DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turner et al. (U.S. 2024/0127634 A1) in view of Egner et al. (U.S. 2017/0257129 A1).
Claim 1, Turner teaches:
A monitoring system configured to provide monitoring services (Turner, Figs. 1 and 2), the monitoring system comprising:
a cellular radio (Turner, Fig. 2, Paragraphs [0047-0048], The control unit 200 is functionally equivalent to a cellular radio, having a connectivity system 204 and connectivity hardware resources 208 for connected to a cellular network.), comprising:
a cellular radio chipset (Turner, Fig. 2: 204, 208, Paragraph [0032], The connectivity system 204 and connectivity hardware resources 208 may form at least a part of a system on a chip (SoC).);
a multi-cellular service provider embedded subscriber identity module (eSIM) (Turner, Paragraph [0047]) and the control unit configured to store a plurality of cellular service provider profiles that are each activatable for communicating with a cellular network (Turner, Paragraph [0057], Control unit 200 may store cellular zone band data and/or other cellular network information in association with map data.); and
at least one processor (Turner, Fig. 2: 202); and
at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (Turner, Fig. 2: 212, Paragraph [0039], Application domain 212 includes applications and other software as well as its own processors for operation.), cause the at least one processor to:
determine a location of the cellular radio (Turner, Paragraph [0057], The geographic location is determined by a location determiner.);
select a first cellular service provider profile of activable cellular service provider profiles to be activated for use at the location of the cellular radio based at least in part on the determined location and a signal quality indicator associated with the selected cellular service provider profile to be activated (Turner, Paragraphs [0056-0057], The control logic 220 may determine a communication category to operate, wherein the category is selected based on a combination of geographic location and signal quality.);
measure a signal quality of at least one cellular signal associated with the selected first cellular service provider profile (Turner, Paragraph [0056], An example of a selected first cellular service provider profile is for a high-speed communication category 222 (see Turner, Paragraphs [0048-0050] for examples).);
activate the selected first cellular service provider profile of the plurality of activatable cellular service provider profiles for initial cellular network access (Turner, Paragraphs [0056-0057], The control logic 220 selects a first communication category, e.g. high-speed communication category 222, and effectively activates the high-speed communication category 222 by establishing a connection with the high-speed communication category 222.);
access the cellular network using the activated first cellular service provider profile (Turner, Paragraphs [0056-0057]); and
operate the cellular radio according to the first cellular service provider profile for cellular radio communications (Turner, Paragraphs [0056-0057]).
Turner does not specifically teach:
A premises monitoring system configured to provide monitoring services for a premises,
the eSIM configured to store a plurality of cellular service provider profiles that are each activatable for communicating with a cellular network;
determine a location of the cellular radio based at least in part on one of a global positioning system input, location information received via the cellular network or location information received from a handheld installer device; and
monitoring services for the premises.
As per the limitations of a premises monitoring system configured to provide monitoring services for a premises and monitoring services for the premises, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the system of Turner to be capable of monitoring a premises, e.g. a building, as a matter of intended use. The system of Turner is capable of grouping a plurality of devices according to geographic proximity, and determining devices that are experiencing connectivity issues for purposes of reconfiguring the connectivity system 204 (see Turner, Paragraphs [0053-0055]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the plurality of devices within a geographic proximity to represent devices located in proximity to a premises, wherein the monitoring of connectivity issues of the devices effectively monitors the connectivity issues of the premises, without changing the principal operation of the system in Turner, as a whole.
Egner teaches:
The eSIM configured to store a plurality of cellular service provider profiles that are each activatable for communicating with a cellular network (Egner, Paragraph [0048], The eSIM may be programmable for multiple international mobile subscriber identities (IMSI).);
determine a location of the cellular radio based at least in part on one of a global positioning system input, location information received via the cellular network or location information received from a handheld installer device (Egner, Paragraph [0151], One example includes the use of a satellite global positioning system for determining the location of a device.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system in Turner by integrating the teaching of a context aware radio communication management system as taught by Egner.
The motivation would be improve link quality by selecting the type of wireless link that yields the best signal to noise ratio (see Egner, Paragraph [0135]).
Claim 2, Turner in view of Egner further teaches:
The premises monitoring system of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further configured to cause the at least one processor to select the first cellular service provider profile by at least selecting a cellular service provider from an ordered list of cellular service providers, the order of the ordered list being based at least in part on the signal quality indicator associated with each cellular service provider in the ordered list (Turner, Paragraphs [0048-0049], The high-speed communication category 222 represents one or more categories having one or more data rates, wherein the selection of the high-speed category 222 (over a low-speed category 224) is based on signal quality (see Turner, Paragraph [0056]). Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the plurality of high-speed communication categories 222, e.g. 5G and LTE, to be arranged in an “ordered list”, since the connectivity system 204 is operable to select the 5G first when available, and may fall back to LTE as applicable. Arranging the high-speed communication categories 222 in an ordered list would not change the principal operation of the system, as a whole, and would yield predictable results.).
Claim 3, Turner in view of Egner further teaches:
The premises monitoring system of claim 2, wherein the ordered list of cellular service providers is stored in at least one of a lookup table or a database (Egner, Paragraph [0057], It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to incorporate the Wireless Intelligence Report system database 195 of Egner for purposes of determining optimal access to a macro-cellular service provider or WLAN.).
Claim 4, Turner in view of Egner further teaches:
The premises monitoring system of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further configured to cause the at least one processor to determine a signal quality indicator for at least one activatable cellular service provider profile based at least in part on signal measurements (Turner, Paragraphs [0056] and [0081], It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the determined low signal quality to be indicated by a signal measurement based on a connection with the high-speed communication category 222 and/or the low-speed communication category 224.).
Claim 5, Turner in view of Egner further teaches:
The premises monitoring system of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further configured to cause the at least one processor to determine a signal quality indicator for each activatable cellular service provider profile from at least one of a lookup table or a database (Egner, Paragraphs [0057-0058], The Wireless Intelligence Report system database 195 is used to determine optimal access to a macro-cellular service provider, wherein optimal is defined by the carriers/providers that meet a minimum threshold or set of thresholds, e.g. QoS (Quality of Service).).
Claim 6, Turner teaches:
A monitoring system configured to provide monitoring services (Turner, Figs. 1 and 2), the monitoring system comprising:
a cellular radio (Turner, Fig. 2, Paragraphs [0047-0048], The control unit 200 is functionally equivalent to a cellular radio, having a connectivity system 204 and connectivity hardware resources 208 for connected to a cellular network.), comprising:
a cellular radio chipset (Turner, Fig. 2: 204, 208, Paragraph [0032], The connectivity system 204 and connectivity hardware resources 208 may form at least a part of a system on a chip (SoC).);
a multi-cellular service provider embedded subscriber identity module (eSIM) (Turner, Paragraph [0047]) and the control unit configured to store a plurality of cellular service provider profiles associated with a plurality of cellular service providers (Turner, Paragraph [0057], Control unit 200 may store cellular zone band data and/or other cellular network information in association with map data.);
at least one processor (Turner, Fig. 2: 202); and
at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (Turner, Fig. 2: 212, Paragraph [0039], Application domain 212 includes applications and other software as well as its own processors for operation.), cause the at least one processor to:
determine a location of the cellular radio (Turner, Paragraph [0057], The geographic location is determined by a location determiner.);
select a first cellular service provider profile from the plurality of cellular service provider profiles based at least in part on the location of the cellular radio (Turner, Paragraphs [0056-0057], The control logic 220 may determine a communication category to operate, wherein the category is selected based on a combination of geographic location and signal quality.);
determine that a signal quality associated with the first cellular service provider exceeds a signal quality threshold (Turner, Paragraph [0056], An example of a selected first cellular service provider profile is for a high-speed communication category 222 (see Turner, Paragraphs [0048-0050] for examples). If the signal quality is low, i.e. does not exceed a signal quality threshold, the low-speed communication category 224 may be selected instead. Therefore, the selection of the high-speed communication category 222 is indicative that the signal quality exceeds a threshold.); and
in response to determining that the signal quality associated with the first cellular service provider exceeds the signal quality threshold, activate the first cellular service provider profile for cellular radio communications (Turner, Paragraphs [0056-0057], The control logic 220 selects a first communication category, e.g. high-speed communication category 222, and effectively activates the high-speed communication category 222 by establishing a connection with the high-speed communication category 222.).
Turner does not specifically teach:
A premises monitoring system configured to provide premises monitoring services,
the eSIM configured to store a plurality of cellular service provider profiles associated with a plurality of cellular service providers.
As per the limitation of a premises monitoring system configured to provide premises monitoring services, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the system of Turner to be capable of monitoring a premises, e.g. a building, as a matter of intended use. The system of Turner is capable of grouping a plurality of devices according to geographic proximity, and determining devices that are experiencing connectivity issues for purposes of reconfiguring the connectivity system 204 (see Turner, Paragraphs [0053-0055]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the plurality of devices within a geographic proximity to represent devices located in proximity to a premises, wherein the monitoring of connectivity issues of the devices effectively monitors the connectivity issues of the premises, without changing the principal operation of the system in Turner, as a whole.
Egner teaches:
The eSIM configured to store a plurality of cellular service provider profiles associated with a plurality of cellular service providers (Egner, Paragraph [0048], The eSIM may be programmable for multiple international mobile subscriber identities (IMSI).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system in Turner by integrating the teaching of a context aware radio communication management system as taught by Egner.
The motivation would be improve link quality by selecting the type of wireless link that yields the best signal to noise ratio (see Egner, Paragraph [0135]).
Claim 7, Turner in view of Egner further teaches:
The premises monitoring system of claim 6, wherein the instructions are further configured to cause the at least one processor to select the first cellular service provider profile by at least selecting a cellular service provider from an ordered list of cellular service providers, an order of the ordered list being based at least in part on a signal quality indicator associated with each cellular service provider in the ordered list (Turner, Paragraphs [0048-0049], The high-speed communication category 222 represents one or more categories having one or more data rates, wherein the selection of the high-speed category 222 (over a low-speed category 224) is based on signal quality (see Turner, Paragraph [0056]). Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the plurality of high-speed communication categories 222, e.g. 5G and LTE, to be arranged in an “ordered list”, since the connectivity system 204 is operable to select the 5G first when available, and may fall back to LTE as applicable. Arranging the high-speed communication categories 222 in an ordered list would not change the principal operation of the system, as a whole, and would yield predictable results.).
Claim 8, Turner in view of Egner further teaches:
The premises monitoring system of claim 7, wherein the ordered list of cellular service providers is stored in at least one of a lookup table or a database (Egner, Paragraph [0057], It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to incorporate the Wireless Intelligence Report system database 195 of Egner for purposes of determining optimal access to a macro-cellular service provider or WLAN.).
Claim 9, Turner in view of Egner further teaches:
The premises monitoring system of claim 6, wherein the instructions are further configured to cause the at least one processor to determine a signal quality indicator for at least one cellular service provider corresponding to a cellular service provider profile based at least in part on signal measurements (Turner, Paragraphs [0056] and [0081], It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the determined low signal quality to be indicated by a signal measurement based on a connection with the high-speed communication category 222 and/or the low-speed communication category 224.).
Claim 10, Turner in view of Egner further teaches:
The premises monitoring system of claim 6, wherein the instructions are further configured to cause the at least one processor to determine a signal quality indicator for each of at least one cellular service provider indicated in at least one of a lookup table or a database (Egner, Paragraphs [0057-0058], The Wireless Intelligence Report system database 195 is used to determine optimal access to a macro-cellular service provider, wherein optimal is defined by the carriers/providers that meet a minimum threshold or set of thresholds, e.g. QoS (Quality of Service).).
Claim 11, Turner in view of Egner further teaches:
The premises monitoring system of claim 6, wherein the instructions are further configured to cause the at least one processor to receive data representing the location from a mobile device or a cellular radio base station (Egner, Paragraphs [0038] and [0041], The smart personal connect gateway 135 may connect to an external network via a base station at the location of the gateway 135. The communication(s) received from the base station is/are equivalent to data representing the location of the base station.).
Claim 12, Turner in view of Egner further teaches:
The premises monitoring system of claim 6, wherein the instructions are further configured to cause the at least one processor to determine the location using a global positioning system chipset of the cellular radio (Egner, Paragraph [0151], It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for a smart personal connect gateway that is capable of determining location data via a satellite global positioning system to have a global positioning system chipset, or similar. Such a modification ensures that the smart personal connect gateway is capable of performing its intended function, and would yield predictable results.).
Claim 13, Turner in view of Egner further teaches:
The premises monitoring system of claim 6, wherein cellular radio is compliant with at least one of Long Term Evolution (LTE) or Fifth Generation (5G) cellular communication standards (Turner, Paragraphs [0048-0049]).
Claim 14, Turner in view of Egner further teaches:
The premises monitoring system of claim 6, wherein each cellular service provider profile stored in the multi-cellular service provider eSIM includes subscriber authorization data and data associated with at least one cellular service provider plan subscribed to by the premises monitoring services provider (Egner, Paragraphs [0047-0048], The eSIMs allow the information handling systems or smart personal connect gateway to connect to a plurality of wireless service carriers, effectively including data that enables authorization for each of the wireless service carriers and data associated with each of the wireless service carriers.).
Claim 15, Turner in view of Egner further teaches:
The premises monitoring system of claim 6, further comprising a wireless local area network (WLAN) radio configured to communicate with a mobile device to enable configuration of the cellular radio via the mobile device (Egner, Paragraphs [0043] and [0046-0047], The plurality of devices in WLAN 140 that are able to communicate with a smart personal connect gateway 135, i.e. a mobile device, represent at least one WLAN radio configured to communicate with the smart personal connect gateway 135, enabling the configuration of the wireless adapter(s), i.e. the cellular radio, of the personal connect gateway 135.).
Claim 16, Turner in view of Egner further teaches:
The premises monitoring system of claim 6, wherein determining a location of the cellular radio is based at least in part on one of a global positioning system input, location information received via a cellular network or location information received from a handheld installer device (Egner, Paragraph [0151], One example includes the use of a satellite global positioning system for determining the location of a device.).
Claim 17, Turner teaches:
A method in a monitoring system (Turner, Figs. 1 and 2) configured to provide monitoring services via at least one of a plurality of cellular service providers that provides cellular radio communication services (Turner, Paragraphs [0056-0057]), the method comprising:
determining a location of a cellular radio (Turner, Paragraph [0057], The geographic location is determined by a location determiner.);
selecting for access to a cellular network via a cellular radio (Turner, Fig. 2, Paragraphs [0047-0048], The control unit 200 is functionally equivalent to a cellular radio, having a connectivity system 204 and connectivity hardware resources 208 for connected to a cellular network.), a first cellular service provider profile from a plurality of cellular service provider profiles stored in a control unit (Turner, Paragraph [0057], Control unit 200 may store cellular zone band data and/or other cellular network information in association with map data.) and a multi-cellular service provider embedded subscriber identity module (eSIM) (Turner, Paragraph [0047]) based at least in part on a signal quality indicator associated with the selected first cellular service provider profile and the location of the cellular radio (Turner, Paragraphs [0056-0057], The control logic 220 may determine a communication category to operate, wherein the category is selected based on a combination of geographic location and signal quality.); and
accessing cellular radio communications via a first cellular service provider corresponding to the selected first cellular service provider profile (Turner, Paragraphs [0056-0057]) and operating the cellular radio to transmit and receive cellular radio communications pertaining to the cellular radio monitoring services via the first cellular service provider (Turner, Paragraphs [0056-0057], The control logic 220 selects a first communication category, e.g. high-speed communication category 222, and effectively activates the high-speed communication category 222 by establishing a connection with the high-speed communication category 222.).
Turner does not specifically teach:
A premises monitoring system configured to provide premises monitoring services:
determining a location of a premises based at least in part on one of a global positioning system input, location information received via a cellular radio base station and location information received from a handheld installer device; and
a first cellular service provider profile from a plurality of cellular service provider profiles stored in a multi-cellular service provider embedded subscriber identity module (eSIM).
As per the limitations of a premises monitoring system configured to provide premises monitoring services and a location of the premises, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the system of Turner to be capable of monitoring a premises, e.g. a building, as a matter of intended use. The system of Turner is capable of grouping a plurality of devices according to geographic proximity, and determining devices that are experiencing connectivity issues for purposes of reconfiguring the connectivity system 204 (see Turner, Paragraphs [0053-0055]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the plurality of devices within a geographic proximity to represent devices located in proximity to a premises, wherein the monitoring of connectivity issues of the devices effectively monitors the connectivity issues of the premises, without changing the principal operation of the system in Turner, as a whole.
Egner teaches:
The eSIM configured to store a plurality of cellular service provider profiles that are each activatable for communicating with a cellular network (Egner, Paragraph [0048], The eSIM may be programmable for multiple international mobile subscriber identities (IMSI).);
determine a location of the cellular radio based at least in part on one of a global positioning system input, location information received via the cellular network or location information received from a handheld installer device (Egner, Paragraph [0151], One example includes the use of a satellite global positioning system for determining the location of a device.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system in Turner by integrating the teaching of a context aware radio communication management system as taught by Egner.
The motivation would be improve link quality by selecting the type of wireless link that yields the best signal to noise ratio (see Egner, Paragraph [0135]).
Claim 18, turner in view of Egner further teaches:
The method of claim 17, wherein selecting the first cellular service provider includes selecting a cellular service provider from an ordered list of cellular service providers, an order of the ordered list being based at least in part on the signal quality indicator associated with each cellular service provider in the ordered list (Turner, Paragraphs [0048-0049], The high-speed communication category 222 represents one or more categories having one or more data rates, wherein the selection of the high-speed category 222 (over a low-speed category 224) is based on signal quality (see Turner, Paragraph [0056]). Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the plurality of high-speed communication categories 222, e.g. 5G and LTE, to be arranged in an “ordered list”, since the connectivity system 204 is operable to select the 5G first when available, and may fall back to LTE as applicable. Arranging the high-speed communication categories 222 in an ordered list would not change the principal operation of the system, as a whole, and would yield predictable results.).
Claim 19, Turner in view of Egner further teaches:
The method of claim 17, further comprising determining a signal quality indicator associated with each of at least one cellular service provider based at least in part on measurements of signals from the at least one cellular service provider (Turner, Paragraphs [0056] and [0081], It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the determined low signal quality to be indicated by a signal measurement based on a connection with the high-speed communication category 222 and/or the low-speed communication category 224.).
Claim 20, Turner in view of Egner further teaches:
The method of claim 17, wherein each cellular service provider profile stored in the multi-cellular service provider eSIM includes subscriber authorization data and data associated with at least one cellular service provider plan subscribed to by a premises monitoring services provider (Egner, Paragraphs [0047-0048], The eSIMs allow the information handling systems or smart personal connect gateway to connect to a plurality of wireless service carriers, effectively including data that enables authorization for each of the wireless service carriers and data associated with each of the wireless service carriers.).
Conclusion
/JAMES J YANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686