DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “at least one longitudinal extension portion” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims present the following limitations not illustrated or disclosed such that the claims may be considered indefinite.
each of the finger-shaped extension (20) and the finger-shaped recess (19) have at least one longitudinal extension portion. (It is unclear as to what “at least one longitudinal extension portion” is actually referred to since each of the finger-shaped extension (20) and the finger-shaped recess (19) has a center line, and the two edges could be considered as at least one longitudinal extension portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9, 10, 12-16, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 3429029 A1.
In regard to claim 1, EP 3429029 A1 discloses an outer conductor contact element 104 for an electrical connector assembly 100 for connection to an electrical cable 103 that has an outer conductor 113, the outer conductor contact element 104 comprising:
a first crimping portion (from 107 to 127 in fig. 1) for crimping the outer conductor 113 of the electrical cable 103; and wherein
the first crimping portion 105 has two opposite crimping flanks (see annotated drawing below) which together fully circumferentially crimp the outer conductor 113 of the electrical cable 103 in a final assembly state; and
a finger-shaped extension (see annotated drawing below) is formed on one side edge (17) of one crimping flank (16), and a corresponding finger-shaped recess (see annotated drawing below) is formed on one side edge (see annotated drawing below) of the other crimping flank (see fig. 2); and wherein, in the final assembly state into which the finger-shaped extension (see annotated drawing below) of the one side edge of the one crimping flank is engaged within the finger-shaped recess (see annotated drawing below) defined in the one side edge of the other crimping flank; and
each of the finger-shaped extension (see annotated drawing below) and the finger-shaped recess (see annotated drawing below) have at least one longitudinal extension portion (see annotated drawing below) with a directional component (see annotated drawing below) in a longitudinal axial direction (L) of the outer conductor contact element 104; and
each of the finger-shaped extension (see annotated drawing below) and the finger-shaped recess (see annotated drawing below) have at least one longitudinal extension portion (see annotated drawing below) with a directional component (see annotated drawing below) transverse to the longitudinal axial direction (L) of the outer conductor contact element 104.
In regard to claim 2, EP 3429029 A1 discloses the finger-shaped extension substantially corresponds to the finger-shaped recess.
In regard to claim 3, EP 3429029 A1 discloses in the final assembly state, the longitudinal extension portion of the finger-shaped extension forms a form-fit connection with the longitudinal extension portion of the finger-shaped recess in the longitudinal axial direction (L) and transversely to the longitudinal axial direction (L).
In regard to claim 4, EP 3429029 A1 discloses the finger-shaped extension on the one crimping flank directly follows a finger-shaped recess; and
on the other crimping flank the finger-shaped recess directly follows a finger-shaped extension so that the finger-shaped extension of one crimping flank and the finger-shaped extension of the other crimping flank clamp each other form-fittingly in the longitudinal axial direction (L) of the outer conductor contact element 104
and clamp each other form-fittingly transversely to the longitudinal axial direction (L) of the outer conductor contact element 104.
In regard to claim 5, EP 3429029 A1 discloses portions of the side edge of the one crimping flank and portions of the side edge of the other crimping flank, which each laterally delimit the longitudinal extension portion of the associated finger-shaped extension, each have a course with a directional component in the longitudinal axial direction (L) and have a course with a directional component transverse to the longitudinal axial direction (L) of the outer conductor contact element 104 (see annotated drawing below).
In regard to claim 6, EP 3429029 A1 discloses a plurality of sequences defined in the side edge of the one crimping flank, each sequence consisting of a finger-shaped extension and an immediately following finger-shaped recess; and
a plurality of sequences defined in the side edge of the other crimping flank, each sequence consisting of a finger-shaped recess and an immediately following finger-shaped extension (see fig. 1).
In regard to claim 9, EP 3429029 A1 discloses
a second crimping portion (from 107 toward the cable 103 in fig. 1) for crimping the outer conductor contact element 104 to a cable sheath 109 of the electrical cable 103, the second crimping portion adjoining the first crimping portion; and wherein in the two opposing crimping flanks of the first crimping portion extend into the second crimping portion; and
the finger-shaped extension is formed in the second crimping portion on the side edge of one crimping flank; and
the finger-shaped recess that corresponds with the finger-shaped extension formed in the second crimping portion is formed on the side edge of the other crimping flank (see fig. 1).
In regard to claim 10, EP 3429029 A1 discloses in the final assembly state, an outer diameter of the first crimping portion is greater than an outer diameter of the second crimping portion; and
a step (adjacent 107 in fig. 1) is formed between the first crimping portion and the second crimping portion; and
a support sleeve 107 of the electrical cable 103 is supported, on the step between the first crimping portion and the second crimping portion.
In regard to claim 12, EP 3429029 A1 discloses an electrical connector assembly 100 comprising:
an electrical connector 101; and
an electrical cable 103 connected to the electrical connector 101; and wherein
the electrical connector 101 has an outer conductor contact element 104, which has
a first crimping portion (from 107 to 127 in fig. 1) for crimping an outer conductor 113 of the electrical cable 103, and wherein
the first crimping portion has two opposite crimping flanks (see annotated drawing below) which together fully circumferentially crimp the outer conductor 113 of the electrical cable 103 in a final assembly state, and
a finger-shaped extension (see annotated drawing below) is formed on one side edge (see annotated drawing below) of one crimping flank, and a corresponding finger-shaped recess (see annotated drawing below) is formed on one side edge of the other crimping flank, and wherein, in the final assembly state the finger-shaped extension of the one side edge of the one crimping flank is engaged within the finger-shaped recess defined in the one side edge of the other crimping flank, and each of the finger-shaped extension and the finger-shaped recess have at least one longitudinal extension portion (see annotated drawing below) with a directional component (see annotated drawing below) in a longitudinal axial direction (L) of the outer conductor contact element 104, and
each of the finger-shaped extension and the finger-shaped recess have at least one longitudinal extension portion with a directional component (see annotated drawing below) transverse to the longitudinal axial direction (L) of the outer conductor contact element 104; and
the first crimping portion is crimped fully circumferentially to the outer conductor 113 of the electrical cable 103.
In regard to claim 13, EP 3429029 A1 discloses a method for producing an electrical connector assembly 100 comprising the steps:
providing an outer conductor contact element 104 of an electrical connector 101 of the electrical connector assembly 100, the outer conductor contact element 104 having a first crimping portion (from 107 to 127 in fig. 1) that has two opposite crimping flanks (see annotated drawing below), each of the two opposite crimping flanks having a side edge (see annotated drawing below), and, wherein a finger-shaped extension (see annotated drawing below) is formed on the side edge of one crimping flank and a corresponding finger-shaped recess (see annotated drawing below) is formed on the side edge of the other crimping flank, and wherein the finger-shaped extension and the finger-shaped recess each have at least one longitudinal extension portion (see annotated drawing below) with a directional component (see annotated drawing below) in a longitudinal axial direction (L) of the outer conductor contact element 104 and each finger-shaped extension and each finger-shaped recess has at least one longitudinal extension portion with a directional component (see annotated drawing below) transverse to the longitudinal axial direction (L) of the outer conductor contact element 104; and
crimping the first crimping portion to an outer conductor 113 of an electrical cable 103.
In regard to claim 14, EP 3429029 A1 discloses the provision of the step of providing the outer conductor contact element 104 further comprises a step of pre-bending the two opposite crimping flanks so that, in a pre-assembled state, the finger-shaped extension is engaged in the finger-shaped recess.
In regard to claim 15, EP 3429029 A1 discloses the step of providing the provision of the outer conductor contact element 104 further comprises a step of pre-bending the two opposite crimping flanks so that in a pre-assembled state the first crimping portion of the outer conductor contact element 104 has a U-shaped cross-sectional profile (see fig. 2).
In regard to claim 16, EP 3429029 A1 discloses the finger-shaped extension is designed to conform to the finger-shaped recess.
In regard to claim 20, EP 3429029 A1 discloses portions of the side edge of the one crimping flank and portions of the side edge of the other crimping flank, which each laterally delimit the longitudinal extension portion of the associated finger-shaped extension, each have a course with a directional component in the longitudinal axial direction (L) and have a course with a directional component transverse to the longitudinal axial direction (L) of the outer conductor contact element 104 (see annotated drawing below).
[AltContent: textbox (longitudinal extension portion)]
[AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: textbox (finger-shaped extension)][AltContent: textbox (finger-shaped recess)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (L)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (directional component transverse to the longitudinal axial direction (L))][AltContent: textbox (directional component in a longitudinal axial direction (L))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: textbox (crimping flank)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (side edge)][AltContent: connector]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3429029 A1.
In regard to claim 8, EP 3429029 A1 discloses in the final assembly state, an air gap with an air gap width is formed between the side edge of the one crimping flank and the side edge of the other crimping flank.
However, EP 3429029 A1 does not disclose an air gap width which is smaller than 0.05 mmm is formed between the side edge of the one crimping flank and the side edge of the other crimping flank.
Regarding the particular dimensions of the gap width, to the extent that EP 3429029 A1 does not specify exact dimensions, at the time of the invention, workable dimensions of the gap width would have been a matter of routine experimentation. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618 (CCPA 1977). Variations in the distance would have been obvious minor adjustments without patentable significance. See In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955) (Where general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover optimal or workable ranges by routine experimentation).
In regard to claim 17, EP 3429029 A1 discloses in the final assembly state, an air gap with an air gap width is formed between the side edge of the one crimping flank and the side edge of the other crimping flank.
However, EP 3429029 A1 does not disclose an air gap width which is smaller than 0.025 mm is formed between the side edge of the one crimping flank and the side edge of the other crimping flank.
Regarding the particular dimensions of the gap width, to the extent that EP 3429029 A1 does not specify exact dimensions, at the time of the invention, workable dimensions of the gap width would have been a matter of routine experimentation. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618 (CCPA 1977). Variations in the distance would have been obvious minor adjustments without patentable significance. See In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955) (Where general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover optimal or workable ranges by routine experimentation).
Claim(s) 11, 18, 19, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3429029 A1 in view of Schroll (US 20230155336 A1).
In regard to claims 11, 19 EP 3429029 A1 does not disclose the side edges of the two opposite crimping flanks each have an inner-side chamfer so that one side edge and the other side edge each contact each other only at an outer radial edge.
Schroll discloses the side edges of the two opposite crimping flanks 120, 130 each have an inner-side chamfer C so that one side edge and the other side edge each contact each other only at an outer radial edge, the chamfers C may aid in the retention of the flanks 120,130 in the abutting manner shown in FIG. 1, resisting the opening or spring-back of the ferrule 100 after crimping or formation (para. [0019]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of EP 3429029 A1 by constructing the chamfers as disclosed by Schroll in order to provide a better crimping terminal.
In regard to claim 18, EP 3429029 A1 does not disclose in the final assembly state the side edge of the one crimping flank and the side edge of the other crimping flank touch each other without an air gap.
Schroll discloses in the final assembly state the side edge of the one crimping flank 120 and the side edge of the other crimping flank 130 touch each other without an air gap, wherein the side edges of the two opposite crimping flanks 120, 130 each have an inner-side chamfer C so that one side edge and the other side edge each contact each other only at an outer radial edge, the chamfers C may aid in the retention of the flanks 120,130 in the abutting manner shown in FIG. 1, resisting the opening or spring-back of the ferrule 100 after crimping or formation (para. [0019]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of EP 3429029 A1 by constructing the chamfers as disclosed by Schroll in order to provide a better crimping terminal.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
Conclusion
Tdt
8/27/2026
/THO D TA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834