DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 10-11 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McKay, US Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0080175 A1 as evidenced/or in view of Sutman et al., (hereinafter Sutman), US Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0247775 A1.
With regard to claims 1 and 21, McKay discloses a process of increasing the performance of a papermaking system by adding to the wet end of the papermaking machine different additives, including strength agent and drainage/dewatering agent(s); see abstract, ¶-[0010]-[0011]. McKay also teaches the use of cationic polyvinylamide, (it is a homopolymer comprising vinyl amide which is cationic), which can have 50% to 100% cationic groups, i.e., it can be partially hydrolyzed (¶-[0039]), and have reduced specific viscosity (RSV) greater than 3 dL/g and preferably greater than 5.0 dL/g; see ¶-[0036]. McKay also teaches that the polyvinylamide used can be Hercobond 6350 (¶-0049]), which is 50% hydrolyzed polyvinylamide that can be used as wet strength agent or retention and drainage aid, i.e., a dewatering agent ; see ¶-[0014] of Sutman and thus said product is considered as the dewatering agent of the claim(s) and the acrylamide that can also be used as both dewatering and strength agent, since it has multiple function as recognized by the prior art1. Therefore, the reference teaches all the components of the claims, although the reference cites them for the inverse purpose, yet the use of the components, i.e., the different additives, acts in the say way as claimed, even if they are designed for other purpose(s), they invariably would work in the same way as claimed.
Regarding to claim 2, McKay teaches that the polymer is preferably added as solution/dispersion polymer; see ¶-[0035], [0045].
Regarding to claims 10 and 11, the claims recite all the ways to add materials to the pulp and thus the reference reads on those claims. Note that on ¶-[0045] the additives are added either individually or as a blend to the furnish/stock, i.e., before the headbox.
Claims 1-12 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brungardt et al., (hereinafter Brungardt), US Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0155339 A1 in view McKay, cited above.
With regard to claims 1, 9 and 21, Brungardt discloses a process of enhancing the dry strength of paper by the treatment with vinylamine-containing polymer and acrylamide by adding to the wet end of the papermaking machine said additives, see abstract. The vinylamine-containing polymer correspond to the strength agent and the acrylamide correspond to the dewatering/drainage aid. While Brungardt is silent with regard to the specific reduced viscosity of the acrylamide, McKay teaches the use cationic acrylamide for the same purpose as Brungardt, having RSV value between >3 dL/g and preferably >5.0 dL/g, (¶-0037) and in the examples discloses acrylamides having RSV between 5 to 12 dL/g (¶-[0049]) which falls within the claimed range. Therefore, using acrylamides with RSV falling within the range of the secondary reference would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art since he/she would have reasonable expectation of success if the acrylamides suggested by McKay were used as the acrylamides taught by Brungardt. Brungardt teaches mol content in the polymer in amount falling within the claimed range; see ¶-[0017]. The examples do not include starch and therefore, reading on claim 9 as-well.
Regarding to claim 2, Brungardt teaches that the polymer/acrylamide is added as a solution/dispersion polymer; see ¶-[0018] and [0019].
Regarding to claims 4-5, Brungardt teaches that the polymer, the acrylamide, can be amphoteric, which indicates that the polymer can include cationic, anionic monomers; see ¶-[0020]-[0021] and thus the use of the claimed monomers of the claims would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art since he/she would have reasonable expectation of success if an acrylamide taught by Brungardt would have said monomers for the reason discussed above. Note that the reference reads on non-ionic monomers since it contains acrylamide, which is one of the monomers cited on claim 4.
With regard to claims 6-7, Brungardt teaches the same type of cationic monomers in the acrylamide; see ¶-[0019].
Regarding to claim 8, Brungardt teaches the use of vinylamine as the strength agent, which is considered a synthetic polymer, since it is man-made.
Regarding to claims 10 and 11, the claims recite all the ways to add materials to the pulp and thus the reference reads on those claims. Note that on ¶-[0044] the additives were added as blend to the furnish/stock, i.e., before the headbox and on ¶-[0043] the additives were added separately to the thick stock or before the thick stock, which are before the headbox.
With regard to claim 12, Brungardt discloses a fiber suspension/furnish having a conductivity of 2000 uS/cm which is at least 1 uS/m and thus reading on the claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-12 and 21 have been considered but are moot because in view of the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure in the art of “Strength Synergy Between Polymer and Papermaking Strength Aid.”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSE A FORTUNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748
JAF
1 See for example column1, lines 29-43 of United State Patent No. 5,281,307; paragraph bridging columns 6 and 7 of United State Patent No. 11,214,927 and column 8, lines 8-30 of United State Patent No. 11,325,086, just to cite a few.