DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/4/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2 and 4 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 1 Line 3, “each support portion” should be revised to “each support portion of the plurality of support portions” to ensure clarity in the claim.
In Claim 1 Line 4, “the support portions” should be revised to “the plurality of support portions” to ensure using terminology consistent with what is used elsewhere throughout the claims.
In Claim 1 Line 6, “each support portion” should be revised to “each support portion of the plurality of support portions” to ensure clarity in the claim.
In Claim 1 Line 11, “the lateral guide plates include” should be revised to “wherein each lateral guide plate of the plurality of lateral guide plates includes” to ensure proper grammar.
In Claim 1 Line 12, “the support portions” should be revised to “the plurality of support portions” to ensure using terminology consistent with what is used elsewhere throughout the claims.
In Claim 1 Lines 12-13, “the lateral guide plates” should be revised to “the plurality of lateral guide plates” to ensure using terminology consistent with what is used elsewhere throughout the claims.
In Claim 1 Line 13, “the support portions” should be revised to “the plurality of support portions” to ensure using terminology consistent with what is used elsewhere throughout the claims.
In Claim 1 Line 14, “the lateral guide plates” should be revised to “the plurality of lateral guide plates” to ensure using terminology consistent with what is used elsewhere throughout the claims.
In Claim 2 Lines 1-2, “wherein the lateral guide plates each includes” should be revised to “wherein each lateral guide plate of the plurality of lateral guide plates includes” to ensure proper grammar.
In Claim 4 Lines 2-3, “at least one of the support portions and the lateral guide plates” should be revised to “at least one of the plurality of support portions and the plurality of lateral guide plates” to ensure using terminology consistent with what is used elsewhere throughout the claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
The “fire extinguishing agent holding member” in Claim 4, which uses the generic placeholder “member” coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure; and
The “fire extinguishing agent supply unit” in Claim 5, which uses the generic placeholder “unit” coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitations:
The “fire extinguishing agent holding member” in Claim 4 corresponds to the disclosure in Paragraph 0029 of the Specification which states, “Examples of the fire extinguishing agent holding member 140 include a gypsum board and the like”. Therefore, based on the disclosure and the claims as a whole the examiner interprets the “fire extinguishing agent holding member” in Claim 4 to be a board and equivalents thereof; and
The “fire extinguishing agent supply unit” in Claim 5 corresponds to the disclosure in Paragraph 0018 of the Specification which states, “Examples of the fire extinguishing agent supply unit 200 include a sprinkler and a device that supplies a fire extinguishing agent by gravity or pump pressure by opening a valve”. Therefore, based on the disclosure and the claims as a whole the examiner interprets the “fire extinguishing agent supply unit” in Claim 5 to be a sprinkler, a pump with a valve, or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US PGPUB 2020/0139178 A1 to Olivo et al. (“Olivo”).
As to Claim 1, Olivo discloses a battery placement rack (See #1100 in Fig. 15 and See Annotated Fig. 17) comprising:
a plurality of support portions (See Annotated Fig. 13 and Annotated Fig. 15, the support portions are an upper section of #1120) disposed arrayed at intervals in an up-down direction (See Annotated Fig. 15), each support portion supporting a battery unit (See Paragraph 0057 and See Annotated Fig. 19, each upper section of #1120 acts to support a battery module); and
a plurality of lateral guide plates (See Annotated Fig. 13 and Annotated Fig. 15, the lateral guide plates are a portion of #1120 that are a lower section of #1120) disposed downward from the support portions (See Annotated Fig. 13 and Annotated Fig. 15), for guiding a flow of a fire extinguishing agent in a lateral direction (See Annotated Fig. 13, fire extinguishing agent is guided laterally from #1120 on a graded surface onto a surface of #1121 in a lateral direction L1), wherein
each support portion includes
a placement portion that is configured to receive placement of the battery unit (See Annotated Fig. 13, Annotated Fig. 15, and Annotated Fig. 19. A surface of #1120 is arranged such that it can receive a battery module), and
an opening that is opened on a side of the placement portion (See Annotated Fig. 13 and Annotated Fig. 15, an opening on the placement portion forms above the lateral guide plate to a side of the placement portion), to cause the fire extinguishing agent to flow down (See Annotated Fig. 13, fire extinguishing agent flows down in the opening onto the graded portion towards a surface of #1121), and
the lateral guide plates include an edge portion (See Annotated Fig. 13, the edge portion surrounds the hole #1123 and also includes #1125 when it is placed over #1123) that causes the fire extinguishing agent, flowing down through the openings in the support portions situated upward from the lateral guide plates, to flow down toward the placement portions of the support portions situated downward from the lateral guide plates (See Paragraph 0059, Annotated Fig. 13, and Annotated Fig. 15).
As to Claim 2, in reference to the battery placement rack of Olivo as applied to Claim 1 above, Olivo further discloses wherein the lateral guide plates each includes
a lateral guide plate main body that is situated downward from the opening and that receives the fire extinguishing agent flowing down through the opening (See Annotated Fig. 13 and See Annotated Fig. 15), and
a moving plate (See #1125 in Fig. 14 and See Annotated Fig. 13) that includes the edge portion (See Annotated Fig. 13 and Paragraph 0061) and that is movable relative to the lateral guide plate main body in the lateral direction (See Annotated Fig. 13, when #1125 is removed from #1123, the moving plate #1125 can be moved in any direction, including the lateral direction).
As to Claim 4, in reference to the battery placement rack of Olivo as applied to Claim 1 above, Olivo further discloses the battery placement rack further comprising a fire extinguishing agent holding member (See #1930 in Fig. 19, which per Paragraph 0083 is a basin. A basin is equivalent to a board structure) that is connected to lower faces of at least one of the support portions and the lateral guide plates (See Annotated Fig. 19, the fire extinguishing agent holding member #1910 is fluidly connected to lower faces of #1120), and that is configured to hold the fire extinguishing agent (See Paragraph 0083).
As to Claim 5, in reference to the battery placement rack of Olivo as applied to Claim 1 above, Olivo further discloses a fire extinguishing device (See Annotated Fig. 17) comprising:
the battery placement rack (See Annotated Fig. 17); and
a fire extinguishing agent supply unit that is provided upward from the battery placement rack (See “typical sprinkler head” in Fig. 17), and that supplies the fire extinguishing agent (See Paragraph 0063).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olivo in view of US PGPUB 2023/0344074 A1 to Vandemark et al. (“Vandemark”).
Regarding Claim 3, in reference to the battery placement rack of Olivo as applied to Claim 1 above, Olivo does not specifically disclose the battery placement rack further comprising an upright plate that partitions between a pair of the openings that are adjacent to each other in the lateral direction (See Annotated Fig. 19 showing that multiple support plates separated in a lateral direction from each other, however the support plates are separated by a plenum #1940 rather than an upright plate).
However, Vandemark discloses, in the same field of endeavor of fire extinguishing (See Paragraph 0001), a battery placement rack (See #A in Fig. 1) comprising an upright plate (See #22 in Figs. 7-8) that partitions between a pair of openings (#40, See Annotated Fig. 8) that cause fire extinguishing agent (#44) to flow down through a plurality of support portions (#38) that are adjacent to each other in a lateral direction (See Figs. 7-8 and Paragraphs 0033-0034).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery placement rack of Olivo as applied to Claim 1 above such that the battery placement rack further comprises an upright plate that partitions between a pair of the openings that are adjacent to each other in the lateral direction by utilizing the a wall #22 of Vandemark between columns of battery units of Olivo that are shown in Annotated Fig. 19, since doing so would yield the predictable result of preventing adjacent batteries from erupting into flames by shielding between adjacent battery compartments (See Vandermark Paragraph 0038).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Notice of References Cited Form PTO-892.
/KEVIN EDWARD SCHWARTZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3752 January 21, 2026