Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species III, in the reply filed on August 18, 2026, is acknowledged.
Claims 4, 8-10, and are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on August 18, 2026.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: in paragraph [0111], lines 7-8, “diffusion regions 1674 and 1674” likely should be “diffusion regions 1674 and 1676”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Fig. 5 of Kim, reproduced with annotations added by the examiner.
Mockup of arrangement of cells described in the discussion of claim 11, based on Fig. 5 of Kim and prepared by the examiner.
Fig. 8A of Kim, reproduced with annotations added by the examiner.
Fig. 8B of Kim, reproduced with annotations added by the examiner.
Fig. 8C of Kim, reproduced with annotation added by the examiner.
Fig. 9 of Kim, reproduced with annotations added by the examiner.
Fig. 11 of Kim, reproduced with annotations added by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et. al., Pub. No. US 2025/0105153, hereafter referred to as Kim.
Regarding claim 1, the embodiment of Kim shown in Fig. 11 teaches “A chip” ([0073]; Fig. 11, layout 1100), “comprising: a first row of cells including a first cell” ([0075]; Fig. 11, note that the contacted poly pitch 1CPP is part of the row 4CPP); “first tracks providing signal routing for the first cell” ([0074]; Fig. 11, note that the lower interconnection tracks 1116a-c connect neighboring cells together and thus allow for signals to be exchanged), “wherein each of the first tracks extends in a first direction” (Fig. 11, note that the lower interconnection tracks 1116a-c extend in the X direction).
The embodiment of Kim shown in Fig. 11, however, does not teach “a second row of cells including a second cell”, “wherein the second row of cells is adjacent to the first row of cells”; “and one of the first tracks overlaps a boundary between the first cell and the second cell”; “and second tracks providing signal routing for the second cell”, “wherein each of the second tracks extends in the first direction”.
Kim, however, has another embodiment, shown in Fig. 5, in which two cells ([0035]; Fig. 5, first and second standard cells 526a and 526b) are arranged in a vertical direction (Fig. 5, note that the first and second standard cells 526a and 526b are disposed along the Y direction) and has a track that sits at a boundary of the two cells ([0035]; Fig. 5, block routing metal track 414a).
The two vertically arranged cells of the embodiment of Fig. 5 can be incorporated into the embodiment of Fig. 11 by adding a second row of cells with a common block routing metal track on the boundary between each pair of vertically arranged cells. The common block routing metal track will be treated here as part of the first tracks. The combined embodiment teaches “a second row of cells including a second cell” ([0035]; Fig. 5, note that there are multiple instances of the second standard cell 526b in the combined embodiment), “wherein the second row of cells is adjacent to the first row of cells” (Fig. 5, note that the second standard cell 526b is adjacent to the first standard cell 526a); “and one of the first tracks overlaps a boundary between the first cell and the second cell” ([0035]; Fig. 5, block routing metal track 414a; note that the block routing metal track 414a is treated here as one of the first tracks); “and second tracks providing signal routing for the second cell” ([0028]; Fig. 5, the metal tracks 216a-c in the second standard cell 526b), “wherein each of the second tracks extends in the first direction” (Fig. 5, note that the metal tracks 216a-c in the second standard cell 526b extend along the X direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have added a second row of cells to the embodiment of Kim shown in Fig. 11 as suggested by the embodiment shown in Fig. 5 because doing so allows for a two-dimensional arrangement of cells, which would save space compared to a one-dimensional arrangement, and it would be a simple combination of the two embodiments.
Regarding claim 2, the combined embodiment of Kim described in the discussion of claim 1 teaches “The chip of claim 1” but does not teach “wherein a number of the first tracks is greater than a number of the second tracks”.
The embodiment of Kim shown in Fig. 5, however, shows two vertically arranged cells with three tracks each ([0028]; Fig. 5, metal tracks 216a-c) with an additional track ([0035]; Fig. 5, block routing metal track 414a) on the cell boundary.
The equal numbers of tracks within each of the pairs of vertically arranged cells and the additional track on the cell boundary shown in the embodiment of Fig. 5 can be incorporated into the combined embodiment of Kim described in the discussion of claim 1 by designing all of the cells to have three tracks plus an additional track on the boundary between a pair of vertically arranged cells. The combined embodiment teaches “wherein a number of the first tracks is greater than a number of the second tracks” ([0028] and [0035]; Fig. 5, metal tracks 216a-c and block routing metal track 414a; note that the block routing metal track 414a is being treated as one of the first tracks).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have used an equal number of tracks within each cell in the combined embodiment of Kim described in the discussion of claim 1 because it would reduce the complexity of manufacturing the device that would otherwise be introduced by making the cells with different numbers of tracks and it would be a simple combination of elements of the two disclosures.
Regarding claim 3, the combined embodiment of Kim described in the discussion of claim 1 teaches “The chip of claim 1” but does not teach “wherein the first cell comprises a four-track (4T) cell and the second cell comprises a three-track (3T) cell”.
The embodiment of Kim shown in Fig. 5, however, shows two vertically arranged cells with three tracks each ([0028]; Fig. 5, metal tracks 216a-c) with an additional track ([0035]; Fig. 5, block routing metal track 414a) on the cell boundary.
The equal numbers of tracks within each of the pairs of vertically arranged cells and the additional track on the cell boundary shown in the embodiment of Fig. 5 can be incorporated into the combined embodiment of Kim described in the discussion of claim 1 by designing all of the cells to have three tracks plus an additional track on the boundary between a pair of vertically arranged cells. The combined embodiment teaches “wherein the first cell comprises a four-track (4T) cell and the second cell comprises a three-track (3T) cell” ([0028] and [0035]; Fig. 5, metal tracks 216a-c and block routing metal track 414a; note that the block routing metal track 414a is being treated as one of the first tracks, and thus there are four first tracks and three second tracks).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have used an equal number of tracks within each cell in the combined embodiment of Kim described in the discussion of claim 1 because it would reduce the complexity of manufacturing the device that would otherwise be introduced by making the cells with different numbers of tracks and it would be a simple combination of elements of the two disclosures.
Regarding claim 7, the combined embodiment of Kim described in the discussion of claim 1 teaches “The chip of claim 1” but does not teach “wherein the first tracks and the second tracks are in a metal layer above the first cell and the second cell”.
The embodiment of Kim shown in Figs. 8A-C, on the other hand, does teach “wherein the first tracks and the second tracks are in a metal layer above the first cell and the second cell” ([0048] and [0062]; Fig. 8B, note that the metal patterns 848a-c are disposed at the top of the device, above the source/drain regions 836 and 838).
The placement of the tracks in the embodiment of Kim shown in Figs. 8A-C can be incorporated into the combined embodiment of Kim described in the discussion of claim 1 by placing the tracks in an upper layer of said combined embodiment.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have disposed the tracks in an upper layer of the combined embodiment of Kim described in the discussion of claim 1 as suggested by the embodiment of Figs. 8A-C because it would allow for easier connection to voltage lines and it would be a simple combination of the two disclosures.
Regarding claim 11, the combined embodiment of Kim described in the discussion of claim 1 teaches “The chip of claim 1” but does not teach “wherein: the first row of cells comprises a third cell; the second row of cells comprises a fourth cell; the first cell comprises a first four-track (4T) cell; the second cell comprises a first three-track (3T) cell; the third cell comprises a second 3T cell; and the fourth cell comprises a second 4T cell”.
The embodiment of Kim shown in Fig. 5, however, shows two vertically arranged cells with three tracks each ([0028]; Fig. 5, metal tracks 216a-c) with an additional track ([0035]; Fig. 5, block routing metal track 414a) on the cell boundary.
The equal numbers of tracks within each of the pairs of vertically arranged cells and the additional track on the cell boundary shown in the embodiment of Fig. 5 can be incorporated into the combined embodiment of Kim described in the discussion of claim 1 by designing all of the cells to have three tracks plus an additional track on the boundary between a pair of vertically arranged cells. In this case, the additional track in the first column of cells will be considered to be one of the first tracks and part of the first cell, while the additional track in the second column of cells will be considered to be one of the second tracks and part of the fourth cell (see mockup above based on Kim Fig. 5 prepared by the examiner). The combined embodiment teaches “wherein: the first row of cells comprises a third cell” (mockup based on Kim Fig. 5, third cell); “the second row of cells comprises a fourth cell” (mockup based on Kim Fig. 5, fourth cell); “the first cell comprises a first four-track (4T) cell” (mockup based on Kim Fig. 5, note that the first cell has four tracks); “the second cell comprises a first three-track (3T) cell” (mockup based on Kim Fig. 5, note that the second cell has three tracks); “the third cell comprises a second 3T cell” (mockup based on Kim Fig. 5, note that the third cell has three tracks); “and the fourth cell comprises a second 4T cell” (mockup based on Kim Fig. 5, note that the fourth cell has four tracks).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have used an equal number of tracks within each cell in the combined embodiment of Kim described in the discussion of claim 1 because having multiple cells per row would allow for the chip to have greater functionality and it would be a simple combination of elements of the two disclosures.
Regarding claim 12, the combined embodiment of Kim described in the discussion of claim 11 teaches “The chip of claim 11” but does not teach “wherein the second tracks and the one of the first tracks provide signal routing for the second 4T cell”.
Kim, however, teaches an embodiment (Fig. 11) in which the tracks ([0038]; Fig. 6, metal tracks 1114a-c) all extend into pairs of neighboring cells (Fig. 11, note that all of the metal tracks 1114a-c extend between two cells) in the first direction (Fig. 11, X direction).
The extension of all of the tracks between two neighboring cells shown in the embodiment of Kim shown in Fig. 6 can be incorporated into the combined embodiment of Kim described in the discussion of claim 11 by extending all of the tracks so that they connect two neighboring cells along the first direction. The combined embodiment teaches “wherein the second tracks and the one of the first tracks provide signal routing for the second 4T cell” (Fig. 5, note that the metal tracks 216a-c in the second cell 526b and the block routing metal track 414a extend into the fourth cell in the combined embodiment and thus allow for signals to be exchanged between the two cells).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have extended the tracks in the combined embodiment of Kim described in the discussion of claim 11 to cover neighboring cells along the first direction because it would allow for the cells to communicate with each other and it would be a simple combination of elements of the two embodiments.
Regarding claim 13, the combined embodiment of Kim described in the discussion of claim 12 further teaches “The chip of claim 12, wherein three of the first tracks provide signal routing for the second 3T cell” (Fig. 5, note that the metal tracks 216a-c in the first cell 526a extend into the third cell in the combined embodiment and thus allow for signals to be exchanged between the two cells).
Regarding claim 14, the embodiment of Kim shown in Fig. 11 teaches “A chip” ([0073]; Fig. 11, layout 1100), “comprising: a first row of cells including a first cell” ([0075]; Fig. 11, note that the contacted poly pitch 1CPP is part of the row 4CPP); “first tracks providing signal routing for the first cell” ([0074]; Fig. 11, note that the lower interconnection tracks 1116a-c connect neighboring cells together and thus allow for signals to be exchanged), “wherein each of the first tracks extends in a first direction” (Fig. 11, note that the lower interconnection tracks 1116a-c extend in the X direction).
The embodiment of Kim shown in Fig. 11, however, does not teach “a second row of cells including a second cell”, “wherein the second row of cells is adjacent to the first row of cells”; “and one of the first tracks overlaps the second cell”; “and second tracks providing signal routing for the second cell”, “wherein each of the second tracks extends in the first direction”.
Kim, however, has another embodiment, shown in Fig. 5, in which two cells ([0035]; Fig. 5, first and second standard cells 526a and 526b) are arranged in a vertical direction (Fig. 5, note that the first and second standard cells 526a and 526b are disposed along the Y direction) and has a track that sits at a boundary of the two cells ([0035]; Fig. 5, block routing metal track 414a).
The two vertically arranged cells of the embodiment of Fig. 5 can be incorporated into the embodiment of Fig. 11 by adding a second row of cells with a common block routing metal track on the boundary between each pair of vertically arranged cells. The common block routing metal track will be treated here as part of the first tracks. The combined embodiment teaches “a second row of cells including a second cell” ([0035]; Fig. 5, note that there are multiple instances of the second standard cell 526b in the combined embodiment), “wherein the second row of cells is adjacent to the first row of cells” (Fig. 5, note that the second standard cell 526b is adjacent to the first standard cell 526a); “and one of the first tracks overlaps the second cell” ([0035]; Fig. 5, block routing metal track 414a; note that the block routing metal track 414a is treated here as one of the first tracks and that it overlaps the second cell); “and second tracks providing signal routing for the second cell” ([0028]; Fig. 5, the metal tracks 216a-c in the second standard cell 526b), “wherein each of the second tracks extends in the first direction” (Fig. 5, note that the metal tracks 216a-c in the second standard cell 526b extend along the X direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have added a second row of cells to the embodiment of Kim shown in Fig. 11 as suggested by the embodiment shown in Fig. 5 because it allows for a two-dimensional arrangement of cells, which would save space compared to a one-dimensional arrangement, and it would be a simple combination of the two embodiments.
Regarding claim 15, the combined embodiment of Kim described in the discussion of claim 14 teaches “The chip of claim 14” but does not teach “wherein a number of the first tracks is greater than a number of the second tracks”.
The embodiment of Kim shown in Fig. 5, however, shows two vertically arranged cells with three tracks each ([0028]; Fig. 5, metal tracks 216a-c) with an additional track ([0035]; Fig. 5, block routing metal track 414a) on the cell boundary.
The equal numbers of tracks within each of the pairs of vertically arranged cells and the additional track on the cell boundary shown in the embodiment of Fig. 5 can be incorporated into the combined embodiment of Kim described in the discussion of claim 1 by designing all of the cells to have three tracks plus an additional track on the boundary between a pair of vertically arranged cells. The combined embodiment teaches “wherein a number of the first tracks is greater than a number of the second tracks” ([0028] and [0035]; Fig. 5, metal tracks 216a-c and block routing metal track 414a; note that the block routing metal track 414a is being treated as one of the first tracks).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have used an equal number of tracks within each cell in the combined embodiment of Kim described in the discussion of claim 1 because it would reduce the complexity of manufacturing the device that would otherwise be introduced by making the cells with different numbers of tracks and it would be a simple combination of elements of the two disclosures.
Fig. 1A of Azmat, reproduced with annotations added by the examiner.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Azmat et. al., Pub. No. US 2020/0057830, hereafter referred to as Azmat.
Regarding claim 5, the combined embodiment of Kim described in the discussion of claim 1 teaches “The chip of claim 1” but does not teach “wherein: the first cell comprises a first diffusion region extending in the first direction; and the second cell comprises a second diffusion region extending in the first direction, wherein the first diffusion region and the second diffusion region have equal widths in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction”. Kim does, however, teach active regions extending along a first direction within each cell (Kim [0048]: “The pair of lower source/drain regions 836 may contact opposing side surfaces of the lower channel region 832 in the X axis direction, respectively. Similarly, the pair of upper source/drain regions 838 may contact opposing side surfaces of the upper channel region 834 in the X axis direction, respectively.” Figs. 8A-C, lower and upper channel regions 832 and 834 and lower and upper source/drain regions 836 and 838).
Azmat, on the other hand, teaches a similar device consisting of unit cells (Azmat Fig. 1A; cell, marked by annotations added by the examiner) that include p-doped and n-doped wells (Azmat [0023]; Fig. 1A, N-wells NW1 and NW2 and P-wells PW1 and PW2), with all p-doped wells having the same width along the Y direction (Azmat [0023]; Fig. 1A, width of P-wells Wp) and all n-doped wells also having the same width along the Y direction (Azmat [0023]; Fig. 1A, width of N-wells Wn).
The teaching of a series of doped wells of uniform width of Azmat can be incorporated into the combined embodiment of Kim as a uniform width of the source/drain regions and of the channel regions in all cells. The combined device teaches “wherein: the first cell comprises a first diffusion region extending in the first direction” (Kim [0048]; Fig. 5, source/drain regions 836 and 838 and channel regions 832 and 834 associated with the first standard cell 526a); “and the second cell comprises a second diffusion region extending in the first direction” (Kim [0048]; Fig. 5, source/drain regions 836 and 838 and channel regions 832 and 834 associated with the second standard cell 526b), “wherein the first diffusion region and the second diffusion region have equal widths in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction” (Azmat [0027]: “For example, the standard cell C10a in FIG. 1A may have a height corresponding to “3/2 Wn+3/2 Wp”…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have made the widths of the active regions in the combined embodiment of Kim the same width in all cells as taught by Azmat because it would reduce the complexity of manufacturing the device that would otherwise be introduced by making the active regions differ in width across cells and it would be a simple combination of elements of the two disclosures.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Kim and Azmat described in the discussion of claim 5 teaches “The chip of claim 5” but does not teach “further comprising: a contact disposed on the first diffusion region, wherein the contact extends under the one of the first tracks; and a via disposed between the contact and the one of the first tracks”.
Kim, on the other hand, teaches an embodiment of their invention (Kim Fig. 9) that has a source/drain contact (Kim [0070]; Fig. 9, first source/drain contact 966a) that connects a source/drain region (Kim [0070]; Fig. 9, upper source/drain region 938) to a metal track disposed over a cell boundary (Kim [0070]; Fig. 9, cell boundary metal pattern 952a) through a via disposed over the boundary (Kim [0070]; Fig. 9, first via 964a) and further shows the contact extending under the metal track (Kim Fig. 9, note that the first source/drain contact 966a extends under the cell boundary metal pattern 952a).
The source/drain contact of the embodiment of Kim shown in Fig. 9 can be incorporated into the combination of Kim and Azmat described in the discussion of claim 5 by including a source/drain contact connecting the upper source/drain region to the block routing metal track through a via and extending under the block routing metal track. The combined device teaches “further comprising: a contact disposed on the first diffusion region” (Kim [0070]; Fig. 9, first source/drain contact 966a), “wherein the contact extends under the one of the first tracks” (Kim Fig. 9; note that the first source/drain contact 966a extends under the cell boundary metal pattern 952a); “and a via disposed between the contact and the one of the first tracks” (Kim [0070]; Fig. 9, first via 964a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have included a source/drain contact connecting a source/drain pattern to a track because it would provide a means for the cell to act on signals delivered by the tracks and it would have been a simple combination of elements of the two disclosures.
Conclusion
/R.E.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/STEVEN H LOKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818