Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-19, filed 12/22/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-18 under Chemouny FR 2803723 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Teufel US 3173182 in view of Kim US 20210015216 and Teufel US 3173182 in view of Robert et al. US 20090241597.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the friction-increasing feature must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5-13, and 16-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a clasp component" in line 6. However, “a clasp component” is recited in line 2-3. Examiner is assuming the clasp component recited in line 6 is the same as the clasp component recited in line 2-3.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "said attachment element" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "a clasp component" in line 6. However, “a clasp component” is recited in line 2-3. Examiner is assuming the clasp component recited in line 6 is the same as the clasp component recited in line 2-3.
Examiner notes this is not an exhaustive list of the antecedent basis issues in the claims.
Claims 2-3, 5-10, 12-13, and 16-22 are rejected for being dependent on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teufel US 3173182 in view of Kim US 20210015216.
Regarding Claim 1, Teufel discloses a clasp assembly, comprising:
a. a chape (3) comprising a first threaded connector (12) for engaging with a clasp component (11,11’), a strap attachment element (5), said first threaded connector being secured to said strap attachment element such that relative rotation about the longitudinal axis of said first threaded connector is prevented,
b. a clasp component (11, 11’) including comprising a second threaded connector (11) for engaging with said chape, a strap fastening element (13), said second threaded connector being secured to said strap fastening element such that relative rotation about the longitudinal axis of said second threaded connector is prevented,
c. said threaded connectors comprising mateable internally threaded cylindrical hole and externally threaded cylindrical rod,
d. said first and second threaded connectors being threadably engaged such that rotation of said clasp component or said chape relative to the other axially translates said chape and said clasp component relative to one another, thereby selectively increasing or decreasing the effective fastened length of said clasp assembly over an adjustment range defined by engagement of the threaded connectors.
Teufel does not explicitly disclose wherein the clasp assembly is for a garment
Kim discloses the clasp assembly for a garment belt (Kim, Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the clasp assembly of Teufel to be used for a garment strap as disclosed by Kim to create an easily adjustable garment clasp.
Regarding Claim 2, Teufel in view of Kim discloses wherein:
a. said garment strap attachment element is configured to be attached to a waist belt (Kim, Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 3, Teufel in view of Kim discloses wherein:
a. said first and second threaded connectors are configured to be disengaged from one another to permit removal of said clasp component and attachment of another clasp component to said chape (Teufel, Fig 4).
Regarding Claim 4, Teufel in view of Kim discloses wherein:
a. said garment strap attachment element (Kim 230), of said chape covers a portion of a garment strap (Kim, 100) attached thereto, and said attachment element is at least partially exposed (Kim Fig 2a-2b).
Regarding Claim 6, Teufel in view of Kim discloses wherein:
a. said garment strap fastening element of said clasp component includes a frame-style buckle (Kim, 300), comprising a frame defining an open central space configured to retain a free end of a garment strap for fastening (Kim, Fig 1-2b).
Regarding Claim 7, Teufel in view of Kim discloses wherein:
a. said frame-style buckle includes at least one prong (Kim, Fig 2a), mounted for pivotal movement relative to the frame- style buckle,
b. said garment strap includes at least one hole sized to receive said at least one prong (Kim, Fig 1),
c. said at least one prong being configured to engage said at least one hole to fasten said garment strap.
Regarding Claim 19, Teufel in view of Kim discloses wherein:
a. said threaded connectors are configured such that rotation between said chape and said clasp component produces a selected axial displacement per rotation to provide a desired rate of length adjustment (Teufel, Col 2 lines 12-14, Fig 2).
Regarding Claim 20, Teufel in view of Kim discloses wherein:
a. the effective fastened length of the clasp assembly is adjustable without tools by rotating said clasp component or said chape relative to the other while the clasp assembly is unfastened (Teufel, Col 2 lines 12-14, Fig 3).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teufel US 3173182 in view of Kim US 20210015216 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Anderson US 20130174383.
Regarding Claim 5, Teufel in view of Kim discloses the invention except wherein:
a. said garment strap attachment element of said chape is enveloped by a garment strap attached thereto, and said attachment element is at least partially concealed.
Anderson discloses wherein a. said garment strap attachment means element of said chape (Anderson, 16) is enveloped by said garment strap (Anderson, 40), and said attachment means is at least partially concealed (Anderson Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the chape of Teufel in view of Kim to be enveloped by the strap as taught by Anderson to hide the chape and provide for a more seamless look of the strap and buckle for aesthetic purposes.
Claims 8-9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teufel US 3173182 in view of Kim US 20210015216 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liu US 20160021985.
Regarding Claim 8, Teufel in view of Kim discloses the invention except wherein:
a. said garment strap fastening element includes a plate-style buckle, comprising a plate configured to retain a free end of a garment strap beneath the plate for fastening.
Liu discloses wherein:
a. said garment strap fastening means includes a plate-style buckle (Liu, 5), whereby the free end of said garment strap, opposite the end attached to the chape, would pass under said plate-style buckle for fastening (Liu, Fig 8).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the frame style buckle type of Teufel in view of Kim to the plate style buckle type of Liu as they are common alternatives of each other as shown by Liu in Figures 1-8 and described in paragraph 31.
Regarding Claim 9, Teufel in view of Kim and further in view of Liu discloses, wherein:
a. said plate-style buckle includes at least one prong (Liu, annotated Fig 8) attached to said plate-style buckle,
b. said garment strap includes at least one hole sized to receive said at least one prong (Liu, annotated Fig 8),
c. said at least one prong being configured to engage said at least one hole to fasten said garment strap.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teufel US 3173182 in view of Kim US 20210015216 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Moore US 8152427.
Regarding Claim 10, Teufel in view of Kim discloses the invention except wherein:
a. said threaded connectors include a friction-increasing feature configured to resist relative rotation between the threaded connectors.
Moore discloses wherein said threaded connectors include a friction-increasing feature (Moore, deformable material 15) configured to resist relative rotation between the threaded connectors (Moore fig 3).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the threaded connector of Teufel in view of Robert et al to include the friction increasing feature as taught by Moore to an increase friction fit (Moore, Col11 lines 53-54) and resist vibration while avoiding permanent damage or deformation, and allows reuse of the fastener (Moore, Col 10 lines 43-50).
Claims 11, 16-17, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teufel US 3173182 in view of Robert et al. US 20090241597.
Regarding Claim 11, Teufel discloses a clasp assembly, comprising:
a. a chape (3) comprising a first threaded connector (12) for engaging with a clasp component (11,11’), a wristwatch strap attachment element (5), said first threaded connector being secured to said wristwatch strap attachment element such that relative rotation about the longitudinal axis of said first threaded connector is prevented,
b. a clasp component (11, 11’) comprising a second threaded connector (11) for engaging with said chape, a wristwatch strap fastening element, said second threaded connector being secured to said wristwatch strap fastening element such that relative rotation about the longitudinal axis of said second threaded connector is prevented,
c. said threaded connectors comprising mateable internally threaded cylindrical hole and externally threaded cylindrical rod,
d. said first and second threaded connectors being threadably engaged such that rotation of said clasp component or said chape relative to the other axially translates said chape and said clasp component relative to one another, thereby selectively increasing or decreasing the effective fastened length of said clasp assembly over an adjustment range defined by engagement of the threaded connectors (Fig 1-2b).
Teufel doesn’t disclose wherein the fastening element is for a wrist watch.
Robert et al. discloses a fine adjustment clasp for a wrist watch (Robert et al., Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the adjustable clasp of Teufel to be for a wristwatch as taught by Robert et al to create an easily adjustable wristwatch strap.
Regarding Claim 16, Teufel in view of Robert et al. discloses wherein:
a. a wristwatch strap attached to said wristwatch strap attachment element of said chape is constructed from interconnected links (Robert et al, para 23, “wristlet links”).
Regarding Claim 17, Teufel in view of Robert et al. discloses wherein:
a. the appearance of said chape (Robert et al, 3) is designed to substantially match the appearance of said interconnected links (Robert et al. Fig 2).
Regarding Claim 21, Teufel in view of Robert et al. discloses the invention except wherein:
a. said wristwatch strap fastening element comprises a fold-over clasp comprising cooperating fastening components configured to releasably engage one another to secure opposing ends of a wristwatch strap (Robert et al. Fig 2)
Regarding Claim 22, Teufel in view of Robert et al. discloses wherein:
a. said wristwatch strap fastening element (Robert et al, 3) comprises a passive fastening component (Robert et al. 14), and an active fastening component (Robert et al., 15) on an opposing end of a wristwatch strap is configured to engage said passive fastening component to fasten the wristwatch strap.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teufel US 3173182 in view of Robert et al. US 20090241597 and further in view of Kim US 20210015216.
Regarding Claim 12, Teufel in view of Robert et al. discloses the invention except wherein:
a. said wristwatch strap fastening element of said clasp component includes a frame-style buckle, comprising a frame defining an open central space configured to retain a free end of a wristwatch strap for fastening.
Kim discloses wherein the clasp component includes a frame-style buckle, comprising a frame defining an open central space configured to retain a free end of a wristwatch strap for fastening (Kim, Fig 1)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the buckle of Teufel in view of Robert et al to be a frame style buckle as taught by Kim as a frame style buckle is a common variant in the art of clasps.
Regarding Claim 13, Teufel in view of Robert et al. and further in view of Kim discloses wherein:
a. said frame-style buckle includes at least one prong mounted for pivotal movement relative to the frame- style buckle,
b. said wristwatch strap includes at least one hole sized to receive said at least one prong
c. said at least one prong being configured to engage said at least one hole to fasten said wristwatch strap (Kim, Fig 1).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teufel US 3173182 in view of Robert et al. US 20090241597 as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Moore US 8152427.
Regarding Claim 18, Teufel in view of Robert et al. discloses the invention except wherein:
a. said threaded connectors include a friction-increasing feature configured to resist relative rotation between the threaded connectors.
Boznos discloses wherein said threaded connectors include a means to increase friction to prevent unintentional adjustment of said clasp assembly (Boznos Para 8 “However it should be understood that this could be accompanied by glue, loctite, etc., for additional security, and/or even tapping the hole in the pin body.”)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the threaded connectors of Teufel in view of Kim to include the means to increase frictions such as Loctite as taught by Boznos to add additional security of the connection.
Moore discloses wherein said threaded connectors include a friction-increasing feature (Moore, deformable material 15) configured to resist relative rotation between the threaded connectors (Moore fig 3).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the threaded connector of Teufel in view of Robert et al to include the friction increasing feature as taught by Moore to an increase friction fit (Moore, Col11 lines 53-54) and resist vibration while avoiding permanent damage or deformation, and allows reuse of the fastener (Moore, Col 10 lines 43-50).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANNA S RASHID/Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677