more non-transitory computer-readable media that collectively store instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing system to perform operations (see e.g., Fig. 7 Para [108]- “Computing device 700 includes a processor 702 , memory 704 , a storage device 706 , a high-speed interface 708 connecting to memory 704 and high-speed expansion ports 710 , and a low speed interface 712 connecting to low speed bus 714 and storage device 706 . Each of the components 702 , 704 , 706 , 708 , 710 , and 712 , are interconnected using various busses, and may be mounted on a common motherboard or in other manners as appropriate.”) , the operations comprising: providing a graphical user interface, wherein the graphical user interface comprises a graphical window for displaying a web page, wherein the web page comprises a plurality of content items (see e.g., Para [64]- “a user navigating various web pages and clipping pieces of content from each of the web pages. As described below, the clipped content may then be pasted or dropped (in various manners—both manual and automatic) into web notebooks. Though shown as web pages 514 a - 514 g, the documents may take the form of any appropriate network-accessible document, such as other documents authored in a mark up language.”) ; receiving, by the computing system, gesture data, wherein the gesture data is descriptive of a gesture associated with a portion of the web page (see e.g., Para [67]- “Such content may be captured in a variety of manners . For example, users may drag a mouse across content in a web page, in a well-known manner , or a computer system may default to selecting content with particular mark up tags (e.g., heading tags) and select that content automatically, or semi-automatically (e.g., selecting the content, but giving the user the right to approve the clipping of the content). For example, a notebook author may be an artist looking for pictorial inspiration, and may configure a notebook application to select only images for clipping to a notebook. ” The examiner notes that it is well-known in the art that user can use various gestures to interact with a computer interface.) ; determining the portion of the web page enclosed by the gesture; determining a selected content item based on the portion of the web page enclosed by the gesture (see e.g., Fig. 5 Para [67]- “figure represents content from the web pages 514 a - 514 g that has been captured by users of the system into notebooks 516 a - 516 d . The boxes are shown in a rectangular shape consistent with many standard approaches for content selection, although content may be selected in any appropriate manner by a user.”) ; and generating a snippet packet comprising a graphical card based on the selected content item, wherein the graphical card is selectable to automatically navigate to a location of the selected content item within the web page based on address data and location data associated with the portion of the web page (see e.g., Para [70]-[73]- “Information in addition to the clipped material may be added to notebooks 516 a - 516 d . For example, users may employ controls in a notebook development application to add headings, subheadings, comments, annotations and free-form text that they have prepared themselves to the notebook. Users may also add metadata to a notebook (e.g., the users may configure a web notebook to automatically add certain metadata, or the web notebook may add such metadata by default) … Metadata about particular entries in a notebook may also be stored. The metadata may include the URL from which the material was clipped, the time/date it was clipped, indicators of the amount of content in a web page before and after the content that is clipped”) , wherein the graphical card is generated by: determining an image is associated with the selected content item (see e.g., Para [67]-[77]- “a notebook author may be an artist looking for pictorial inspiration, and may configure a notebook application to select only images for clipping to a notebook. In such a situation, all images on a page may be selected and clipped whenever the user makes a clipping command; the user may then be given the option at that point to discard some figures, or may return to the notebook later and delete any figures they did not want clipped to the notebook.”) ; and generating a graphical card, wherein the graphical card comprises the image as a background, and wherein the graphical card comprises text associated with at least a subset of the selected content item and the image (see e.g., Para [65]-[68] - “Each dashed box in the figure represents content from the web pages 514 a - 514 g that has been captured by users of the system into notebooks 516 a - 516 d … A user creating notebook 516 b may have placed a portion (e.g., a menu and address) of the page in a notebook they have captioned “Italian Restaurants” and another user (of notebook 516 a ) may have placed another portion (e.g., a photo of a beautiful cannoli) on a “Food Fashion”-captioned notebook” Frumkin does not expressly show that image content can be represented as background and text/title/caption can be displayed on the image. However, MEHRA teaches the above feature (see e.g. Para [69] [88]). Both Frumkin and MEHRA are directed to. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention having Frumkin and MEHRA in front of them to modify the system of Frumkin to include the above feature. The motivation to combine Frumkin and MEHRA comes from MEHRA. MEHRA discloses the motivation to annotate input image so that user can visually link notes to portion of the image (see e.g. Para [2][3]). This motivation for combination also applies to the remaining claims which depend on this combination.) With respect to dependent claim 2 , the modified Frumkin teaches the gesture comprises a circular gesture that encloses the portion of the web page, wherein processing the gesture data to determine the selected content item comprises: determining the portion of the web page enclosed by the circular gesture; determining a focal point of the portion; and determining the selected content item is associated with the focal point of the portion ( see e.g., Fig. 5 Para [67]- “figure represents content from the web pages 514 a - 514 g that has been captured by users of the system into notebooks 516 a - 516 d . The boxes are shown in a rectangular shape consistent with many standard approaches for content selection, although content may be selected in any appropriate manner by a user .” The examiner notes that using a circular gesture to select content is well-known in the art. ). With respect to dependent claim 3 , the modified Frumkin teaches the gesture data is descriptive of a touch input to a touchscreen display of a mobile computing device ( see e.g., Fig. 5 Para [67]- “figure represents content from the web pages 514 a - 514 g that has been captured by users of the system into notebooks 516 a - 516 d . The boxes are shown in a rectangular shape consistent with many standard approaches for content selection, although content may be selected in any appropriate manner by a user .” ). With respect to dependent claim 4 , the modified Frumkin teaches the operations further comprise: storing the snippet packet in a snippet packet collection (see e.g., Para [5]-[10][27]-[32] – the notebook corresponds to the packet collection) . With respect to dependent claim 5 , the modified Frumkin teaches the graphical card further comprises: an entity thumbnail associated with the web page (see e.g., Fig. 5). With respect to dependent claim 6 , the modified Frumkin teaches the graphical card further comprises: a search query associated with a user accessing the web page (see e.g., MEHRA Para [69] and discussion above with respect to claim 1. The examiner notes that the annotation can be anything that user desires.) With respect to dependent claim 7 , the modified Frumkin teaches the graphical card further comprises: a title associated with at least one of the selected content item or the web page (see e.g., Para [65]-[69]) . With respect to dependent claim 8 , the modified Frumkin teaches the graphical card further comprises: a resource attribution (see e.g., Para [65]-[69]) . With respect to independent claim 9 , the modified Frumkin teaches a computer-implemented method, the method comprising: providing, a computing system comprising one or more processors, a graphical user interface, wherein the graphical user interface comprises a graphical window for displaying a web page, wherein the web page comprises a plurality of content items (see e.g., Para [64]- “a user navigating various web pages and clipping pieces of content from each of the web pages. As described below, the clipped content may then be pasted or dropped (in various manners—both manual and automatic) into web notebooks. Though shown as web pages 514 a - 514 g, the documents may take the form of any appropriate network-accessible document, such as other documents authored in a mark up language.”) ; receiving, by the computing system, gesture data, wherein the gesture data is descriptive of a gesture associated with a portion of the web page (see e.g., Para [67]- “Such content may be captured in a variety of manners . For example, users may drag a mouse across content in a web page, in a well-known manner , or a computer system may default to selecting content with particular mark up tags (e.g., heading tags) and select that content automatically, or semi-automatically (e.g., selecting the content, but giving the user the right to approve the clipping of the content). For example, a notebook author may be an artist looking for pictorial inspiration, and may configure a notebook application to select only images for clipping to a notebook. ” The examiner notes that it is well-known in the art that user can use various gestures to interact with a computer interface.) ; determining, by the computing system, the portion of the web page enclosed by the gesture; determining, by the computing system, a selected content item based on the portion of the web page enclosed by the gesture (see e.g., Fig. 5 Para [67]- “figure represents content from the web pages 514 a - 514 g that has been captured by users of the system into notebooks 516 a - 516 d . The boxes are shown in a rectangular shape consistent with many standard approaches for content selection, although content may be selected in any appropriate manner by a user.”) ; and generating, by the computing system, a snippet packet comprising a graphical card based on the selected content item, wherein the graphical card is selectable to automatically navigate to a location of the selected content item within the web page based on address data and location data associated with the portion of the web page (see e.g., Para [70]-[73]- “Information in addition to the clipped material may be added to notebooks 516 a - 516 d . For example, users may employ controls in a notebook development application to add headings, subheadings, comments, annotations and free-form text that they have prepared themselves to the notebook. Users may also add metadata to a notebook (e.g., the users may configure a web notebook to automatically add certain metadata, or the web notebook may add such metadata by default) … Metadata about particular entries in a notebook may also be stored. The metadata may include the URL from which the material was clipped, the time/date it was clipped, indicators of the amount of content in a web page before and after the content that is clipped”) , wherein the graphical card is generated by: determining, by the computing system, an image is associated with the selected content item (see e.g., Para [67]-[77]- “a notebook author may be an artist looking for pictorial inspiration, and may configure a notebook application to select only images for clipping to a notebook. In such a situation, all images on a page may be selected and clipped whenever the user makes a clipping command; the user may then be given the option at that point to discard some figures, or may return to the notebook later and delete any figures they did not want clipped to the notebook.”) ; and generating, by the computing system, a graphical card, wherein the graphical card comprises the image as a background, and wherein the graphical card comprises text associated with at least a subset of the selected content item and the image (see e.g., Para [65]-[68] - “Each dashed box in the figure represents content from the web pages 514 a - 514 g that has been captured by users of the system into notebooks 516 a - 516 d … A user creating notebook 516 b may have placed a portion (e.g., a menu and address) of the page in a notebook they have captioned “Italian Restaurants” and another user (of notebook 516 a ) may have placed another portion (e.g., a photo of a beautiful cannoli) on a “Food Fashion”-captioned notebook” Frumkin does not expressly show that image content can be represented as background and text/title/caption can be displayed on the image. However, MEHRA teaches the above feature (see e.g. Para [69] [88]). Both Frumkin and MEHRA are directed to. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention having Frumkin and MEHRA in front of them to modify the system of Frumkin to include the above feature. The motivation to combine Frumkin and MEHRA comes from MEHRA. MEHRA discloses the motivation to annotate input image so that user can visually link notes to portion of the image (see e.g. Para [2][3]). This motivation for combination also applies to the remaining claims which depend on this combination. ) With respect to dependent claim 10 , the modified Frumkin teaches generating a screenshot based on the gesture data; and wherein the snippet packet comprises the screenshot (see e.g., Para [65]-[69]) . With respect to dependent claim 11 , the modified Frumkin teaches generating a token based on the screenshot and used data associated with a user that provided the gesture (see e.g., Para [65]-[69] – the token corresponds to the note in the notebook) . With respect to dependent claim 12 , the modified Frumkin teaches the snippet packet comprises the token (see e.g., Para [65]-[69]) . With respect to dependent claim 13 , the modified Frumkin teaches the location data comprises a directive to search the web page for a set of data that matches the beginning and/or the end of the selected content item (see e.g., Para [70]-[73]- “Information in addition to the clipped material may be added to notebooks 516 a - 516 d . For example, users may employ controls in a notebook development application to add headings, subheadings, comments, annotations and free-form text that they have prepared themselves to the notebook. Users may also add metadata to a notebook (e.g., the users may configure a web notebook to automatically add certain metadata, or the web notebook may add such metadata by default) … Metadata about particular entries in a notebook may also be stored. The metadata may include the URL from which the material was clipped, the time/date it was clipped, indicators of the amount of content in a web page before and after the content that is clipped”) . With respect to independent claim 15 , the modified Frumkin teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable media that collectively store instructions that, when executed by one or more computing devices, cause the one or more computing devices to perform operations, the operations comprising: providing a graphical user interface, wherein the graphical user interface comprises a graphical window for displaying a web page, wherein the web page comprises a plurality of content items (see e.g., Para [64]- “a user navigating various web pages and clipping pieces of content from each of the web pages. As described below, the clipped content may then be pasted or dropped (in various manners—both manual and automatic) into web notebooks. Though shown as web pages 514 a - 514 g, the documents may take the form of any appropriate network-accessible document, such as other documents authored in a mark up language.”) ; receiving, by the computing system, gesture data, wherein the gesture data is descriptive of a gesture associated with a portion of the web page (see e.g., Para [67]- “Such content may be captured in a variety of manners . For example, users may drag a mouse across content in a web page, in a well-known manner , or a computer system may default to selecting content with particular mark up tags (e.g., heading tags) and select that content automatically, or semi-automatically (e.g., selecting the content, but giving the user the right to approve the clipping of the content). For example, a notebook author may be an artist looking for pictorial inspiration, and may configure a notebook application to select only images for clipping to a notebook. ” The examiner notes that it is well-known in the art that user can use various gestures to interact with a computer interface.) ; determining the portion of the web page enclosed by the gesture; determining a selected content item based on the portion of the web page enclosed by the gesture (see e.g., Fig. 5 Para [67]- “figure represents content from the web pages 514 a - 514 g that has been captured by users of the system into notebooks 516 a - 516 d . The boxes are shown in a rectangular shape consistent with many standard approaches for content selection, although content may be selected in any appropriate manner by a user.”) ; and generating a snippet packet comprising a graphical card based on the selected content item, wherein the graphical card is selectable to automatically navigate to a location of the selected content item within the web page based on address data and location data associated with the portion of the web page (see e.g., Para [70]-[73]- “Information in addition to the clipped material may be added to notebooks 516 a - 516 d . For example, users may employ controls in a notebook development application to add headings, subheadings, comments, annotations and free-form text that they have prepared themselves to the notebook. Users may also add metadata to a notebook (e.g., the users may configure a web notebook to automatically add certain metadata, or the web notebook may add such metadata by default) … Metadata about particular entries in a notebook may also be stored. The metadata may include the URL from which the material was clipped, the time/date it was clipped, indicators of the amount of content in a web page before and after the content that is clipped”) , wherein the graphical card is generated by: determining an image is associated with the selected content item (see e.g., Para [67]-[77]- “a notebook author may be an artist looking for pictorial inspiration, and may configure a notebook application to select only images for clipping to a notebook. In such a situation, all images on a page may be selected and clipped whenever the user makes a clipping command; the user may then be given the option at that point to discard some figures, or may return to the notebook later and delete any figures they did not want clipped to the notebook.”) ; and generating a graphical card, wherein the graphical card comprises the image as a background, and wherein the graphical card comprises text associated with at least a subset of the selected content item and the image (see e.g., Para [65]-[68] - “Each dashed box in the figure represents content from the web pages 514 a - 514 g that has been captured by users of the system into notebooks 516 a - 516 d … A user creating notebook 516 b may have placed a portion (e.g., a menu and address) of the page in a notebook they have captioned “Italian Restaurants” and another user (of notebook 516 a ) may have placed another portion (e.g., a photo of a beautiful cannoli) on a “Food Fashion”-captioned notebook” Frumkin does not expressly show that image content can be represented as background and text/title/caption can be displayed on the image. However, MEHRA teaches the above feature (see e.g. Para [69] [88]). Both Frumkin and MEHRA are directed to. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention having Frumkin and MEHRA in front of them to modify the system of Frumkin to include the above feature. The motivation to combine Frumkin and MEHRA comes from MEHRA. MEHRA discloses the motivation to annotate input image so that user can visually link notes to portion of the image (see e.g. Para [2][3]). This motivation for combination also applies to the remaining claims which depend on this combination. ). With respect to dependent claim 16 , the modified Frumkin teaches the operations further comprise: publishing the snippet packet to a web database (see e.g., Para [71]-[73] – “the notebooks may be stored locally on user computers such as terminal 522 , they are shown here stored in a hosted system. Storing the notebooks 516 a - 516 d in a hosted format may provide a number of advantages. For example, hosted documents can be made available to the public more easily. Hosted documents can also be updated in real time or near real time as information in the “source” web page changes. Hosted documents can be accessed by a user from a number of networked machines—such as machines at airports, cyber cafes and the like.” ). With respect to dependent claim 17 , the modified Frumkin teaches the operations further comprise: processing the selected content item with a classification model to determine an entity associated with the one or more content items; generating an entity tag based on the entity; and wherein the snippet packet comprises the entity tag (see e.g., Para [67][69][78][84] – “the system 500 may also track the popularity of certain notebook authors. The system 500 may then generate lists of popular notebooks or popular notebook authors for others to see. In addition, the lists may be limited to particular topics, such as most popular notebooks in a particular category (e.g., restaurant notebooks). Such lists and other analytical information about the notebooks may be shown on a web page that may be accessed by users attempting to browse the notebooks in notebooks database 518 .”) . With respect to dependent claim 18 , the modified Frumkin teaches the location data comprises at least one of a scroll position, a start node, or an end node, wherein the scroll position is descriptive of the location of the selected content item in relation to other portions of the web page, wherein the start node is descriptive of where the selected content item begin, and wherein the end node is descriptive of where the selected content item end (see e.g., Para [64][69]-[72][84][85]) . With respect to dependent claim 19 , the modified Frumkin teaches the snippet packet comprises: the one or more content items; the address data, wherein the address data is descriptive of a web address for the web page; and the location data, wherein the location data is descriptive of a location of the selected content item within the web page (see e.g., Para [69]-[72] – “The metadata may include the URL from which the material was clipped, the time/date it was clipped, indicators of the amount of content in a web page before and after the content that is clipped (e.g., so that one could return to the web page later and infer where the material came from in the page even if the material itself has changed in the interim).”) . With respect to dependent claim 20 , the modified Frumkin teaches the address data comprises a uniform resource locator, wherein the location data comprises text fragments, and wherein determining the location within the web page associated with the selected content item comprises: adding, by the computing system, the text fragments to the uniform resource locator to generate a shortcut link; and inputting, by the computing system, the shortcut link into a browser (see e.g., Para [69]-[72]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frumkin in view of MEHRA and further in view of Verheyen et al. (hereinafter Verheyen) U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0287075 . With respect to dependent claim 14 , Frumkin-MEHRA does not expressly show processing the gesture data to determine the selected content item comprises: processing the gestured data with a machine-learned model to determine the selected content item. However, Verheyen teaches similar feature (see e.g. Para [38] – “a machine learning model 140 may receive sensed inputs representing images, videos, audio signals, sensor signals, data related to network traffic, financial transaction data, communication signals (e.g., emails, text messages and instant messages), documents, insurance records, biometric information, parameters for manufacturing process (e.g., semiconductor fabrication parameters), inventory patterns, energy or power usage patterns, data representing genes, results of scientific experiments or parameters associated with the operation of a machine (e.g., vehicle operation) and medical treatment data. The machine learning model 140 may process such inputs and produce an output representing, among others, identification of objects shown in an image, identification of recognized gestures”) . Both Frumkin and Verheyen are directed to content selection methods. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention having Frumkin and Verheyen in front of them to further modify the modified system of Frumkin to include the above feature. The motivation to combine Frumkin and Verheyen comes from Verheyen. Verheyen discloses the motivation to use machine learning model to predict user intention (see e.g. Para [38]). It is noted that any citation to specific pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. “The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain.” In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). Further, a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). See also Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005); Celeritas Technologies Ltd. v. Rockwell International Corp., 150 F.3d 1354, 1361, 47 USPQ2d 1516, 1522-23 (Fed. Cir. 1998). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PEIYONG WENG whose telephone number is (571)270-1660. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon.-Fri. 8 am to 5 pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Matthew Ell, can be reached on (571) 270-3264. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://portal.uspto.gov/external/portal. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). /PEI YONG WENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2141 Application/Control Number: 18/732,926 Page 2 Art Unit: 2141 Application/Control Number: 18/732,926 Page 3 Art Unit: 2141 Application/Control Number: 18/732,926 Page 4 Art Unit: 2141